$214 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
370 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.3764 -87.0209
Area served
Cozumel, Quintana Roo; Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel Airport
Area description
Cozumel features excellent diving and water sports, nightlife and restaurants, shopping, and golf nearby (20-30 minutes). The resort is perfectly located on San Francisco Beach, five minutes from Palancar Reef and other attractions.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (370)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
370 out of 370
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newport Beach, Ca
Oct 13, 2010

Great all-inclusive package

This is a great hotel in a location that is simply excellent for a scuba diving vacation. The service was excellent throughout, the location is excellent in terms of being near dive sites. It is 20 minutes out of town (good for peace and quiet, inconvenient for shopping). The meals were mainly buffet-style with so-so food quality, but this could have been because the hotel was largely empty so the restaurants were rotated. Having all the food, drinks and tips included was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Very conveneient fro scuba diving. the dive shop at the hotel is excellent.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Oct 6, 2010

Nice quiet stay in off season

While at the OC we did a lot of snorkeling. We went on two boat dives to the coral reefs. I got my open water dive certification offered at the dive shop. The beach is nice and groomed daily. The water is clear and warm. I was disappointed that there was only two of the bars open and you only had one restaurant open for lunch and dinner, we stayed in the royal club and ate three dinners at the royal club restaurant and they were elegant and delicious. It was not open for breakfast or lunch due to staying in the off season. We could have ordered room service at no addional charge being in the royal club but didn't use that service. It was perfect for me and my adult daughter to spend a nice quiet relaxing vacation together. The maid service always made sure we had everything we needed. They left us an animal they made with towels on the bed everyday. It was fun returning to the room to see what they made for us each day. We took pictures of them, there was a lot of work put into making them complete with eyes. Was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There were lots of snorkeling just down the road we had a rental car and traveled around the whole island during our stay. Snorkeled several places and did not have any trouble with currents.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Oct 6, 2010

Nice quiet stay in off season

While at the OC we did a lot of snorkeling. We went on two boat dives to the coral reefs. I got my open water dive certification offered at the dive shop. The beach is nice and groomed daily. The water is clear and warm. I was disappointed that there was only two of the bars open and you only had one restaurant open for lunch and dinner, we stayed in the royal club and ate three dinners at the royal club restaurant and they were elegant and delicious. It was not open for breakfast or lunch due to staying in the off season. We could have ordered room service at no addional charge being in the royal club but didn't use that service. It was perfect for me and my adult daughter to spend a nice quiet relaxing vacation together. The maid service always made sure we had everything we needed. They left us an animal they made with towels on the bed everyday. It was fun returning to the room to see what they made for us each day. We took pictures of them, there was a lot of work put into making them complete with eyes. Was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There were lots of snorkeling just down the road we had a rental car and traveled around the whole island during our stay. Snorkeled several places and did not have any trouble with currents.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shmorty
Chicago iL
Sep 13, 2010

So So Senior

Overall, pretty dissapointed. Booked through [...]and scheduled two rooms with king sized beds and when checking in was informed only twin beds were available. Was also informed by[...] we would recieve some type of upgrade when we arrived since it was our 30th anniversary...recieved nothing. The hotel was loaded with misquitos and rooms were very hot...poor air conditioning overall. We were lied to by the front desk the first day informing us the air was being worked on and would be functioning properly within 1 hour...never happenned 8 days later. Concierge worried mostly about tips and if you didn't use them were pretty rude...was told the fishing was great spent $300.00 and didn't get a bite. Was later informed by a different Concierge that we should have used his guy like he suggested the day before ha ha....later found out September is the worst month to fish there. No Swim up pool bars and not very good service for drinks from the pool unless you were willing to tip well. Had to make long walk for drinks from pool. Were not informed until we checked in there the only two upscale restaurants would only be open every other night. On the upside, the food was good overall. The waitors and houskeepers were excellent. The coctails were great and made with good quality alcohol. The rooms were very spacious and great shower pressure. Great service and friendliness from [...]...the best of the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

