$216 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2015 Check-out: Jul 26, 2015

Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Km 17 782 Carretera Costera Sur, El Cedral, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scuba crew
Business
North dakota
Nov 22, 2013

Romantic anniversary getaway

Loved the beautiful location, great atmosphere, beautiful beach and amazing service!! Drinks are very well mixed with a great selection! 2 hour snorkeling tour was amazing! I've never had better snorkeling! Great location to rent a jeep and get to the east side of the island! Coconuts bar is a must see! A trip to town one day to shop and eat lunch at margaritaville is also a must! Shows at night were great! Very talented staff! Only negative I can say is rooms smelled slightly musty due to the humidity!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Never go there again
Business
Upstate NY
Nov 20, 2013

Subpar resort

Just retrurned from seven day vacation. This resort needs complete updating. The rooms are small, dingy & have no windows that open. We expereinced many days of rain & it was impossible to get anything to dry out. Food quality & safety are poor. Food is left at room temperature & served over & over again. I became sick on day two & found it very difficult to find any acceptable food. Cats roam throughout the resort & in the dining areas. The beach is nice & has decent snorkeling from the dock. Diving was good however very crowded &expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be very cautious of what you eat. Try to get something that is prepared right before you eat, i.e french fries. Bring your own hand sanatizer as almost all food is buffet style & no one appears to clen their hands before using serving pieces.

Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maddog
Business
Riverside, CA, USA
Nov 14, 2013

Off Season Quiet Retreat & Great Service!

It is “Off Season” in October! The screaming, crying, undisciplined, annoying kids are back in school and the Hurricane Season is officially over, so what happens at the Resorts? There occupancy drops to 15-20 percent. What does that mean for savvy travelers? While the Resorts are forced to make seasonal cut-backs and offer fewer dining options per day, food and variety is still abundant! You just have to plan your dining experience a little better. You get room upgrades just for the asking because they try and keep everyone closer to the beach for easy cleaning and maintenance while they do repairs and upgrades to the rest of the vacant rooms. The “Staff” that they keep are the very best of the best, so “Service” is incredible! The “Shows & Activities” continue as usual however there are no crowds. The beach and pool are empty. No trouble finding a vacant lounge chair to your liking, and the “Dive Deals” become “Steals!” I stayed for (20) days at the Iberostar Resort on Cozumel and was treated like “Royalty!” Everyone knew my favorite drink, how I liked my omelet, and that I liked my steak medium rare! I made several friends with the “Staff,” and two of the girls actually cried when I finally had to leave! (One of them gave me her E-Mail, FB Account, and phone number! And yes, they have since been verified!) I saw the Resort Manager almost daily as he made the rounds. He was very approachable and congenial! He told me that the capacity of the Resort was 700 but I only saw about 30 Adults there at any given time! The only negative is that they were charging for “wifi” and it was only available by the pool or in the main Lobby. They were fixing that problem while I was there and should have full “wifi” to all rooms by now! Check to see if they charge or not and tell them it is a deal breaker. I am sure they will fix it for you, they credited it back to my account at the end of my stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There "Steak House" Restaurant serves your steak to perfection! Just ask them to sauté some mushrooms & onions to put on top and I thought I was in Texas!

Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birthday Girl Caryne
Business
Sinton, Tx
Oct 22, 2013

Great Birthday Party

The Iberostar Resort was wonderful and the employees are so personable. We enjoyed the rooms, food and amenities greatly. It was truly a great birthday experience. The staff went out of their way to make us comfortable and happy. The food was great and we enjoyed the swim up bar immensely. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The Thrifty Rent a Car was a real disappointment. They tried to file a claim for $500.00 for a plastic cover for the radio that had fallen off and under the seat. We found it ourselves and were able to avoid the loss claim.

Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
La Texan
Business
Spring, Texas
Oct 11, 2013

Cozumel Gettaway

This was our 3rd time to stay at the Iberostar Cozumel and i was as good a ever. The food was great with good selections at the buffet. They only had one specialty restaurant open per night as it was was the slow season. The resort is small, but to us it is a benefit as we had rooms close to the pool and beach. The rooms need some updating, but over all they are very clean and satisfactory. If any thing needed repair the staff was there in minutes to fix.. For my vacation dollar it is the best resort on Cozumel. If you dive the dive sites are minutes from the hotel dock and Dressel Divers do a good job. We ill be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book your specialty restaurants as soon as you arrive. There are 3 Steak, Mexican, and The Star Cafe which is mostly food you would find at a grille.

Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diver Chip
Business
Texas
Sep 28, 2013

Perfect trip

The staff went out of there way to ensure our every need was met. It's the perfect balance of things to do and relaxing on the beach, we are already planning our return trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car, there is so much to see and explore, and a rental lets you do it at your own pace.

Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Effie59
Business
San Pedro Ca
Aug 22, 2013

Honeymoon Getaway

This was a great hotel, out of town as far as you can get so nice and secluded and quit. The staff was great, they went out of their way to please you. Our only complaint was, one day we lost power which meant that toilets didnt work and showers,sinks didn't work either, along with all normal things that happen when you lose power. This made the hotel basically uninhabitable because their were no facilities to use. I think the hotel needs to have a backup generator if things like that are going to be lost when power is out. We highly recommend the whale shark experience offered by the onsite dive shop, just make sure the weather is going to be nice before booking, we had to jump through hoops to actually go on it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We went to the Mayan ruins at Tulum, it was an all day adventure but worth it. We had to take a ferry to Playa Del Carmen then a bus to Tulum, then a cab to the ruins. They were amazing, they have their own private beach and are just spectacular. Then we went back to the hotel and had to repeat the process all over again.

Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Calamardo
Business
Tulsa Ok
Jun 29, 2013

Cozumel 2013

Took a group of 9 people ( 3 families ) We had a great time, the grounds were pretty, the pools were full. Alot of kids...which made lines at the pool bar, but I like seeing families vacation together. If you have a dive shop that you like that is NOT DD ( the onsite shop ) you need to consult with your dive operator about any fees...the hotel DOESN'T like other dives shops picking customers up on THEIR dock. The hotel staff however was excellent and I will post more on TA. All in All I would go back to Iberostar...ahe staff is truly first class. The food is OK there is a good variety...the fruit was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Coconuts Bar and Grill on the southeast side of the island. Best shrimp tacos...it is for the 18 and over crowd.

Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
James The Dive Master
Business
Erie, PA, USA
Jun 25, 2013

Great Family Rereat

First, I read reviews until I was blind. Wanted to be sure we picked the right place; and that we did. We had 9 family members meet us here and everyone had a great time. The grounds are emaculant. The wildlife and separate buildings made it feel like paradise. The service was friendly and timely. Air conditioner isn't working, no problem. Fixed within the hour. Door handle feel off, no problem. Fixed in 10 minutes. The staff work many hours and some of them several different jobs. They are gracious and hard working. The rooms were kept very clean, but some rooms do have the musty smell. Take a can of air freshener, it worked for us. My wife had a medical issue and the front desk set up a "house call" at 2100 hours and within the hour she was seeing the doctor (female# and got a prescription. Unbelievable. 135.00 US cash with meds. Never see that in the US. The diving was second to none. Dressel Divers is great, organized, and easy to work with. My son got his advanced open water and next time we will take the NITROX course. #recommended# Bo at the desk puts you at ease as soon as you check in and was super nice. The instructors and guides are top notch and are at ease with all skill levels. The dive shop is not an authorized repair center and do not have dive merchandise or equipment for sale. If you take your own equipment, bring what you need #batteries) and your tool kit if you are a DIYer. The food and drink was perfect for us. Plenty of pruified cold water to drink. No 45 minute discussions on were or what to eat and the food was always fresh and well prepared. If you can't find something you like you are one picky eater. If you are expecting US TEX/MEX style food you will be disappointed. All spices and hot sauses are served as separate offerings so everyone gets what they like. Hard Rock and Mexican Restaraunt good, Steak House not so. Snorkeling and sailing was outstanding for those not diving. The reef in front of the hotel is a bit sparce, but plenty to see around the peer. The beach was absolutely beautiful. The "Star Friends" will keep you and the kids busy and entertained. They are a blast and have more energy than you can imagine. As I drank my Bloody Mary and floated in the pool they made me tired :) Take some bug spray. It is only needed during certain times, like after a few days of rain, but will come in handy. This was my biggest worry, but with lite use of the spray and the wonderful breeze it turned out not to be a problem. Try it you'll like it. And have fun!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Cozumel All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gma Val
Business
Saint Louis, MO
Jun 24, 2013

Graduation Trip

The hotel is known for it's scuba which is why we chose it. My grandson enjoyed the scuba, I found the hotel just so-so. The food was average and the drinks were typical all-inclusive cut rate alcohol. You can pay for various "extras" with US dollar but you better have the correct amount since they never have change. Mosquitos and sand fleas were horrible! Bring spray.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The only exceptional meal I has was at the Mexican Resturant.

Back to menu Return to top