$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 7, 2014 Check-out: Oct 10, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
231 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.3764 -87.0209
Area served
Cozumel, Quintana Roo; Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel Airport
Area description
Cozumel features excellent diving and water sports, nightlife and restaurants, shopping, and golf nearby (20-30 minutes). The resort is perfectly located on San Francisco Beach, five minutes from Palancar Reef and other attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (231)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VStar0608
Knoxville, TN
Dec 21, 2012

Excellent for SCUBA

This resort has about everything needed for a great week in Mexico. The all-inclusive format assures plenty to eat and drink for your entire stay. The staff is friendly and especially helpful. Likely 85% of the guests are there for the scuba diving. The on site dive shop is fantastic, with the same helpful attitude. Many of the favored dive sites are within a 10 minute boat ride. Leave a little something for housekeeping and they will keep your refrigerator stocked with your chosen beverages. We hope to return again very soon. Cab fare to town is flat $20US and takes about 20 minutes, but there really isn't much need to go up there unless you like high pressure sales people meeting you on the sidewalk. Gift shop has plenty of variety and priced comparable to the shops in town. Family-friendly resort with activities for kids during the day, different entertainment activity each evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

If your interest is scuba diving, there is no need to leave the resort. The beach is very nice with plenty of chairs and thatch canopies. 2 pools for lounging on the off-days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
g. reid
prtsmouth,va
Nov 29, 2012

excellant for family and dive location

the people and all the staff at this hotel went above and beyond to help its guest.. my daughter got married on the beach and the staff really went all out to pull off the perfect wedding... it was beautiful... the dive masters were very helpful. and taught things that i didnt really know as a new diver...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

rent a vehicle from hotel travel around the south end of the island up the caribean side of the island to a restraunt called coconuts its on a cliff overlooking the sea....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, Texas
Sep 24, 2012

Had a great time.

My wife and I had a great time. Good food, plenty to do, and the staff at the resort was easy to work with. The only thing that wne t wron was the flight back. More communication from the airlines to the booking company needs to get better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DenaD
New York, NY
Sep 3, 2012

Sad Honeymoon!!!

This hotel was a huge disappointment. We left and switched hotels after 3 nights. The main problem was the food. It was completely terrible. Most of the time our experiences with the staff were not good at all, though to be fair, if you go try to deal with Mariano at the front desk because he is great. Also, Freddy the bartender was awesome. But overall, there are better choices on the island of Cozumel, and we found one after we left. This hotel is really far from the downtown area, so if you want some authentic Mexican food, count on spending $40 on cab fare, Also, they suckered us into doing the timeshare presentation and it was AWFUL!!! Don't do it. Stay at the Park Royal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jaywes23
Vidor, Tx
Aug 13, 2012

Destination Wedding for a Friend

Hotel was nice, very secluded. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We didn't have any problem with the time share people, as we politely declined. The food was what you would expect from a mid-priced all-inclusive. Disappointed that there were no swim up bars, but they did have one close by the main pool. The wedding set-up was amazing, and they did a great job with the reception/after party. All in all, a pretty good trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amanda and Charlie
Washington DC
Aug 1, 2012

Gettaway luxury and idependence!

My bf and 2 other friends stayed here from 7/26-30. I miss it already! First let me point out I have been to many resorts around the carribean and cant stress how amazing Cozumel is! This resort is 4stars, room was good very clean beds not too comfy but just ok, food was great, outside room feels like your in a mini jungle, beach is amazing, staff is great, pool bar is awesome, club disco was also great for a late night entertainment! Lets start with the staff. The staff is great, they are willing to help with any accomadations. We got there at 2pm and were welcomed with champagne, to my surprise I had no idea we actually booked at the Royal Club, I was excited but then realized it isnt any different from the regular resort. Check in wasnt til 3, they held on to our bags while we went to the pool bar for a drink until the rooms were ready. Again our room looked the same as my friends room who stayed on the regular non "royal" side. Both rooms had AC and a fan, beatiful bathroom. Our royal room had a view of the pool on the balcony but we never even opened the curtains since we barely stayed in our room, we explored the city and the beach...go EXPLORE! Cozumel is a safe small island! Dinning, the food was great not sure why people are saying is not good. We stayed for 5days, they did inform us while reserving that we were only allowed to reserve for 2dinners (the front desk guy was rude but the only rude staff we encountered there, we didnt let him get to us). (Dont loose or forget your ticket receipt after reserving for dinners, you will need it when signing in for dinner). The first night we ate at La Sonora-I got a chicken dish which was really good, my bf got the fish which he enjoyed and my friend got the steak which was tender and great! The second night we ate at Los Olivios which was also great-get the Chili Soup and chicken I heard the fajitas are good too but didnt get to try it. The rest of the nights we ate at La Posada which was open to everyone (no reservations needed) Buffet style dinning one night was mexican night the other asian night, both nights were good had everything from veggies, soup, all meats, rice even lo mein and all sorts of desserts. Also at the Posada restaurant turns into La Piazza a pizza dinner from 9:30pm-1:30 the pizza was great too. We went there after the dancing at the disco. During the day we ate at the snack bar which was ok, def a place to fill your belly but not the best. I made myself chips with salsa and gauc (gauc was good but you could tell it came from a bag, not fresh). We didnt encounter any time share sellers as the other reviews stated, however the staff themselves asked several times if we wanted excursion deals, we did get the scotter package for $45/24hrs. I recommend doing this we got to explore the other beaches, and San miguel the city. At San Miguel we snorkeled and dived (on different days) for way cheaper. They do have scotters in the city you can rent for cheaper $25 but we didnt know until later. The whole town is safe and soo much to explore. We went snorkeling one day and scuba diving the next, scuba in the town is soo much cheaper and easier to do than at the resort, we spent $65 per person at the resort its $130 and you have to take an all day class. The city prices on food is the same as the US since it is a touristy part of town. Also if you are buying presents such as tshirts and clay art dont feel shy to haggle with their prices they will lower them. I will def recommend Occidental to everyone! I want to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Albertos Restaurant walking distance, take a left a the beach resort and keep walking for 5mins. Rent Scooters from resort $45 for 24hrs Go DIVING in San Miguel 2nd most beautiful coral reefs in the world! (20min drive to dwntown)!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lorimac
Fresno, California
Jul 31, 2012

