$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

Hotel Cozumel and Resort

3 stars
View map of Costera Sur KM 1.7, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
252 reviews
Great place to stay, especially for divers.

We've stayed here a few times and you cannot beat the value, especially for scuba diving. The staff... See full review

  • BUBLZ
  • Apr 6, 2015
Great time at this Tried-and-True Resort

My wife and I have come to Cozumel 30+ times over the last 20 years, and this is the place we stay... See full review

  • TDub
  • Mar 2, 2015
The heart of the colorful Hotel Cozumel and Resort is the swimming pool, which is the largest in Cozumel. However, the private pier from which guests dive right into the ocean is a highlight, too. All diving needs and wants are fully met on site via a PADI full-service center, Dive Paradise, which has been operating in Cozumel continuously since 1984. Families dive together or kids can hang back at the hotel's designated program.
Dining
The only guidelines for meals at the Hotel Cozumel and Resort are that guests wear shoes and dry clothes. Los Girasoles has an airy open seating area facing the ocean. Los Pericos Grill is poolside, serving snacks and beverages between 11 a.m. and 5 p.m.
Rooms
The 181 rooms in this coral-covered seaside majesty were remodeled in 2009; 10 of which are fully accessible. Accessible bathrooms feature a wheel-in shower with an adjustable orthopedic bench, shower, toilet security bars and accessible washbasin. The Hotel Cozumel and Resort also is equipped with ramps. Suites host up to four guests and have marble finished bathrooms with bathtubs, a dining area and a fully-equipped kitchen. Garden or pool view rooms boast private balconies.

 

Highlights
  • Dive Paradise includes a private pier and full-service PADI center
  • Largest swimming pool in Cozumel
  • Three on-site restaurants and lounge
  • Kid's program with supervised activities

 

Nearby attractions
  • Cozumel Photo Tour (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Isla de Pasion (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Alex Scuba (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

 

Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel, including poolside
  • Business center has two PC workstations
  • Meeting rooms available
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2.9 mi/4.5 km)
Recreation
Divers visiting the hotel may use the on-site rinse tanks, hangers for draining diving gear, fresh water showers and the 150 lockers to keep all diving gear safe. The large swimming pool is used by the ChanKaanab underwater park's Dolphinarium as a hurricane shelter for its dolphins during tropical hurricane season.
Policies
Fee to connect to Internet via hotel computers. Guide dogs and pets up to 15 pounds are welcome. Room service available from 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 p.m. for an additional fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Cozumel and Resort also booked these hotels.

★★★
$164
4.0 / 5 403 reviews
★★★
$72
4.4 / 5 181 reviews
★★
$42
3.9 / 5 48 reviews
★★★
$170
3.9 / 5 171 reviews
★★★
$108
4.0 / 5 70 reviews
★★
$64
3.2 / 5 21 reviews
★★★
$86
3.9 / 5 87 reviews
★★★
$165
4.4 / 5 96 reviews

Hotel Cozumel and Resort Rooms

Garden View or Pool View with Private Balcony, 322 Sq.Ft
Newly remodeled air conditioned rooms overlooking the largest swimming pool in Cozumel. All are decorated in a contemporary style and bright Mexican fabrics. These rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, and touch tone telephone, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries. Non-smoking and adjoining rooms are available.
Ocean View with Private Balcony, 355 Sq.Ft
Beautifully remodeled air conditioned rooms overlooking the dazzling crystal clear Caribbean Sea. All are decorated in a contemporary style and bright Mexican fabrics. These rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, and touch tone telephone, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries. Non-smoking and adjoining rooms are available.
Handdicaped Room
Wheel in shower, adjustable orthopedic bench, security bars in the shower and toilet, washbasin wheel chair accessible, low beds, easy access to balcony. The hotel is equipped with ramps for ease of access to any building. Guide dogs are welcome. All rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including two double beds, Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, touch tone telephones, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

LOS PERICOS RESTAURANT
It serves snacks and beverages in a relaxing atmosphere by the largest pool of Cozumel. Hours service: 11:00 am – 5:00 pm.
LOS ARCOS RESTAURANT
It is the main restaurant located by the front desk, serving the perfect morning start buffet breakfast and dinner. Breakfast from 6:30 am – 10:30 am Dinner from 6:30 pm – 10:00 pm
LOBBY BAR
Offers a wide variety or domestic liquors and beer. A perfect place to watch a favorite sport or to play some of our table games. Open from 2:00 pm – 2:00 am
LOS GIRASOLES RESTAURANT
Enjoy an extraordinary ocean view during the lunch; this restaurant is open from 12:00 pm -4:00 pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Convention Center with capacity for 500 people, TV, VCR, projector and podium.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
252 out of 252
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dardo
Single
Argentina
Feb 11, 2014

