$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 7, 2014 Check-out: Oct 10, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
231 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.3764 -87.0209
Area served
Cozumel, Quintana Roo; Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel Airport
Area description
Cozumel features excellent diving and water sports, nightlife and restaurants, shopping, and golf nearby (20-30 minutes). The resort is perfectly located on San Francisco Beach, five minutes from Palancar Reef and other attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (231)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JonJack
GA
Jun 15, 2014

Mosquitos!!

The greatest issue I had with the trip is the location of this resort (20 min. away from town and over marsh land) and the fact that you had to wear "Off" mosquito repellant almost constantly because of the mosquito problem. The beds are also extremely firm, so if you have problems sleeping on these types of mattresses, bring extra support. The food was slightly better than average. The service was awesome and the staff was extremely attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cousins on Vacation
Topeka, Kansas
May 21, 2014

Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and the water clear. You could watch fish swim while sitting on the dock. We met the most wonderful people at the resort. The staff were incredibly friendly. I have been to other resorts and this one by far had the most genuine and caring staff. The resort had good food and some fun entertainment. One night we had dance lessons and watched a fire show. Loved that! The staff work such long days and yet you wouldn't know it by their enthusiasm. They keep it up all day with a smile on their face. We are already starting to think about another trip here next year and bringing our spouses with us. Thank you Occidental Grand Cozumel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kalab
Wyoming
May 12, 2014

LOVED IT!

The stay was very relaxing and my wife and I enjoyed every minute of it. The bed was a bit hard, but not so much that it hurt or anything. The food was good and the staff was awesome. Lots to do and see and plenty of places to just relax and enjoy the sun when you didn't feel the need to do anything at all. The fire show was awesome too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Split cab fare with strangers whenever you can.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry and Sherry
Dowling, Michigan
May 10, 2014

Occidental Grand is grand except --

Just returned from our tenth trip to Cozumel and our fifth stay at the Grand. For scuba divers and beach walkers, this place is great, there is also reasonable snorkeling off the beach. For an all inclusive, the food is always good. Unfortunately, the air conditioning system has been declining over the last three years and this year our room and the restaurants were only a few degrees below outside temps so when it was 90+ outside, our room was only 85 and almost unbearable. You also had to leave the bathroom door shut just to get some cooling in the living area. Management said they are working on a solution. In our opinion, this is the best place to stay on the island so I will be sending this to corporate at the Occidental and plead with them to correct this problem. Below, I will note that I cannot recommend this hotel to a friend for this reason. If you don't need AC, this is still the best place to stay if you are a diver. We told them we would not return until this is fixed, but we will probably return again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Coconuts on the West side of the island and have fish tacos and a Margarita. Hire a taxi for the trip. They will let you stop anywhere including down town. Trip will take 4-5 hours and should cost about $100 for 2-4 people. We always buy the driver lunch at Coconuts and they are very grateful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sagitarious
Chino,CA
Apr 13, 2014

Good Family Environment

The location is perfect.The staff is friendly,they really take care of the guests.The food can have a little of an upgrade.The room is comfortable but the A/C is old and needs better maintenance.I've been there twice.In general,i liked it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Punta Sur Natural Park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jen Six
Denver, Colorado
Mar 27, 2014

Very Disappointed

You really need to lower the rating for this resort to maybe a 2. They have pretty much the same buffet food every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner, which gets very old. The restaruants you have to make reservations for were very good but you only get one reservation for each of the two available. The customer service is very lacking at this resort. You have advertised that they have 3 pools and they only have 2 pools and no swim up bar. Just these two details would have made me not book with them so I was incredibly disappointed when we arrived. They have one bar at each pool with one bartender, and at the main pool bar it was sometimes necessary to wait in line for 10-15 minutes for a drink. Nor do they have any wait staff walking around to see if anyone needed a drink. Very disappointing. The beds are also very uncomfortable here. They are also relentless about getting you to sign up for a presentation to try and sell you a time share here. We booked an appointment thinking it would get them to leave us alone, but when we didn't show up, there was actually one of the people waiting for us outside our hotel room the next morning!! Completely unacceptable. I have had great success with my trips I have made to the Cancun and Riviera Maya area to different resorts there. In fact 2 years ago we went to the Grand Sirenis in Riviera Maya and that was the most enjoyable resort we have ever been to as far as comfort, food options, customer service, entertainment, etc. I also paid more for this trip for accomodations than any other trip to Mexico and I have stayed at Fiesta Americana in Cancun, Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya, Grand Principe Riviera Maya and The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya for just as long if not for longer stays. I will never refer anyone to stay at Occidental Grand Cozumel, in fact I will suggest they do not. Jennifer Six Englewood, Colorado

