$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Km 17 782 Carretera Costera Sur, El Cedral, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Quasar
Business
Ontario, Canada
Feb 16, 2012

Cozumel for lovers and divers

February is usually the best time to go away to avoid nasty weather and soak up some sun for that Vitamin D deprived skin. Iberostar resort in Cozumel is a great place to do it. This is a very comfortable place especially for the young at heart. The lush tropical gardens around the thatched guesthouses were one of the things that attracted me. I want that living green and even better, I loved the birds. Wild birds as well as flamingos, macaws and green parrots were an everyday treat. There were also iguanas – orange ones and green ones, grey and black striped ones. The radiantly colored two story thatched buildings are arranged in quads of eight rooms, four up and four ground level. I had the second story overlooking a lovely shaded garden of native tropical trees yet I could still enjoy the afternoon sun, for a lazy snooze, as it washed over my deck. The circular swimming pools are huge, each having a different purpose but my passion is for the beach of ocean ground shells that has a dense grove of palm trees shading 50% of it where you can snooze or read. Unfortunately, there is no beach at the shore, only the limestone remains of an ancient reef, which is interesting but not nice for wadding in. You can get into the dazzling clear water from the dock under which there are more fish per square yard than anywhere on the reef. The hotel is a great place to socialize as there is a large comfortable lounge open to gardens, with good musical accompaniment every night. The young staff keeps those who want to be active, on the ball and they put on some hilarious entertainment in the evenings. Food can be hit and miss but I found that the seafood and meats that were cooked by chefs at the buffet were the best. The pastry wrapped spicy, ground meat dishes were tasty. There are lovely salads and huge arrangements of fresh fruit. There is absolutely something for everyone and you have lots of options in sauces and spicy flavorings that you can add. Desserts are fabulous! Compliments to the sweets chef! The scuba diving right there is amazing! Jacques Cousteau said so himself. Many fellow divers also agreed that there are more corals and living critters to be seen at the reef along Cozumel’s coast than anywhere else. I chose to scuba with alexscuba because this is a small company of dedicated divers who have only your best interests at heart. They are extremely attentive to bettering your technique and concerned about your safety. They keep the group small and the dives longer so that you get the best opportunities to practice and to see more. Or The only hitch was the company that was to pick me up at the airport…didn’t. Apparently this is unusual however I only got refunded for the amount that local taxis charge. So I paid 38.00US and got 30.00US value. That was not fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Chose a room away from the performance hall if you want less noise. Hang out in the louge or walk down to Albertos along the beach for a casual evening, good food and R&B.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oryz
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 29, 2012

Perfect for a winter time vacation

Unexpected: a) a high humidity. b) a lizards - any time, any place! But it's scared just for first day :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Possum2000
Business
New Jersey, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Good times, but ugh.. the food...

We arrived and was told by a somewhat standoff-ish man at reception that he only had a room two double beds (despite request for a king). The room smelled like mildew, but we were moved the next day. Conversations over a final meal discussed what we would do differently at the hotel: location was nice, rooms were very clean, amenities were good, staff was friendly, plenty of activities, shows were fun, but UGH THE FOOD! Not only was it poorly labeled (careful with food allergies), but most of it was barely edible! Greasy, room temperature at best, flavorless, frozen meats and fish, stale carbs, just NOT GOOD. I've been to other resorts that had buffets, but this was just BAD. Not to mention the numerous cats running around the dining halls, making me wonder what's going on in the kitchen that they need those cats....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to Ave 18 de Octobre if you want some authentic Mexican food! The hotel does not even serve Mexican on the regular...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mountain Diver
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Great New Years Getaway

Arrived on New Years Eve to a festively decorated and full resort where we enjoyed a delightful buffet with shrimp, seafood, and steak. Our days were sunny and relaxed on the beach and at the pool. The port was closed for two days as the wind whipped up some surf and white caps on the normal placid waters of this part of the Caribbean. We did five dives with the onsite Dressel Divers and enjoyed every one of them especially the 110' dive at Punta Sur. Food is good and rivals most cruise ship Lido deck fare. Rooms are best closest to the dive shop and pool. A second floor balcony is preferred for drying out your dive gear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A walk to Alberto's next door is great for a few drinks and some nachos and guacamole while watching the sunset.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biggi
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Great stay especially with kids

