$256 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 15, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
233 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.3764 -87.0209
Area served
Cozumel, Quintana Roo; Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel Airport
Area description
Cozumel features excellent diving and water sports, nightlife and restaurants, shopping, and golf nearby (20-30 minutes). The resort is perfectly located on San Francisco Beach, five minutes from Palancar Reef and other attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (233)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
233 out of 233
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
diver36
Business
Minnesota
Jan 30, 2014

Cozumel Vacation

When we arrived at the hotle we were told that they were overbooked for the night. They blamed it on the website that I had booked with. They moved us next door to another Occidental resort which was ok but not what I expected of a 4 star resort. When we returned the next day I was expecting a warm welcome and a welcome drink. Neither happened. The check in went smoothly but they need to work on making a better first impression. The rest of our stay was good. The place is very clean and the beach was excellent. The bar service was a bit slow. It was also unusual to have the bar open at 10am (which actually meant 10:15-10:20) Overall a nice place but they need to work on customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lindseylu1213
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 21, 2014

Not What We Expected

Amenities-The amenities were decent. The staff kept the placed very clean. The workout room was okay, just hot and crowded. The bars were great and had a great selection. The pools were nice and there were chairs out everyday on the beach. The food was HORRIBLE. The restaurants are definitely the way to go (not the buffet), but they limit your reservations depending on how many nights your stay. Location-The water was not very pretty. The other side of the island had much more beautiful water. Room cleanliness-The room was clean and they came to clean it everyday. Room comfort-The bed was HORRIBLE. It was hard as a rock, but we did not spend much time in the room. The bathroom was nice, but our shower did not drain well. Staff-The staff was just okay. They were cordial, but there was definitely a language barrier and they weren't huge on customer service. Value-It was a pretty good deal for the price and a great family atmosphere if that's what you want. It is a little bit of walk from the rooms to the beach/pool but that is bc you are surrounded by a jungle pretty much. Very nice if you like the outdoors. We would not go back to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Coconuts was a very fun restaurant/bar to go to outside of the resort. The lighthouse was fun to visit and the beach was nicer down there. Chankanaab was a fun Sea World-like beach park that was nice. We rented scooters and got tickets for several attractions through Occidental which was nice and convenient, but I don't know about saving money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Souper Mom
Business
Occidental Grand Cozumel
Jan 12, 2010

Beautiful grounds, rooms OK

we went snorkeling at national Park and boat tour, lots to see, fish, turtles,eels,reefs. food was better some nights than others, lots of choices, always something good, just not extra good. night time activities, were adequate, recent run movie, fire show, jewelry sale, black jack,disco for kids & one for adults downtown trip OK, aggressive sales people

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

National Park worth the admission price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunburned vacationer
Business
Paradise, CA
Jun 21, 2011

The ocean is beautiful!

The hotel was nice and the location was perfect (for snorkeling and swimming in the ocean). The water was calm and beautiful. The hotel was better than most of the others that I saw on Cozumel, but not as nice as some of the other Hotels that I have stayed at in Mexico. I felt that the nightly entertainment was lacking and time share scam was ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
busted and tired
Business
ukiah,california
Jul 6, 2011

high dollar vacation with poor service

The first day after an exhausting flight the phone calls start and then knocking on the doors non-stop,someone is always camped right outside your door in a chair next to a phone to harass you into buying vacation plans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best lobster and seafood at the mission about a block from palmaras downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brits Abroad
Business
Superior, CO, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Occidental Grand Cozumel

Well, we booked this hotel for 5 nights over Thanksgiving break. We picked it deliberately because it has the only real sandy beach in the area- all the others have sand on the beach section where you sit, but as soon as you hit the water you are directly onto rock and coral reef- not fun on the feet at all! So we were definitely disappointed when on arrival we were told that they were having maintenance issues and could not accommodate us, so they put us in the hotel next door- which was the Iberostar- it was a nice hotel, but the rocks in the ocean really spoiled it for us. Also, we had booked a Grand Concierge option at the Occidental, which they did not offer at the Iberostar, so we felt we had been cheated out of our money for that. They told us to contact our travel agent for a refund for that part- surely they should given us some kind of credit instead- it isn't the fault of the travel agent. Any way- we still had a nice time. The guy at reception was nice enough and very apologetic. The location was peaceful. For the other parts of the rating I put average, as I did not get a chance to experience them so I just went with neutral.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Awesome beach and diving opportunities. Very peaceful. Best for families or middle aged couples. Not great for singles hoping to have a Spring Break type vibe- thank goodness!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seeing the World
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Nice but....

The resort is small but lovely, staff are friendly and helpful, and rooms are clean and well maintained. However, we were very disappointed in the food...mediocre at best. This could be expected at the buffet restaurant but one would expect the specialty restaurants to have good food....this was not the case...very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
brewcrewgirl
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Feb 29, 2012

3.5 not 5

I was expecting 4-5 stars, but we were pretty disappointed. There is a nice white sandy beach with usually calm water that is perfect for relaxing and watching sunsets, but don't expect to have a cocktail brought to you as servers do not visit very often. After the sunset, the lobby bar is pretty much the only other place for a pre and post dinner drink until the disco opens after 10. After waiting much later than our check-in time for our room to be ready, we were giving two very hard full beds instead of a king. All of our restaurant reservations were for 9pm or later, so we skipped a couple to eat elsewhere as the buffet was so-so and the only thing available for breakfast and lunch. Most of the staff are very friendly and welcoming, and they make pretty decent cocktails including many common call liquors. Draft Corona is basically the only beer though. All in all a good experience, but I am not sure that I would return to this resort as I prefer a more lively place. Also, be prepared to waste a good 2 hours if you decide to sit through their "vacation package" presentation. **DO rent a Jeep and visit the other side of the island and stop at Coconuts and Marleys***

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alberto's is a 5 min walk south on the beach The Mayan shrimp is amazing, and they have live music some nights which was amusing. However, be prepared to spend tourist prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SLT2
Business
Spring, TX, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Occidental Grand Cozumel

Had a good time at this resort. It is located in a jungle area, so the rooms are a good ways from the ocean. We had upgraded to the Royal Beach Club room, for more amenities, but upon arrival, they had no more of those rooms available, even we had booked a couple of months in advance. We were given a regular room, and did get to participate in the extra amenities. It was a pleasant visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jason K.
Business
New York
May 20, 2012

Nice and clean, bad food

Hotel was nice and clean, staff helpful and friendly. Food was not good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top