$256 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 4, 2014 Check-out: Dec 7, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
234 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (234)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
234 out of 234
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Nov 28, 2009

November 09

We were there with our two adult daughters who are divers. They dove while we relaxed. We had a rental car which we consider essential because of the hotel's location (and poor food options)----far from downtown--and we wanted to shop and eat off the resort's property. A road trip to the eat (wilder) side of the island is a must. It's ruggedly beautiful--definitely NOT for swimming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and go into San MIguel. Then get off the main streets and go into the really "Mexican " part of town. Taquerias that we enjoyed were Chengalas and Diaz 100%. We also really liked Parrilla Mission. At the resort, it is nearly impossible to get a reservation at the two nicer restaurants. The buffet was ok, but nothing to look forward to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston TX
Nov 22, 2009

Beach = Great, Food & Room = awful!

Do not book this hotel. We travelled with a 5 month son on his first trip abroad. We booked at very short notice and this was the first all inclusive we had done. The travel from the airport was fine, although the cost of the transfer is more than a taxi. The hotel was in a nice part of cozumel and the outside of the hotel was great. They have lovely greenery, the pools are very nice and the beach is great. Most of the staff are friendly, although they only really do the nicer service if you tip. There are three reasons i would not book this hotel again: food, room, sales pitch for the "vacation club"(also known as time-share). The food was very bad. Every day was the same, although they had different themes. I had fish that was raw, guacamole that was frozen, salad with a hair in it, pasta that was hard, broccoli that was so over cooked the top turned into mush and probably the worst new york strip steak i have ever had (in their steak restaurant). The wine that is served with dinner is vinegary or syrupy depending on whether you go for the red or the white. If you choose to order (and pay for) wine in the restaurant beware as the label is not the wine you get. I ordered a rioja gran reserva and it turned out to be a cheap rio tinto. The room we had was on the ground floor (as we travelled with a baby and wanted to have easy access). The room was so damp that it smelt awful, the walls in the bathroom were wet and the sheets/curtains felt a little wet to the touch. We told the "concierge" about it but he said it was the air conditioning and will be fine in the morning. it was not fine and so we called the front desk. He said all the rooms on the ground floor were like that and so could not help us!!! We ask about another room and they said none were available. We had to wash all our clean clothes when we got back as it smelt so bad. The sales pitch was horrible. When we arrived on first day the concierge man (mentioned earlier) told us we needed to go to a welcome breakfast in the morning. We went along and were subjected to the most awful, painful and long sales pitch. It was horrible; just when they were hitting the 2 hr mark, my wife had to leave to feed our baby and the man behind us said to a colleague "if i were him, i'd want to keep breast feeding". not very funny comment, especially when said right behind a customer. We enjoyed the beach, which was awesome and the staff in the restaurants were great, but i could not recommend you go here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Book a hire car. It is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alabama
Nov 22, 2009

none

We took the upgrade. We were greeted in a differnt area than most other visitors. Nice reception drink and personalized service. Exercise area has adequate equipment in good mechanical condition. Sadly some general and regular housekeeping with equipment wipedown needs attention....esp the sweaty benches. I had to ask the clerk three times for towels to use in the area. This would seem part of the general set up every AM. Not long after our arrival Friendly sales people annouce a free gift. They will not take no for an answer. The phone rang frequnetly before we were unpacked and relaxed from the travel. I enjoy seeking these people out when I want something....not when they pretend to do you a favor and/or take up a lot of your time. The person from Mayaland tours who arranged the shuttle [...] was not available on arrival. He did not give the return voucher except that we meet with him to suffer yet another sales pitch for trips, cars, condo sales etc. Yich!!!!!!!!!!!!! Vouchers for travel need to be arranged up front with clear instructions for use shared before travel.........never attached to a sales pitch of any kind. This is disgusting. This affects my decision to return to Cozumel......probably I will not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Avoid all sales people if you can. The sales people are too aware of your arrival. There is no such thing as a free gift without a 90 minute pressured sales pitch for something.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auburn, CA
Nov 19, 2009

2nd visit

In November of 2008,we stayed for two weeks at the Occidental Grand and decided to do the same this year. We had another wonderful time. The beach, pools, bars, restaurants, rooms, and over-all setting is wonderful. The best feature, though, is the staff. Waiters, waitresses, and bartenders are terrific. They work so hard to serve, and do it with pleasure. They are the best. Bring bug spray, however. Mosquitoes will be a problem without it during the beautiful sunsets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You'll get a better deal if you use pesos, with the current American exchange rate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Char and John Hoxter, Needed to relax
Business
Houston Texas
Nov 19, 2009

Best vacation we have ever had!

