$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2015 Check-out: Aug 30, 2015

Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Km 17 782 Carretera Costera Sur, El Cedral, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BigFloyd
Business
Tyler, Texas
May 19, 2012

A Very Enjoyable Place to Stay and Dive

I've been heading down to Cozumel to dive a couple times annually for the past few years and we've stopped there on a couple of cruises. Previously, we've stayed downtown or just south of town. This was our first venture way down south to an all-inclusive resort. The property is very nice and well-kept. We got a standard room which fit my adult son and I just fine. The only negative I can think of about the room (other than the typical rock-hard Mexico bed) was the pathetic water pressure in the shower. It was actually difficult to rinse the soap suds away. After a couple of days, I unscrewed the connecting hose and removed the restrictor disc which resulted in decent hot showers from then on. With the exception of 'International Night", the food was pretty darn good for an all-inclusive. They always had grilled/broiled fish (usually grouper) at lunch and dinner along with some excellent grilled chicken at most lunches. The grouper ceviche on the lunch buffet was another good dish. We hit the Rock Cafe (don't get the pineapple-seafood appetizer, get the shrimp instead, the grouper entree was nice) and the steak house (the med-rare ribeye was quite tasty, even for a steak snob like me). I'm not a big drinker, but had a few pretty decent frozen margaritas. The staff at Iberostar were excellent and friendly. They seemed eager to make our stay an enjoyable one. One very nice lady would stop at our table each day just to check and see what dishes we enjoyed and which ones we weren't too fond of. Sandra at the customer service desk was also very friendly and helpful. On our 5-day trip, we dove 4 mornings. I can't comment about the on-site dive op (Dresser), but guests that I spoke with around the pool were all happy with them. Some were repeat customers. Our dive op (Dive With Martin) picked us up at the Iberostar dock each morning just before 8am and we were on our first site very quickly. We were usually getting dropped off before 1130. It's a great place to stay if you like to dive Santa Rosa Wall and points south. I'll very likely be going back to Iberostar for my next Cozumel dive trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dmoor001
Business
Washington DC
May 10, 2012

Can't wait for my next visit to the Iberostar Cozumel

Great vacation!! Met a few people who had been to many other resorts on the island, and were returning to the Iberostar for the 12th or 15th time. After 6 days, I totally understand why they keep coming back year after year

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sciiman
Business
Wilmington, DE, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Wonderful Staff!

We picked the Iberostar based on a previous visit to one of their Punta Cana properties. The staff was extremely helpful and always there for the guest. A great location for those who want to dive or snorkel. Their theater is state of the art. Like our other Iberostar visit we found the grounds and wildlife over the top. Visitors should be aware of the fact that the beach is awesome until you reach the waterline where it is quite rocky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PA Phil
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Mar 31, 2012

A week in Paradise

Beautiful Resort As soon as i pulled into the parking lot some one was there to take care of me. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Every turn you make is another Hola!(hello). The grounds are a beautiful garden,and The Beech and Pool are just like the pictures"Perfect". The food was awsome however my only complaint was that the coffee is terrible(bring you own). And Next door a 200 yard walk up the beech is Alberto's awsome place with fresh cought fish and Lobster. Awsome tunes and great atmosphere. If you are a scuba diver or want to try it, this is definitely the place for you.even snorkeling around the pier has alot to see. I was planing another trip over seas but as of right now i'm going back to Iberostar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Iberto's thier slogan"best tail I ever had" they ain't kidding.the food is awsome it's a small menu but everything is very good. I spent several afternoons and evenings there great atmosphere and awsome music and friendly staff.It's a shame my favorite Bar is now 2000 miles away.

Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cari235
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Mar 23, 2012

Disappointed in Iberostar Cozumel

Last year we enjoyed Iberostar Tucan and had hoped that Iberostar Coz would be similar, but the quality of this Iberostar was disappointing. For a 7 day stay, we were allowed only 2 dinner reservations at the steak house and Rock cafe. They acted like the restaurants were booked, but both were nearly empty. Both dinners we're mediocre at best, tough steak, burnt salmon, terrible wine. The buffet was the worst we've tasted and we've stayed at quite a few all inclusives. We don't expect gourmet, but we could barely bring ourselves to eat there the last couple days. The beach is solid ironshore. You can't swim off this beach at all. I tried every bar at this resort and never found a good margarita!! They use a very sweet mix. A couple bartenders tried to make them "special" for me, no luck. Alberto's down the beach has good food and margaritas! Peacocks running around resort are fun, but patio around buffet near pool is dirty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rented a car one day and drove around island to some beautiful swimmable beaches and shopped/ate in town. We had a great time exploring the island! Unfortunately, thick trash has washed up on many beaches and Cozumel really needs a clean up.

Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kaitlyn
Business
Illinois, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Fantastic scuba diving

The staff was so friendly the cabanas were perfect food was okay- drinks were strong- :)- entertainment was sub par- grounds were well kept- beach could be raked a bit more - dive shop could offer more retail- conveniently located on reefs! All around a great trip we'll be back in a few months!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Dive shop and pier was closest to the reefs compared to other hotels

Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BWoody
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Great place

It is an absolutely beautiful layout with Flamingos, Iguanas & Peacocks roaming the wonderful grounds. The small (2 and 4) unit building are a very open and comfortable alternative to the typical high rise. They said that they were at 90% capacity, but it never felt crowed anywhere. Some say the rooms are small, but we thought it was perfect and the individual balcony with chairs and a hammock was great. The beach was perfect with plenty of chairs. It is rocky going into the water so bring swim shoes. Unfortunately I do have to agree with many of the reviews that say the food is not great. Breakfast and Lunch was actually just fine, but the dinner buffet was average at best. It is a shame as I think it could be very good but somehow it just wasn’t. One simple thing they could do is to label the items better. For example they would have a sign at the top describing the 6 or 8 items below, but in many cases it was difficult to know which is which. They are clearly hearing this as they had folks asking about the food and for suggestions, so I would expect improvement. There was also much more expectation of tipping than I have seen at other all inclusive. The staff was pleasant but not as friendly as others as well. That said I would absolutely return to the Iberostar Cozumel and will recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I absolutely recommend renting a car. The taxi cost to and from the airport and one trip into town will pretty much cover the cost for a compact and it will give you freedom. It is a beautiful island with plenty to see and this hotel is kind of a long way from everything, but they have plenty of free parking. Be sure and snorkel at Corona beach club. The coral to the North is close to the shore and beautiful.

Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Quasar
Business
Ontario, Canada
Feb 16, 2012

Cozumel for lovers and divers

February is usually the best time to go away to avoid nasty weather and soak up some sun for that Vitamin D deprived skin. Iberostar resort in Cozumel is a great place to do it. This is a very comfortable place especially for the young at heart. The lush tropical gardens around the thatched guesthouses were one of the things that attracted me. I want that living green and even better, I loved the birds. Wild birds as well as flamingos, macaws and green parrots were an everyday treat. There were also iguanas – orange ones and green ones, grey and black striped ones. The radiantly colored two story thatched buildings are arranged in quads of eight rooms, four up and four ground level. I had the second story overlooking a lovely shaded garden of native tropical trees yet I could still enjoy the afternoon sun, for a lazy snooze, as it washed over my deck. The circular swimming pools are huge, each having a different purpose but my passion is for the beach of ocean ground shells that has a dense grove of palm trees shading 50% of it where you can snooze or read. Unfortunately, there is no beach at the shore, only the limestone remains of an ancient reef, which is interesting but not nice for wadding in. You can get into the dazzling clear water from the dock under which there are more fish per square yard than anywhere on the reef. The hotel is a great place to socialize as there is a large comfortable lounge open to gardens, with good musical accompaniment every night. The young staff keeps those who want to be active, on the ball and they put on some hilarious entertainment in the evenings. Food can be hit and miss but I found that the seafood and meats that were cooked by chefs at the buffet were the best. The pastry wrapped spicy, ground meat dishes were tasty. There are lovely salads and huge arrangements of fresh fruit. There is absolutely something for everyone and you have lots of options in sauces and spicy flavorings that you can add. Desserts are fabulous! Compliments to the sweets chef! The scuba diving right there is amazing! Jacques Cousteau said so himself. Many fellow divers also agreed that there are more corals and living critters to be seen at the reef along Cozumel’s coast than anywhere else. I chose to scuba with alexscuba because this is a small company of dedicated divers who have only your best interests at heart. They are extremely attentive to bettering your technique and concerned about your safety. They keep the group small and the dives longer so that you get the best opportunities to practice and to see more. Or The only hitch was the company that was to pick me up at the airport…didn’t. Apparently this is unusual however I only got refunded for the amount that local taxis charge. So I paid 38.00US and got 30.00US value. That was not fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Chose a room away from the performance hall if you want less noise. Hang out in the louge or walk down to Albertos along the beach for a casual evening, good food and R&B.

Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oryz
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 29, 2012

Perfect for a winter time vacation

Unexpected: a) a high humidity. b) a lizards - any time, any place! But it's scared just for first day :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Possum2000
Business
New Jersey, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Good times, but ugh.. the food...

We arrived and was told by a somewhat standoff-ish man at reception that he only had a room two double beds (despite request for a king). The room smelled like mildew, but we were moved the next day. Conversations over a final meal discussed what we would do differently at the hotel: location was nice, rooms were very clean, amenities were good, staff was friendly, plenty of activities, shows were fun, but UGH THE FOOD! Not only was it poorly labeled (careful with food allergies), but most of it was barely edible! Greasy, room temperature at best, flavorless, frozen meats and fish, stale carbs, just NOT GOOD. I've been to other resorts that had buffets, but this was just BAD. Not to mention the numerous cats running around the dining halls, making me wonder what's going on in the kitchen that they need those cats....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to Ave 18 de Octobre if you want some authentic Mexican food! The hotel does not even serve Mexican on the regular...

Back to menu Return to top