$322 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
234 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Relaxing Vacation

I visited this hotel twice over the last 4 years and both times it was a great experience. It is a... See full review

  • JamieOH
  • Dec 19, 2014
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience
Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm
La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (234)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
234 out of 234
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunburned vacationer
Business
Paradise, CA
Jun 21, 2011

The ocean is beautiful!

The hotel was nice and the location was perfect (for snorkeling and swimming in the ocean). The water was calm and beautiful. The hotel was better than most of the others that I saw on Cozumel, but not as nice as some of the other Hotels that I have stayed at in Mexico. I felt that the nightly entertainment was lacking and time share scam was ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
busted and tired
Business
ukiah,california
Jul 6, 2011

high dollar vacation with poor service

The first day after an exhausting flight the phone calls start and then knocking on the doors non-stop,someone is always camped right outside your door in a chair next to a phone to harass you into buying vacation plans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best lobster and seafood at the mission about a block from palmaras downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brits Abroad
Business
Superior, CO, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Occidental Grand Cozumel

Well, we booked this hotel for 5 nights over Thanksgiving break. We picked it deliberately because it has the only real sandy beach in the area- all the others have sand on the beach section where you sit, but as soon as you hit the water you are directly onto rock and coral reef- not fun on the feet at all! So we were definitely disappointed when on arrival we were told that they were having maintenance issues and could not accommodate us, so they put us in the hotel next door- which was the Iberostar- it was a nice hotel, but the rocks in the ocean really spoiled it for us. Also, we had booked a Grand Concierge option at the Occidental, which they did not offer at the Iberostar, so we felt we had been cheated out of our money for that. They told us to contact our travel agent for a refund for that part- surely they should given us some kind of credit instead- it isn't the fault of the travel agent. Any way- we still had a nice time. The guy at reception was nice enough and very apologetic. The location was peaceful. For the other parts of the rating I put average, as I did not get a chance to experience them so I just went with neutral.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Awesome beach and diving opportunities. Very peaceful. Best for families or middle aged couples. Not great for singles hoping to have a Spring Break type vibe- thank goodness!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seeing the World
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Nice but....

The resort is small but lovely, staff are friendly and helpful, and rooms are clean and well maintained. However, we were very disappointed in the food...mediocre at best. This could be expected at the buffet restaurant but one would expect the specialty restaurants to have good food....this was not the case...very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
brewcrewgirl
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Feb 29, 2012

3.5 not 5

I was expecting 4-5 stars, but we were pretty disappointed. There is a nice white sandy beach with usually calm water that is perfect for relaxing and watching sunsets, but don't expect to have a cocktail brought to you as servers do not visit very often. After the sunset, the lobby bar is pretty much the only other place for a pre and post dinner drink until the disco opens after 10. After waiting much later than our check-in time for our room to be ready, we were giving two very hard full beds instead of a king. All of our restaurant reservations were for 9pm or later, so we skipped a couple to eat elsewhere as the buffet was so-so and the only thing available for breakfast and lunch. Most of the staff are very friendly and welcoming, and they make pretty decent cocktails including many common call liquors. Draft Corona is basically the only beer though. All in all a good experience, but I am not sure that I would return to this resort as I prefer a more lively place. Also, be prepared to waste a good 2 hours if you decide to sit through their "vacation package" presentation. **DO rent a Jeep and visit the other side of the island and stop at Coconuts and Marleys***

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alberto's is a 5 min walk south on the beach The Mayan shrimp is amazing, and they have live music some nights which was amusing. However, be prepared to spend tourist prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SLT2
Business
Spring, TX, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Occidental Grand Cozumel

Had a good time at this resort. It is located in a jungle area, so the rooms are a good ways from the ocean. We had upgraded to the Royal Beach Club room, for more amenities, but upon arrival, they had no more of those rooms available, even we had booked a couple of months in advance. We were given a regular room, and did get to participate in the extra amenities. It was a pleasant visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jason K.
Business
New York
May 20, 2012

Nice and clean, bad food

Hotel was nice and clean, staff helpful and friendly. Food was not good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tall Dude
Business
Texas
Jul 1, 2012

OK Hotel

Beds were way to firm. Had to wait in long lines for the bar by the pool The relaxation pool never had a bar tender so it was self serve. The water on the beach was dirty because of storms the previous week The sand on the beach wasn't the nice soft powder sand it was more like gravel sand. Food was ok I have had better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to downtown and there is a 7/11 gas sation and next to it is a shopping area and they have good cheap prices better the the flea markets downtown because they aren't paying as much for the spot and they don't pay taxes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JessiAndDan
Business
Odenton, MD
Jun 28, 2012

