$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
372 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.3764 -87.0209
Area served
Cozumel, Quintana Roo; Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel Airport
Area description
Cozumel features excellent diving and water sports, nightlife and restaurants, shopping, and golf nearby (20-30 minutes). The resort is perfectly located on San Francisco Beach, five minutes from Palancar Reef and other attractions.

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (372)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
372 out of 372
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Aug 15, 2010

Horrible customer service

This is a beautiful resort and I will pay to stay at an ugly resort for better customer service. Worst customer service ever and I have traveled the world. See details of the trip below: Day one arrived- no bell boy or anyone to greet us except for time share guy- Alejandro who I thought was checking us into our room. We paid him $20 that we never saw again- even though we told him we were not interested in attending the 90 minute presentation. Next we carried our luggage up three flights of stairs and the keys did not work. Then our room was not a king size bed which is what we requested. When I mentioned this to the front desk they said they were full and we could move tomorrow if a room came available. We also had some guests cancel at the last minute and explained they were not coming and they were receiving no refund. Our friends tried to add there 1000 to our room to be upgraded and they would not transfer and they were very unaccommodating. Okay maybe I was tired so I went on about our plans- Food was buffets not that great. Air conditioning was horrible in our room. So day two my husband goes to book our reservations for the "nice" restaurants. They stated they were all booked all week and did not try to offer anything. I called and asked if we could go to another sister resort or even move rooms to another resort. They then were able to get us some dinner reservations- offered to move our room for us the next day. They did move us- yet now we were next to the disco that we could hear all night long and the room was smoking- yet the air-conditioning worked great. So yes beautiful place- "nice" restaurant excellent food and service. But will never stay there due to the treatment- It was as if they did not care and it was a horribly powerless feeling- being in another country and not getting what you paid for and then only if requesting to be moved to another resort did they try and accommodate us. Oh we were also told we would have a free room service of breakfast and something special sent to our room- this never happened either. We stayted at the iberia star and the friendliest staff ever! That is what I remember- how one is treated!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Call and speak to someone at the hotel before you arrive that you get reservations and the room you want. Ask to speak to the manager- [...]

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston texas
Aug 15, 2010

Do not stay here!

I have traveled for many years.This is the worst place I have ever stayed. The rooms smelled horrible.The A/C did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not eat here

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston texas
Aug 15, 2010

Do not stay here!

I have traveled for many years.This is the worst place I have ever stayed. The rooms smelled horrible.The A/C did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not eat here

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
khs
New England
Aug 13, 2010

Terrible 7 days

We had hundreds of small bugs in our room regardless of how much bug killer we sprayed, we just could not keep up with them. The room also had a terrible odor - musty and moldy - I was told by the manager that this was because we were in a wet jungle area. Finally, four days into the vacation our rooms were moved and no bugs or odor in the new room. We even brought a plug in odor killer and could not counter the terrible smell. The food was like camp food. You are limited to the number of times you are able to have reservations for meals other than buffet. After a couple of days of this - we gave up and had wonderful meals in town, worth the cost of the taxi. We have been to Cozumel several times and this experience was the worst.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
khs
New England
Aug 13, 2010

Terrible 7 days

We had hundreds of small bugs in our room regardless of how much bug killer we sprayed, we just could not keep up with them. The room also had a terrible odor - musty and moldy - I was told by the manager that this was because we were in a wet jungle area. Finally, four days into the vacation our rooms were moved and no bugs or odor in the new room. We even brought a plug in odor killer and could not counter the terrible smell. The food was like camp food. You are limited to the number of times you are able to have reservations for meals other than buffet. After a couple of days of this - we gave up and had wonderful meals in town, worth the cost of the taxi. We have been to Cozumel several times and this experience was the worst.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lakesahoy
Akron, OH
Aug 12, 2010

A great place

If you sat out on the patio there was no privacy, although most would not want to sit out in that heat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lakesahoy
Akron, OH
Aug 12, 2010

A great place

If you sat out on the patio there was no privacy, although most would not want to sit out in that heat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr, dissapointed
ok.
Aug 1, 2010

Not a place to relax!!!

