Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
233 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.3764 -87.0209
Area served
Cozumel, Quintana Roo; Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel Airport
Area description
Cozumel features excellent diving and water sports, nightlife and restaurants, shopping, and golf nearby (20-30 minutes). The resort is perfectly located on San Francisco Beach, five minutes from Palancar Reef and other attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (233)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
233 out of 233
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edmond, Oklahoma
Jun 7, 2010

No ocean views

Had to leave the hotel snorkel. No swim up bar or service at beach/bar. Had to walk a long way to get a drink, no wait staff available at beach. Beach rocky and water wasn't pretty - very disappointed in that. The last time I was in Cozumel you could snorkel right off the hotel beach and the water was crystal clear and amazing. No beachfront view rooms and a long walk to the beach over a nasty bridge with water that was black like a bayou. Gave me the creeps. Bugs- so many nats they had to close the resturant and bar by the beach. After that they still didn't get any waiters to deliver drinks. If they put as much effort into the pool/beach wait staff as they do the grounds it would be better for the guests. The grounds were beautiful as were the rooms, but I wanted beach atmosphere not tropical jungle. I didn't pick this hotel, we were there for a wedding. I would have nixed it just because the swimming pools were subpar. With all that said we had a great vacation and will return to Cozumel, but stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Appleton, WI
Feb 2, 2010

Would not go back

I have been to Cozumel before and I thought this resort was very lacking. There was hardly anything to do at the resort. We where under the impression that they would have a swim up pool but they did not. They only had one if you were in the Royal Club. They did not have premium drinks either. Our room smelled so musty that I felt like I could hardly breathe. There was no varity in the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston TX
Nov 22, 2009

Beach = Great, Food & Room = awful!

Do not book this hotel. We travelled with a 5 month son on his first trip abroad. We booked at very short notice and this was the first all inclusive we had done. The travel from the airport was fine, although the cost of the transfer is more than a taxi. The hotel was in a nice part of cozumel and the outside of the hotel was great. They have lovely greenery, the pools are very nice and the beach is great. Most of the staff are friendly, although they only really do the nicer service if you tip. There are three reasons i would not book this hotel again: food, room, sales pitch for the "vacation club"(also known as time-share). The food was very bad. Every day was the same, although they had different themes. I had fish that was raw, guacamole that was frozen, salad with a hair in it, pasta that was hard, broccoli that was so over cooked the top turned into mush and probably the worst new york strip steak i have ever had (in their steak restaurant). The wine that is served with dinner is vinegary or syrupy depending on whether you go for the red or the white. If you choose to order (and pay for) wine in the restaurant beware as the label is not the wine you get. I ordered a rioja gran reserva and it turned out to be a cheap rio tinto. The room we had was on the ground floor (as we travelled with a baby and wanted to have easy access). The room was so damp that it smelt awful, the walls in the bathroom were wet and the sheets/curtains felt a little wet to the touch. We told the "concierge" about it but he said it was the air conditioning and will be fine in the morning. it was not fine and so we called the front desk. He said all the rooms on the ground floor were like that and so could not help us!!! We ask about another room and they said none were available. We had to wash all our clean clothes when we got back as it smelt so bad. The sales pitch was horrible. When we arrived on first day the concierge man (mentioned earlier) told us we needed to go to a welcome breakfast in the morning. We went along and were subjected to the most awful, painful and long sales pitch. It was horrible; just when they were hitting the 2 hr mark, my wife had to leave to feed our baby and the man behind us said to a colleague "if i were him, i'd want to keep breast feeding". not very funny comment, especially when said right behind a customer. We enjoyed the beach, which was awesome and the staff in the restaurants were great, but i could not recommend you go here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Book a hire car. It is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cabos wabos
Business
Omaha, NE
May 9, 2009

"Accidental" Grand

Upon arrival at 330 PM, we did not actually get checked into our room until 2 1/2 hours later. Upon arrival to the room, our phone did not work for 2 days and we had a ladder and caved in ceiling in our shower that had yet to be prepared. The front desk, although friendly, was very slow. Many guests seem to have had problems. Also, the all-inclusive dining experience was very limited because 3 of the restaurants you had to make reservations several days in advance and they could only accomodate 4-5 couples/families at a time. The hotel was far from the beach, no beach front rooms. Also charged for telephone services and unable to use international phone cards on resort. TV channels were limited and only in spanish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Giddings Tx USA
Mar 1, 2010

Staff stuckup

The food was poor, staff was unsociable, grounds were great, rooms were clean, some of the computer keys did not work and lighting was extremely poor in the keyboard area, spent more time trying to see the international keyboard symbols than time online. need to chlorinate and have a residual tank to dissipate the horrible smell of waste water before irrigation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 6, 2008

Don't recommend

The hotel itself is very beautiful. The staff were very difficult to communicate with. The room had a water leak in it. Beach was very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The center of town has plenty of shopping areas where you can get good deals/

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Apr 24, 2011

Really?

Room had a terrible smell and the food was horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jun 28, 2009

Average at best

I'd give this resort a 2-star rating...certainly not a 4 as described. Food was average (same foods day after day). Six onsite restaurants listed but only two were open. Many fountains on site but not a single one operational (detracted from the beauty). Staff was helpful and service minded so I give the employees a 5 rating. Just no "WOW" with this resort - bar was uncomforably hot, little to no nightly entertainment, was content to be in bed by 10:00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ninja Ginger
Business
Michigan
Jul 3, 2014

Good luck getting a room

The best thing I can say about this hotel is the actual hotel grounds are beautiful. However, there's a chance you may never get to see them because they will tell you they are over booked and try to send you to their sister hotel, The Allegro, and in return they will give you free nights on a next visit. The Allegro costs significantly less and the rooms smell awful. Once you get a room at The Occidental, the food is average at best. None of the restaurants or the inside bar have air, not even a fan to circulate the air, so it's crazy hot! Once you get past the lobby, the staff is friendly. However, don't expect beachside service as advertised, because there is none! After speaking with many repeat guests during our stay, they all said they have seen a decline in service and food in the last year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
50's female
Business
midwest
Jan 26, 2014

good except for their overbooking problems

After traveling all day to arrive at 5pm and be told after a lengthy wait and signing multiple sign in papers that they have "some bad news" for our group of 8 (4 rooms), we were very disappointed with their management. The bad news was that they had overbooked and we must transfer to a sister property The Allegro for the 1st night. Other than the hassle of moving and unpacking twice and missing our morning dives, The Allegro is not the Occidental. Old, smelly, dirty rooms with boards as beds and disgusting, mush food that was next to inedible. Also a very loud complex. It wasn't until one full day and a sleepless night that we were finally settled in at the Occidental. Management kept giving us the run around for 3 days about how they would make it up to us and kept promising things then not delivering. They did in the end offer us a free massage but that was after much persistence on the part of our group. The good news is that the rooms are great, the food is acceptable with the special Italian/Greek restaurant being very good and the general day to day staff of waiters, maids and bartenders very nice and friendly. Pools and beach are relaxing with plenty to do and also lots of shade if you need it. If you like to consume a lot of alcohol, you can't beat the price. With all this said, we have been there twice but will not be returning because of their overbooking policies. We learned from other guests that this happens much too often and management doesn't handle it well by telling you one thing and doing another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top