$322 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
235 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Relaxing Vacation

I visited this hotel twice over the last 4 years and both times it was a great experience. It is a... See full review

  • JamieOH
  • Dec 19, 2014
Situated on Cozumel's San Francisco Beach with views of magnificent white sand and blue water, the Allegro Cozumel captures the natural splendor of Mexico's Caribbean coastline and offers the best value on the beach. Located just 20 minutes from the Cozumel airport and only a few minutes from the world-famous Palancar Reef, the Allegro Cozumel is the perfect escape for dive enthusiasts, sport fishing fans and beach lovers alike.

Relax in newly renovated Polynesian-style bungalows and enjoy a private beach resort with all the amenities and activities expected at a world-class hotel. All-inclusive rates mean that guests enjoy unlimited meals, snacks and beverages including a full open bar, supervised kids activities, sports, SCUBA classes, kayaking, sailing, windsurfing and more - all included in the price of your stay. Enjoy a virtual tour of the Allegro Cozumel to experience the best all-inclusive resort in Mexico.

ALL INCLUSIVE FEATURES

Guests can find everything they need for a dream vacation without ever leaving the Allegro Cozumel. In addition to the pristine beaches, the Allegro Cozumel features three pools: one for relaxing, one for activities and one just for kids. An on-site fitness room and sauna as well as four lighted tennis courts insure keeping up with a fitness routine or starting a new one!

Unlimited meals, snacks & beverages
Full open bar
3 restaurants, 6 bars & 1 sports bar/Disco with bar
3 swimming pools (1 relaxation, 1 activity pool, 1 kids)
Chaise lounges & towel service by the pool & beach areas
1 Jacuzzi
Fitness facilities & sauna
Kids Club with supervised activities (ages 07 yrs)
Teens Club with activities (8-17 yrs)
Kids Water Park
Sports: 4 illuminated courts: 3 tennis and 1 multipurpose court:
basketball, tennis, volleyball; beach soccer, ping-pong, darts, billiards, kayaking, snorkeling, boogie boarding, sailing, windsurfing & giant chess board
Daily activities program by the pool and beach areas
Nightly shows & entertainment
Taxes & gratuities
OPTIONAL FEATURES (not included in all-inclusive plan):

Excursions to the Palancar Dive Center, SCUBA diving, deep-sea fishing, golf, motorized water sports, car and scooter rentals, babysitting services, laundry services, Internet and fax services and currency exchange. The Allegro Cozumel's friendly staff will be more than happy to assist with any of these programs.

OPTIONAL PACKAGES (not included in all-inclusive plan):
Scuba diving (including certification & rentals); wedding & honeymoon packages

Conference & Meeting Facilities :

The Allegro Cozumel offers guests in need of meeting facilities or a conference-style space a banquet hall that can accommodate up to 200 people when arranged theater style. It can be quickly partitioned into a smaller arrangement for more intimate gatherings.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience
Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm
La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (235)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
235 out of 235
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
former expat
Business
Sugar Land, TX
Jul 13, 2009

Restful spot

We went to relax, sit on the beach with a book in one hand and a drink in the other. Mission accomplished! Friendly staff, open bar, and uncrowded beach made the day. For breakfast get the omelet - very good. Lunch and dinner buffets are average, but have lots to choose from. Specialty dinners are very good, but limited. Snorkling at the beach was better than the reefs we paid to go to - make sure to go out to the far bouys! Don't expect to go off property without a car or a boat. It's pretty much at the end of the line. But if you're there to relax, there's no reason to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is close by with snorkling and sailing available. There is a food stand further down the beach where you can get fresh seafood. Might be worth a try if you are not in the mood for the buffet. Anywhere else will require a car. A trip into town will run $18 each way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
c mohin
Business
San Jose CA
Jul 9, 2009

