$214 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
370 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.3764 -87.0209
Area served
Cozumel, Quintana Roo; Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel Airport
Area description
Cozumel features excellent diving and water sports, nightlife and restaurants, shopping, and golf nearby (20-30 minutes). The resort is perfectly located on San Francisco Beach, five minutes from Palancar Reef and other attractions.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (370)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 370
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
50's female
midwest
Jan 26, 2014

good except for their overbooking problems

After traveling all day to arrive at 5pm and be told after a lengthy wait and signing multiple sign in papers that they have "some bad news" for our group of 8 (4 rooms), we were very disappointed with their management. The bad news was that they had overbooked and we must transfer to a sister property The Allegro for the 1st night. Other than the hassle of moving and unpacking twice and missing our morning dives, The Allegro is not the Occidental. Old, smelly, dirty rooms with boards as beds and disgusting, mush food that was next to inedible. Also a very loud complex. It wasn't until one full day and a sleepless night that we were finally settled in at the Occidental. Management kept giving us the run around for 3 days about how they would make it up to us and kept promising things then not delivering. They did in the end offer us a free massage but that was after much persistence on the part of our group. The good news is that the rooms are great, the food is acceptable with the special Italian/Greek restaurant being very good and the general day to day staff of waiters, maids and bartenders very nice and friendly. Pools and beach are relaxing with plenty to do and also lots of shade if you need it. If you like to consume a lot of alcohol, you can't beat the price. With all this said, we have been there twice but will not be returning because of their overbooking policies. We learned from other guests that this happens much too often and management doesn't handle it well by telling you one thing and doing another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mjrmd
Ashland, VA
Jan 26, 2014

Great, but overbooked!

the good- great weather, scuba diving, employees. Pretty good food. the bad- after long day of travel they tell our group they are overbooked and have us stay down the road at Occidental Allegra for first night. So we have to go down there and come back the next day. Major hassle. They do try to compensate with reservations at the nicer restaurants for 4 nights and reservations for massages. We also asked for free Wy-Fy but they declined. I would hesitate to go again unless assured of room reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Just a women
Allentown PA
Dec 17, 2013

Average resort

The beach was very good. Food was way below average, practically no fruits,. We did not have in our room: iron, extra pillow, umbrella( supposed to have). The sink in a bathroom was not draining well. I wish they had a band playing outside, not inside, so people could dance and enjoy the music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hmkelley
Austin, TX
Jun 5, 2013

Enjoyable Vacation

The hotel was lovely. Cleanliness is important to be as well as amenities and the Occidental Grande ranked very high in these areas. Upon arrival, I was informed my room was not ready. This seemed to be the case on a daily basic. Rooms were never available at "check in" time. Guests were hot and uncomfortable after long travel days and discouraged and angry that they could not get into their rooms. I actually was able to get my keys at 5 PM - I had arrived around 1:30 with "check in" time at 3 PM. Two hours after posted check in time I was finally able to get to my room. Also, they do try to sell you stuff when you arrive...Really? I just traveled all day to start my vacation and you want me to buy your time share....leave me alone! Once the check in process was over and you begin to actually vacation, things get better. Well, maybe not immediately. Especially if you are accustomed to certain "luxuries" such as a fan! The one thing that really stood out was the fact that there were absolutely no ceiling fans or air conditioning in the restaurants or bars making dining or having a cocktail miserable. I understand no air conditioning in open areas but not even a fan in the buffet or specialty restaurants, or bar - it was brutal. I felt terrible for the staff that had to work all day long in sweltering conditions as well as myself. I was on vacation! My vacation plans did not include being miserable while trying to dine or enjoy a nice cool drink. If there had been fans I am sure my review would have been much better. The rooms were lovely and linens were of good quality. Plus! No moldy smells which I have experienced at other hotels in Cozumel. The beds were fresh and clean, Housekeeping staff did a great job. We did experience some (surprisingly) poor customer service and shortness from staff on one day and we figured out later it was apparently because they were overwhelmed with "cruise ship" day pass guests. I have had better customer service at other resorts but the cleanliness and amenities won out. I will return to this location. I just wish they would install a couple of ceiling fans! To summarize. *Clean and well maintained facilities *Lovely beach area and beach chairs/beds Average food in buffet and restarants *Great pizza (after hours dining) Pools were average and could have been better maintained (lots of debris) Sweat box in restaurants, bars, and buffet (get some ceiling fans!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you snorkel and like to have fun, check out Tigers Adventures. Great Boat and excellent snorkel experience

