$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
372 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.3764 -87.0209
Area served
Cozumel, Quintana Roo; Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel Airport
Area description
Cozumel features excellent diving and water sports, nightlife and restaurants, shopping, and golf nearby (20-30 minutes). The resort is perfectly located on San Francisco Beach, five minutes from Palancar Reef and other attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (372)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
372 out of 372
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston texas
Aug 15, 2010

Do not stay here!

I have traveled for many years.This is the worst place I have ever stayed. The rooms smelled horrible.The A/C did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not eat here

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sisters trying to unwind
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Jan 25, 2013

Wouldn't choose this hotel

Upon arrival, my sister and I were offered an "opportunity" to save money on excursions. They failed to mention what happened next. We were told to meet the staff the next morning for breakfast. At that point, they assign a guide. They walk you around talking to you about the hotel that you most likely already read all about before booking your trip. This went on for over an hour. Our guide was telling us what he thought we wanted to hear. He finally took us back to the room where they offer you lots of alcohol and then try to sell you a timeshare. After we finally were able to leave, we learned that we did not in fact save a penny on any of the excursions. My sister and I made friends during our stay and learned that the range in price depends on if you are married or not. We were offered a timeshare for 13k and our married friends were offered the same exact timeshare for 29k. We went on vacation to rest and relax and instead found ourselves in a timeshare nightmare the first day. The food was nasty. We reserved seats at one of the special restaurants and I could swear what they put on my plate was something close to cat food. I have traveled around the world and have a very experienced pallet, but this meal had me drawing the line. The hotel to the right and the left also offered far superior dive shops compared to ours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
xdtcoopx
SLC, UT
Nov 28, 2011

TERRIBLE FOOD!

TERRIBLE FOOD! Just returned from Cozumel. The Occidental Grand is a nice resort with a great layout. Great staff, beautiful beach and lots of wildlife. HOWEVER, the food is downright nasty! There is a good restaurant on the beach just one door down called Albertos. All other restaurants are a 20 min/$25 cab ride into town. If you're set on booking this resort, plan on eating off the resort. Our family will never be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

DO NOT PLAN ON EATING WELL

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 16, 2008

Family Friendly-Bad Food

The room, a junior suite was nice, except for the very hard bed and view of an unsightly kept swamp area between the hotel rooms, the pool and the beach. The setting of the hotel, walking to your room is landscaped very pretty and clean. Once you walk on the old wooden pier and cross the swamp, filled with dead trees and limbs and stagnant water, the pool area is quite plain and boring. The food at the pool/beach restaurant has a lot to be desired. It was kept out in hot weather and not iced well, and the taste was bad. We were afraid to eat it. Dinner that night was tasteless as well. The staff was very nice, friendly and accomodating. If you are looking for a place where the teenagers can drink and play and you don't care about food safety or it tasing good, you will like it here. Having traveled to Mexico many times, this was my first disappointment in accomodations, setting and food. Needless to say, we left after one night and chose to go to a different hotel, in order to salvage our vacation and enjoy the rest of our trip, which we did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The dolphin and snorkling place.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GaylonG.
Oklahoma City, OK
Jul 7, 2014

Traveler BEWARE!!

I'll start with the positive, because there was some, and we enjoyed our trip because of what we made of it, not because of the hotel we stayed at!! Beach area and pools were WONDERFUL! Bartenders and wait staff were superb! Actually, all of the service staff was incredible - very helpful and friendly. (Management is another story, and I'll get to that part!) Rooms were clean and comfortable - we stayed in building 15, and it was centrally located to everything we wanted to do - in other words, it was a good walk to the pool and beach and restaurants. We were able to book excursions through the hotel at somewhat discounted prices - they will give DEEP discounts if you talk to one of their sales people about their ownership program - DON'T DO IT...that is ALL. From our party of 11, 2 couples did the presentation and had some major issues with the promises made by their salesperson - one had given a deposit on the ownership program and ended up backing out because of those issues. If their sales staff and management would take on the same attitude of taking care of the guests that the service staff takes on, the whole thing would have been wonderful. The one excursion we booked was "forgotten" by someone, and our boat didn't come pick us up - when we went back to make our complaint, they DID correct it by bringing the boat to us and giving us the tour as a "private party" - though it was cut short by an hour over what was originally promised. This is one of the places that we made the most of the situation and did have a good time, but was not what we paid for. Management's general philosophy on any item we had to bring to their attention was "oh well...it happens...too bad for you." There was no making it right and no apologies for anything! If you can take care of your problems with service staff, DO NOT deal with Management - they're just not reasonable nor accommodating! We heard from many others the same complaints and that they hadn't had near the problems at other hotels and resorts on the island. Next time we go, we'll pick another hotel/resort FOR Sure!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Alberto's was wonderful!! The food was out of this world and the service was top notch!

