$256 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
234 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
vacation

This was our second time to stay at Occidental Grand and we chose it because of their beautiful... See full review

  • Okie Country girl
  • Nov 24, 2014
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience
Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm
La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (234)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
234 out of 234
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 16, 2008

Family Friendly-Bad Food

The room, a junior suite was nice, except for the very hard bed and view of an unsightly kept swamp area between the hotel rooms, the pool and the beach. The setting of the hotel, walking to your room is landscaped very pretty and clean. Once you walk on the old wooden pier and cross the swamp, filled with dead trees and limbs and stagnant water, the pool area is quite plain and boring. The food at the pool/beach restaurant has a lot to be desired. It was kept out in hot weather and not iced well, and the taste was bad. We were afraid to eat it. Dinner that night was tasteless as well. The staff was very nice, friendly and accomodating. If you are looking for a place where the teenagers can drink and play and you don't care about food safety or it tasing good, you will like it here. Having traveled to Mexico many times, this was my first disappointment in accomodations, setting and food. Needless to say, we left after one night and chose to go to a different hotel, in order to salvage our vacation and enjoy the rest of our trip, which we did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The dolphin and snorkling place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jdjmdj12
Business
Oklahoma
Jun 17, 2014

Don't choose this hotel.

Cozumel was beautiful. The hotel was horrible. Was an all inclusive so food was free but the quality of food was bad. No other choice but what they prepared. Says they have several restaurants but they only have 1 open at a time. They also only had 1 bar open at a time. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff was not helpful or friendly. Was always being hassled to purchase something at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GaylonG.
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Jul 7, 2014

Traveler BEWARE!!

I'll start with the positive, because there was some, and we enjoyed our trip because of what we made of it, not because of the hotel we stayed at!! Beach area and pools were WONDERFUL! Bartenders and wait staff were superb! Actually, all of the service staff was incredible - very helpful and friendly. (Management is another story, and I'll get to that part!) Rooms were clean and comfortable - we stayed in building 15, and it was centrally located to everything we wanted to do - in other words, it was a good walk to the pool and beach and restaurants. We were able to book excursions through the hotel at somewhat discounted prices - they will give DEEP discounts if you talk to one of their sales people about their ownership program - DON'T DO IT...that is ALL. From our party of 11, 2 couples did the presentation and had some major issues with the promises made by their salesperson - one had given a deposit on the ownership program and ended up backing out because of those issues. If their sales staff and management would take on the same attitude of taking care of the guests that the service staff takes on, the whole thing would have been wonderful. The one excursion we booked was "forgotten" by someone, and our boat didn't come pick us up - when we went back to make our complaint, they DID correct it by bringing the boat to us and giving us the tour as a "private party" - though it was cut short by an hour over what was originally promised. This is one of the places that we made the most of the situation and did have a good time, but was not what we paid for. Management's general philosophy on any item we had to bring to their attention was "oh well...it happens...too bad for you." There was no making it right and no apologies for anything! If you can take care of your problems with service staff, DO NOT deal with Management - they're just not reasonable nor accommodating! We heard from many others the same complaints and that they hadn't had near the problems at other hotels and resorts on the island. Next time we go, we'll pick another hotel/resort FOR Sure!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Alberto's was wonderful!! The food was out of this world and the service was top notch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 15, 2010

Horrible customer service

This is a beautiful resort and I will pay to stay at an ugly resort for better customer service. Worst customer service ever and I have traveled the world. See details of the trip below: Day one arrived- no bell boy or anyone to greet us except for time share guy- Alejandro who I thought was checking us into our room. We paid him $20 that we never saw again- even though we told him we were not interested in attending the 90 minute presentation. Next we carried our luggage up three flights of stairs and the keys did not work. Then our room was not a king size bed which is what we requested. When I mentioned this to the front desk they said they were full and we could move tomorrow if a room came available. We also had some guests cancel at the last minute and explained they were not coming and they were receiving no refund. Our friends tried to add there 1000 to our room to be upgraded and they would not transfer and they were very unaccommodating. Okay maybe I was tired so I went on about our plans- Food was buffets not that great. Air conditioning was horrible in our room. So day two my husband goes to book our reservations for the "nice" restaurants. They stated they were all booked all week and did not try to offer anything. I called and asked if we could go to another sister resort or even move rooms to another resort. They then were able to get us some dinner reservations- offered to move our room for us the next day. They did move us- yet now we were next to the disco that we could hear all night long and the room was smoking- yet the air-conditioning worked great. So yes beautiful place- "nice" restaurant excellent food and service. But will never stay there due to the treatment- It was as if they did not care and it was a horribly powerless feeling- being in another country and not getting what you paid for and then only if requesting to be moved to another resort did they try and accommodate us. Oh we were also told we would have a free room service of breakfast and something special sent to our room- this never happened either. We stayted at the iberia star and the friendliest staff ever! That is what I remember- how one is treated!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Call and speak to someone at the hotel before you arrive that you get reservations and the room you want. Ask to speak to the manager- [...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bpositve2day
Business
Toledo, Ohio
Apr 3, 2012

