$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2014 Check-out: Sep 15, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
229 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.3764 -87.0209
Area served
Cozumel, Quintana Roo; Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel Airport
Area description
Cozumel features excellent diving and water sports, nightlife and restaurants, shopping, and golf nearby (20-30 minutes). The resort is perfectly located on San Francisco Beach, five minutes from Palancar Reef and other attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (229)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
229 out of 229
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Just a women
Allentown PA
Dec 17, 2013

Average resort

The beach was very good. Food was way below average, practically no fruits,. We did not have in our room: iron, extra pillow, umbrella( supposed to have). The sink in a bathroom was not draining well. I wish they had a band playing outside, not inside, so people could dance and enjoy the music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DSRDKR
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Nov 26, 2013

Great Anniversary Trip

We really liked the Occidental Grand. The beach location was great and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our only disappointments were the gym not being available and the inability to accommodate our request for a king size bed vs. a room with double beds. Love the beach location. Overall value was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jaime79
Houston, Texas
Aug 30, 2013

Mediocre at best!

The resort was ok but I'll never stay there again. I expected it to be much bigger/nicer. Upon arrival the staff attempted to book a time share presentation with us before we were ever shown to our room, which was highly annoying after traveling the majority of the day. The rooms were ok. We booked a room with a king size bed but ended up in a room with 2 double beds. The mattresses were so uncomfortable. Nearly every night during our 4 night stay we heard awful crashing noises outside our room. It was loud enough that others guests, like us, got up to investigate. The food was mediocre at best and I'm not a picky eater. Only once during our stay did we have a waiter take drink orders on the beach. The rest of the time we had to walk to the buffet restaurant to get our own drinks. We were able to book our excursions right at the resort which was convenient. However, some required cash. I used the ATM there & it broke right in the middle of dispensing my cash. It shorted me $100! The resort could do nothing about it bc the ATM was owned by a private company. We called our bank immediately & explained the situation. We are hoping to have it resolved within 10 days. Also, the resort is situated on a swamp! There was a 40 yd wooden bridge you have to cross to get from the resort to the beach. You can only imagine the bug bites...yikes! I will say the staff was very friendly & the beach was nice. Also the resort has its own pier and we were picked up there for our excursions (snorkeling & deep sea fishing). All in all, we had a nice vacation & were able to relax...but will never recommend this resort to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We discovered a little bar/restaurant situated on the beach called Alberto's that was a short 5 min walk from our resort. It was AMAZING!!! Had we known about this place sooner, we would have eaten there every night. They only serve what they catch each day. One night we had king crab & the next night we had lobster. Also bananas foster right there on the beach! I could go on & on about how great it was!

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
S R Dive
Houston, TX
Aug 12, 2013

Just ok

There are several positives to this resort, including the beach, the rooms (and cleaning services) and the drinks made by the bar staff (not watered down). In addition, the beach front lunch buffett was quite good and the resort is fairly quiet, even by the main pool during the day - many resorts have blaring music but the Occidental did not. The other great part is Alberto's, a beach front restaurant a short walk down the beach (not part of the resort). The main negative is the service and temperature of the main buffett. In short, both were terrible. It took unbelievably long just to get table settings and drinks. We had to grab our own silverware/napkins and started getting our own drinks in the main bar area and brining them back b/c it was faster. Unless you are just there to dive, I would not recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alberto's.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lifeisbutadream
Bowling Green, KY
Jul 21, 2013

Family Vacation, July 13-20, 2013

The site was about 20 minutes from Cozmul and located in a mangrove. It was a very well kept but uniquely interesting location. Each night, there was family oriented entertainment in the main plaza as well as events throughout the day at the pool and beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The "vacation club" timeshare people were aggressive but kept to the 90 minutes they said it would take. The main dining room was not airconditioned and hot. The room airconditioner was loud but still left the room humid. The food was good. The dive operation was great! We rented a rickety Jeep and went around the island and really liked the beaches on the east side - beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The Mega Mart in downtown Cozumel was like a Mexican "Walmart" with good prices on items you would find at the street vendors. Prices at the vendors dropped after the cruise ships lift.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Schwyn
Framingham, MA
Jun 13, 2013

Wonderful Time

I must say that we came across this hotel by accident since two weeks before our trip we found out through a friend our original was closing and we needed to find another hotel. Orbiz failed to inform us of this - very disappointing. But great things came out of it. This hotel was very impressive (though fairly remote) from when we arrive to when we left. The room and grounds were clean and well maintained, the pool area by the beach and the beach itself was beautiful, they served "top shelf" booze, the food was OK at the buffet #great at Los Olives - dinner at no additional cost but you need to make reservations# and all the staff acknowledged you with smiles and a greeting #all the time#. The dive shop was friendly a reasonably priced though there was variability in the attention you received on the dive boats depending on the Dive Master. The night life - well there really wasn't any though they tried with their night-time program and disco #good music#. Be careful when renting a Jeep from the guy near the front of the hotel - poor quality vehicle. Overall, we had a great stay and would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

You get to use three reservations to eat at one of two specialty sit-down restaurants on the hotel property (not additional cost). You would use most of those reservations at Los Olives. Great food!

