$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2014 Check-out: Sep 15, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
229 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.3764 -87.0209
Area served
Cozumel, Quintana Roo; Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel Airport
Area description
Cozumel features excellent diving and water sports, nightlife and restaurants, shopping, and golf nearby (20-30 minutes). The resort is perfectly located on San Francisco Beach, five minutes from Palancar Reef and other attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (229)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
229 out of 229
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jjjrs5
San Antonio, TX
Jul 23, 2012

Getting back to being the best

The hurricane took all of Cozumel down a notch, but the Occidental Grand has rebuilt consistently and is back on top of the list of places to stay on the island. The very best diving is a short trip away. The beach is great, the specialty restaurants are good, but have been better in the past. It has improved every year I've stayed since the hurricane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GaylonG.
Oklahoma City, OK
Jul 7, 2014

Traveler BEWARE!!

I'll start with the positive, because there was some, and we enjoyed our trip because of what we made of it, not because of the hotel we stayed at!! Beach area and pools were WONDERFUL! Bartenders and wait staff were superb! Actually, all of the service staff was incredible - very helpful and friendly. (Management is another story, and I'll get to that part!) Rooms were clean and comfortable - we stayed in building 15, and it was centrally located to everything we wanted to do - in other words, it was a good walk to the pool and beach and restaurants. We were able to book excursions through the hotel at somewhat discounted prices - they will give DEEP discounts if you talk to one of their sales people about their ownership program - DON'T DO IT...that is ALL. From our party of 11, 2 couples did the presentation and had some major issues with the promises made by their salesperson - one had given a deposit on the ownership program and ended up backing out because of those issues. If their sales staff and management would take on the same attitude of taking care of the guests that the service staff takes on, the whole thing would have been wonderful. The one excursion we booked was "forgotten" by someone, and our boat didn't come pick us up - when we went back to make our complaint, they DID correct it by bringing the boat to us and giving us the tour as a "private party" - though it was cut short by an hour over what was originally promised. This is one of the places that we made the most of the situation and did have a good time, but was not what we paid for. Management's general philosophy on any item we had to bring to their attention was "oh well...it happens...too bad for you." There was no making it right and no apologies for anything! If you can take care of your problems with service staff, DO NOT deal with Management - they're just not reasonable nor accommodating! We heard from many others the same complaints and that they hadn't had near the problems at other hotels and resorts on the island. Next time we go, we'll pick another hotel/resort FOR Sure!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Alberto's was wonderful!! The food was out of this world and the service was top notch!

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jdjmdj12
Oklahoma
Jun 17, 2014

Don't choose this hotel.

Cozumel was beautiful. The hotel was horrible. Was an all inclusive so food was free but the quality of food was bad. No other choice but what they prepared. Says they have several restaurants but they only have 1 open at a time. They also only had 1 bar open at a time. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff was not helpful or friendly. Was always being hassled to purchase something at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sisters trying to unwind
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Jan 25, 2013

Wouldn't choose this hotel

Upon arrival, my sister and I were offered an "opportunity" to save money on excursions. They failed to mention what happened next. We were told to meet the staff the next morning for breakfast. At that point, they assign a guide. They walk you around talking to you about the hotel that you most likely already read all about before booking your trip. This went on for over an hour. Our guide was telling us what he thought we wanted to hear. He finally took us back to the room where they offer you lots of alcohol and then try to sell you a timeshare. After we finally were able to leave, we learned that we did not in fact save a penny on any of the excursions. My sister and I made friends during our stay and learned that the range in price depends on if you are married or not. We were offered a timeshare for 13k and our married friends were offered the same exact timeshare for 29k. We went on vacation to rest and relax and instead found ourselves in a timeshare nightmare the first day. The food was nasty. We reserved seats at one of the special restaurants and I could swear what they put on my plate was something close to cat food. I have traveled around the world and have a very experienced pallet, but this meal had me drawing the line. The hotel to the right and the left also offered far superior dive shops compared to ours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DenaD
New York, NY
Sep 3, 2012

Sad Honeymoon!!!

This hotel was a huge disappointment. We left and switched hotels after 3 nights. The main problem was the food. It was completely terrible. Most of the time our experiences with the staff were not good at all, though to be fair, if you go try to deal with Mariano at the front desk because he is great. Also, Freddy the bartender was awesome. But overall, there are better choices on the island of Cozumel, and we found one after we left. This hotel is really far from the downtown area, so if you want some authentic Mexican food, count on spending $40 on cab fare, Also, they suckered us into doing the timeshare presentation and it was AWFUL!!! Don't do it. Stay at the Park Royal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
xdtcoopx
SLC, UT
Nov 28, 2011

TERRIBLE FOOD!

