$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
231 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.3764 -87.0209
Area served
Cozumel, Quintana Roo; Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel Airport
Area description
Cozumel features excellent diving and water sports, nightlife and restaurants, shopping, and golf nearby (20-30 minutes). The resort is perfectly located on San Francisco Beach, five minutes from Palancar Reef and other attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (231)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eden cruiser
Eden,UT
Jun 2, 2013

Super Scuba Trip

Occidental is located nearest the best diving in Cozumel. Food was only average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kotikituristy
San Diego
Apr 29, 2013

good, relaxing vacation

Overall this was a good, relaxing vacation. If we’ll go to Cozumel next year, we’ll stay in this resort again. Very good: •Location – ideal for those who likes the snorkeling and walking on the beach. •Beach - You will found enough spots in the shadows and in the sun, whatever you want any time. It is very important that here is very GOOD SNORKLING from the beach. •Food and service in La Posada buffet [breakfast and dinner], •Territory – Clean and green, •Room cleaning – they did good job, no complains. Some areas for improvements: [In our opinion, this will be beneficial for both – for visitors and for the resort, if the resort will take the attention to the following] •Evening restaurants [Sonora Grill and Los Olivos] - NOTHING SPECIAL. Very basic and not a best quality. We have had a dinner in each restaurant once and then preferred to go to La Posada buffet for a dinner…. •The conditioner in the room is VERY LOUD. But it is too hot at the night in the room if you turn it off. It is not something that resort can fix for you, so, take earplugs with you to make your stay more pleasure. •No ‘change rooms’ on the beach. So, if you need to change your wet swimsuit you must use the restrooms…. Which is not comfortable. •Not enough entertainment in the evening. We have stayed for a week and only two nights’ shows were good. Others were boring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the Albertos restaurant. It located on the beach between Occidental and Iberostar [about 10 min walk from Occidental beach]. They have live music every Tue and Thu from 6 to 10pm. This is a good idea for sunset dinner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D1 and D2
Sacramento, California
Apr 5, 2013

Fourth visit

This was our 4th time at the Occidental Grand in Cozumel and for the most part is was just OK, not as good as in the past. The rooms were not as clean, the quality of food has deteriorated, most of the staff was very helpful, a few at the front desk could use an attitude adjustment. Our reservations indicated we were seniors, but were given a room on the third floor (no elevators in any of the buildings). We immediately returned to the front desk to see about a room change to the bottom floor and we were given the impression that it was a great imposition to make the change. Another couple that was with us needed a wheel chair, and they had to call the doctor to see if they could find one at another hotel. We brought the other couple with us because we had raived about it, however, we were dissappointed this time. A lot of the staff have been there for a few years and they were still as helpful and pleasant as ever. But, never again during spring break. I would recomment this hotel when they have plenty of empty rooms and want your business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DVMSURGEON
pinole california
Apr 1, 2013

forgotten service

Been here before and had a very nice time. This time service was poor in most categories. Front desk staff was unhelpful and unable to complete even simple tasks without being directed. Took over 6 hours to get into room. We were there around noon and were told the room was not yet ready. OK, this is understandable. The room not ready at 3:30 when told it would be ready by 3. Finally in room around 5:30pm after being up all night. Restaurant service was at best ok. We constantly ended up getting our own drinks, and even table settings. Once we were seated and went to get food at buffet. When we returned they had seated people at our table and we then had to locate another table. Then again get our own drinks. Food was ok for buffet. reasonable selection of drinks. Only one beer brand offered. Housekeeping was the lone stand out. They paid excellent attention to when we were in or out of the room and always asked if we needed anything. Used outside dive shop for scuba diving. Location is good as a few minute boat ride gets you to the reef system and your in the water. Prior experience would have me recommend, however their trend is significantly poor and I don't think I could recommend a friend stay here. They need to rethink their approach to service! The place is nice, but service from a service oriented business was horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Photo Diver
St. Paul, Minnesota
Mar 17, 2013

