$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

Hotel Cozumel and Resort

3 stars
Costera Sur KM 1.7, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
260 reviews
Summer vacation

Such a great place! Awesome location, great staff, clean, and very fun. See full review

  • Siffland
  • Jul 17, 2014
Great place to stay

my 5th stay here lets start with the staff , most of the staff has been there for 10 years as i go... See full review

  • mike1966
  • Feb 17, 2014
Cozumel's largest swimming pool and private pier at luxurious resort
The heart of the colorful Hotel Cozumel and Resort is the swimming pool, which is the largest in Cozumel. However, the private pier from which guests dive right into the ocean is a highlight, too. All diving needs and wants are fully met on site via a PADI full-service center, Dive Paradise, which has been operating in Cozumel continuously since 1984. Families dive together or kids can hang back at the hotel's designated program.
Highlights
  • Dive Paradise includes a private pier and full-service PADI center
  • Largest swimming pool in Cozumel
  • Three on-site restaurants and lounge
  • Kid's program with supervised activities

 

Rooms
The 181 rooms in this coral-covered seaside majesty were remodeled in 2009; 10 of which are fully accessible. Accessible bathrooms feature a wheel-in shower with an adjustable orthopedic bench, shower, toilet security bars and accessible washbasin. The Hotel Cozumel and Resort also is equipped with ramps. Suites host up to four guests and have marble finished bathrooms with bathtubs, a dining area and a fully-equipped kitchen. Garden or pool view rooms boast private balconies.

 

Dining
The only guidelines for meals at the Hotel Cozumel and Resort are that guests wear shoes and dry clothes. Los Girasoles has an airy open seating area facing the ocean. Los Pericos Grill is poolside, serving snacks and beverages between 11 a.m. and 5 p.m.
Recreation
Divers visiting the hotel may use the on-site rinse tanks, hangers for draining diving gear, fresh water showers and the 150 lockers to keep all diving gear safe. The large swimming pool is used by the ChanKaanab underwater park's Dolphinarium as a hurricane shelter for its dolphins during tropical hurricane season.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2.9 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • Cozumel Photo Tour (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Isla de Pasion (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Alex Scuba (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

 

Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel, including poolside
  • Business center has two PC workstations
  • Meeting rooms available
Policies and fees
Fee to connect to Internet via hotel computers. Guide dogs and pets up to 15 pounds are welcome. Room service available from 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 p.m. for an additional fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.4991 -86.96
Area served
Cozumel, Quinta Roo. Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel International Airport
Area description
Surrounded by pristine white beaches and the beautiful turquoise-blue water of the Mexican Caribbean, Reefs cape COZUMEL provides the ideal combination of fun and relaxation. A unique doorway to a mystical relationship with Cozumel's ancient Mayan past and modern-day adventure and hospitality.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Cozumel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Cozumel and Resort Rooms

Garden View or Pool View with Private Balcony, 322 Sq.Ft
Newly remodeled air conditioned rooms overlooking the largest swimming pool in Cozumel. All are decorated in a contemporary style and bright Mexican fabrics. These rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, and touch tone telephone, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries. Non-smoking and adjoining rooms are available.
Ocean View with Private Balcony, 355 Sq.Ft
Beautifully remodeled air conditioned rooms overlooking the dazzling crystal clear Caribbean Sea. All are decorated in a contemporary style and bright Mexican fabrics. These rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, and touch tone telephone, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries. Non-smoking and adjoining rooms are available.
Handdicaped Room
Wheel in shower, adjustable orthopedic bench, security bars in the shower and toilet, washbasin wheel chair accessible, low beds, easy access to balcony. The hotel is equipped with ramps for ease of access to any building. Guide dogs are welcome. All rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including two double beds, Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, touch tone telephones, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

LOS PERICOS RESTAURANT
It serves snacks and beverages in a relaxing atmosphere by the largest pool of Cozumel. Hours service: 11:00 am – 5:00 pm.
LOS ARCOS RESTAURANT
It is the main restaurant located by the front desk, serving the perfect morning start buffet breakfast and dinner. Breakfast from 6:30 am – 10:30 am Dinner from 6:30 pm – 10:00 pm
LOBBY BAR
Offers a wide variety or domestic liquors and beer. A perfect place to watch a favorite sport or to play some of our table games. Open from 2:00 pm – 2:00 am
LOS GIRASOLES RESTAURANT
Enjoy an extraordinary ocean view during the lunch; this restaurant is open from 12:00 pm -4:00 pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Convention Center with capacity for 500 people, TV, VCR, projector and podium.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (260)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
260 out of 260
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
diverdj9
Plainfield IN
Jul 29, 2009

Very Nice, Very Clean

We stayed here because it was close to town and diving. We got a great all-inclusive rate; I was a little worried that it might be too good to be true. I was pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean and pretty. We had plenty of space. The hotel was very slow as all of Cozumel appeared to be. They had plenty of staff to supply the needs of the guests. The food was "all-inclusive food." It does get a bit repetitive, but the taste and quality were good. I was fine eating there 3 meals a day. There was a different meat at the carving station each night, and they also had a pasta bar. If you like gormet meals, you might want to do the European plan. I liked the food we only ate somewhere else twice. The drinks were good too. The margaritas were stronger than expected. We had to ask for a little less liquor. That was a surprise....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

