$214 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
371 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.3764 -87.0209
Area served
Cozumel, Quintana Roo; Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel Airport
Area description
Cozumel features excellent diving and water sports, nightlife and restaurants, shopping, and golf nearby (20-30 minutes). The resort is perfectly located on San Francisco Beach, five minutes from Palancar Reef and other attractions.

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (371)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
371 out of 371
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jjjrs5
San Antonio, TX
Jul 23, 2012

Getting back to being the best

The hurricane took all of Cozumel down a notch, but the Occidental Grand has rebuilt consistently and is back on top of the list of places to stay on the island. The very best diving is a short trip away. The beach is great, the specialty restaurants are good, but have been better in the past. It has improved every year I've stayed since the hurricane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NW Arkansas
Jul 30, 2011

Relaxing Getaway

The experience started off a bit rough with our room not being available for an hour and a half after the designated 3:00 check in time. Really wouldn't have bothered me too much, but being a business owner myself, I certainly would have appreciated some sort of token of appreciation for my patience. All we received was a "come back in 30 minutes... 45 more minutes..." etc. Really, the only staff that did not impress me were those at the front desk. All others (restaurants, maintenance, maid service, etc.) were exceptionally nice, worked hard and appeared to enjoy the job. One down side to Occidental. You may get roped into some type of "buy in" promotional sales pitch beginning the moment you step off the plane. Folks working for Occidental (at least presented that way) would make the typical incentive pitch for some time, all in the name of the resort. Wasted some time on a vacation where I didn't want to mess with annoyance. I just want to pay my all-inclusive fee and relax from that point forward. Fool me once. On a similar note, the resort really needs what I'd consider a legitimate consierge. Rather, you have a set-up of numerous individuals within the main lobby who are there to help you out with excursions, travel, etc. This little scenario lost all credibility with me as soon as one of the gentelmen offered me a half-day fishing excursion at a "deal". The "deal" was he wanted to charge me $50 more than I could get the excursion by going directly to the captain of the boat. In light of all of this, next time we're doing everything on our own without using any of these helpers. I'd certainly stay at the resort again, and in fact plan to do so. BUT, do it on your own terms without anyone helping you out with planning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NW Arkansas
Jul 30, 2011

Relaxing Getaway

The experience started off a bit rough with our room not being available for an hour and a half after the designated 3:00 check in time. Really wouldn't have bothered me too much, but being a business owner myself, I certainly would have appreciated some sort of token of appreciation for my patience. All we received was a "come back in 30 minutes... 45 more minutes..." etc. Really, the only staff that did not impress me were those at the front desk. All others (restaurants, maintenance, maid service, etc.) were exceptionally nice, worked hard and appeared to enjoy the job. One down side to Occidental. You may get roped into some type of "buy in" promotional sales pitch beginning the moment you step off the plane. Folks working for Occidental (at least presented that way) would make the typical incentive pitch for some time, all in the name of the resort. Wasted some time on a vacation where I didn't want to mess with annoyance. I just want to pay my all-inclusive fee and relax from that point forward. Fool me once. On a similar note, the resort really needs what I'd consider a legitimate consierge. Rather, you have a set-up of numerous individuals within the main lobby who are there to help you out with excursions, travel, etc. This little scenario lost all credibility with me as soon as one of the gentelmen offered me a half-day fishing excursion at a "deal". The "deal" was he wanted to charge me $50 more than I could get the excursion by going directly to the captain of the boat. In light of all of this, next time we're doing everything on our own without using any of these helpers. I'd certainly stay at the resort again, and in fact plan to do so. BUT, do it on your own terms without anyone helping you out with planning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kevin / Susie
Columbus, Ohio
Jul 25, 2011

" Love the Occidental Grand "

