$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 23, 2014 Check-out: Oct 25, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
233 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.3764 -87.0209
Area served
Cozumel, Quintana Roo; Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel Airport
Area description
Cozumel features excellent diving and water sports, nightlife and restaurants, shopping, and golf nearby (20-30 minutes). The resort is perfectly located on San Francisco Beach, five minutes from Palancar Reef and other attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (233)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
137 out of 233
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Troy who needs internet
Business
austin, texas
Sep 25, 2014

Great Place to stay BUT!

it is a shame as this was a great hotel the people were nice the food was great the rooms were spectacular the location was perfect in every aspect it was amazing, BUT, they charged 26 bucks a day for HORRIBLE internet service. I work an hour in the morning and an hour at night and that is the only way I can afford to take a week long trip away from my job and I will not go back until the internet issue is corrected. I just can't afford it. If internet is not a big deal for your vacation I HIGHLY recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Albertos restaurant is a short walk and well worth it if you like amazing SeaFood!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BrendaLC
Business
San Antonio, TX
Sep 17, 2014

Nice Room; Food Average

We usually stay at the Allegro Cozumel and the only difference we saw between the 2 resorts is the room. Food is pretty much the same. The rooms are very nice at the Occidental Grand. We had a relaxing and nice time. The only minor complaints we had is there is no breeze around the resort since you are surrounded by so much jungle; no pool bar; pool could have been cleaner; and no front desk. We are going back to the Allegro since it is more open and homier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alberto's was excellent - just be ready for mosquitos at dusk!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allen White
Business
Graham, NC
Sep 2, 2014

Attention to detail

The beds were re the hardest mattresses I have ever tried to sleep on. vegetation which is beautiful but the bugs that come with the flora needs to be controlled. Finally, the lobby bar was not air conditioned and it was very hot. My complaint is they did not even have fans in the bar. No ceiling fans, floor fans, nothing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Just south of the hotel and reachable by a walk on the beach is Alberto's restaurant which serves only the freshest fish. We watched as the fishermen came up with their catch and the chef put it in the menu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PJ Mojo
Business
Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Aug 4, 2014

Objective Review from a Frequent Traveler

My wife and I travel frequently, having been to Asia, Europe, much of North America and the Caribbean. That's said only to help you know that we have a broad array of experiences from good to bad, and have very realistic expectations when we travel. Note that I do NOT work for the resort and was NOT paid for this review. This all-inclusive experience was wonderful. The food was fresh, flavorful, plentiful, and was a mix of local and international flavors. Fruit was spectacular, as were the fresh juices. The bars offered prompt service and made drinks to order. The staff was extremely friendly and requests were answered promptly. All staff greeted us with smiles and "Hola/Buenos Dias/Buenas tardes/noches" whenever we passed. The room was in excellent shape with the exception of a damaged lampshade, was spacious, had excellent water temperature and pressure, and was cleaned meticulously. The room fridge gets restocked with two beers, bottled water and soda every other day. Pools are very clean and very warm (too warm for us, we preferred being in the ocean). We walked North and South of the resort, and noted that other resorts within walking distance were not remotely as nice, and had poor/rocky beaches. Snorkeling right off our resort's beach was good, with resident/large barracuda nearby. Interesting array of fish and lobster within bounds of swimming area, with best fish at North and South "corners" of swimming area. The SCUBA diving shop onsite (Pro Dive) was excellent, and offers Nitrox at no additional charge if you are certified for its use. Excellent sandy beach, water temperature was 84 degrees. Plenty of beach chairs. Plenty of shaded areas on beach for when you get too much sun. Two premium restaurants onsite offered very tasty meals, any drinks you wanted, and more upscale ambience at no additional charge. Just make sure to make reservations upon arrival to make sure you get dates/times for these limited seats. The bars will make any drink with top shelf liquor if you request it (otherwise they default to lower-quality liquor). Downsides are very few. First, the timeshare people are assertive, but to be fair, were pleasant. If you are interested in obtaining the discounts they offer, prepare for three hours with them (not the 90 minutes they promise). We did not participate in the presentations, but were told by others about the experience. Second, we read reviews that complained about the air-conditioning. Our room would get warmer throughout the day and early evening, but the air conditioning would "catch up" at night. I have no complaint with this, as we understand that to make those rooms ice-box cold would be energy inefficient and costly, and further, you are vacationing in Mexico...where it's hot...set your expectations accordingly. Third, we read negative reviews about lack of beach chairs and long lines at the bars...we can only assume from the timestamps of those reviews that the writers were visiting during Spring Break and had different experiences than we did. Last, read the documents you get at check-in to understand how many reservations at the premium restaurants you are allowed as part of your package (it's tied to the number of nights you stay). We were eligible for two reservations, but initially the desk person only offered one. We are extremely pleased with the resort and with the experience. I would not hesitate to recommend it to others, but would recommend traveling during the "off" season to ensure lower numbers of visitors. Special thanks to Santos at the bar, who pours "Single, Double, or Oh My God" sized drinks, and Armando (mi hermano) in the restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the airport shuttle and skip the timeshare presentation that begins IN THE AIRPORT. We were directed to a person who gave us helpful hints, then began an attempt to get us to commit to a timeshare presentation. Skip this and go directly to the shuttle people, pay $14 USD per person for shuttle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sdsd
Business
Central, NJ
Jul 9, 2014