Horrible

The worst experience I ever had. The room only had the bed and a bathroom in bad conditions. Nothing to make a coffe, and no refrigerator. For that price I am sure you can find a better hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
toothmaker
Couples
ohio
Mar 3, 2014

not what i thought

first of all double check you booked all inclusive.the description says an all inclusive hotel, but i got there and was told i did not book that plan. My bathtub/shower had porcelain broke around drain which clogged the drain. It took 45 minutes to drain. one day no hot water,in fact no water. when it came out it was brown. tiles floors not washed once in the week i was there. The week i was there 4 other couples had the 'all inclusive'' issue. i sent alot of money for a bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New York, NY
Jan 6, 2011

Many may be very disappointed

A bit of background: this review comes from a very non-picky, very laid-back, somewhat overeducated middle-class individual, usually able to have a good time in almost any situation. I can't say I hated my stay at the Hotel Cozumel and Resort. I managed to enjoy a portion of it. There were some serious problems however. First some good things: the hotel room had a great air conditioner. Plenty to watch on TV at night before going to bed. There were some channels from Miami, CNN, and quite a few Mexican stations that seemed to show mostly American programming in English with Spanish subtitles. I shared a room with a friend who had serious issues with the hardness of the beds. I could sleep ok but agree they were overly firm. My poor friend however was pretty consistently uncomfortable due to the hardness of the mattress. The food was sub par. Recommendation: Find out the names of the local hole-in-the-wall restaurants and take a taxi there to eat at least dinner. We started doing that on the last three days of our stay and realized we could have had a 100% better experience by just having better food. Breakfast was fine. There was a lady who made eggs to order. There was cereal, fruit, and a few other items to choose from that made breakfast enjoyable. One gentleman who must have been the host was very kind to us, and made us feel very welcome. They had an outdoor food area where we usually had fajitas, chicken or beef with nachos. There was a kind of buffet you could have in that same outdoor food area, but it was never appealing: little squares of cold pizza, what looked like chicken nuggets, and always a plate or two of some lunch meats that looked off colored and not fresh. The food there always felt like football stadium fare, complete with a machine that you held your nachos under that dispensed a rather suspicious tasting cheese sauce. The strawberry margarita I ordered was not drinkable, AND I AM NOT PICKY!!! I gave it to a family member who drank it but also felt it had a chemical taste to it. One should be able to get a great margarita in Mexico, one would think! The strawberry mix came out of a very scary plastic milk jug container that looked like it had been around a long time. I stuck to bottled beer from then on and had no problems. The restaurant had an evening buffet that SOMETIMES had some tasty items. One fish dish was nice and I had seconds and thirds. One night, however, all the meat was cooked to order by another woman where the eggs-to-order lady was in the mornings, but when I went back for thirds (because what she would give you on your plate was a somewhat small piece) she seemed over me. I didn't like feeling like I was unwelcome to have as much as I wanted, but tried to appease myself with some of the other low-grade options such as the pasta with what looked like sliced hotdog in it... Truthfully, the food was, with the exception of breakfast, a 2-4 out of 10. One of our days we booked a glass-bottom boat ride for 11 AM. Around 11:20, the man approached us while we were waiting for the boat to tell us that the people currently on board had booked more time and that we'd be picked up at 12:30. Around then, they announced we needed to be driven to another area to catch the boat because apparently the boat captain couldn't come to get us at the hotel's dock after all. We learned that the optimal glass-bottom boat trip is for those who want to get out and snorkel. My parents wanted a viewing experience only, so we wound up plucking several people out of the ocean who had been dropped off and taking them to the next site where we stayed in the boat and watched a virtually non-existant reef. Our captain did decide to take us on an errand in a little port strewn with trash and bottles on the sea floor to do a beer and ice run before returning to get the 5 people snorkeling that had been dropped off earlier. We were beginning to wonder if we'd be prisoners all aftern...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the locals' restaurants. Too many tourist restaurants where food is overpriced and lower quality

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
West Richland
Dec 31, 2008

My review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

We stayed at Hotel COZ for 9 days over X-Mas. The hotel is a bit beaten down and I have stayed at some real doozies over the years when I was young and back packing around so I'm not high maintenance. The pool was nice and that is about it. The whole 9 days we were there we were never asked if we wanted a drink or to order something....don't waste your $$$ on the all-inclusive....it looked worse than our school food....I'm a teacher. Go into town and eat. The ice-machine was broken so no cold beer, and the front desk girl..non't remember her name. Was rude and acted put out everytime I asked her something, even when we were changing money with them, and they were making a pretty good commission. I had to calm my husband down a few times because he was about to lose his temper. The waiters and cook in the restaurant were super nice, but that is it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cansmom
Family
salt lake
Jun 8, 2009

Horrible Horrible Smelly Place!!!

