$214 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
370 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.3764 -87.0209
Area served
Cozumel, Quintana Roo; Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel Airport
Area description
Cozumel features excellent diving and water sports, nightlife and restaurants, shopping, and golf nearby (20-30 minutes). The resort is perfectly located on San Francisco Beach, five minutes from Palancar Reef and other attractions.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (370)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
370 out of 370
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Little Rock, AR
Sep 5, 2007

Fun and entertaining

The Occidental Grand Cozumel was overall very comfortable and clean. The rooms are large with beautiful tile and art and the bathroom is huge and stocked with all amenities. The location is great. It is located on the southwest side of the island and the rooms are separated into several buildings so, it is quiet and relaxing. Everything is located close to the beach. The hotel has two pools, fitness, restaurants, beach clubs, and a disco lounge. They also provide snorkeling, diving, parasailing, and other activities at hand. There is something for everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Carlos N Charlies is not far and the main strip of the city is within easy access of driving.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Little Rock, AR
Sep 5, 2007

Fun and entertaining

The Occidental Grand Cozumel was overall very comfortable and clean. The rooms are large with beautiful tile and art and the bathroom is huge and stocked with all amenities. The location is great. It is located on the southwest side of the island and the rooms are separated into several buildings so, it is quiet and relaxing. Everything is located close to the beach. The hotel has two pools, fitness, restaurants, beach clubs, and a disco lounge. They also provide snorkeling, diving, parasailing, and other activities at hand. There is something for everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Carlos N Charlies is not far and the main strip of the city is within easy access of driving.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Apr 18, 2008

Very good value, great beach

Stayed M-F, April 14-18, 2008 - My wife and I (ages 47,36) spent our anniversary here. We don't like to hit all the site-seeing spots, so wanted a place with a super beach and good food where we could pretty much stay at the whole time and that's exactly what we got. Hotel is about 15-20 minutes from the airport by taxi ($18 for two people). There are closer hotels but if a big, clean beach is your priority you can't go wrong with this one. The hotel is a smaller property (about 250 rooms). It has about 15 or so two-story buildings with about 10-15 rooms each. The lobby and restaurants buildings are tastefully decorated but in the Mexican hacienda style. The grounds are lush with vegetation and landscaping and is very well kept. Had a Deluxe Room (basic one) with a King bed that, yes, is very firm, which is customary in Mexico. If you need soft beds, ask the management for a bed cushion or extra blankets. Staff is all very friendly. Our only major complaint was that after checkin, the hotel staff directed us to another desk without explaining why and we assumed it was part of the checkin. We talked to a guy who says he has free gifts for us and just sit down for a minute and he'll also help us make restaurant reservations, give us a coupon for half off a day's car rental, etc. We were starving and ready to make it to lunch, and would have preferred it if they would have told us this was a sales pitch and was optional. We sat there for 15 mins listening to him ramble until we realized this and finally said, are you trying to sell us a timeshare or vacation club because we're not interested. He assured us he wasn't but that was only technically true - his job was just to sign us up for the salespitch (over breakfast) and he would get a commission. In return he promised the above things, including making us reservations in the restaurants. Bottom line: avoid these sales pitches!! You can make your hotel reservations faster and easier without these guys (through front desk) and you won't spend half a day in a salespitch, which they lie to you and tell you will only take an hour and a half. We didn't do the salespitch, and did have to endure multiple hotel staff taking 5-10 mins of our time here and there trying to get us to sign up for it. One guy finally told me the deal - Occidental Grand has a vacation club (we were told $50,000) which you can supposedly use for upgraded rooms in all their other hotels. If you're just firm and polite, they'll leave you alone for the most part. I think all major hotels have this type of service and salespitch, just think they should be more up front about it in trying to get you to hear it. Other than that, we loved the hotel, the room, the food, the beach, the pools. Besides all-inclusive - all food all drinks - you have a lot of free watersports on the beach included. This includes free snorkel equipment, free kayaks, 2-person catamarans, etc. There were always beach chairs available, including ones in the shade if you wanted them. The beach faces directly west, so folks sit on the beach chairs and watch the gorgeous sunsets! Don't miss those!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
Jun 16, 2009

Great Vacation

Me and my two daughters were on vacation at the Occidental. I felt secure and safe. The area was beautiful and the staff was very helpful. The rooms were very clean and I especially enjoyed the fresh bedding every day. The fridge was stocked with cold drinks. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were amazing. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Minnesotacharlie
Minneapolis,MN
Feb 15, 2010

Occidental Grand Cozumel Feb of 2010

This was our first family trip to Cozumel and we had a wonderful time. I cannot say enough about this resort and how nice both the property and the staff are. Avoid the time share presentation and you will have a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Regge bar at Punta Sur for the food and the location. About 5 miles to the South of the resort.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Clara, CA
Jun 20, 2009

Excellent time at OGC

Excellent location-dive shop and dock right there. Great pools and access to the ocean. Buffet food was excellent. Great bar service. Gym and Spa were nice. Would stay here again in a minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Dive and snorkling right there with dive boats at dock. Didn't have to take a bus or taxi anywhere.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Sep 15, 2007

Perfect Dive Resort

The Occidental Grand is with in minutes of some of the best diving in Mexico, which as divers was one of the reasons we choose to stay there. But the staff,food and accommodations brought us back to this hotel. The conserge welcomed us back, made us feel special. The rooms were always clean and made up,the fridge was always restocked. There is adequate drawer and closet space. The bathrooms have both a shower and bath tub, and plenty of couter space. The variety and quality of food was really very good,with three specialty resturants and a buffet to choice from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

There are vendors in the evenings, so bring a little extra cash for shopping.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matt the Miraculous
Wichita, KS
Feb 11, 2010

Best Resort I Have Ever Been To

Lots of relaxation. They have 2 big pools to lounge by. We did most of our lounging on the beach. They have plenty of huts and chairs to do so. On calm day, the snorkeling off the beach was excellent. Saw lots of fish!!! This was my first time to Cozumel. We are going back. I am not even gonna try staying at another resort, for I know I would be disappointed. Occidental Grand was SUPERB!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
Mar 7, 2010

Great place!!

The resort was very good. I would certainly go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kevin / Susie
Columbus, Ohio
Jul 25, 2011

" Love the Occidental Grand "

This was our second year in a row staying at the Grand.The service at the Grand was excellent overall & the rec. staff was alot of fun. It was a pleasure to be attended to so well and our family agreed we would definitely go back. The beach is great and the hotel is located directly across from the best reef diving in Cozumel.Dive Palancar is located on hotel property and is by far the best dive shop we have ever used Rooms: rooms were nice and very clean,bed was hard but pillows were soft. The maids do a great job of cleaning you room daily. Make sure you bring plenty of cash and bring a fair amount of small denominations like 1.00s & 5.00s for tipping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go visit San Miguel

Back to menu Return to top