$256 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 4, 2014 Check-out: Dec 7, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
233 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (233)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
233 out of 233
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita, KS
Mar 27, 2010

Awesome All Inclusive Getaway

This was our third trip to the Occidental Grand. We took another couple along this year. Their first trip to Cozumel. They are non divers. They thought the place was great! Had heard some negatives about the Occidental Grand from someone who had been to Cozumel the previous month. Nothing negative at all. The place was fabulous like every other time. Great staff, plenty of activities, delicious food and beverages. Most satisfied!Great vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Mar 26, 2010

The Grand is Less than Grand

My husband and I travel to Cozumel to dive twice yearly and decided to try a different resort on the trip this March. Oops! Clearly, the location of The Grand is great. Beautiful beach that is accessible with clear blue water. The other guest must go the beach after closing down the Disco or get up by 4am to "save" lounge chairs on the beach. Not just prime seats, but ALL of the chairs and the three beach beds are covered with Occidental towels by 6am each morning, even though there's no one in the seats until 9 or 10am. The moment that you walk onto the grounds, you are attacked by the time share sales people desperate to make a sale. And they don't stop there, no, they continue to stalk you. My hustand grew up in El Paso Texas and is no stranger on how to send a message that you aren't buying to someone trying to make a hard sale, but these people are relentless. It certainly put a damper on our vacation, having to repeatedly say no and eventually, just rudely ignore these people. We were very hesitent to speak to anyone Mexican on the grounds as it is very hard to differentiate which are timeshare salespeople, and which are Grand employees. The food is absolutely the worst that we have ever had at a resort and we've been to Couples, Riu, Iberostar, El Cozumeleno. Leftover food would be combined and reserved later in the day, or the next day. The selection on the buffet was limited to say the least. We both had two days of diarrhea. Did I mention that the wifi charge is $26 a day? The Dive Operation, Dive Palancar is a real "Maw and Paw" operation...very disorganized and poorly managed. They cancelled several of our dives as two of their three boats were sporadically "broken down". On more than one occasion, they would run out of weights, making it impossible to get the amount of dive weight you needed. Also, the weight has to be picked up by the diver, placed in your BCD or weight belt, then lugged down the pier to the boat. I must be spoiled but weights have always been carried on board the dive boat so that I didn't have to lug them back and forth with all the other stuff that I am already packing (mask, fins, regulator, BCD, etc...). Each of my dives lasted a whopping 30-40 minutes and I surfaced with 1200-1500 lbs of air left as the divemaster would end the dive. I really felt that I didn't get any bang for my buck with this dive op or this resort. I paid what I consider a premium price to stay at the Grand however, if you are not in the Royal Club Section of the resort, you are segregated and treated as a second class guest. They make it very difficult to schedule the "specialty" restaraunts as you can only schedule one at a time. The grounds are lush and well-kept. We noted that in the late evenings, the water springers would be on and they used what must have been sewage water as it stunk to high heaven. There was one poor fellow working the pool bar and the line was at least 10 persons deep at any given time. I was sorely disappointed in the lack of quality and hospitality at Occidental Grand Cozumel and would not recommend a stay there to any of my family, friends, or aquaintainces.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

To get relief from the horrible food at The Grand, do yourself a favor and go into town and eat at Casa Denis or Pancho's Backyard. Linger after 6pm when all of the cruise ships have left port and drink a few good margaritas and enjoy the ambiance of San Miguel. It's enchanting. Town is a $16-$18 cab ride from The Grand, or you can spend $35 a day to rent a bug from Margarita at Rentadora Isis...then the island is your oyster!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lompoc, Ca
Mar 22, 2010

Pretty Nice All Inclusive

The staff was great with the exception of the people at the front desk. I am not sure if they are just too busy or don't care. The buffet was nice, but gets old after a week. Make sure to get your specialty restaurant reservations immediately as they fill up quickly. You need to claim beach chairs very early. 7:30 Am is not early enough. The mosquitos are in abundance and even though I used OFF bug spray I still ended up with alot of bites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katie MD
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 21, 2010