Cozumel July 2012

Traveled as single parent of 2 teenagers (14 and 17), value not good value for teens who did not like the food and do not drink alcohol with limited activities for teens. They did use the kayaks on one day but other than that there wasn't anything on the resort for them to do. Most resorts now have Kids programs however are lacking activities for teens. There was nothing to do at night for my teens and they couldnt even watch TV as the programing and TV were in bad condition. We went off the resort most days to participate in our own planned activities and thus did not really utilize the all inclusive features of this resort very much. The food at night was terrible, there was a theme each nigh for the buffet (which is your ONLY option for food if not utilziing one of your reservations at the alacarte restaurants, which we got 3 of for a week stay). The food seemed to look very much the same no matter what the theme was and the kids did not like the food. When we tried to get them something to eat we were told there isn't anything else or we could order room service. We thought this was a good answer but when we called room service we had a choice of a cheeseburger or ham and cheese sandwhich. Needless to say the kids did not get to eat that night. When I pay this much for an all inclusive resort I want to sit down and be waited on at dinner,not buffet only. I do not like cleaniliness of buffet restaurants, especially at dinner. The beach side restaurant, only open for lunch, had the best buffet, but only open for lunch. Overall the resort is beautiful, rooms average, housekeepng excellent, bar tenders excellent. Food..not so good. I did read the reviews which stated this but did not really understand that you only had one place eat, buffet, every night. not really what I expect from an all inclusive reosrt of this price. Cancun probably better choice for families with teens....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Chanakaaab Park..swim with the dolphins a must!! Money bar for snorkeling, had our own equipment and rented a car and drove ourselves, free to snorkel or can rent gear there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scorpion Man
Houston, Texas
Jul 29, 2012

Couple getaway with diving

The building and grounds were beautiful and well maintained. The food and waitstaff were very good. The beach was white sand and very pretty for sunning and swimming or snorkling. Every night they had some type of entertainment. The entertainment was intriguing but average. The rooms where nice but we always felt the humidity even with the AC turned down low. Better humidifiers would be great. The beds on a scale of 1 to 5 would get a 2. They were hard and the pillows had a musty smell. The water sports and pools were nice. The main beach pool looked milky and was not very clear. I suspect the filtration system isn't up to par. Pools should be crystal clear. Lots of people swimming and we did not get any ear aches. Dive operator "Dive Palancar" was world class. I suspect this is why 60% of guests are divers or with a diver. The reason I will go back to the grand is for the diving. If a few little things could be corrected, AC in bars and better AC in Resturants. Overall, it depends on what you call 4 or 5 star. I did not like the time share guys who met you after checking in. Just say not interested and they will leave you alone. This does not happen at real five star hotels. The people at the grand are doing the best job and it's the employees that will make me come back. I will go again. Not a better resort in Cozumel for Divers. Period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La mission in San Miguel. Very authentic local cuisine

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jjjrs5
San Antonio, TX
Jul 26, 2012

Top Hotel in Cozumel

Recovering very well from the Hurricane. Close to the great diving with a very good dive shop at the hotel. Good specialty restaurants. Very nice beach with decent snorkling for beginners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jjjrs5
San Antonio, TX
Jul 23, 2012

Getting back to being the best

The hurricane took all of Cozumel down a notch, but the Occidental Grand has rebuilt consistently and is back on top of the list of places to stay on the island. The very best diving is a short trip away. The beach is great, the specialty restaurants are good, but have been better in the past. It has improved every year I've stayed since the hurricane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top