1. There are bikes for guest use which are free. They supply a lock. We went downtown with the bikes to avoid taxis. They are available until about 5:00. 2. There are various bar and grills along the beach going south. YOu can have a drink and snorkel for free. We snorkeled at our hotel, but liked the variety of stopping for a drink then a snorkel. Inexpensive and lots of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Tahoe California
Apr 26, 2009

Great Value & Location

Hotel Cozumel is very clean and the employees are very hard working and try to do their best for you in a very friendly way. The housekeeping was very organized and keep the rooms spotless. Even though it is older hotel, they are constantly cleaning, painting and upgrading the facilities. The all inculsive price includes gratuities and all fees... however, a $1.00 tip goes a long ways that helps separate you from the crowd and gets you fabulous service. This is our third time staying there and we will return again and stay there for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery stores (Chedraui and Mega) are a short walk away and downtown is a short cab ride away ($5.00). The International piers for shopping are not too far to walk to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maine
May 17, 2010

A great buy for the $

This was our third yearly trip. Improvements have been made to the facilities each year. If you like a quiet beach and great snorkeling right off shore, you will like this hotel. The food was terrific with special omelets, fish tacos, and fresh pasta made to order at most meals. A good combo of traditional Mexican and gringo food. Fruit was fantastic (ate it at every meal), plantains in maple syrup was a personal breakfast favorite, and wait staff couldn't have been more gracious and forthcoming. The rooms show a few signs of wear (chipped tile, faulty drain on the tub) but they were kept squeeky clean. Mopped every day and you could eat off the floor. We got some great deals on the Dolphin Discovery package (they have added a hands on manatee experience with the dolphin encounter...(just fabulous)and snorkeling trips (see Columbia reef!). Chankanaab park snorkeling was fabulous too. Sign up for the 10 AM encounter if you go as you might miss the cruise ship crowd. Our family did the dolphin experience with just the three of us. Amazing. All in all, we felt that we were pampered and think we got a great deal for the price obtained from [...] Save your money and enjoy the Hotel Cozumel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the festival at the downtown square on Sunday night. Live music, dancing, lots of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
84turboz
Georgia
Nov 8, 2009

Great dive vacation!

Booked for a dive vacation. Bar staff brought me a drink as I was checking in at desk! Staff was excellent. They seemed happy to serve & went out of their way to do so. Rooms were clean & comfortable. Had the all inclusive option. Always some type of made to order station or carving station at each meal along with the regular buffet items. Dive lockers by pier free of charge along with rinse stations. Places to hang items to dry on balconies. Great pool. Location is excellent also. Dive op on site or have your dive op pick you up at their pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice easy walk to grocery store maybe 10 minutes or to cruise ship pier shops 15 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seawolf 5
Columbus GA
Nov 24, 2013

Trip # 13

As described, this was my 13th trip to Coz staying @ the HCR, and it was as good as always. The hotel stay was great, the dives were even better. Already planning trip # 14!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best Fish Tacos at La Hach! Best chicken tacos at both El Pique and Taqueria Diaz!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mike1966
omaha ne
Feb 17, 2014

Great place to stay

my 5th stay here lets start with the staff , most of the staff has been there for 10 years as i go every other year and the faces are the same , friendly and all ways helpful !! never had a dirty room. i get food and drink all inclusive nuff said . down town shops are a ez 10 min walk no cabs needed. dive shop across the street , dive paradise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1. don't get a cab walk to main street in front of hotel take a right and walk for 10 mins you are at the main shopping area. 2. most shops you can haggle the prices and save some money . 3. most shops have the same stuff so take notes and come back to the best deals on a later date so address / store name and item / price and come back to best deals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, Indiana
Jan 14, 2011

Best Place to stay on Cozumel

We've been to Cozumel for 5 vacations. We keep coming back to Cozumel Resort. It is ideally located, close to town, but far enough for quiet. It has beachfront, a tunnel under the road for ease of access for divers, a HUGE pool, hot tub, wireless in the rooms, great staff, and the best breakfast in town. (according to hubby) This is the PLACE for a great vacation. Handicapped and family friendly, too. We hated to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out La Choza restuarant while you are in town. They have great food. If you have a car, drive down to Bonita beach and eat at Playa Bonita. They have great seafood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seawolf5
Columbus, GA, USA
Nov 25, 2011

COZ Mission #9

My ninth trip to COZ, my eighth staying at the HCR, and it is what it is, there's no better place to stay. Close to town, nice rooms, food services, hotel activities, the whole package is great, that's why I stay there all the time, oh, the diving is super, too! Trying to coach (heavily) my scuba shop whereas instead of those other guys "up the road" we'll stay at the HCR from now on. Already planning my next mission, diver away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

2 to 5 minutes walking to the CHEDRAUI and MEGA marts for your shopping needs, and they have everything! Another 5 minutes and you are in town, so you can save money on taxis and get some exercise at the same time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seawolf5
Columbus, GA, USA
Jan 13, 2013

Cozumel Mission # 10

My 10th trip staying at the HCR. Would not go anywhere else. The service overall was exceptional, and the diving w/ the on-site dive operator was great, too. Already planning #11, can't wait!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

From HCR, pretty much everything that you would want/ need is w/ in walking distance, very convenient and highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dickie Todd
Dallas, TX, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Great diving and great hotel staff

Excellent in every aspect. Friendly staff that caters to your every aspect of your stay. Great location near enough to town to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to town for great restaurants and ahopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search