This was our second year in a row staying at the Grand.The service at the Grand was excellent overall & the rec. staff was alot of fun. It was a pleasure to be attended to so well and our family agreed we would definitely go back. The beach is great and the hotel is located directly across from the best reef diving in Cozumel.Dive Palancar is located on hotel property and is by far the best dive shop we have ever used Rooms: rooms were nice and very clean,bed was hard but pillows were soft. The maids do a great job of cleaning you room daily. Make sure you bring plenty of cash and bring a fair amount of small denominations like 1.00s & 5.00s for tipping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go visit San Miguel

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kevin / Susie
Columbus, Ohio
Jul 25, 2011

" Love the Occidental Grand "

This was our second year in a row staying at the Grand.The service at the Grand was excellent overall & the rec. staff was alot of fun. It was a pleasure to be attended to so well and our family agreed we would definitely go back. The beach is great and the hotel is located directly across from the best reef diving in Cozumel.Dive Palancar is located on hotel property and is by far the best dive shop we have ever used Rooms: rooms were nice and very clean,bed was hard but pillows were soft. The maids do a great job of cleaning you room daily. Make sure you bring plenty of cash and bring a fair amount of small denominations like 1.00s & 5.00s for tipping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go visit San Miguel

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Can-2
Wylie, Texas
Jul 15, 2011

Won't go anywhere else!

2nd time back and it was still perfect! Food is great, Beach is great, service is excellent, room is perfect with COLD AC!!! My wife and I love the entertainment and all the fun activities. When our 3 kids are old enough they will come with us! Great for couples looking for romantic get away and great for families looking for fun in the sun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Can-2
Wylie, Texas
Jul 15, 2011

Won't go anywhere else!

2nd time back and it was still perfect! Food is great, Beach is great, service is excellent, room is perfect with COLD AC!!! My wife and I love the entertainment and all the fun activities. When our 3 kids are old enough they will come with us! Great for couples looking for romantic get away and great for families looking for fun in the sun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Missoula, MT
Jul 8, 2011

Best beach ever!

This was the best vacation my husband and i have ever taken! The resort is located on the best beach on the island and also the best beach i have ever been to. Soft sand, clear water, no dropoffs or hard corals! The drinks were very good, but they only offer corona for beer. All the staff members were so helpful and very friendly. the food was great, but by the end of an 8day stay it became less appealing. We really enjoyed the snorkling. One day we borrowed the snorkle gear and walked up the beach to the next dock right past Albertos. You have to walk on the dock to enter the water because their beach is mostly rock, but you can swim under the dock and the fish come right up to your mask. Very cool experiance! All the beaches in cozumel are public.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Albertos was fantastic! They catch their fish fresh every morning. Best fish i have ever had! My husband also really enjoyed his tacos!

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Missoula, MT
Jul 8, 2011

Best beach ever!

This was the best vacation my husband and i have ever taken! The resort is located on the best beach on the island and also the best beach i have ever been to. Soft sand, clear water, no dropoffs or hard corals! The drinks were very good, but they only offer corona for beer. All the staff members were so helpful and very friendly. the food was great, but by the end of an 8day stay it became less appealing. We really enjoyed the snorkling. One day we borrowed the snorkle gear and walked up the beach to the next dock right past Albertos. You have to walk on the dock to enter the water because their beach is mostly rock, but you can swim under the dock and the fish come right up to your mask. Very cool experiance! All the beaches in cozumel are public.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Albertos was fantastic! They catch their fish fresh every morning. Best fish i have ever had! My husband also really enjoyed his tacos!

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
busted and tired
ukiah,california
Jul 6, 2011

high dollar vacation with poor service

The first day after an exhausting flight the phone calls start and then knocking on the doors non-stop,someone is always camped right outside your door in a chair next to a phone to harass you into buying vacation plans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best lobster and seafood at the mission about a block from palmaras downtown

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
currently Iraq
Jun 25, 2011

great getaway

Hotel was nice, service good and very friendly and helpfull staff. Recommend hotel. Took one day bus trip around Island which was worth while. Rest of time just rested on the beach and enjoying all the activities the hotel offered every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

offered many activities and a little for everyone

Back to menu Return to top