$256 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 4, 2014 Check-out: Dec 7, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
234 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (234)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
234 out of 234
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jjjrs5
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 23, 2012

Getting back to being the best

The hurricane took all of Cozumel down a notch, but the Occidental Grand has rebuilt consistently and is back on top of the list of places to stay on the island. The very best diving is a short trip away. The beach is great, the specialty restaurants are good, but have been better in the past. It has improved every year I've stayed since the hurricane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Niceguyyy01
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 13, 2012

Good stay for the money

The hotel grounds are absolutely gorgeous. Staff is friendly and attentive. The food is average. The buffet was the best all-round choice, with a nice variety. We had one romantic dinner and we did not care for the food, we ate a little then left and went back to the buffet. I am sure some of the more worldy travelers will like the specialty foods they serve at the reservation restaurants, but we were not impressed. As others have said, the beds are similar to sleeping on plywood with sheets, but the rooms are nice and the a/c and hot water worked great for us.... so that made it nice. The very hard beds were the only drawback. Also they don't offer free wi-fi, you have to pay to use it. The beaches are perfect and definitely as advertised. The one thing that we DID not like is the incessant hounding right as you get there to take a tour of the grounds and try to be talked into buying a timeshare. They talked us into meeting them the next morning (which you have to give them 10 bucks to assure your coming), but we overslept and they called our room three times hounding us that they were waiting for us. I told them I'd get in touch with them later and they acted irritated. I felt that they could keep the 10 bucks just to leave us alone. This is why the staff only got 3 stars, otherwise I'd have given them more. Overall it was a very nice hotel, and Ricardo (the manager) was very cool and accommodating. The messages was amazing and I highly recommend one if you like that kind of stuff. Having never had one, I have nothing to compare it to, but my wife said it was one of the best ever. Oh one other thing, don't use the ATM machines in Mexico. I didn't bring enough cash, so the machine says 3 or 4 dollars fee, but we get back and either the bank of the ATM charges a percentage and it was more like 40 bucks. So always bring more cash than you think you'll need. Mexico is no longer any cheaper than the US.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you go to Downtown to go shopping, you have to really hunt (off the main drag) for good deals. Otherwise the pricing is the same, if not more than in Texas for all kinds of things.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alicja Z
Business
Seattle , Wa
Jul 9, 2012

Great getaway

This hotel has amazing beach and we did not spent any time at the pools since was so easy to swim in the ocean. Royal Club is well worth the extra money, you do get extra ordinary treatment! Food in the designated restaurant is first class and end the stuff is super friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jjjrs5
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 4, 2012

Best Luxury Hotel for Scuba

Very nice rooms. Very Large. Lots of towels, free drinks in room and elsewhere. A little bit of mold spell still remains after the Hurricane 6 years ago--the only complaint. Excellent on site scuba operation, close to the great reefs--Palancar, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tall Dude
Business
Texas
Jul 1, 2012

OK Hotel

Beds were way to firm. Had to wait in long lines for the bar by the pool The relaxation pool never had a bar tender so it was self serve. The water on the beach was dirty because of storms the previous week The sand on the beach wasn't the nice soft powder sand it was more like gravel sand. Food was ok I have had better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to downtown and there is a 7/11 gas sation and next to it is a shopping area and they have good cheap prices better the the flea markets downtown because they aren't paying as much for the spot and they don't pay taxes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Middle aged Harry
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 28, 2012

WONDERFUL STAY AND VALUE

Wonderful stay - great staff - great food and beverages - nice clean rooms - beautiful flora and fauna (best I've ever enjoyed at any resort in Cozumel). Super convenient scuba dive facility - dive and snorkel boat trips depart 4 times per day. Beach dives allowed! Free Hobie sail boats. Good daily / nightly entertainment. Best place we've ever stayed in Coz since we have been going there the last 15 years. We'll be back soon and often!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

No reason to leave the resort!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JessiAndDan
Business
Odenton, MD
Jun 28, 2012

Beautiful Resort But Some Improvements Needed

My fiance and I stayed her 6/16-6/23/12 and had a very relaxing, nice time. Bottom line: Beautiful resort, gorgeous beach, excellent staff, terrible beds, extremely disappointing food. The Pros: Beautiful resort, extremely clean and well-maintained. You really feel like you're in the jungle with all the plant-life and birds, frogs, iguanas (3 we saw), butterflies, etc. The place couldn't have been cleaner, not a hair ever appeared out of place. All of the staff working at the resort are friendly, polite, and attentive. The beach is awesome, plenty of room, plenty of umbrellas and the water was gorgeous. You can snorkle right off the beach if you choose. Snorkle gear, kyaks, hobie cats, and windsurfing are all included so no extra cost for those. The Dive Palancar shop attached the resort runs trips for suba diving, snorkling, parasailing, jet skis, and much more. The workers at the shop were so friendly and knowledgable - a huge plus. We did parasailing and a 3 hour, 3 reef snorkle/boat tour which we highly reccomend - well worth the time and money ($41/each). There were plenty of free activities you could choose to get involved with every day - snorkle or scuba lessons, spanish lessons, volleyball on the beach and in the pool, pottery painting on the beach. At night there was always a show at 9 or 10pm ranging from dance or musical performances to our favorite, the fire dance show - do not miss it! The drinks from the bar were always generously poured and very tasty - no complaints there. Both the pools (a quiet "adult" pool and a more lively main pool) were great. The Cons: The beds are absolutely God-awful. They are hard as bricks, you may as well sleep on the tile floor. I woke up sore a few nights and had a hard time getting comfortable and falling asleep. Secondly, the food is mediocre at best. The buffet was sorely disappointing at times - food was usually lukewarm at best, never warm, definitely never hot. Sometimes dishes looked like they'd been sitting for days and were soggy and generally unappetizing. The grill-made foods are your best bets (omlettes, hot dogs, hamburgers, stir fry). The buffet themes each night for their food - Mexican, Asian, Italian, BBQ, "International." The quality of food was just really, really poor and badly Americanized - we were disappointed that they didn't serve something resembling traditional Mexican (fajitas, enchiladas, burritos) more often. The 2 a la carte restaurants are much better - La Sonora Grill is definitely the best of two. Their fajitas and coconut shrimp were both excellent. We recommend going off the resort and into town one night (a 20 minute, $16 cab ride one way) if you want a good Mexican meal - try La Choza or Abuelo Gerardo. Overall, if the beds were more humane and the food more appealing this place would've rated alot higher in our book. But those are two pretty big areas to have issues with. Other things to know: Downtown Cozumel is pretty safe by our experience - lots of other tourists from cruise ships shopping so nothing to worry about. WiFi at the resort is $10/hour, $25/day, $80/week. There is NO A/C anywhere in the hotel and it can get very muggy so just be prepared. Our bedroom did stay pretty cool with the fan kept on. Mosquitoes are rampant so be sure to take plenty of bug spray and itch cream. The sales staff for excursions and timeshares are around but we didn't find them to be pushy at all - just tell them you're not interested and they nicely back off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mcfarkles
Business
cozumel MX
Jun 7, 2012

great combination of jungle and beach

we really had a great family vacation. there were 10 of us from 10months to 54 yrs of age, and it worked for everyone. You can't beat the price. The food was avg. for an all inclusive and we really did not enjoy the reservation- only restaurant, but the hotel, beach, diving, and staff were wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

definately go diving

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fyreftr
Business
Oklahoma
May 25, 2012

Great experience

We had a great time! We didn’t want to ever leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jason K.
Business
New York
May 20, 2012

Nice and clean, bad food

Hotel was nice and clean, staff helpful and friendly. Food was not good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top