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kotikituristy
San Diego
Apr 29, 2013

good, relaxing vacation

Overall this was a good, relaxing vacation. If we’ll go to Cozumel next year, we’ll stay in this resort again. Very good: •Location – ideal for those who likes the snorkeling and walking on the beach. •Beach - You will found enough spots in the shadows and in the sun, whatever you want any time. It is very important that here is very GOOD SNORKLING from the beach. •Food and service in La Posada buffet [breakfast and dinner], •Territory – Clean and green, •Room cleaning – they did good job, no complains. Some areas for improvements: [In our opinion, this will be beneficial for both – for visitors and for the resort, if the resort will take the attention to the following] •Evening restaurants [Sonora Grill and Los Olivos] - NOTHING SPECIAL. Very basic and not a best quality. We have had a dinner in each restaurant once and then preferred to go to La Posada buffet for a dinner…. •The conditioner in the room is VERY LOUD. But it is too hot at the night in the room if you turn it off. It is not something that resort can fix for you, so, take earplugs with you to make your stay more pleasure. •No ‘change rooms’ on the beach. So, if you need to change your wet swimsuit you must use the restrooms…. Which is not comfortable. •Not enough entertainment in the evening. We have stayed for a week and only two nights’ shows were good. Others were boring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the Albertos restaurant. It located on the beach between Occidental and Iberostar [about 10 min walk from Occidental beach]. They have live music every Tue and Thu from 6 to 10pm. This is a good idea for sunset dinner

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sisters trying to unwind
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Jan 25, 2013

Wouldn't choose this hotel

Upon arrival, my sister and I were offered an "opportunity" to save money on excursions. They failed to mention what happened next. We were told to meet the staff the next morning for breakfast. At that point, they assign a guide. They walk you around talking to you about the hotel that you most likely already read all about before booking your trip. This went on for over an hour. Our guide was telling us what he thought we wanted to hear. He finally took us back to the room where they offer you lots of alcohol and then try to sell you a timeshare. After we finally were able to leave, we learned that we did not in fact save a penny on any of the excursions. My sister and I made friends during our stay and learned that the range in price depends on if you are married or not. We were offered a timeshare for 13k and our married friends were offered the same exact timeshare for 29k. We went on vacation to rest and relax and instead found ourselves in a timeshare nightmare the first day. The food was nasty. We reserved seats at one of the special restaurants and I could swear what they put on my plate was something close to cat food. I have traveled around the world and have a very experienced pallet, but this meal had me drawing the line. The hotel to the right and the left also offered far superior dive shops compared to ours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, Texas
Sep 24, 2012

Had a great time.

My wife and I had a great time. Good food, plenty to do, and the staff at the resort was easy to work with. The only thing that wne t wron was the flight back. More communication from the airlines to the booking company needs to get better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jjjrs5
San Antonio, TX
Jul 26, 2012

Top Hotel in Cozumel

Recovering very well from the Hurricane. Close to the great diving with a very good dive shop at the hotel. Good specialty restaurants. Very nice beach with decent snorkling for beginners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jjjrs5
San Antonio, TX
Jul 23, 2012

Getting back to being the best

The hurricane took all of Cozumel down a notch, but the Occidental Grand has rebuilt consistently and is back on top of the list of places to stay on the island. The very best diving is a short trip away. The beach is great, the specialty restaurants are good, but have been better in the past. It has improved every year I've stayed since the hurricane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jjjrs5
San Antonio, TX
Jul 4, 2012

Best Luxury Hotel for Scuba

Very nice rooms. Very Large. Lots of towels, free drinks in room and elsewhere. A little bit of mold spell still remains after the Hurricane 6 years ago--the only complaint. Excellent on site scuba operation, close to the great reefs--Palancar, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top