$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2014 Check-out: Sep 15, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
229 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.3764 -87.0209
Area served
Cozumel, Quintana Roo; Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel Airport
Area description
Cozumel features excellent diving and water sports, nightlife and restaurants, shopping, and golf nearby (20-30 minutes). The resort is perfectly located on San Francisco Beach, five minutes from Palancar Reef and other attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (229)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
229 out of 229
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phila, pa
Aug 11, 2009

Awesome-- no complaints at all

Great place to dive, eat and relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

diving and snorkeling are not to be missed

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Favre Foe
Wisconsin
Aug 2, 2009

Anniversary celebration

My wife and I stayed here to celebtate our silver anniversary. We were given a room with 2 double beds and when we asked to change to a room with a king bed, we were told we had to wait 2 days. We were also told a bottle of champaigne would be delivered to our room after we checked in. What we got instead was someone trying to get us to sit through a 2 1/2 hour presentation on buying into a timeshare the next morning with the promise of discounts on some activities (snorkeling, etc). We never did get the champaigne (probably because we said we weren't interesed in the presentation). For the next four days, basically every time we walked through the lobby, we were asked what activity we were going to do and told how we could get discount tickets. It got to the point where we tried to avoid going through the lobby to get to the front desk, shop, or lobby bar. We felt almost harassed. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. I also thought the food was very good. Our room was okay except for the tarantula on the patio door. I would also say the beach was okay. Overall the staff was very friendly. Some of the bartenders would get a little cranky I thought and would not mix the drinks very well leaving lots of chunks of ice in the drinks (even after leaving a buck or two). I don't think I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jul 19, 2009

Occidental Grand

Our time at the Occidental Grand Hotel in Cozumel was fun for the most part. The rooms were clean, the hotel was beautifully landscaped, and the staff was friendly. We spent a lot of time at the pools and beach, and went snorkeling, para-sailing, and deep sea fishing. There only real down-side that I saw with the hotel was the food. It was difficult to make reservations for a large group at the restaurants, and the buffet was not much better than a school cafeteria. Our group of friends ate out most nights for dinner. I would definitely recommend upgrading to the Royal Club if you are planning to stay at the Occidental Grand. The Royal Club Restaurant was good for breakfast and lunch. My only complaint about the Royal Club Restaurant is that there are only a few entrees to chose from on the menu for lunch and breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Men are required to wear long pants when dining in any of the restaurants.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, co
Jul 14, 2009

Nice place!

The hotel rooms were clean and pleasant. It was nice that there was another pool for relaxation other than the noisy activities pool. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Buffet were extensive but after a few days it seemed that all the dishes seemed to taste the same. The food in their mediterranean restaurant was wonderful. The food at the sonora grill was awful. The night time "entertainment" looked like a middle school play. Would recommend going into town if you are looking for nightlife. Since when eating at the restaurant rather than buffet reservations are mandatory and fill up fast perhaps this could be arranged before you get there. Make sure you take a trip to the deserted side of the island. The beaches were beautiful and untouched. Alcohol beverages were probably overly generous if anything Skip the ruins on the island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
former expat
Sugar Land, TX
Jul 13, 2009

Restful spot

We went to relax, sit on the beach with a book in one hand and a drink in the other. Mission accomplished! Friendly staff, open bar, and uncrowded beach made the day. For breakfast get the omelet - very good. Lunch and dinner buffets are average, but have lots to choose from. Specialty dinners are very good, but limited. Snorkling at the beach was better than the reefs we paid to go to - make sure to go out to the far bouys! Don't expect to go off property without a car or a boat. It's pretty much at the end of the line. But if you're there to relax, there's no reason to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is close by with snorkling and sailing available. There is a food stand further down the beach where you can get fresh seafood. Might be worth a try if you are not in the mood for the buffet. Anywhere else will require a car. A trip into town will run $18 each way.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
c mohin
San Jose CA
Jul 9, 2009