When you arrive with 4 people it is cheaper to take a normal cab $25.00 no stops, rather than the Shuttles $41.00 and stops at other hotels...the sales reps push the shuttle service hard as soon as you leave the baggage station. Always ask the price of the taxi service before getting into the car...prices really vary. The price of Alcohol and Cigarettes in the local town is about the same as purchasing from the No Duty Facilities at the Airport, therefore, no sense dragging heavy bottles around the town if you plan to bring back goods to your country. Also, when purchasing gifts in town, the vendors will go for the throat typically asking 50 to 60% more than you actually end up paying. You must negotiate original offerred prices. It is better to shop the side streets rather than the main street....much cheaper prices...same for food and drinks as well.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shmorty
Chicago iL
Sep 13, 2010

So So Senior

Overall, pretty dissapointed. Booked through [...]and scheduled two rooms with king sized beds and when checking in was informed only twin beds were available. Was also informed by[...] we would recieve some type of upgrade when we arrived since it was our 30th anniversary...recieved nothing. The hotel was loaded with misquitos and rooms were very hot...poor air conditioning overall. We were lied to by the front desk the first day informing us the air was being worked on and would be functioning properly within 1 hour...never happenned 8 days later. Concierge worried mostly about tips and if you didn't use them were pretty rude...was told the fishing was great spent $300.00 and didn't get a bite. Was later informed by a different Concierge that we should have used his guy like he suggested the day before ha ha....later found out September is the worst month to fish there. No Swim up pool bars and not very good service for drinks from the pool unless you were willing to tip well. Had to make long walk for drinks from pool. Were not informed until we checked in there the only two upscale restaurants would only be open every other night. On the upside, the food was good overall. The waitors and houskeepers were excellent. The coctails were great and made with good quality alcohol. The rooms were very spacious and great shower pressure. Great service and friendliness from [...]...the best of the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

When you arrive with 4 people it is cheaper to take a normal cab $25.00 no stops, rather than the Shuttles $41.00 and stops at other hotels...the sales reps push the shuttle service hard as soon as you leave the baggage station. Always ask the price of the taxi service before getting into the car...prices really vary. The price of Alcohol and Cigarettes in the local town is about the same as purchasing from the No Duty Facilities at the Airport, therefore, no sense dragging heavy bottles around the town if you plan to bring back goods to your country. Also, when purchasing gifts in town, the vendors will go for the throat typically asking 50 to 60% more than you actually end up paying. You must negotiate original offerred prices. It is better to shop the side streets rather than the main street....much cheaper prices...same for food and drinks as well.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pinson, Al
Sep 12, 2010

Beautiful resort

I went there for a diving vacation. This was my 7th visit to this resort. I go to Cozumel every year and stay here because everything is first class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pinson, Al
Sep 12, 2010

Beautiful resort

I went there for a diving vacation. This was my 7th visit to this resort. I go to Cozumel every year and stay here because everything is first class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Aug 25, 2010

Great experience

Just returned from a great stay at the Occidental Grand in Cozumel. It was too short (3 nights) but the hotel was great! Because it's the off season (August), it was not especially crowded. I think adding to this feeling is the layout of the hotel-- rather than the rooms being in a big building, they are in multiple smaller structures that are more spread out. The buildings are connected by walkways that are lined with lush plants and trees. Iguanas sometimes hang out on the edges of the paths. The whole place was beautiful-- though my favorites were the beach and pool areas.The staff was very attentive and wanted to help with everything. We did a resort course scuba introduction through Dive Palancar (SO convenient that it was located right on the resort!). My boyfriend had gone diving once before but I never had-- [...] did a great job of providing an introduction and making sure I felt comfortable in the water. Later in the day we did the resort boat dive, at one of the reefs just off the coast. We went down about 40 feet! It was amazing. I would go back just for the sake of the dive shop!The beach is gorgeous and sandy. We met another couple during our dive course who were staying at Iberostar, and they said that their beach was more coral and harder to walk on the sand. I also liked that there aren't any other resorts immediately beside Occidental, so it feels more isolated on the beach.I just have to remove one star because of the availability of the restaurant reservations. We didn't try to make a reservation on the first 2 nights, so on the morning of the last full day, went to the desk around 8am to do so for that night. We were told that reservations couldn't be made until 9am. I asked if it were possible to make reservations early, since we had to be at the scuba class at 9. The staff person pulled up the schedule and said that everything was booked already. I'm not sure how that's possible since technically reservations couldn't be made yet...They were very nice and offered to contact the food and beverage manager, but we weren't able to get in at all. The food at the buffet was good and we were fine with it-- but just a disappointment.I don't want to over-emphasize that though-- it was the only disappointment. I would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Use Dive Palancar! They are awesome.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Aug 25, 2010