Amazing

It was fairly easy to get to the resort from the airport, it only took about 30 or so minutes by ground transport. We only spent 4 nights, but were able to hit up every single restaurant, order room service, visit the spa and visit each of the pools and the beach. We chose the grand romance deluxe package, which included strawberries and champagne in our room, breakfast in bed, a reservation at the private Royal Club restaurant, and massages at the spa. We were quite impressed as soon as we stepped in. We were handed glasses of champagne, and shown to our room even though we arrived prior to check-in time. The facilities were beautiful, and all the pictures we had found of the place did not do it justice. The room was exactly as promised, with a king bed, shower and tub. The bed was reasonably comfortable, as expected for a hotel. The thermostat worked just fine, though the room was a bit cold when we first got there. It was fully to our expectations. Our housekeeping staff did a good job of keeping it in good shape while we were there; they even made us new towel swan sculptures after the first day. The only issue we encountered was that our tv was flaky. One day it was overcast and we stayed in a bit; both the remote and the buttons on the tv to change the channel were flaky. The up button sometimes went up, sometimes down, and sometimes didn't work at all. We didn't report it, so it wasn't fixed, but we got by just fine. Our 'balcony' was a small concrete patio immediately adjacent to a wall of greenery. We didn't use it much, seeing as even during the day during off season I was bitten by mosquitoes quite a bit. The breakfast and dinner buffets are in the same area, and both were adequate. The service was always good, very attentive. Lunch is served in the Beach Club on the beach, and also had good service. The food was fine. We even tried the late night pizzeria, which is in the same area as the breakfast and dinner buffets but is only open later. Nothing spectacular, but good for late-night cravings. Los Olivos, the Mediterranean restaurant, has excellent decor, and the food was good. The Sonora Grill was packed, but well worth the extra effort we went through to get in. These restaurants require reservations, which we weren't able to get; however, we simply went and asked about an hour or so after they had been open and they accommodated us. We also went to the Royal Club restaurant La Carreta. The food there was excellent! We had breakfast delivered to our room one morning, which was fine. It was colder than if we had gone to the buffet, but that's to be expected. There was a bar at each of the pools - a relaxation pool half way between the villas and the beach, and an activity pool at the beach. The lobby also has a bar. The bar staff was knowledgeable and always friendly and efficient. We also used the spa services. It seemed like few people knew about the jacuzzi tub and sauna that are available to everyone, included in the price of the stay. The facilities were very quiet and relaxing. We also got massages, which were described as Swedish. My previous experiences with Swedish massage were that it was a bit more of a deep tissue massage. This was not as intense, but still very pleasant. We also walked by a couple of the night-time shows in the main plaza, and we checked out the disco. It had a DJ and dance floor, and it seemed there was a screen for showing films as well. The concierge could be a bit pushy on trying to sell you packages for activities not included in the stay (snorkeling tours, motorized water sports, etc), but by the second day we had figured out how to work around their 'suggestions'. This was my first experience, and my boyfriend's second, with an all-inclusive resort, and overall we were quite pleased with it. We would definitely recommend it to others, and hopefully we will go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Wayne IN
Mar 13, 2010

Paradise

Upon arrival we were greated warmly with champagne. Our room was not ready so we were able to walk the grounds before we got our room. Beautifully breathtaking upon arriving at the beach to see the the turquoise waters of the carribean sea.... The grounds were immaculate. The staff friendly. Activities were available for those that wanted to engage. Food was very good and plentiful.We were able to rent a jet ski, had a blast. We snorkled the palancar reef, that was amazing. The weather was around 81 degrees and enjoyed every minute of the time we had. We had a most fabulous time in Cozumel. Already planning our next adventure to the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Suze, Mom
Business
Memphis, Tennessee
Mar 10, 2010

Would not stay here again

Rooms a good size and have balcony that you can sit out on - which is nice. Most of staff is very friendly and helpful. Welcomed with fruit and wine in your room. Although they have room service, you are not allowed to take food or drink from the restaurants. Food is not very good with the exception of the steak place that you make reservations for. Beach area is nice. No swim up bar and bar at small pool area is closed much of the time making it quite a walk to go and get a drink. Would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rachel D
Business
Minnesota
Mar 8, 2010

Spectacular!

NOTE TO ALL!!! Read the information for the hotel and all-inclusive situation for what is available, activities, mini-bar, a al carte reservations, what times the meals are served, etc. The only people that I heard complaining were the ones that obviously never read ANY of it!! Unfortunately, they always complain LOUDLY about it. Personally, those other travelers were MY only complaint! We POLITELY declined any timeshare offers and after the first morning, they no longer approached us but were still friendly and willing to answer any questions. If you are informed you'll do fine. With that said.......The grounds where manicured and lush, clean and beautiful! The rooms were wonderful, clean and beautiful! ALL of the staff were friendly and always helpful.... the food was exceptional at Los Olivos! We went twice so that we could try different things! DO get your reservations early for the a la carte restaurants and make it to the buffets within the first two hours of opening for the best selections. If you don't like to be in TOWN, this is the place to be. Being away from town there isn't too much to do after about 10 pm and the disco was an option but I don't care to sit in a bar all night. Walks on the beach or just around the grounds was always nice though and you CAN always take a taxi into town or rent a vehicle but I was just fine on-site! I like quiet and peaceful and nature, so I was more than pleased with this resort! [...], our first villa concierge helped us every day with something and was very friendly and personable. Even if he wasn't assigned to our villa the following days he would find us and ask if we needed any help. I so want to be back there NOW! It was so nice!We were able to do most all of the activities when the weather cooperated and everyone was friendly and helpful (sailing lessons, kayaking, etc.). Plenty to do to keep you occupied and relaxed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Mar 7, 2010

Great place!!

The resort was very good. I would certainly go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saginaw, Michigan
Mar 1, 2010

Everything very good, the wine -not good

Everything was good but the wine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Giddings Tx USA
Mar 1, 2010

Staff stuckup

The food was poor, staff was unsociable, grounds were great, rooms were clean, some of the computer keys did not work and lighting was extremely poor in the keyboard area, spent more time trying to see the international keyboard symbols than time online. need to chlorinate and have a residual tank to dissipate the horrible smell of waste water before irrigation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top