$322 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
235 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Relaxing Vacation

I visited this hotel twice over the last 4 years and both times it was a great experience. It is a... See full review

  • JamieOH
  • Dec 19, 2014
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience
Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm
La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (235)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
235 out of 235
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Can-2
Business
Wylie, Texas
Jul 15, 2011

Won't go anywhere else!

2nd time back and it was still perfect! Food is great, Beach is great, service is excellent, room is perfect with COLD AC!!! My wife and I love the entertainment and all the fun activities. When our 3 kids are old enough they will come with us! Great for couples looking for romantic get away and great for families looking for fun in the sun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missoula, MT
Jul 8, 2011

Best beach ever!

This was the best vacation my husband and i have ever taken! The resort is located on the best beach on the island and also the best beach i have ever been to. Soft sand, clear water, no dropoffs or hard corals! The drinks were very good, but they only offer corona for beer. All the staff members were so helpful and very friendly. the food was great, but by the end of an 8day stay it became less appealing. We really enjoyed the snorkling. One day we borrowed the snorkle gear and walked up the beach to the next dock right past Albertos. You have to walk on the dock to enter the water because their beach is mostly rock, but you can swim under the dock and the fish come right up to your mask. Very cool experiance! All the beaches in cozumel are public.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Albertos was fantastic! They catch their fish fresh every morning. Best fish i have ever had! My husband also really enjoyed his tacos!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
busted and tired
Business
ukiah,california
Jul 6, 2011

high dollar vacation with poor service

The first day after an exhausting flight the phone calls start and then knocking on the doors non-stop,someone is always camped right outside your door in a chair next to a phone to harass you into buying vacation plans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best lobster and seafood at the mission about a block from palmaras downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
currently Iraq
Jun 25, 2011

great getaway

Hotel was nice, service good and very friendly and helpfull staff. Recommend hotel. Took one day bus trip around Island which was worth while. Rest of time just rested on the beach and enjoying all the activities the hotel offered every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

offered many activities and a little for everyone

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunburned vacationer
Business
Paradise, CA
Jun 21, 2011

The ocean is beautiful!

The hotel was nice and the location was perfect (for snorkeling and swimming in the ocean). The water was calm and beautiful. The hotel was better than most of the others that I saw on Cozumel, but not as nice as some of the other Hotels that I have stayed at in Mexico. I felt that the nightly entertainment was lacking and time share scam was ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ATLANTA GA
Jun 20, 2011

GOOD LOCATION

BEAUTIFUL LOCATION BEDS HARD FOOD AVERAGE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gator and Alisha
Business
Midwest City, OK
Jun 19, 2011

The perfect getaway for anyone!!!

We stayed at the resort for a week for our honeymoon and it could not have been any better! The staff was extremely friendly and personable. Everyone we met (including guests) were so laid back and we will definitely be returning next year! We loved the daily activities sheet (very helpful when planning your day) and [...]was amazing! We danced at the disco, played beach and pool volleyball, had a dart tournament (which I won) played horseshoes and name that tune (which I didn't do so well at but the tequila shots were nice:p We also went snorkeling and kayaking which was beautiful. The beach is well kept and the food was great! We are ready to move to Cozumel!!! Long story short there is plenty of activities to keep the entire family entertained and you definitely have to meet [...]while you are there...she made our stay very entertaining and enjoyable! Please tell [...]that she is the best!!! We did have one small problem with the batteries in our door lock not working which took about 30 minutes to fix but that happens everywhere. We love the Occidental Grand Cozumel!!! P.S. rent a car for a day or 2 and drive to the other side of the island...everything is beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Bring cash and don't settle for the first price when shopping...you can bargain in Mexico! Don't forget sunscreen and bug spray because it is $22 usd there for a can you can get for $5 in the states. Everything else is pretty reasonable. If you wanna have fun (with no kids) drive to the other side of the island and go to Coconuts! Good food and drinks and another surprise:p

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
New Mexico
Jun 18, 2011

Don't Turst Occidental Cozumel Grand

First let me say that the island is beautiful and well worth the trip but the hotel was a very bad decision especially if you want to relax. I understand that the economy is bad but from the minute we stepped into the hotel there was a staff member trying to sell us something. Every time we thought they were trying to be nice it ended up in a ploy to try & sell. They tell you that they have a special deal for you to get a jeep for free & other discounts and all you have to do is go to a presentation with a free breakfast. Well it is an all inclusive resort so breakfast is free anyway and what they mean is they will walk into the buffet with you. The presentation is all about in investing in their "vacation club" which is really an over priced time share. When we said we were not interested and spent the required amount of time they kept pressing on and on and by that time it was the manager of the club & a local staff salesman. I am so glad we didn't go to that presentation on our first day but waited and even though the experience we had on the free jeep was amazing it was not worth the agony of their sales pitch. I recommend renting a vehicle before hand or pay for one day rental to travel the island. As far as what the hotel offers it is not as accurate as they say. They only have really two bars that are open most of the time. The one in the buffet area is only open during food time. The relax pool would be nice if they cleaned it on a more than once basis and there was a bar where it looks like they once had one. They mainly serve the drinks with the non premium liquor and you really have to get to the bar early if you want the good stuff if that matters to you. The rooms are okay, pretty standard with no extra amenities and what I mean is by not supplying extra shampoo, conditioner, body wash etc...Like the items you will typically find in a holiday inn. They stock the mini fridge with two beers and they only replace them every other day unless you call housekeeping and hope they show up. I was told by a staff member that they do that to save money and my thought was....I just paid a lot of money to be here at "an all-inclusive resort" and should get certain all inclusive privileges. We did not pay the hotel for any excursions and glad we didn't because our fellow vacationers said it was not worth it. Instead of huddling in a group like a herd of cattle in the ocean we pain a local snorkel diver at Alberto's bar and grill to take us and another couple out. That experience was beyond anything I could have imagined and the guide was a pro and made our snorkel trip the most personalized and memorable than anything out of our vacation. Lastly, I have been to many all inclusive resorts with Sandals and one in Puerto Vallarta Dreams which soars in comparison to this hotel. Dreams with even their bricks as bed makes this hotel look like a wicked step child. Overall, the food was nothing to taste again, the pressure was unbearable and the pools were nothing more than average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Alberto's Bar & Grill a short walk on the beach from the hotel with amazing food, tasty premium drinks and the best snorkeling guide in Cozumel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gandjinco
Business
Denver, CO
May 25, 2011

Almost perfect

This was our first trip to Cozumel and it will not be our last. The staff was friendly, their English was great, they really made an effort to make everyone happy, and they did it all with a smile. The food was very good, I was surprised with the variety and quality. A couple buffet items can get a little dry after sitting under the heat lamps for a while but not much you could do about that. The room was big and clean but the bed was pretty hard. The on-site dive op. is a scam. Also, the resort does try to trick you into attending a time-share preso and they occasionally bug you to go on paid for excursions, rentals, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are a diver, use scubawithalison! She is so nice and does an amazing job of making sure everyone has a great and safe time. If someone is an air-hog, she takes them up alone and lets everyone else continue diving below her. Can't say enough good things about her!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wish I Could Have Stayed Longer
Business
Washington, DC
May 19, 2011

Fantastic

The hotel was clean, the service was friendly. The food was excellent. Much better than other all-inclusives I have visited!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top