relaxing dive vacation in Cozumel

We booked the Occidental Grand Cozumel as part of a scuba diving vacation over July 4th weekend. Beautiful property and we liked our room. Grounds are meticulously kept, staff is nearly 100% friendly and kind. We would come here again, most definitely. Nice pool, great bartenders, though we missed the swim up pool they used to have at Iberostar. No wrist bands here, so if you have friends in town who want to visit as we did, expect to do some ground work to get them on the grounds. Food, well, we did not think it was that great. Having said this, everyone else seemed to be chowing down. Breakfast omelets gave us a bad stomach ache. Lunch was, oh, sort of better. Dinner at the mediterranean restaurant was only ok; appetizer was so-so, main dishes we had were fish and were well prepared. Dinner at the Royal Club (friends staying in this pricier part of the hotel invited us to the exclusive restaurant) was definitely much better. The maitre d' at the med place berated us for being late, saying we might have lost our reservation. Luckily the rest of the staff made us feel welcome there, cause we felt like leaving after that. but get this- meanwhile, the place was e-m-p-t-y! Wine by the bottle costs extra at this all inclusive and was very expensive. Only real complaints: at check-in, the woman we got, Margarita, raced through her presentation and was just not up to the usual standard of everyone we met. She seemed like she couldn't wait to get rid of us. Luckily the champagne they give you at check-in softened the blow. Subsequent visits to the front desk (guest services) were much more congenial. Got a call from guest services to take a survey at 4 PM one day. This might sound reasonable, but it is not what i want to do on my vacation. Plus, we were napping after a hard day diving (ha ha) and so were not too happy at being wakened. Also, the Orbitz rep woke us at 8AM to schedule an appointment to pick up our return cab voucher. Not cool. and we were diving while he was available all 3 days. it was nearly impossible to get the voucher. He finally ran it over on our last night. It would be easier to print this directly from the orbitz site, but they want you to sit down with them so they can sell you tour packages. We had the diving pre-arranged so we just were not interested. I'm sure they sell fun stuff to do though. Also, if you have problems with an orbitz or with [@] reservation, expect to fight for help. They will want you to call these companies on your own. you will have to push hard for resolution. The front desk dialed orbitz for me and handed the phone to me. And guess what happened when i introduced myself and said that we needed our voucher? they said "one moment", put me on hold, never returned. draw your own conclusions. Keep this in mind. Our friends who booked the Royal Club at Occidental had quite a time with a mixup booking from the ex pedia.com site, then a/c out, then leaking sink. The staff, while friendly, seemed to always say "no", then kind of back into finding a way to help. I think the hotel is working on this, but be firm about any issues and don't back down. At one point, the head of guest services was verging on rude, and her superior came out and took control, thank goodness. All was resolved and it turned out really well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Since many of the dive sites are near the southern end of the island, Occidental Grand was on the way to the dive site for our boat. (we did not use the hotel dive co., we used the venerable Careyitos Advanced Divers) We were able to walk to the end of our hotel dock each morning and get picked up at 10 AM, back at 3:30 or so for drop off. Couldn't be easier, and we saved so much time this way. I think we spent all the extra time napping and in the pool with a beer!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Belleville, IL
Jul 6, 2009

Nice relaxing getaway!

The Occidental Grande was a beautful hotel to visit. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were kept clean, and there were plenty of activities. Dining was good - but food was only available for breakfast, lunch and dinner - so make sure to fill up. There wasn't anything available between meals to snack on (except margaritas). The only difficulty we had was, as we call it, the "hustling." We were asked by our "concierge" (as he called himself) about activities we might enjoy while on the island, and he had a few to suggest as well. He told us he would help organize anything we might need - Wonderful!! Yet after some explanation, we ended up listening to a timeshare presentation the next day (taking up all of our first morning on vacation), then got a lot of run around when we tried to cash in on the discounted activities we were offered. That, my friends (as they say in Mexico), was the only downfall of the resort. Once we were able to get our vehicle for the day, and go on our snorkeling adventure, we had a blast. The food was good, the grounds were beautiful, nice quiet and relaxing enviornment most of the time, with some activities in the "activities pool." That was one of our favorite aspects - 1 pool for relaxing, and a little farther away (and overlooking the beach) was another pool for activities - with a great 3 inch deep section you could relax and get a tan in. Overall, it was a very nice vacation! Cozumel is a great island to see (namely if you want to snorkel or dive!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you don't have a lot of time or if you have no interest in timeshares - BEWARE!!! You will be approached at the airport and a couple times at the hotel. I would recommend making a firm "NO" as soon as possible and get on with your vacation!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pens
Business
new york, ny
Jun 30, 2009