Not for the seasoned travel

I've been to much nicer hotels. The buffet food here isn't very good. The ground level rooms smell moldy and I heard the third level rooms are too hot. The front desk wasn't very helpful or accommodating for their resort's shortfalls and that's unacceptable. Book your activities outside of this resort on your own if you can, they charged us 10% above the normal rate on the activities they book for you on-site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I heard the best attraction on the island other than ocean/diving/snorkling was the cave snorkling/diving offered. Wish I had a chance to check it out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ninja Ginger
Business
Michigan
Jul 3, 2014

Good luck getting a room

The best thing I can say about this hotel is the actual hotel grounds are beautiful. However, there's a chance you may never get to see them because they will tell you they are over booked and try to send you to their sister hotel, The Allegro, and in return they will give you free nights on a next visit. The Allegro costs significantly less and the rooms smell awful. Once you get a room at The Occidental, the food is average at best. None of the restaurants or the inside bar have air, not even a fan to circulate the air, so it's crazy hot! Once you get past the lobby, the staff is friendly. However, don't expect beachside service as advertised, because there is none! After speaking with many repeat guests during our stay, they all said they have seen a decline in service and food in the last year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JonPenny
Business
St. Louis
Jul 1, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel

We have been to this resort a few times and we mainly go to Scuba Dive. The place has gone down hill since our first visit. For Scuba Divers: We use to enjoy Palancar Divers and got to know quite a few of the Mexican dive masters over the years and could cut a deal on reduced price dives (as low as $26 a tank) depending on how many divers we were with. Palancar Divers has been replaced with an outfit staffed with Europeans and the lowest price you can get is $37 if you do 10 or more dives. Luckily the brother-in-law found a former Palancar dive master we knew that went independent (Pingo's Dive Center) and we basically ended up with private dives picked up at the resort pier for $29 a tank. If you need/want to dive in a large group and be led around like children and come up when to first person is low on air for more $ go with the current operator. Other wise, I would recommend finding one of the other operators (Dive Palancar still operates a good fleet of boats and will come to the pier and should still have a website). Also, I like to sail and the new outfit (Pro Dive) only had one Hobie Wave and it was broke for most of the stay. The other resort down the beach (Iberostar - where we have stayed before and may go back to) had three Hobies out every day. The food is just so-so and has lost quality. The fish for lunch was one of my favorites but this year it was served luke-warm to cold - not the way to go with grilled or breaded fish. Also, Ice-cream was no longer put out at the evening buffet. After this experience, we are going to consider the Occidental Allegro (we've been there too - larger with swim up bar, larger and more pools and larger beach) or the Iberostar (we've been to it also, beach is not as good as it has a lot of coral) We've stayed at several Iberostars and the quality always seemed good and consistent and they have a good prier to get picked up on and more Hobies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jdjmdj12
Business
Oklahoma
Jun 17, 2014

Don't choose this hotel.

Cozumel was beautiful. The hotel was horrible. Was an all inclusive so food was free but the quality of food was bad. No other choice but what they prepared. Says they have several restaurants but they only have 1 open at a time. They also only had 1 bar open at a time. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff was not helpful or friendly. Was always being hassled to purchase something at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JonJack
Business
GA
Jun 15, 2014

Mosquitos!!

The greatest issue I had with the trip is the location of this resort (20 min. away from town and over marsh land) and the fact that you had to wear "Off" mosquito repellant almost constantly because of the mosquito problem. The beds are also extremely firm, so if you have problems sleeping on these types of mattresses, bring extra support. The food was slightly better than average. The service was awesome and the staff was extremely attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kalab
Business
Wyoming
May 12, 2014

LOVED IT!

The stay was very relaxing and my wife and I enjoyed every minute of it. The bed was a bit hard, but not so much that it hurt or anything. The food was good and the staff was awesome. Lots to do and see and plenty of places to just relax and enjoy the sun when you didn't feel the need to do anything at all. The fire show was awesome too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Split cab fare with strangers whenever you can.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top