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mr.Dean
USA
Jun 7, 2013

Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!. The Hotel staff is very attentive to the guests needs. Giving you the best service while staying there. Whether you relax by the one of the pools or the beach you are assured a nice relaxing experience. There is no skimping on the quality of food or liquor for an all inclusive resort. You have a very wide selection of meals to choose. There are other restaurants on the property which caters to specific cuisines

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

venders come on to property on certain night time performances. You will not have to leave the property for suveniers.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hmkelley
Austin, TX
Jun 5, 2013

Enjoyable Vacation

The hotel was lovely. Cleanliness is important to be as well as amenities and the Occidental Grande ranked very high in these areas. Upon arrival, I was informed my room was not ready. This seemed to be the case on a daily basic. Rooms were never available at "check in" time. Guests were hot and uncomfortable after long travel days and discouraged and angry that they could not get into their rooms. I actually was able to get my keys at 5 PM - I had arrived around 1:30 with "check in" time at 3 PM. Two hours after posted check in time I was finally able to get to my room. Also, they do try to sell you stuff when you arrive...Really? I just traveled all day to start my vacation and you want me to buy your time share....leave me alone! Once the check in process was over and you begin to actually vacation, things get better. Well, maybe not immediately. Especially if you are accustomed to certain "luxuries" such as a fan! The one thing that really stood out was the fact that there were absolutely no ceiling fans or air conditioning in the restaurants or bars making dining or having a cocktail miserable. I understand no air conditioning in open areas but not even a fan in the buffet or specialty restaurants, or bar - it was brutal. I felt terrible for the staff that had to work all day long in sweltering conditions as well as myself. I was on vacation! My vacation plans did not include being miserable while trying to dine or enjoy a nice cool drink. If there had been fans I am sure my review would have been much better. The rooms were lovely and linens were of good quality. Plus! No moldy smells which I have experienced at other hotels in Cozumel. The beds were fresh and clean, Housekeeping staff did a great job. We did experience some (surprisingly) poor customer service and shortness from staff on one day and we figured out later it was apparently because they were overwhelmed with "cruise ship" day pass guests. I have had better customer service at other resorts but the cleanliness and amenities won out. I will return to this location. I just wish they would install a couple of ceiling fans! To summarize. *Clean and well maintained facilities *Lovely beach area and beach chairs/beds Average food in buffet and restarants *Great pizza (after hours dining) Pools were average and could have been better maintained (lots of debris) Sweat box in restaurants, bars, and buffet (get some ceiling fans!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you snorkel and like to have fun, check out Tigers Adventures. Great Boat and excellent snorkel experience

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eden cruiser
Eden,UT
Jun 2, 2013

Super Scuba Trip

Occidental is located nearest the best diving in Cozumel. Food was only average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kotikituristy
San Diego
Apr 29, 2013

good, relaxing vacation

Overall this was a good, relaxing vacation. If we’ll go to Cozumel next year, we’ll stay in this resort again. Very good: •Location – ideal for those who likes the snorkeling and walking on the beach. •Beach - You will found enough spots in the shadows and in the sun, whatever you want any time. It is very important that here is very GOOD SNORKLING from the beach. •Food and service in La Posada buffet [breakfast and dinner], •Territory – Clean and green, •Room cleaning – they did good job, no complains. Some areas for improvements: [In our opinion, this will be beneficial for both – for visitors and for the resort, if the resort will take the attention to the following] •Evening restaurants [Sonora Grill and Los Olivos] - NOTHING SPECIAL. Very basic and not a best quality. We have had a dinner in each restaurant once and then preferred to go to La Posada buffet for a dinner…. •The conditioner in the room is VERY LOUD. But it is too hot at the night in the room if you turn it off. It is not something that resort can fix for you, so, take earplugs with you to make your stay more pleasure. •No ‘change rooms’ on the beach. So, if you need to change your wet swimsuit you must use the restrooms…. Which is not comfortable. •Not enough entertainment in the evening. We have stayed for a week and only two nights’ shows were good. Others were boring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the Albertos restaurant. It located on the beach between Occidental and Iberostar [about 10 min walk from Occidental beach]. They have live music every Tue and Thu from 6 to 10pm. This is a good idea for sunset dinner

Back to menu Return to top

Change search