relaxing dive vacation in Cozumel

We booked the Occidental Grand Cozumel as part of a scuba diving vacation over July 4th weekend. Beautiful property and we liked our room. Grounds are meticulously kept, staff is nearly 100% friendly and kind. We would come here again, most definitely. Nice pool, great bartenders, though we missed the swim up pool they used to have at Iberostar. No wrist bands here, so if you have friends in town who want to visit as we did, expect to do some ground work to get them on the grounds. Food, well, we did not think it was that great. Having said this, everyone else seemed to be chowing down. Breakfast omelets gave us a bad stomach ache. Lunch was, oh, sort of better. Dinner at the mediterranean restaurant was only ok; appetizer was so-so, main dishes we had were fish and were well prepared. Dinner at the Royal Club (friends staying in this pricier part of the hotel invited us to the exclusive restaurant) was definitely much better. The maitre d' at the med place berated us for being late, saying we might have lost our reservation. Luckily the rest of the staff made us feel welcome there, cause we felt like leaving after that. but get this- meanwhile, the place was e-m-p-t-y! Wine by the bottle costs extra at this all inclusive and was very expensive. Only real complaints: at check-in, the woman we got, Margarita, raced through her presentation and was just not up to the usual standard of everyone we met. She seemed like she couldn't wait to get rid of us. Luckily the champagne they give you at check-in softened the blow. Subsequent visits to the front desk (guest services) were much more congenial. Got a call from guest services to take a survey at 4 PM one day. This might sound reasonable, but it is not what i want to do on my vacation. Plus, we were napping after a hard day diving (ha ha) and so were not too happy at being wakened. Also, the Orbitz rep woke us at 8AM to schedule an appointment to pick up our return cab voucher. Not cool. and we were diving while he was available all 3 days. it was nearly impossible to get the voucher. He finally ran it over on our last night. It would be easier to print this directly from the orbitz site, but they want you to sit down with them so they can sell you tour packages. We had the diving pre-arranged so we just were not interested. I'm sure they sell fun stuff to do though. Also, if you have problems with an orbitz or with [@] reservation, expect to fight for help. They will want you to call these companies on your own. you will have to push hard for resolution. The front desk dialed orbitz for me and handed the phone to me. And guess what happened when i introduced myself and said that we needed our voucher? they said "one moment", put me on hold, never returned. draw your own conclusions. Keep this in mind. Our friends who booked the Royal Club at Occidental had quite a time with a mixup booking from the ex pedia.com site, then a/c out, then leaking sink. The staff, while friendly, seemed to always say "no", then kind of back into finding a way to help. I think the hotel is working on this, but be firm about any issues and don't back down. At one point, the head of guest services was verging on rude, and her superior came out and took control, thank goodness. All was resolved and it turned out really well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Since many of the dive sites are near the southern end of the island, Occidental Grand was on the way to the dive site for our boat. (we did not use the hotel dive co., we used the venerable Careyitos Advanced Divers) We were able to walk to the end of our hotel dock each morning and get picked up at 10 AM, back at 3:30 or so for drop off. Couldn't be easier, and we saved so much time this way. I think we spent all the extra time napping and in the pool with a beer!

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Belleville, IL
Jul 6, 2009

Nice relaxing getaway!

The Occidental Grande was a beautful hotel to visit. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were kept clean, and there were plenty of activities. Dining was good - but food was only available for breakfast, lunch and dinner - so make sure to fill up. There wasn't anything available between meals to snack on (except margaritas). The only difficulty we had was, as we call it, the "hustling." We were asked by our "concierge" (as he called himself) about activities we might enjoy while on the island, and he had a few to suggest as well. He told us he would help organize anything we might need - Wonderful!! Yet after some explanation, we ended up listening to a timeshare presentation the next day (taking up all of our first morning on vacation), then got a lot of run around when we tried to cash in on the discounted activities we were offered. That, my friends (as they say in Mexico), was the only downfall of the resort. Once we were able to get our vehicle for the day, and go on our snorkeling adventure, we had a blast. The food was good, the grounds were beautiful, nice quiet and relaxing enviornment most of the time, with some activities in the "activities pool." That was one of our favorite aspects - 1 pool for relaxing, and a little farther away (and overlooking the beach) was another pool for activities - with a great 3 inch deep section you could relax and get a tan in. Overall, it was a very nice vacation! Cozumel is a great island to see (namely if you want to snorkel or dive!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you don't have a lot of time or if you have no interest in timeshares - BEWARE!!! You will be approached at the airport and a couple times at the hotel. I would recommend making a firm "NO" as soon as possible and get on with your vacation!!