Beautiful hotel, boring nightlife

This is a beautiful hotel, the staff is very friendly, and it is very relaxing. We were there as a couple and while it's a romantic getaway, we could have used more entertainment. After a day of diving, swimming, playing games in the pool or on the beach, and enjoying all that beautiful Cozumel has to offer, it was disappointing that the only on-resort option after dark basically was to drink. There were a few short performances but it was probably due to the economy that there was nothing more than occasionally a terrible DJ playing the macarena, electric slide, and other bland tunes in the lobby. There are always three dinner options for restaurants, but after a few days it gets very repetitive. The food is good quality and the staff aims to please, so no complaints there. If you are looking to hide away, isolated from downtown but near the beautiful reef for amazing diving, I recommend this hotel. If you are looking for something with more activity, go for the Allegro or one of the hotels nearer to town. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and quite attractive. Maybe when the hotel is more full (economy, epidemic fears, etc) it's more fun, I don't know. Some people complained about the check-in procedure, we opted for the $14 upgrade to the Royal Club and had excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are downtown and want an innovative and traditionally Mexican-inspired meal, check out KINTA on 5th Ave. We were skeptical because we thought it would be expensive, but for $50 we got two appetizers, three entrees, and a litre of sangria. The food was OUTSTANDING, the waitstaff was attentive and they were helpful with food allergies. It was definitely worth the trip to get dinner off the resort. Definitely NOT the tourist trap Senor Frogs, Carlos 'n charlie's, or Coconuts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jun 28, 2009

Average at best

I'd give this resort a 2-star rating...certainly not a 4 as described. Food was average (same foods day after day). Six onsite restaurants listed but only two were open. Many fountains on site but not a single one operational (detracted from the beauty). Staff was helpful and service minded so I give the employees a 5 rating. Just no "WOW" with this resort - bar was uncomforably hot, little to no nightly entertainment, was content to be in bed by 10:00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Jun 23, 2009

Relaxing Vacation

My teenage daughter and I enjoyed our 4 night stay at the Occidental Grand during the month of June. I have the following comments: -the beach is fantastic (the sand is clean, white and soft; there are no unpleasant rocks unlike the the hotel to the south) -from the beach you can arrange snorkeling and dive tours, wave runner rental, and parasailing among other activities -the snorkeling tour was reasonable at about $30 a person and we enjoyed it so much we went a second time -the garden and landscaping is impressive; it feels like a tropical paradise; there are a number of iguanas and birds on the property -the food is average; we enjoyed the breakfast buffet the most (good selection of fruit and great scrambled eggs), followed by the dinner buffet and lastly the lunch buffet -the staff is friendly and welcoming -the rooms are clean and spacious -the bartenders are excellent and fast -the pool volleyball organized by the staff is fun I don't have any negative comments about our stay with one exception. The day we arrived, we were offered an opportunity to have breakfast with a sales person to receive "information" in exchange for a discount on a snorkeling tour or something or the other. I didn't want to waiste my time listening to a timeshare pitch. I thought the representative was a little pushy and sensed a change in his friendly demeanor after I turned down his invitation. He conclued by saying that my wife really needed to be there to make the decision. That was irritating but humorous at the same time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a vehicle for a day and tour the east side of the island. Visit Cocunuts restaurant and the Playa Bonita beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baytown, TX
Jun 22, 2009

Enjoyable visit

We had a great time relaxing, snorkeling, jet skiing, parasailing, scuba diving, ATXing, relaxing, relaxing, relaxing! We've stayed at their other hotel, the Allegro, and like them both. The rooms are well kept and the hotel's decor is nice. The location is out of the town and that is what we wanted. The only thing we disliked about the hotel is the same thing we always find in Mexico resorts, hard beds! It's like sleeping on concrete everywhere we go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to have dinner one night in town at Winston's. It's American owned, the food is excellent and the new location (formally Pasta Prima) is fantastic on the water with beautiful sunsets at the top of the building.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nev's Mom
Business
Boise ID
Jun 21, 2009

What a deal!

The resort compound is absolutely beautiful, with a location that can't be beat. The staff are friendly and attentive. The beach is manicured and pristine. Never did we feel that we were being pressured for tips or expected to pay beyond our booking price (although the staff were so quick and helpful that we did tip once in a while). I can't wait to go back! The only negative point I think all the guests agree on is that the food could be better. The variety and quality of ingredients were good, but they need a few better chefs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the sunset snorkel catamaran trip. Incredible!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Clara, CA
Jun 20, 2009

Excellent time at OGC

Excellent location-dive shop and dock right there. Great pools and access to the ocean. Buffet food was excellent. Great bar service. Gym and Spa were nice. Would stay here again in a minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Dive and snorkling right there with dive boats at dock. Didn't have to take a bus or taxi anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Jun 16, 2009

Great Vacation

Me and my two daughters were on vacation at the Occidental. I felt secure and safe. The area was beautiful and the staff was very helpful. The rooms were very clean and I especially enjoyed the fresh bedding every day. The fridge was stocked with cold drinks. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were amazing. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top