$38 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 8, 2014 Check-out: Dec 11, 2014

Hotel Plaza Cozumel

2 stars
Calle 2 norte entre rafael e. Melgar y 5 av. #3, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
16 reviews
Enjoyed my stay at the Plaza

No complaints during my two week stay . Nice view of the ocean and ferry terminal from the room. My... See full review

  • Pauli D.
  • Jul 1, 2014
GREAT place to stay!!

I had a great time at this place! It truly is the center of everything! Downtown in the middle of... See full review

  • RNBmarie
  • Jun 7, 2014
Because of its location, HOTEL PLAZA COZUMEL has an excellent panoramic view of the Island of Cozumel, a beautiful natural environment that serves as a gateway for national and foreign visitors on business or visiting this beautiful island for relaxation purposes.

Hotel has easy access from anywhere on the island. because the hotel is in the tourist and commercial heart of a passage from the Main Plaza, steps away from the museum of the island and in front of Cozumel's main pier.

Offer comfortable rooms at great prices and swimming pool on the roof of building makes HOTEL PLAZA COZUMEL the ideal place to stay when you visit Cozumel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Plaza Cozumel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Plaza Cozumel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard room offers two double bed along with Air conditioning , Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, bathroom cold water and hot, Non-smoking rooms and Telephone.
The hotel also offer spacious rooms allowing guest to enjoy the privacy and silence needed for a welcome rest. Walk into a warm and caring atmosphere in classical light and bright colors,where you will find the comfort that you deserved.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant
Join a self-service Breakfast American and find Mexican flavors or try light dishes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Plaza Cozumel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Plaza Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EllenC
Business
Breckenridge, CO 80424, USA
Dec 3, 2011

Nice hotel, great location!

A nice hotel, smack in the middle of downtown, walk to everything! Very nice rooftop pool area! Breakfast daily, buffet style, friendly staff, room was clean, and great water pressure in the shower! Nothing too fancy, but great for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great restaurants within a couple of blocks, but walk a little farther, to 30th ave., and have the best tacos at El Pique!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GfLGdog
Business
Olympia, WA, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Great Basic Accomodation

We really like the hotel due to its location close to the square, and our favorite dive shop. Wet Wendy's is right behind it for great evening fun. The pool on the roof is awesome in the evening to watch the sun set. The staff is very friendly. Breakfast is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Wet Wendy's is right behind Hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dr bombita
Business
black river falls wi
Feb 26, 2013

great location during the carnaval and so close to all the local stores and watering holes

this was my second time staying at the hotel. i love the location . it is easy walking distance to all the downtown stores , bars, and night clubs. the breakfast they serve is very good with many choices of food and juices. the people at the front desk are always friendly and helpful, the rooms are kept clean and the cleaning staff will accomadate you if you like to sleep in or need a early cleaning. for the money it is a very good hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

great dancing places or just to listen to live music or sit outside and enjoy the weather

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
papa scooter
Business
ohio
Mar 14, 2011

"Fantastic family getaway

It was carnaval just off the plaza have stayed there many times service is good for mex

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

la mission

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Audreyrose
Business
Salem, Virginia
Sep 25, 2010

Hotel Plaza Cozumel

For the very reasonable price charged it was an excellent deal. As I have a bad back I travel with a foam mattress so no problem. Bed wasnt hard after foam was put on. Left foam behind when I departed. Cozumel is much nicer than Cancun. Very friendly people and if you rent a moped you get to see the whole island but Chankanaab Reef Park was the best for snorkelling. Cancun beaches are unfriendly, waves too high, and stoney. Cozumel much better for beach vacation. Shopping lot of fun and prices more reasonable than Cancun. Hotel breakfast was more European style with simple fare - no bacon and eggs - but bakery next door so everything tasted great. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good attitude welcoming the tourist. It was my favorite place and I will return but not to Cancun again. Might as well go to Miami beach as go there. Cozumel had the real Mexican flavor and restaurant prices very reasonable. Just be sure you get the right exchange rate when converting pesos into dollars. Best to change dollars in Mexico. If you use credit cards banks charge extra fees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A good variety of restaurants and shopping and fantastic snorkelling at Chankanaab Reef Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Olympia, Washington
Mar 13, 2011

Great for the price!

Was our first time in this hotel, it at first seemed a bit worn around the edges; however, the rooms were good, clean, the A/C worked, had hot water, and the breakfast was good. Breakfast was served on the roof by the pool, a great way to start the day. No in room safe, no bathtub, shower only. Nice and close to the square, and one block from our dive shop. Would stay there again for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The Wifi was weak to nonexistent as we were in the last room at the end of the hall. The wifi access point is at the Hall junction so try to get a room close to there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M Coz
Business
Colorado
Feb 28, 2014

Great value

Great location if you want to be in town. The rooftop pool is a nice bonus. Older hotel and breakfast was okay but would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashbone1
Business
Salmon Arm BC
Mar 29, 2014

Great location in town

Nice hotel, centrally located in the town but with sea and city views over rooftops, nice clean rooms although the beds are extremely hard, we bought a couple of foamies from the Mega which made a big difference and was worth doing but that really was our only issue with the hotel, a balcony for drying dive gear would have been nice but not a big deal. There is a pool and roof terrace which was a bonus and we spent a morning up there when we had some time to spare, also great spot to have a beer and watch the cruise ships before heading out in to the town for dinner, tip.. eat local, Machete was a great local restaurant where the food was good and inexpensive. Breakfast is also included at the hotel, pleasantly surprised with fresh baked bread rolls, yoghurt, and various cooked items, small informal area to eat then it's off to the beach. We really liked the hotel and the staff were always helpful and friendly, tipped the maid each day so when we wanted towels or more water nothing was too much trouble, top marks. On the whole we will be going back to this hotel, it was quiet yet right in the middle of everything, also if you hire a car there is a car park right opposite, a little haggling and you can get 24hrs parking for $10.00 US so for us $100.00 to park the car for the entire holiday was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Machete, 5 minutes away, La Choza slightly more expensive but great food, Del Sur steak house really good, again just up the road past La Choza, plus many more, just look of the tourist areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gringo 55
Business
Ohio, USA
Jan 18, 2012

pool and breakfast

very nice roof top breakfast and pool with a view. staff and location are great. would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

otates

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gerome
Business
Canada
Feb 12, 2012

Handy Location.

1/2 block from ferry to Playa del Carmen. 1 block from town square. 70 pesos cab ride to the airport. Museum & Municipal Market within 1/2 mile each direction. I found the food court @ the market to be a good value. At 1 booth there must have been about 20 different kinds of taco fillings, about 10p/taco. (Make sure you had your shots!) You can buy a beer in the store down the street & drink it there...& try the Yucatan Pork chops for 55 pesos. ($5) I love the orange marinade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The in hotel breakfast remains a good value & I found Tecate tasted the most like Canadian beer & it was a good value. The hotel is good for people who don't wanna be trapped on an all inclusive resort & would like to actually visit San Miguel, Cozumel. (Not many frills!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top