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pens
new york, ny
Jun 30, 2009

Beautiful hotel, boring nightlife

This is a beautiful hotel, the staff is very friendly, and it is very relaxing. We were there as a couple and while it's a romantic getaway, we could have used more entertainment. After a day of diving, swimming, playing games in the pool or on the beach, and enjoying all that beautiful Cozumel has to offer, it was disappointing that the only on-resort option after dark basically was to drink. There were a few short performances but it was probably due to the economy that there was nothing more than occasionally a terrible DJ playing the macarena, electric slide, and other bland tunes in the lobby. There are always three dinner options for restaurants, but after a few days it gets very repetitive. The food is good quality and the staff aims to please, so no complaints there. If you are looking to hide away, isolated from downtown but near the beautiful reef for amazing diving, I recommend this hotel. If you are looking for something with more activity, go for the Allegro or one of the hotels nearer to town. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and quite attractive. Maybe when the hotel is more full (economy, epidemic fears, etc) it's more fun, I don't know. Some people complained about the check-in procedure, we opted for the $14 upgrade to the Royal Club and had excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are downtown and want an innovative and traditionally Mexican-inspired meal, check out KINTA on 5th Ave. We were skeptical because we thought it would be expensive, but for $50 we got two appetizers, three entrees, and a litre of sangria. The food was OUTSTANDING, the waitstaff was attentive and they were helpful with food allergies. It was definitely worth the trip to get dinner off the resort. Definitely NOT the tourist trap Senor Frogs, Carlos 'n charlie's, or Coconuts.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jun 28, 2009

Average at best

I'd give this resort a 2-star rating...certainly not a 4 as described. Food was average (same foods day after day). Six onsite restaurants listed but only two were open. Many fountains on site but not a single one operational (detracted from the beauty). Staff was helpful and service minded so I give the employees a 5 rating. Just no "WOW" with this resort - bar was uncomforably hot, little to no nightly entertainment, was content to be in bed by 10:00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, Texas
Jun 23, 2009

Relaxing Vacation

My teenage daughter and I enjoyed our 4 night stay at the Occidental Grand during the month of June. I have the following comments: -the beach is fantastic (the sand is clean, white and soft; there are no unpleasant rocks unlike the the hotel to the south) -from the beach you can arrange snorkeling and dive tours, wave runner rental, and parasailing among other activities -the snorkeling tour was reasonable at about $30 a person and we enjoyed it so much we went a second time -the garden and landscaping is impressive; it feels like a tropical paradise; there are a number of iguanas and birds on the property -the food is average; we enjoyed the breakfast buffet the most (good selection of fruit and great scrambled eggs), followed by the dinner buffet and lastly the lunch buffet -the staff is friendly and welcoming -the rooms are clean and spacious -the bartenders are excellent and fast -the pool volleyball organized by the staff is fun I don't have any negative comments about our stay with one exception. The day we arrived, we were offered an opportunity to have breakfast with a sales person to receive "information" in exchange for a discount on a snorkeling tour or something or the other. I didn't want to waiste my time listening to a timeshare pitch. I thought the representative was a little pushy and sensed a change in his friendly demeanor after I turned down his invitation. He conclued by saying that my wife really needed to be there to make the decision. That was irritating but humorous at the same time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a vehicle for a day and tour the east side of the island. Visit Cocunuts restaurant and the Playa Bonita beach.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search