We arrived to a friendly waiting staff with champain in hand. Our room was available early. Room was always clean, with turn down,kisses on bed with copy of the next days events. Beach was blue took a snorkeling trip/ next time will dive.Cannot say enough about the staff, buffet was good different theme every night. Ate at one of the finer restaraunts, needed reservation no problem. Sonora grill was wonferful. We are already planning our next trip. to Occidental Grand Cozumel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If you are there for a lot of night life, do not go. There is one bar with dj and opened until 1:30. We were there to relax and that was what we did. Town is approx 8 miles away. We rented a scooter, had a blast toured the whole island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
McKinney, Tx
Nov 18, 2009

Cozumel 2009

The staff was lovely and ensured my stay was comfortable and enjoyable. The hotel was amazing and beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Scuba diving

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BigJer
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 9, 2009

Not so Grand..........

This was my wife's and mine first real vacation in 20 years. While we had never gone to an all exclusive resort before, with the price we paid we did have some expectations. None of those were even remotely met. About the only thing we were really impressed with was the landscaping of the grounds. It was really beautiful and well kept up. The 6 Restaurants that are listed on their website were non-existent. There were 2 Ala Carte that you had to make reservations for, and 2 buffets. I am not to sure if this was because of the economy or not but I am willing to give them the benefit of the doubt on that. In addition, at their buffets, we saw plenty of foods were recycled between buffets for lunch and dinner. To top that off, who serves hot dogs, just plain hotdogs heated and cut up as a choice from a buffet, not to mention they made pizza with hot dogs on it. Most of the food was very dry and if you wanted to get any decent dessert you had to be one of the first ones in for lunch or dinner. The buffet options were often empty and very slow to be refilled. The rooms, at least ours, smelt of mildew. Once again, I can understand the climate being damp but the rooms in my opinion should not smell. The beds... we expected a king and received two fulls, were put on a list to get into a King room but never received a call, were hard as rocks. My wife and I will be going back to Cozumel again, however, we will not be staying at the Occidental Grand Cozumel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Oct 29, 2009

An Honest review for the Average Joe

OK, here is an honest review of this hotel, and one the "Average Joe" like me needed to read. This was my second trip to Mexico and the first to Cozumel. The things to do like snorkeling, dolphin swim, restaurants, etc were all great. The hotel was as described. I would, however, throw out the "very bad" reviews and the "Awesome" reviews. The room and grounds were very nice and clean, but the beds sucked. I thought the food was good, and much better than my last "all inclusive" in Playa Del Carmen. The fire show was great; the music and dance floor at the club were OK, but not spectacular. The free use of the water sports equipment was also very nice to have on the beach, and it was in good shape and plentyful. All in all, I liked this place. My ONLY gripe was the none stop barrage of the hotel "Concierge" trying to get you signed up to buy a time share in the hotel. In fact, the concierge was not helpful at all, and everything they tried to help you with was only a means to get you into a time share. Only the front desk people seemed to be of any help. I would definitely stay here again, but now I know to tell the concierge to get lost!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Forget the prepaid aitport shuttle becasue it's a hastle. When you get there, just get a taxi. The morning you leave, just give yourself an hour and a half before your flight and call a taxi again. It will cost you no more this way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Fran Diver
Business
San Mateo, CA
Oct 14, 2009

Good weather & people - food iffy

Location to Cozumel dive sites is excellent. Service was very friendly, but they did seem understaffed at times as I sometimes had to get up and get things myself at the restaurants. The speciality restaurant's food was terrible. Bar and disco were very good. Pool activities were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great location if you are a scuba diver.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Oct 13, 2009

Won't be back

We went diving. The hotel is right at the reef so it is the perfect location. We won't be back to the Occidental. We experienced a 45 minute delay in getting our baggage delivered to the room and had to go back to the office and complain to finally get the bags delivered. The lunch selection was really bad .The room was as expected. We go to Cozumel every year. Next time we decide to use an all inclusive it will be the Aura. Regular resort will be the Intercontinental. Big no to the Occidental Not So Grand as they are not competitve

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go into Cozumel for dinner. Pepe's is real good. The hotel food is a joke.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top