$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 23, 2014 Check-out: Oct 25, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
233 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.3764 -87.0209
Area served
Cozumel, Quintana Roo; Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel Airport
Area description
Cozumel features excellent diving and water sports, nightlife and restaurants, shopping, and golf nearby (20-30 minutes). The resort is perfectly located on San Francisco Beach, five minutes from Palancar Reef and other attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (233)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
233 out of 233
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Souper Mom
Business
Occidental Grand Cozumel
Jan 12, 2010

Beautiful grounds, rooms OK

we went snorkeling at national Park and boat tour, lots to see, fish, turtles,eels,reefs. food was better some nights than others, lots of choices, always something good, just not extra good. night time activities, were adequate, recent run movie, fire show, jewelry sale, black jack,disco for kids & one for adults downtown trip OK, aggressive sales people

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

National Park worth the admission price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J K
Business
Chicago IL
Jan 3, 2010

Cozumel high end all inclusive resort

This was not my first time at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. I've stayed there probably about 6 or 8 times. It is a great resort - far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the main town area where you can chill out, relax and enjoy either of the 2 pools or the beach (the beach is great for walking along, looking for shells and admiring the turquiose waters). For an all inclusive I have found their food to be well above average; snorkel equipment, Hobie catamarans and wind surfing equipment are available for your use. I seen over the years some postings here and on other travel websites where people have said not so wonderful things about this resort - don't let them sway you; if you compare it to the other all inclusives on the island, you will find it well above par. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with a nice balcony on the upper floors or patio on the ground level. The rooms are all marble floors and inlaid stone - very tasteful. Staff is friendly - just try and be friendly back to them and you will be rewarded with the typically friendly Mexican demeanor; although not required at an all inclusive, leaving a dollar bill or two as a small token of appreciation at the end of your meal will also go far towards their respect for you - and your respect for them for their hard work. I find that most of us Americans expect way too much - hey, just remember, it's Mexico......chill out and don't take everything so seriously. There is an in-house dive operation (Dive Palancar) so if you're a scuba diver like me, you don't have to go anywhere else. Plenty of drinks (alchololic or non) available all day long; plenty of pool / beach lounge chairs; evening entertainment at the Plaza area - usually starts at 9pm until almost 10 p.m. Small disco on premises open until, I think 1 am (I find it a little too loud). Otherwise, unless you head into town, the day is pretty much over. Lobby bar is open until 11 p.m. and there is a pizza place on the roof top of the main building which is also open until very late (also, like 1 a.m.). They make pizza for you and of course whatever your drink of choice is. I just got back from spending 9 days there (Xmas through New Years) - some families were there, and the kid's club was active, so it can be a family place to go, where you've got some time to yourselves. I was there with my girlfriend and we had a great time. Enjoy it, kick back, relax and have a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ben Youssef
Business
New York, NY
Dec 29, 2009

Excellent Hotel, Excellent Location!

The hotel is really great, not your usual all inclusive resort. Food was great and of a great variety. The "a la carte" restaurants had excellent food too. Rooms, swimming pools and other amenities were in tip top shape, clean and very comfy. The only bad thing to say about the hotel is their timeshare sellers. These keep harassing the customers without stopping. I read about this before through other customers reviews and my wife & I decided to simply disconnect the phone line. We also spoke Portuguese or French every time we came across one of the sellers. The trick was great! Bottom line, it's a great resort. Take advantage of it and avoid the sellers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jamestown, NY
Dec 22, 2009

The Grand Occidental Grand

This hotel was very impressive- tropical gardens, water fountains, naturally blending hacienda layouts, and the nightly walks through the beautifully lighted walkways shouldn't be missed. The upkeep on this slice of paradise is absolutely meticulous to say the least. Food was great, servings of healthy foods like beets, salad greens, tropical fruits were extremely fresh and delish. So were the myriad mexican peppers. They're mostly hot, but each has it's own distinct flavor. The mahi mahi and grouper were aways kind of mushy. The chicken was especially good. Eating lunch at the outdoor buffet was brilliant. We were 50 ft. from tourquoise waters...absolutely stunning! The Beach, fish and wild life (alligators, iguanas, frogs, egrets, thrushes, turtles) were spectacular. We identified over 50 specises of fish from the franko coz map right out in front of the Grand. Biting insects were horrendous towards my wife, but my 3 amigos did'nt get many bites. Family OFF didn't work for my wifes ankles at all. The maids are great however, sliding the furniture around to clean was scarey loud. Overall This is an amazing resort and I will be back with more posse soon! Thank you Grand Occ.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Bring your own snorkle gear and get a snorkeling map. Las Palmas coral gardens are our favorite spot in coz for this.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
May and Dana
Business
Rye, New Hampshire
Dec 21, 2009

Great to be back!

This was our third trip to the Grand Cozumel. The reason for the trip was to rehabilitate my husband after a back surgury. The dive center could not of been more proffessional or helpful in making sure he had a great and safe experience of being back in the water. It was everything and more to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Dec 19, 2009

Another Awesome Week @ the Grand!

7 days of diving, sunning, resting. The staff is great,always friendly and helpful, grounds are BEAUTIFUL!!! Try the hamburgers & ice cream in the lunch buffet, you'll be glad you did!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go into San Miguel & try some of the local restaurants, well worth the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChacChac
Business
WI
Dec 18, 2009

"Unbeatable location for the price"

The food is not for 5 stars hotel .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wanderwoman57
Business
Pueblo CO
Dec 14, 2009

Beautiful well planned resort

The resort was beautiful and easy to get around. Front of house employees were efficient and very helpful. Buffet meals were lacking in variety, however IF you can get into the two in-house restaurants, they are wonderful. Bars were stocked with surprisingly upper shelf liquors, and bartenders were friendly and knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Guido's restaurant in downtown Cozumel was and excellent find for delicious Italian Food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Dec 7, 2009

A Great Place to Spend a Vacation

I came mostly for the diving. We went with Dive with Martin and they did a great job. The resort staff was friendly and helpful. The buffets were very good. The beach area was awesome. The grounds were well kept and everything was clean. I had a great time here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The two restaurants were very good. They are part of the inclusive meals but reservations are required. And if you are late, you'll lose your table.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Nov 28, 2009

November 09

We were there with our two adult daughters who are divers. They dove while we relaxed. We had a rental car which we consider essential because of the hotel's location (and poor food options)----far from downtown--and we wanted to shop and eat off the resort's property. A road trip to the eat (wilder) side of the island is a must. It's ruggedly beautiful--definitely NOT for swimming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and go into San MIguel. Then get off the main streets and go into the really "Mexican " part of town. Taquerias that we enjoyed were Chengalas and Diaz 100%. We also really liked Parrilla Mission. At the resort, it is nearly impossible to get a reservation at the two nicer restaurants. The buffet was ok, but nothing to look forward to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top