Not What We Expected

We have stayed at the Occidental in the past because we are avid divers and this property is located directly in front of Santa Rosa reef. Last year was a disaster as there was a large group of High School Spring Breakers constantly drunk (along with their parents). The last night of their stay, they threw all the pool furniture into the Marsh and into the pool causing $1000's of dollars of destruction. After confirming with the Occidental Grand that this group would not be returning this year, we booked again for our spring break, We are avid divers and have traveled to 100+ countries in our lives. Mostly budget travel, So for the price we paid, we had a good idea of what we should expect. Upon our arrival last week, the same group of student/parents had returned, the hotel overbooked by 30 rooms and we were sent to the LOWER BUDGET Allegro.!!!! The thratched roof of the room leaked and birds lived in the roof resulting in bird dropping all over the room, bed, etc. No compensation or apology....Of course, we balked and were allowed to return to the Occidental a day and 1/2 later. Upon our return, we had to wait until late afternoon to get into a room. It was raining and we had no place to go. No towels to dry off and no apology.....If fact it was difficult to get a pool towel all week. I heard the same story of many of the guest this past week. People that are members of the Royal Club Occidental were denied their rooms, I would not recommend this property based on the lack of service and apathy of the Management alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Diving was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sad to be back in COLD
OHIO
Jan 31, 2013

Great Relaxing Getaway

Check in was a breeze. It was nice to be taken to an office where all your paperwork was ready for check in. We were told we would have a basket of fruit and a bottle of wine delivered to our room. I had to call the next day to get it delivered. Not sure what happened on that. The refigerator in the room was restocked and that was much appreciated. It's the first place we have ever stayed that somone asked us if the music at the pool area was too loud. The music was nice and not the disco beat. That was saved for night and the disco. It was very pleasant and relaxing. This is also the first place we have ever stayed that had golf umbrellas in the room for our use. That was a very considerate touch being that it rained several times during our week day. There was a variety of food so everyone could find something they liked. We would definitely consider staying at the resort again on another trip and would recommmend it to others. In fact when I was at the bank today, I shared information with a teller who is considering a vacation in MX. Thanks for the great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Even though it was an all inclusive, a small tip was very much appreciated and the help remembered you and tried to make your stay a great one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sisters trying to unwind
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Jan 25, 2013

Wouldn't choose this hotel

Upon arrival, my sister and I were offered an "opportunity" to save money on excursions. They failed to mention what happened next. We were told to meet the staff the next morning for breakfast. At that point, they assign a guide. They walk you around talking to you about the hotel that you most likely already read all about before booking your trip. This went on for over an hour. Our guide was telling us what he thought we wanted to hear. He finally took us back to the room where they offer you lots of alcohol and then try to sell you a timeshare. After we finally were able to leave, we learned that we did not in fact save a penny on any of the excursions. My sister and I made friends during our stay and learned that the range in price depends on if you are married or not. We were offered a timeshare for 13k and our married friends were offered the same exact timeshare for 29k. We went on vacation to rest and relax and instead found ourselves in a timeshare nightmare the first day. The food was nasty. We reserved seats at one of the special restaurants and I could swear what they put on my plate was something close to cat food. I have traveled around the world and have a very experienced pallet, but this meal had me drawing the line. The hotel to the right and the left also offered far superior dive shops compared to ours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aral
Boston
Dec 30, 2012

Good place for diving

Great for diving and snorkeling. No intertainment to speak of. Food is average in the buffet, good in the Mexican restaurant and pretty bad in the Los Olivos. No free Internet like in most others. Otherwise it is a good place to stay and relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Good for diving

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VStar0608
Knoxville, TN
Dec 21, 2012

Excellent for SCUBA

This resort has about everything needed for a great week in Mexico. The all-inclusive format assures plenty to eat and drink for your entire stay. The staff is friendly and especially helpful. Likely 85% of the guests are there for the scuba diving. The on site dive shop is fantastic, with the same helpful attitude. Many of the favored dive sites are within a 10 minute boat ride. Leave a little something for housekeeping and they will keep your refrigerator stocked with your chosen beverages. We hope to return again very soon. Cab fare to town is flat $20US and takes about 20 minutes, but there really isn't much need to go up there unless you like high pressure sales people meeting you on the sidewalk. Gift shop has plenty of variety and priced comparable to the shops in town. Family-friendly resort with activities for kids during the day, different entertainment activity each evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

If your interest is scuba diving, there is no need to leave the resort. The beach is very nice with plenty of chairs and thatch canopies. 2 pools for lounging on the off-days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
g. reid
prtsmouth,va
Nov 29, 2012

excellant for family and dive location

the people and all the staff at this hotel went above and beyond to help its guest.. my daughter got married on the beach and the staff really went all out to pull off the perfect wedding... it was beautiful... the dive masters were very helpful. and taught things that i didnt really know as a new diver...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

rent a vehicle from hotel travel around the south end of the island up the caribean side of the island to a restraunt called coconuts its on a cliff overlooking the sea....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search