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lindseylu1213
Houston, TX
Mar 21, 2014

Not What We Expected

Amenities-The amenities were decent. The staff kept the placed very clean. The workout room was okay, just hot and crowded. The bars were great and had a great selection. The pools were nice and there were chairs out everyday on the beach. The food was HORRIBLE. The restaurants are definitely the way to go (not the buffet), but they limit your reservations depending on how many nights your stay. Location-The water was not very pretty. The other side of the island had much more beautiful water. Room cleanliness-The room was clean and they came to clean it everyday. Room comfort-The bed was HORRIBLE. It was hard as a rock, but we did not spend much time in the room. The bathroom was nice, but our shower did not drain well. Staff-The staff was just okay. They were cordial, but there was definitely a language barrier and they weren't huge on customer service. Value-It was a pretty good deal for the price and a great family atmosphere if that's what you want. It is a little bit of walk from the rooms to the beach/pool but that is bc you are surrounded by a jungle pretty much. Very nice if you like the outdoors. We would not go back to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Coconuts was a very fun restaurant/bar to go to outside of the resort. The lighthouse was fun to visit and the beach was nicer down there. Chankanaab was a fun Sea World-like beach park that was nice. We rented scooters and got tickets for several attractions through Occidental which was nice and convenient, but I don't know about saving money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Over Booked Customer
Wheeling, West Virginia
Mar 19, 2014

Customer service was not their priority!

When we arrived there was no one to greet us. As we went inside there was not any signs to give direction. There is not a check in counter, instead just a couple of desks with an employee sitting waiting on other guests. After being told to take a seat we waited our turn. The service person took all of our information, had us sign the check in forms THEN proceeded to say there was a mistake with overbooking and they would have to send us to another resort for 2 days then we could return! This was a great inconvenience as we now had to be transported to the Iberostar, go throught waiting and the check in process again, wait for our room. After two days at Iberostar we had to check out by noon, return to Occidental Grand, go through checkin process again, and.... Our room would not be ready Untill 4:30pm. They told us to go have lunch and go to the beach! Well, of course there are no empty chairs at the beach to be had at 1pm, and certainty no shade on a sunny day. So we waited, ate lunch, walked around the resort. After getting into our room at 5:00pm, the air conditioner was so noisy we couldn't hear each other talk! Needless to say we walked back to the office to report this problem. They did send a repair man to replace the air conditioner fan, then it worked great. When we ask about be compensated for our inconvenience of being sent to another resort the service manager said they could probably get us a massage or something. We ask if we could have wifi instead, they said "no", you have to pay for wifi. On day 4 of our trip it rained all day.... Now we were 4 of 7 days into our vacation without swimming or beach time! We travel frequently and have never run into this "over booking" problem before. We meet 4 other couples that was sent to other resorts because of this problem! Management should of handled this situation better to accommodate us! We will not be returning to any of the Occidental Grand properties if this is how they do business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christina beach bum
Saunderstown, RI
Feb 23, 2014

Paradise in an island!

Our stay at the Occidental Grand couldn't have been more perfect. The staff were all pleasant and extremely attentive. Only one person was rude and that was a female at the front desk. I would recommend this resort to everyone, families as well as couples. The wide variety of food and activities pleased our every desire.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't bother eating anywhere else, the food is more than acceptable it was delectable!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mak gramma
Appleton wi
Feb 2, 2014

Charming resort for two

We enjoyed our stay very much! Staff are great! Beach is awesome! Food is fine, not great. You can snorkel right off the beach! It's cozy and the grounds are so pretty! The resort is a little in need of sprucing up...seems that has started with wonderful new showers! Stay away from the sales people that want you to buy into the resort, if you say no they leave you alone. We think the resort is more of a 3 star as opposed to a 4 star resort. If you book knowing that you will be very satisfied! We will go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search