Wow what a waste of time and money!!! When we arrived we could not check in for 3 hours even though they had a room ready. Did I mention we have a 14mth old baby with us and it did not matter no early check in they said. Then when we did get our room it was on the 3rd floor and the ac was worthless. Keep in mind we have a small child, so when trying to nap he is sweating. The next day after numerous trips to the front desk of trying to convince them the a c doesnt work right, they moved us but that didnt happen until thier 3pm deadline,and telling them we want to leave thier resort. So we carried all of are stuff to the next room, not the bell boy. That night and the next night we were awakend all night long to the sounds of drunk kids and grown men cussing at each other till 4am when security finally sent them to there rooms. Waking our baby up all night! The room was not bad but the floors in room and bathroom were so slick, especially when wet, that we slipped all the time, especially my baby! not good! accident waiting to happen! The bridge between rooms and beach and pool area was closed, what an inconvenience! We had to walk all the way around property to get to beach. I had enough of this inconvenient place and when i went to front desk to ask for help to get early flight out, they didnt know how to help me! unbelievable! So overall this trip was a disaster and we left a day early because of the frustrating circumstances we dealt with. So are 2500$ that turned into a $3000 trip was a waste of our time and are hard earned money and because we left early we were forced to pay another 3hundred dollars to get out a day early!! Not to mention when we arrived at Houston airport, while going thru customs, our next flight left us. We had to wait until 9:00p.m for stand by on next plane. Again keep in mind we had 14 mo old baby all those hrs in airport. A trip I will never forget! We would very much appreciate if you would consider reembersing us for the last day there, and the flight that left us. We go on vacation every year. Would love to continue our business with you, if you would consider helping us out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr, dissapointed
ok.
Aug 1, 2010

Not a place to relax!!!

Wow what a waste of time and money!!! When we arrived we could not check in for 3 hours even though they had a room ready. Did I mention we have a 14mth old baby with us and it did not matter no early check in they said. Then when we did get our room it was on the 3rd floor and the ac was worthless. Keep in mind we have a small child, so when trying to nap he is sweating. The next day after numerous trips to the front desk of trying to convince them the a c doesnt work right, they moved us but that didnt happen until thier 3pm deadline,and telling them we want to leave thier resort. So we carried all of are stuff to the next room, not the bell boy. That night and the next night we were awakend all night long to the sounds of drunk kids and grown men cussing at each other till 4am when security finally sent them to there rooms. Waking our baby up all night! The room was not bad but the floors in room and bathroom were so slick, especially when wet, that we slipped all the time, especially my baby! not good! accident waiting to happen! The bridge between rooms and beach and pool area was closed, what an inconvenience! We had to walk all the way around property to get to beach. I had enough of this inconvenient place and when i went to front desk to ask for help to get early flight out, they didnt know how to help me! unbelievable! So overall this trip was a disaster and we left a day early because of the frustrating circumstances we dealt with. So are 2500$ that turned into a $3000 trip was a waste of our time and are hard earned money and because we left early we were forced to pay another 3hundred dollars to get out a day early!! Not to mention when we arrived at Houston airport, while going thru customs, our next flight left us. We had to wait until 9:00p.m for stand by on next plane. Again keep in mind we had 14 mo old baby all those hrs in airport. A trip I will never forget! We would very much appreciate if you would consider reembersing us for the last day there, and the flight that left us. We go on vacation every year. Would love to continue our business with you, if you would consider helping us out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Big Bommers
Texas
Jul 30, 2010

Beautiful Place, [*] Service

The Hotel itself is very beautiful. The service is horrible. Not all the bars are open so you have to walk a distance in order to get a drink if you are on the beach. If you want extra pillows or towels you have to go get them yourself or you'll be waiting forever. No one seems to know what is going on and you can never get a straight answer from the staff. Might be better in the off season!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want to eat fresh food, you need to get there right when they start serving.

Back to menu Return to top