Great experience

Just returned from a great stay at the Occidental Grand in Cozumel. It was too short (3 nights) but the hotel was great! Because it's the off season (August), it was not especially crowded. I think adding to this feeling is the layout of the hotel-- rather than the rooms being in a big building, they are in multiple smaller structures that are more spread out. The buildings are connected by walkways that are lined with lush plants and trees. Iguanas sometimes hang out on the edges of the paths. The whole place was beautiful-- though my favorites were the beach and pool areas.The staff was very attentive and wanted to help with everything. We did a resort course scuba introduction through Dive Palancar (SO convenient that it was located right on the resort!). My boyfriend had gone diving once before but I never had-- [...] did a great job of providing an introduction and making sure I felt comfortable in the water. Later in the day we did the resort boat dive, at one of the reefs just off the coast. We went down about 40 feet! It was amazing. I would go back just for the sake of the dive shop!The beach is gorgeous and sandy. We met another couple during our dive course who were staying at Iberostar, and they said that their beach was more coral and harder to walk on the sand. I also liked that there aren't any other resorts immediately beside Occidental, so it feels more isolated on the beach.I just have to remove one star because of the availability of the restaurant reservations. We didn't try to make a reservation on the first 2 nights, so on the morning of the last full day, went to the desk around 8am to do so for that night. We were told that reservations couldn't be made until 9am. I asked if it were possible to make reservations early, since we had to be at the scuba class at 9. The staff person pulled up the schedule and said that everything was booked already. I'm not sure how that's possible since technically reservations couldn't be made yet...They were very nice and offered to contact the food and beverage manager, but we weren't able to get in at all. The food at the buffet was good and we were fine with it-- but just a disappointment.I don't want to over-emphasize that though-- it was the only disappointment. I would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Use Dive Palancar! They are awesome.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Aug 15, 2010

Horrible customer service

This is a beautiful resort and I will pay to stay at an ugly resort for better customer service. Worst customer service ever and I have traveled the world. See details of the trip below: Day one arrived- no bell boy or anyone to greet us except for time share guy- Alejandro who I thought was checking us into our room. We paid him $20 that we never saw again- even though we told him we were not interested in attending the 90 minute presentation. Next we carried our luggage up three flights of stairs and the keys did not work. Then our room was not a king size bed which is what we requested. When I mentioned this to the front desk they said they were full and we could move tomorrow if a room came available. We also had some guests cancel at the last minute and explained they were not coming and they were receiving no refund. Our friends tried to add there 1000 to our room to be upgraded and they would not transfer and they were very unaccommodating. Okay maybe I was tired so I went on about our plans- Food was buffets not that great. Air conditioning was horrible in our room. So day two my husband goes to book our reservations for the "nice" restaurants. They stated they were all booked all week and did not try to offer anything. I called and asked if we could go to another sister resort or even move rooms to another resort. They then were able to get us some dinner reservations- offered to move our room for us the next day. They did move us- yet now we were next to the disco that we could hear all night long and the room was smoking- yet the air-conditioning worked great. So yes beautiful place- "nice" restaurant excellent food and service. But will never stay there due to the treatment- It was as if they did not care and it was a horribly powerless feeling- being in another country and not getting what you paid for and then only if requesting to be moved to another resort did they try and accommodate us. Oh we were also told we would have a free room service of breakfast and something special sent to our room- this never happened either. We stayted at the iberia star and the friendliest staff ever! That is what I remember- how one is treated!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Call and speak to someone at the hotel before you arrive that you get reservations and the room you want. Ask to speak to the manager- [...]

Back to menu Return to top