On Vacation-you don't like to complain

If comparing to other all inclusives that I have stayed at this has no comparison. We had a total group of 12, and with them knowing this you would think they would be a little accomodating but no luck, so we split our group in half, but even with 6 it did not matter. The staff did not go out of there way and seemed as if they were short staffed. They have the buffett that is opened to everyone. Lunch at the beach opened at noon and everyone got into line, no food was allowed out or could be eaten at the beach, and coverups and sandals were required, Dinner you had the choice of buffet and 3 resturants that you had to make reservationos prior to the night in which everyone you talked to the only times they had avaliable were 830 - 9pm, kinda late for me after spending the day snokeling and being at the beach. after complaining, they did give a time slot of dinner at 6pm, which was a lovely dinner of 3 hours long. as for activities or events it was nothing spectacular. We did take a jeep tour which was fun exciting and very accomodating, seeing the myan ruins, lighthouse, crocodiles, snorkeling, tequila factory, and lunch, left at 9am and returned at 530, well worth it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

No snacks available. And they need to reevaluate there dining specialty resturants, your will see many complaints, and it is what it is!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Photo Diver
Business
St. Paul, Minnesota
Mar 17, 2013

Not What We Expected

We have stayed at the Occidental in the past because we are avid divers and this property is located directly in front of Santa Rosa reef. Last year was a disaster as there was a large group of High School Spring Breakers constantly drunk (along with their parents). The last night of their stay, they threw all the pool furniture into the Marsh and into the pool causing $1000's of dollars of destruction. After confirming with the Occidental Grand that this group would not be returning this year, we booked again for our spring break, We are avid divers and have traveled to 100+ countries in our lives. Mostly budget travel, So for the price we paid, we had a good idea of what we should expect. Upon our arrival last week, the same group of student/parents had returned, the hotel overbooked by 30 rooms and we were sent to the LOWER BUDGET Allegro.!!!! The thratched roof of the room leaked and birds lived in the roof resulting in bird dropping all over the room, bed, etc. No compensation or apology....Of course, we balked and were allowed to return to the Occidental a day and 1/2 later. Upon our return, we had to wait until late afternoon to get into a room. It was raining and we had no place to go. No towels to dry off and no apology.....If fact it was difficult to get a pool towel all week. I heard the same story of many of the guest this past week. People that are members of the Royal Club Occidental were denied their rooms, I would not recommend this property based on the lack of service and apathy of the Management alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Diving was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jaime79
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 30, 2013

Mediocre at best!

The resort was ok but I'll never stay there again. I expected it to be much bigger/nicer. Upon arrival the staff attempted to book a time share presentation with us before we were ever shown to our room, which was highly annoying after traveling the majority of the day. The rooms were ok. We booked a room with a king size bed but ended up in a room with 2 double beds. The mattresses were so uncomfortable. Nearly every night during our 4 night stay we heard awful crashing noises outside our room. It was loud enough that others guests, like us, got up to investigate. The food was mediocre at best and I'm not a picky eater. Only once during our stay did we have a waiter take drink orders on the beach. The rest of the time we had to walk to the buffet restaurant to get our own drinks. We were able to book our excursions right at the resort which was convenient. However, some required cash. I used the ATM there & it broke right in the middle of dispensing my cash. It shorted me $100! The resort could do nothing about it bc the ATM was owned by a private company. We called our bank immediately & explained the situation. We are hoping to have it resolved within 10 days. Also, the resort is situated on a swamp! There was a 40 yd wooden bridge you have to cross to get from the resort to the beach. You can only imagine the bug bites...yikes! I will say the staff was very friendly & the beach was nice. Also the resort has its own pier and we were picked up there for our excursions (snorkeling & deep sea fishing). All in all, we had a nice vacation & were able to relax...but will never recommend this resort to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We discovered a little bar/restaurant situated on the beach called Alberto's that was a short 5 min walk from our resort. It was AMAZING!!! Had we known about this place sooner, we would have eaten there every night. They only serve what they catch each day. One night we had king crab & the next night we had lobster. Also bananas foster right there on the beach! I could go on & on about how great it was!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Just a women
Business
Allentown PA
Dec 17, 2013