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
jackson, ms
Apr 7, 2011

Occidental Grand Cozumel

The a/c vent had mold had to check out as my fiance got sick within 12 hours. Poor outside lighting, bad plumbing (the water was out could not flush toilet or get running water for a long period in the middle of the night), poor outside lighting as they do not turn on the lights around the property to see while walking at night. Also, the beds were very uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pixma

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oklahoma City
Apr 28, 2009

Occidental Grand Cozumel is not so grand

One word describes my experience: HORRIBLE. Have been to Cozumel many times and did not have any problems with accomodations. Upon arrivel was told I did not have a room and was then charged way too much EXTRA for second guest; due to Orbitz web site could not book double room occupancy and had NO IDEA how much extra would be charged. Was hounded by time-share sellers and some local vendors on site. The food was plausible, and managed to come home sick. The only redeeming factors were the great wait staff and the dive shop. Save your money - go some place else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Be very careful of what you eat and drink. The specialty restaurants can be skipped, although the Mediterranean was not bad.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Big Bommers
Texas
Jul 30, 2010

Beautiful Place, [*] Service

The Hotel itself is very beautiful. The service is horrible. Not all the bars are open so you have to walk a distance in order to get a drink if you are on the beach. If you want extra pillows or towels you have to go get them yourself or you'll be waiting forever. No one seems to know what is going on and you can never get a straight answer from the staff. Might be better in the off season!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want to eat fresh food, you need to get there right when they start serving.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr, dissapointed
ok.
Aug 1, 2010

Not a place to relax!!!

Wow what a waste of time and money!!! When we arrived we could not check in for 3 hours even though they had a room ready. Did I mention we have a 14mth old baby with us and it did not matter no early check in they said. Then when we did get our room it was on the 3rd floor and the ac was worthless. Keep in mind we have a small child, so when trying to nap he is sweating. The next day after numerous trips to the front desk of trying to convince them the a c doesnt work right, they moved us but that didnt happen until thier 3pm deadline,and telling them we want to leave thier resort. So we carried all of are stuff to the next room, not the bell boy. That night and the next night we were awakend all night long to the sounds of drunk kids and grown men cussing at each other till 4am when security finally sent them to there rooms. Waking our baby up all night! The room was not bad but the floors in room and bathroom were so slick, especially when wet, that we slipped all the time, especially my baby! not good! accident waiting to happen! The bridge between rooms and beach and pool area was closed, what an inconvenience! We had to walk all the way around property to get to beach. I had enough of this inconvenient place and when i went to front desk to ask for help to get early flight out, they didnt know how to help me! unbelievable! So overall this trip was a disaster and we left a day early because of the frustrating circumstances we dealt with. So are 2500$ that turned into a $3000 trip was a waste of our time and are hard earned money and because we left early we were forced to pay another 3hundred dollars to get out a day early!! Not to mention when we arrived at Houston airport, while going thru customs, our next flight left us. We had to wait until 9:00p.m for stand by on next plane. Again keep in mind we had 14 mo old baby all those hrs in airport. A trip I will never forget! We would very much appreciate if you would consider reembersing us for the last day there, and the flight that left us. We go on vacation every year. Would love to continue our business with you, if you would consider helping us out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oklahoma City
Apr 28, 2009

Occidental Grand Cozumel is not so grand

One word describes my experience: HORRIBLE. Have been to Cozumel many times and did not have any problems with accomodations. Upon arrivel was told I did not have a room and was then charged way too much EXTRA for second guest; due to Orbitz web site could not book double room occupancy and had NO IDEA how much extra would be charged. Was hounded by time-share sellers and some local vendors on site. The food was plausible, and managed to come home sick. The only redeeming factors were the great wait staff and the dive shop. Save your money - go some place else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Be very careful of what you eat and drink. The specialty restaurants can be skipped, although the Mediterranean was not bad.

Back to menu Return to top