Great location away from the big tourism, diving/ snorkeling right in front of the hotel, great gardens and walk-ways including an animal section, best food I ever had at an all-inclusive in the Carribean. Beach w/ lots of palm trees/shade. Need shoes to enter water but perfect local sand beaches on the uninhabited East side of the island are only 15+ min drive away. Room could have more storage space, softer beds, downstairs appts. can hear people walking up/down stairs but didn't bother us. The rest of this hotel more than makes up for this. Currently there are sand fleas in the sand of all Cozumel beaches, this hotel sprays beach at night. Great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great variety buffet. Ask for a table near the animal section if you have small kids. The flamengos, walking by peacocks, iguanas etc. will help you occupy your toodler for a nice long meal time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jared77
Business
Lafayette, IN, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Fantastic family vacations.

The hotel is an excellent place both for family vacations and for enthusiastic scuba divers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Great for snorkeling and scuba diving.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mama Marg
Business
San Antonio, TX
Dec 24, 2011

Beautiful Outdoor Facilities

The landscape was lovely-fauna & beach/pool amenities. The staff were very friendly and supportive. The added touch of local animals roaming the main guest areas-iguanas, parrots, peacocks, etc. made it perfect. The food was ok, but not cruise quality. Be careful of the added activities away from the location esp. deep sea fishing offered at discount price. Recommend: snorkeling, swimming with the dolphins,& J.B.'s Margaritaville, closer to downtown. Count on taking plenty of cash for taxi service to and from location to airport and other facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scuba Cathy
Business
MO
Nov 20, 2011

Great Scuba Dive Venue

Really enjoy this low key friendly all inclusive resort. Everyone is very friendly. Front desk personnel very accommodating at check in but a little stuffy during the stay and at check out. Stars do a great job of getting people involved in activities. Wait staff works so hard. Spa staff is professional. It was disappointing the hot tub kept breaking down. Great dock for independent dive shop to pick us up for daily diving. Perfect location for the best dive sites. Fun sail boats. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your reservations for the specialty restaurants the first day you arrive. There is plenty of room but the venues have very light seating for some unknown reason.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy74
Business
Colorado, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Fantastic resort! Staff was extremely friendly and very accomodating. The rooms were small but very little time spent in the room. We always found great food at the buffet and ate at the Steakhouse twice. Both had great service. If you are travelling with kids the kids club is fantastic! Sandra has activities planned for the kids for the entire day. My daughter had a wonderful time. My only complaint is the mosquitos. We went to the shows each night and got quite a few bites but could have easily been fixed with bug spray. My family will definately return next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sunni123
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Pretty Nice

We stayed 10 days. Not a resort where you can snorkel off the beach, way too rocky. You can go into the water off the pier (sooooo many fish to see). The water was very calm and clear. Pool was fun, had some really cool pool games, you can request, music at the swim up bar and the drinks are ok, but they serve any top shelf liquor (they did have Smirnoff and Canadian club, the rest was maybe a local brand). The food was ok, I’m not a picky eater and they had a decent variety. We flew into Cancun and took the ferry to Cozumel, I wouldn’t do that again. It was kind of a hassle. Overall the hotel grounds are nice. Flamingos under the bridge, peacocks and iguanas roam the place like they own it. The mosquitoes are terrible, but it is to be expected with the lush jungle like atmosphere. We used a lot of bug spray at night. They do not have an enclosed, air-conditioned buffet or theatre for the nightly show. When we arrived we were told that the night club and specialty restaurants were not going to open because of low census. Which was fine, but then at some point they opened up the restaurants and booked people that arrived after us and didn’t bother to let us know they were taking reservations. So when we finally found out…. They were booked. That wasn’t right in my book

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Check back with the front desk to see if things change... they don't tell you unless you ask

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top