Average resort

The beach was very good. Food was way below average, practically no fruits,. We did not have in our room: iron, extra pillow, umbrella( supposed to have). The sink in a bathroom was not draining well. I wish they had a band playing outside, not inside, so people could dance and enjoy the music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Over Booked Customer
Business
Wheeling, West Virginia
Mar 19, 2014

Customer service was not their priority!

When we arrived there was no one to greet us. As we went inside there was not any signs to give direction. There is not a check in counter, instead just a couple of desks with an employee sitting waiting on other guests. After being told to take a seat we waited our turn. The service person took all of our information, had us sign the check in forms THEN proceeded to say there was a mistake with overbooking and they would have to send us to another resort for 2 days then we could return! This was a great inconvenience as we now had to be transported to the Iberostar, go throught waiting and the check in process again, wait for our room. After two days at Iberostar we had to check out by noon, return to Occidental Grand, go through checkin process again, and.... Our room would not be ready Untill 4:30pm. They told us to go have lunch and go to the beach! Well, of course there are no empty chairs at the beach to be had at 1pm, and certainty no shade on a sunny day. So we waited, ate lunch, walked around the resort. After getting into our room at 5:00pm, the air conditioner was so noisy we couldn't hear each other talk! Needless to say we walked back to the office to report this problem. They did send a repair man to replace the air conditioner fan, then it worked great. When we ask about be compensated for our inconvenience of being sent to another resort the service manager said they could probably get us a massage or something. We ask if we could have wifi instead, they said "no", you have to pay for wifi. On day 4 of our trip it rained all day.... Now we were 4 of 7 days into our vacation without swimming or beach time! We travel frequently and have never run into this "over booking" problem before. We meet 4 other couples that was sent to other resorts because of this problem! Management should of handled this situation better to accommodate us! We will not be returning to any of the Occidental Grand properties if this is how they do business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jen Six
Business
Denver, Colorado
Mar 27, 2014

Very Disappointed

You really need to lower the rating for this resort to maybe a 2. They have pretty much the same buffet food every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner, which gets very old. The restaruants you have to make reservations for were very good but you only get one reservation for each of the two available. The customer service is very lacking at this resort. You have advertised that they have 3 pools and they only have 2 pools and no swim up bar. Just these two details would have made me not book with them so I was incredibly disappointed when we arrived. They have one bar at each pool with one bartender, and at the main pool bar it was sometimes necessary to wait in line for 10-15 minutes for a drink. Nor do they have any wait staff walking around to see if anyone needed a drink. Very disappointing. The beds are also very uncomfortable here. They are also relentless about getting you to sign up for a presentation to try and sell you a time share here. We booked an appointment thinking it would get them to leave us alone, but when we didn't show up, there was actually one of the people waiting for us outside our hotel room the next morning!! Completely unacceptable. I have had great success with my trips I have made to the Cancun and Riviera Maya area to different resorts there. In fact 2 years ago we went to the Grand Sirenis in Riviera Maya and that was the most enjoyable resort we have ever been to as far as comfort, food options, customer service, entertainment, etc. I also paid more for this trip for accomodations than any other trip to Mexico and I have stayed at Fiesta Americana in Cancun, Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya, Grand Principe Riviera Maya and The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya for just as long if not for longer stays. I will never refer anyone to stay at Occidental Grand Cozumel, in fact I will suggest they do not. Jennifer Six Englewood, Colorado

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top