$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
372 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.3764 -87.0209
Area served
Cozumel, Quintana Roo; Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel Airport
Area description
Cozumel features excellent diving and water sports, nightlife and restaurants, shopping, and golf nearby (20-30 minutes). The resort is perfectly located on San Francisco Beach, five minutes from Palancar Reef and other attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (372)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
372 out of 372
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wanderwoman57
Pueblo CO
Dec 14, 2009

Beautiful well planned resort

The resort was beautiful and easy to get around. Front of house employees were efficient and very helpful. Buffet meals were lacking in variety, however IF you can get into the two in-house restaurants, they are wonderful. Bars were stocked with surprisingly upper shelf liquors, and bartenders were friendly and knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Guido's restaurant in downtown Cozumel was and excellent find for delicious Italian Food

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
duluth mn
Dec 14, 2010

prepair to gain weight

Delightful! Bring tip cash and your cup runeth over! Safe in room. ATM on site, but takes an extra 20 outta your account in fees. Staff is great as long as you can avoid the time share sales pitch from that part of the staff(which you can). Beautiful sand. Good and plentiful food. Nice rooms. Nice effort by all. I gained five pounds in a week. Your preference, but know Beds are firm! Scuba pier rocks for on sight trips or off sight boats picking you up. Great family and couples place. Dull singles place. As a result peaceful, tho the disco entertainment was fun. The dancers were really great one night in the court yard. Cab to town $15-$32 depending on amount of riders. One full day in town is probably enough. My advice..Learn a little Spanish to say hello, good morning. thank you, counting to ten, etc. and not sound like the fat American woman yelling "where are the hamburgers" because we all know, a foreign language makes more sense when loud. :) (by the way, why eat a burger in Mexico anyway?)Ask for a couple tortillas at the lunch buffet grill and fashion yourself some fish tacos. KILLER YUM!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

no reason to eat elsewhere.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jjjrs5
San Antonio, TX
Jul 4, 2012

Best Luxury Hotel for Scuba

Very nice rooms. Very Large. Lots of towels, free drinks in room and elsewhere. A little bit of mold spell still remains after the Hurricane 6 years ago--the only complaint. Excellent on site scuba operation, close to the great reefs--Palancar, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 14, 2010

Occidental

The facility-rooms, restaurants,the grounds all excellent. Only issue is that the rooms are quite a distance from the beach. The beach was very nice for swimming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Oct 6, 2010

Nice quiet stay in off season

While at the OC we did a lot of snorkeling. We went on two boat dives to the coral reefs. I got my open water dive certification offered at the dive shop. The beach is nice and groomed daily. The water is clear and warm. I was disappointed that there was only two of the bars open and you only had one restaurant open for lunch and dinner, we stayed in the royal club and ate three dinners at the royal club restaurant and they were elegant and delicious. It was not open for breakfast or lunch due to staying in the off season. We could have ordered room service at no addional charge being in the royal club but didn't use that service. It was perfect for me and my adult daughter to spend a nice quiet relaxing vacation together. The maid service always made sure we had everything we needed. They left us an animal they made with towels on the bed everyday. It was fun returning to the room to see what they made for us each day. We took pictures of them, there was a lot of work put into making them complete with eyes. Was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There were lots of snorkeling just down the road we had a rental car and traveled around the whole island during our stay. Snorkeled several places and did not have any trouble with currents.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jul 31, 2007

Nice

I enjoyed this stay. Did plenty of diving as it is a great location for dive boats to pick you up just before they begin their dives, really cuts down on the boat time. The rooms were nice, although the humidity in the room was at times unbearable. The food was okay for breakfast and lunch, dinner left a lot to be desired especially the specialty restaurants. The only big complaint I have is the time share sales people who look like any other hotel employee and become a bother quickly if you don't know about them. Overall I would go again keeping in mind I need to rent a car to get to the city and eat out for dinner most of the nights I am there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

If you are into water activities this hotel has the nicest beach I have seen on the island.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Aug 25, 2010

Great experience

Just returned from a great stay at the Occidental Grand in Cozumel. It was too short (3 nights) but the hotel was great! Because it's the off season (August), it was not especially crowded. I think adding to this feeling is the layout of the hotel-- rather than the rooms being in a big building, they are in multiple smaller structures that are more spread out. The buildings are connected by walkways that are lined with lush plants and trees. Iguanas sometimes hang out on the edges of the paths. The whole place was beautiful-- though my favorites were the beach and pool areas.The staff was very attentive and wanted to help with everything. We did a resort course scuba introduction through Dive Palancar (SO convenient that it was located right on the resort!). My boyfriend had gone diving once before but I never had-- [...] did a great job of providing an introduction and making sure I felt comfortable in the water. Later in the day we did the resort boat dive, at one of the reefs just off the coast. We went down about 40 feet! It was amazing. I would go back just for the sake of the dive shop!The beach is gorgeous and sandy. We met another couple during our dive course who were staying at Iberostar, and they said that their beach was more coral and harder to walk on the sand. I also liked that there aren't any other resorts immediately beside Occidental, so it feels more isolated on the beach.I just have to remove one star because of the availability of the restaurant reservations. We didn't try to make a reservation on the first 2 nights, so on the morning of the last full day, went to the desk around 8am to do so for that night. We were told that reservations couldn't be made until 9am. I asked if it were possible to make reservations early, since we had to be at the scuba class at 9. The staff person pulled up the schedule and said that everything was booked already. I'm not sure how that's possible since technically reservations couldn't be made yet...They were very nice and offered to contact the food and beverage manager, but we weren't able to get in at all. The food at the buffet was good and we were fine with it-- but just a disappointment.I don't want to over-emphasize that though-- it was the only disappointment. I would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Use Dive Palancar! They are awesome.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lakesahoy
Akron, OH
Aug 12, 2010

A great place

If you sat out on the patio there was no privacy, although most would not want to sit out in that heat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Java1500
Houston, TX
May 22, 2010

Nice location & good overall experience

Very enjoyable stay. Rooms were clean and spacious with our mini-bar refilled every day. The majority of the staff was very helpful and kind, but the staff at the lobby could be more friendly. Food was average, and we found the options at the buffet more satisfying than those of the more exclusive "a la carte" restaurants. Night entertainment at hotel was ok, but with not many people around during our visit, we were often bored. The hotels's beach is very nice with great swimming area perfect for snorkeling. Additionally, the site's dive shop was excellent with very reasonable prices. Would stay here again in the future but will probably expand my dining options outside hotel. Additionally, I would recommend renting a car so that you can go explore the island whenever you're bored of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno CA
Nov 27, 2010

Nice Hotel Mediocre Food

Very nice hotel with Immaculate grounds. I had a garden view room on the 3rd floor which provided some great views of Iguana in the trees and some fire flies in the evening.The bathroom was very nice with a small bathtub.The beach is beautiful and if you dive there is a dive shop on site.The only down side is the quality of the food. It's not bad you can always find something to eat, it's just needs some improvement. The other issue is cost of wireless internet which is $81. per week

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Dive shop on site

Back to menu Return to top