The hotel was dirty and old! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone! The staff was not willing to work with me and neither was ORBITZ!!!!! When I called Ortibz from Cozumel to explain the problem the gentleman I spoke to said " Its unfortunate but you are out of luck" on changing hotels! The photos of this hotel is deceiving!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SAT and SHD
Couples
Portland, OR, USA
Nov 6, 2011

At least we were in Cozumel.....

Stay dates: 10/30/2011 thru 11/05/2011 Overall the hotel just misses on almost everything. With a little effort on their part, it could be so much more. Upon arrival we had reservations for a pool view room and instead we got the parking lot view. Granted there was a slight ocean view but you were looking through the palm trees. The room appeared clean upon first look but the floors were dirty and the the drawers were musty smelling. The bed was as hard as concrete and the pillows were just as hard and resembled basketballs. I've never slept so bad in a hotel before. The next morning we asked about different pillows and were told that was all they had. Thank goodness for the store in town 'cause I went and bought my own! Another item of discontent was that for 4 of the 7 days we stayed, there was no hot water for showers. The resort is an all inclusive so the food and well drinks are included. The food was buffet style for each meal and was pretty good. The hotel was pretty empty when we first got there and at that time the drinks were good. But as the week went on they became more and more watered down. The pool is beautiful and clean. However it does need maintenance. Stains on the edges, missing some tiles, etc. The hot tub never worked the entire time. We arrived on Sunday and was told it would be running by Tuesday. Didn't happen! The staff was okay... some were very very helpful and others not so much. Several times we ordered drinks and no one ever came back with the drink. The location is in zone three and is fairly close to town. You can walk, should you choose to but its only a $6.00usd taxi ride to the passenger ferry area where the main square is and shopping. We are not divers but Dive Paradise is onsite and across the street. It's our understanding that this is a very well know establishment and a lot of divers stay at the hotel because of it. The hotel is not ocean front but does have an underground tunnel that goes below the street to the beach club side. The bar service is sporadic. Most of the time you have to go to the bar for service. We can't wait to go back to Cozumel but we won't be staying at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Colorado Diver
Family
Denver, CO, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Not Bad.. but.....

This is definitely a get what you pay for hotel. It is relatively clean and the staff is all wonderful. The beds are really hard and the food is awful... and I am not a picky eater. The location is close enough to walk to town and has a great in house dive operator.. Dive Paradise. My advice is to stay at a nicer all inclusive if that is your thing or better yet stay at one of the smaller places like Casa Mexicana or Blue Angel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Minnesota Diver
Couples
Minnesota
Feb 1, 2012

An Okay Hotel

The food service in the main restuarant was great. The food service at the poolside bar was bad. The food service in the beach restarant was the worst I have ever seen, until I went to the bar in the beach restaurant....holy cow these people were so unhappy it was crazy. Now I gave the hotel average rating because of the main restaurant, but mainly the poolside bar. They had the best staff I have ever had in Mexico. Friendly, wanted to help, did not make fun of my bad Spanish...but tried to help and teach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you use Dive Paradise for your diving request Emilio - best DM we have ever had.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EGMOM
Family
CT
Apr 24, 2012

average

We were taken off guard as I thought I had signed up for an All-Inclusive (all meals,drinks) upon arrival they said we only got breakfast and had to pay for everything else. This was a shock. Also, we needed some help getting from the airport and then back again and felt that we we being pushed and also forced into how much we paid. $28. to hotel and only $14. back, plus no assistance from the front desk. This initially put a bad taste in our mouth and we asked them if they had a number for the booking company since they had your paperwork, but they said, NO they did not have your contact information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel food is same thing each day presented in different ways. Trying area restaurants might help with variety

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Iowa Fans
Couples
Des Moines/Cedar Rapids Iowa
Apr 4, 2013

super 8 feel

I was not impressed with the value for our money. We opted not to go with the all inclusive since we rented scooters and toured the island daily, but when we would come back to our resort and wanted a beer they were $3 each. The rooms were ok, but had to walk a mile to get to our room. We did appreciate the water coolers in the hallway with cold water since there were no fridges in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Java Cafe had wonderful food and service. We got some basic groceries at the local grocery store daily and packed a cooler for the beach. Rent scooters and explore the island, felt very safe and the beaches were wonderful. The town lives for the cruise ships, the town rests on Sundays when there are no ships in town.

Back to menu Return to top