TERRIBLE FOOD! Just returned from Cozumel. The Occidental Grand is a nice resort with a great layout. Great staff, beautiful beach and lots of wildlife. HOWEVER, the food is downright nasty! There is a good restaurant on the beach just one door down called Albertos. All other restaurants are a 20 min/$25 cab ride into town. If you're set on booking this resort, plan on eating off the resort. Our family will never be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

DO NOT PLAN ON EATING WELL

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
New Mexico
Jun 18, 2011

Don't Turst Occidental Cozumel Grand

First let me say that the island is beautiful and well worth the trip but the hotel was a very bad decision especially if you want to relax. I understand that the economy is bad but from the minute we stepped into the hotel there was a staff member trying to sell us something. Every time we thought they were trying to be nice it ended up in a ploy to try & sell. They tell you that they have a special deal for you to get a jeep for free & other discounts and all you have to do is go to a presentation with a free breakfast. Well it is an all inclusive resort so breakfast is free anyway and what they mean is they will walk into the buffet with you. The presentation is all about in investing in their "vacation club" which is really an over priced time share. When we said we were not interested and spent the required amount of time they kept pressing on and on and by that time it was the manager of the club & a local staff salesman. I am so glad we didn't go to that presentation on our first day but waited and even though the experience we had on the free jeep was amazing it was not worth the agony of their sales pitch. I recommend renting a vehicle before hand or pay for one day rental to travel the island. As far as what the hotel offers it is not as accurate as they say. They only have really two bars that are open most of the time. The one in the buffet area is only open during food time. The relax pool would be nice if they cleaned it on a more than once basis and there was a bar where it looks like they once had one. They mainly serve the drinks with the non premium liquor and you really have to get to the bar early if you want the good stuff if that matters to you. The rooms are okay, pretty standard with no extra amenities and what I mean is by not supplying extra shampoo, conditioner, body wash etc...Like the items you will typically find in a holiday inn. They stock the mini fridge with two beers and they only replace them every other day unless you call housekeeping and hope they show up. I was told by a staff member that they do that to save money and my thought was....I just paid a lot of money to be here at "an all-inclusive resort" and should get certain all inclusive privileges. We did not pay the hotel for any excursions and glad we didn't because our fellow vacationers said it was not worth it. Instead of huddling in a group like a herd of cattle in the ocean we pain a local snorkel diver at Alberto's bar and grill to take us and another couple out. That experience was beyond anything I could have imagined and the guide was a pro and made our snorkel trip the most personalized and memorable than anything out of our vacation. Lastly, I have been to many all inclusive resorts with Sandals and one in Puerto Vallarta Dreams which soars in comparison to this hotel. Dreams with even their bricks as bed makes this hotel look like a wicked step child. Overall, the food was nothing to taste again, the pressure was unbearable and the pools were nothing more than average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Alberto's Bar & Grill a short walk on the beach from the hotel with amazing food, tasty premium drinks and the best snorkeling guide in Cozumel!

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
jackson, ms
Apr 7, 2011

Occidental Grand Cozumel

The a/c vent had mold had to check out as my fiance got sick within 12 hours. Poor outside lighting, bad plumbing (the water was out could not flush toilet or get running water for a long period in the middle of the night), poor outside lighting as they do not turn on the lights around the property to see while walking at night. Also, the beds were very uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pixma

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston texas
Aug 15, 2010

Do not stay here!

I have traveled for many years.This is the worst place I have ever stayed. The rooms smelled horrible.The A/C did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not eat here

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
khs
New England
Aug 13, 2010

Terrible 7 days

We had hundreds of small bugs in our room regardless of how much bug killer we sprayed, we just could not keep up with them. The room also had a terrible odor - musty and moldy - I was told by the manager that this was because we were in a wet jungle area. Finally, four days into the vacation our rooms were moved and no bugs or odor in the new room. We even brought a plug in odor killer and could not counter the terrible smell. The food was like camp food. You are limited to the number of times you are able to have reservations for meals other than buffet. After a couple of days of this - we gave up and had wonderful meals in town, worth the cost of the taxi. We have been to Cozumel several times and this experience was the worst.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr, dissapointed
ok.
Aug 1, 2010

Not a place to relax!!!

Wow what a waste of time and money!!! When we arrived we could not check in for 3 hours even though they had a room ready. Did I mention we have a 14mth old baby with us and it did not matter no early check in they said. Then when we did get our room it was on the 3rd floor and the ac was worthless. Keep in mind we have a small child, so when trying to nap he is sweating. The next day after numerous trips to the front desk of trying to convince them the a c doesnt work right, they moved us but that didnt happen until thier 3pm deadline,and telling them we want to leave thier resort. So we carried all of are stuff to the next room, not the bell boy. That night and the next night we were awakend all night long to the sounds of drunk kids and grown men cussing at each other till 4am when security finally sent them to there rooms. Waking our baby up all night! The room was not bad but the floors in room and bathroom were so slick, especially when wet, that we slipped all the time, especially my baby! not good! accident waiting to happen! The bridge between rooms and beach and pool area was closed, what an inconvenience! We had to walk all the way around property to get to beach. I had enough of this inconvenient place and when i went to front desk to ask for help to get early flight out, they didnt know how to help me! unbelievable! So overall this trip was a disaster and we left a day early because of the frustrating circumstances we dealt with. So are 2500$ that turned into a $3000 trip was a waste of our time and are hard earned money and because we left early we were forced to pay another 3hundred dollars to get out a day early!! Not to mention when we arrived at Houston airport, while going thru customs, our next flight left us. We had to wait until 9:00p.m for stand by on next plane. Again keep in mind we had 14 mo old baby all those hrs in airport. A trip I will never forget! We would very much appreciate if you would consider reembersing us for the last day there, and the flight that left us. We go on vacation every year. Would love to continue our business with you, if you would consider helping us out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search