Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
233 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.3764 -87.0209
Area served
Cozumel, Quintana Roo; Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel Airport
Area description
Cozumel features excellent diving and water sports, nightlife and restaurants, shopping, and golf nearby (20-30 minutes). The resort is perfectly located on San Francisco Beach, five minutes from Palancar Reef and other attractions.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (233)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
233 out of 233
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Belleville, IL
Jul 6, 2009

Nice relaxing getaway!

The Occidental Grande was a beautful hotel to visit. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were kept clean, and there were plenty of activities. Dining was good - but food was only available for breakfast, lunch and dinner - so make sure to fill up. There wasn't anything available between meals to snack on (except margaritas). The only difficulty we had was, as we call it, the "hustling." We were asked by our "concierge" (as he called himself) about activities we might enjoy while on the island, and he had a few to suggest as well. He told us he would help organize anything we might need - Wonderful!! Yet after some explanation, we ended up listening to a timeshare presentation the next day (taking up all of our first morning on vacation), then got a lot of run around when we tried to cash in on the discounted activities we were offered. That, my friends (as they say in Mexico), was the only downfall of the resort. Once we were able to get our vehicle for the day, and go on our snorkeling adventure, we had a blast. The food was good, the grounds were beautiful, nice quiet and relaxing enviornment most of the time, with some activities in the "activities pool." That was one of our favorite aspects - 1 pool for relaxing, and a little farther away (and overlooking the beach) was another pool for activities - with a great 3 inch deep section you could relax and get a tan in. Overall, it was a very nice vacation! Cozumel is a great island to see (namely if you want to snorkel or dive!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you don't have a lot of time or if you have no interest in timeshares - BEWARE!!! You will be approached at the airport and a couple times at the hotel. I would recommend making a firm "NO" as soon as possible and get on with your vacation!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pens
new york, ny
Jun 30, 2009

Beautiful hotel, boring nightlife

This is a beautiful hotel, the staff is very friendly, and it is very relaxing. We were there as a couple and while it's a romantic getaway, we could have used more entertainment. After a day of diving, swimming, playing games in the pool or on the beach, and enjoying all that beautiful Cozumel has to offer, it was disappointing that the only on-resort option after dark basically was to drink. There were a few short performances but it was probably due to the economy that there was nothing more than occasionally a terrible DJ playing the macarena, electric slide, and other bland tunes in the lobby. There are always three dinner options for restaurants, but after a few days it gets very repetitive. The food is good quality and the staff aims to please, so no complaints there. If you are looking to hide away, isolated from downtown but near the beautiful reef for amazing diving, I recommend this hotel. If you are looking for something with more activity, go for the Allegro or one of the hotels nearer to town. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and quite attractive. Maybe when the hotel is more full (economy, epidemic fears, etc) it's more fun, I don't know. Some people complained about the check-in procedure, we opted for the $14 upgrade to the Royal Club and had excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are downtown and want an innovative and traditionally Mexican-inspired meal, check out KINTA on 5th Ave. We were skeptical because we thought it would be expensive, but for $50 we got two appetizers, three entrees, and a litre of sangria. The food was OUTSTANDING, the waitstaff was attentive and they were helpful with food allergies. It was definitely worth the trip to get dinner off the resort. Definitely NOT the tourist trap Senor Frogs, Carlos 'n charlie's, or Coconuts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jun 28, 2009

Average at best

I'd give this resort a 2-star rating...certainly not a 4 as described. Food was average (same foods day after day). Six onsite restaurants listed but only two were open. Many fountains on site but not a single one operational (detracted from the beauty). Staff was helpful and service minded so I give the employees a 5 rating. Just no "WOW" with this resort - bar was uncomforably hot, little to no nightly entertainment, was content to be in bed by 10:00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, Texas
Jun 23, 2009