Beautiful Resort But Some Improvements Needed

My fiance and I stayed her 6/16-6/23/12 and had a very relaxing, nice time. Bottom line: Beautiful resort, gorgeous beach, excellent staff, terrible beds, extremely disappointing food. The Pros: Beautiful resort, extremely clean and well-maintained. You really feel like you're in the jungle with all the plant-life and birds, frogs, iguanas (3 we saw), butterflies, etc. The place couldn't have been cleaner, not a hair ever appeared out of place. All of the staff working at the resort are friendly, polite, and attentive. The beach is awesome, plenty of room, plenty of umbrellas and the water was gorgeous. You can snorkle right off the beach if you choose. Snorkle gear, kyaks, hobie cats, and windsurfing are all included so no extra cost for those. The Dive Palancar shop attached the resort runs trips for suba diving, snorkling, parasailing, jet skis, and much more. The workers at the shop were so friendly and knowledgable - a huge plus. We did parasailing and a 3 hour, 3 reef snorkle/boat tour which we highly reccomend - well worth the time and money ($41/each). There were plenty of free activities you could choose to get involved with every day - snorkle or scuba lessons, spanish lessons, volleyball on the beach and in the pool, pottery painting on the beach. At night there was always a show at 9 or 10pm ranging from dance or musical performances to our favorite, the fire dance show - do not miss it! The drinks from the bar were always generously poured and very tasty - no complaints there. Both the pools (a quiet "adult" pool and a more lively main pool) were great. The Cons: The beds are absolutely God-awful. They are hard as bricks, you may as well sleep on the tile floor. I woke up sore a few nights and had a hard time getting comfortable and falling asleep. Secondly, the food is mediocre at best. The buffet was sorely disappointing at times - food was usually lukewarm at best, never warm, definitely never hot. Sometimes dishes looked like they'd been sitting for days and were soggy and generally unappetizing. The grill-made foods are your best bets (omlettes, hot dogs, hamburgers, stir fry). The buffet themes each night for their food - Mexican, Asian, Italian, BBQ, "International." The quality of food was just really, really poor and badly Americanized - we were disappointed that they didn't serve something resembling traditional Mexican (fajitas, enchiladas, burritos) more often. The 2 a la carte restaurants are much better - La Sonora Grill is definitely the best of two. Their fajitas and coconut shrimp were both excellent. We recommend going off the resort and into town one night (a 20 minute, $16 cab ride one way) if you want a good Mexican meal - try La Choza or Abuelo Gerardo. Overall, if the beds were more humane and the food more appealing this place would've rated alot higher in our book. But those are two pretty big areas to have issues with. Other things to know: Downtown Cozumel is pretty safe by our experience - lots of other tourists from cruise ships shopping so nothing to worry about. WiFi at the resort is $10/hour, $25/day, $80/week. There is NO A/C anywhere in the hotel and it can get very muggy so just be prepared. Our bedroom did stay pretty cool with the fan kept on. Mosquitoes are rampant so be sure to take plenty of bug spray and itch cream. The sales staff for excursions and timeshares are around but we didn't find them to be pushy at all - just tell them you're not interested and they nicely back off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scorpion Man
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 29, 2012

Couple getaway with diving

The building and grounds were beautiful and well maintained. The food and waitstaff were very good. The beach was white sand and very pretty for sunning and swimming or snorkling. Every night they had some type of entertainment. The entertainment was intriguing but average. The rooms where nice but we always felt the humidity even with the AC turned down low. Better humidifiers would be great. The beds on a scale of 1 to 5 would get a 2. They were hard and the pillows had a musty smell. The water sports and pools were nice. The main beach pool looked milky and was not very clear. I suspect the filtration system isn't up to par. Pools should be crystal clear. Lots of people swimming and we did not get any ear aches. Dive operator "Dive Palancar" was world class. I suspect this is why 60% of guests are divers or with a diver. The reason I will go back to the grand is for the diving. If a few little things could be corrected, AC in bars and better AC in Resturants. Overall, it depends on what you call 4 or 5 star. I did not like the time share guys who met you after checking in. Just say not interested and they will leave you alone. This does not happen at real five star hotels. The people at the grand are doing the best job and it's the employees that will make me come back. I will go again. Not a better resort in Cozumel for Divers. Period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La mission in San Miguel. Very authentic local cuisine

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top