Relaxing Vacation

My teenage daughter and I enjoyed our 4 night stay at the Occidental Grand during the month of June. I have the following comments: -the beach is fantastic (the sand is clean, white and soft; there are no unpleasant rocks unlike the the hotel to the south) -from the beach you can arrange snorkeling and dive tours, wave runner rental, and parasailing among other activities -the snorkeling tour was reasonable at about $30 a person and we enjoyed it so much we went a second time -the garden and landscaping is impressive; it feels like a tropical paradise; there are a number of iguanas and birds on the property -the food is average; we enjoyed the breakfast buffet the most (good selection of fruit and great scrambled eggs), followed by the dinner buffet and lastly the lunch buffet -the staff is friendly and welcoming -the rooms are clean and spacious -the bartenders are excellent and fast -the pool volleyball organized by the staff is fun I don't have any negative comments about our stay with one exception. The day we arrived, we were offered an opportunity to have breakfast with a sales person to receive "information" in exchange for a discount on a snorkeling tour or something or the other. I didn't want to waiste my time listening to a timeshare pitch. I thought the representative was a little pushy and sensed a change in his friendly demeanor after I turned down his invitation. He conclued by saying that my wife really needed to be there to make the decision. That was irritating but humorous at the same time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a vehicle for a day and tour the east side of the island. Visit Cocunuts restaurant and the Playa Bonita beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baytown, TX
Jun 22, 2009

Enjoyable visit

We had a great time relaxing, snorkeling, jet skiing, parasailing, scuba diving, ATXing, relaxing, relaxing, relaxing! We've stayed at their other hotel, the Allegro, and like them both. The rooms are well kept and the hotel's decor is nice. The location is out of the town and that is what we wanted. The only thing we disliked about the hotel is the same thing we always find in Mexico resorts, hard beds! It's like sleeping on concrete everywhere we go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to have dinner one night in town at Winston's. It's American owned, the food is excellent and the new location (formally Pasta Prima) is fantastic on the water with beautiful sunsets at the top of the building.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nev's Mom
Boise ID
Jun 21, 2009

What a deal!

The resort compound is absolutely beautiful, with a location that can't be beat. The staff are friendly and attentive. The beach is manicured and pristine. Never did we feel that we were being pressured for tips or expected to pay beyond our booking price (although the staff were so quick and helpful that we did tip once in a while). I can't wait to go back! The only negative point I think all the guests agree on is that the food could be better. The variety and quality of ingredients were good, but they need a few better chefs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the sunset snorkel catamaran trip. Incredible!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Clara, CA
Jun 20, 2009

Excellent time at OGC

Excellent location-dive shop and dock right there. Great pools and access to the ocean. Buffet food was excellent. Great bar service. Gym and Spa were nice. Would stay here again in a minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Dive and snorkling right there with dive boats at dock. Didn't have to take a bus or taxi anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
Jun 16, 2009

Great Vacation

Me and my two daughters were on vacation at the Occidental. I felt secure and safe. The area was beautiful and the staff was very helpful. The rooms were very clean and I especially enjoyed the fresh bedding every day. The fridge was stocked with cold drinks. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were amazing. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Antonello
Boston
Jun 6, 2009

Just great!

We are a couple of 29 yo. We enjoyed the hotel a great deal. The staff was very friendly, the food was very good, especially in the specialty restaurant. The room was spacious, clean, with terrace, quite (the hotel is composed of several cute small buildings as opposed to one big complex). The beach was perfect, clean. We enjoyed two dives and two snorkeling trips directly from the pier of the hotel through a dive operator (very friendly!). The night entertainment was good as well, especially the pre-hispanic show. You don't really need to leave the resort during your stay! Excellent, I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

1. Try to reserve specialty restaurants 2. Upgrade to Grand Romance packet: you get (mexican) champagne, in-room brakfast (1 morning), spa massage

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CooliJuli
Centennial, CO
Jun 2, 2009

Beautiful grounds, great staff

We booked this trip as our 10th anniversary present and were very excited to chill on the beach and do NOTHING for a whole week! And that's exactly what we did. While there are plenty of opportunities for many, many excursions we just enjoyed the beautiful beach and crystal clear Carribbean Sea. The wait staff, bartenders and housekeeping were extrodinary! The grounds are gorgeous, lush and tropical. How fun to have an iguana greet you every day as you walk out the door! The snorkeling right off shore is great but you should go out a bit and see the barracuda and rays. Lots of free activites too, like windsurfing, kayaking, sailing, boogie boards. We were dissapointed we couldn't get a king bed, only 2 doubles but made due. The rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The beds were very hard but I suppose that's to be expected. The food was fine, not great but certainly not bad. The friendliness of the wait staff and bartenders, again, was superior. DEFINITELY would visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top