$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Hotel Cozumel and Resort

3 stars
Costera Sur KM 1.7, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
260 reviews
Summer vacation

Such a great place! Awesome location, great staff, clean, and very fun. See full review

  • Siffland
  • Jul 17, 2014
Great place to stay

my 5th stay here lets start with the staff , most of the staff has been there for 10 years as i go... See full review

  • mike1966
  • Feb 17, 2014
Cozumel's largest swimming pool and private pier at luxurious resort
The heart of the colorful Hotel Cozumel and Resort is the swimming pool, which is the largest in Cozumel. However, the private pier from which guests dive right into the ocean is a highlight, too. All diving needs and wants are fully met on site via a PADI full-service center, Dive Paradise, which has been operating in Cozumel continuously since 1984. Families dive together or kids can hang back at the hotel's designated program.
Highlights
  • Dive Paradise includes a private pier and full-service PADI center
  • Largest swimming pool in Cozumel
  • Three on-site restaurants and lounge
  • Kid's program with supervised activities

 

Rooms
The 181 rooms in this coral-covered seaside majesty were remodeled in 2009; 10 of which are fully accessible. Accessible bathrooms feature a wheel-in shower with an adjustable orthopedic bench, shower, toilet security bars and accessible washbasin. The Hotel Cozumel and Resort also is equipped with ramps. Suites host up to four guests and have marble finished bathrooms with bathtubs, a dining area and a fully-equipped kitchen. Garden or pool view rooms boast private balconies.

 

Dining
The only guidelines for meals at the Hotel Cozumel and Resort are that guests wear shoes and dry clothes. Los Girasoles has an airy open seating area facing the ocean. Los Pericos Grill is poolside, serving snacks and beverages between 11 a.m. and 5 p.m.
Recreation
Divers visiting the hotel may use the on-site rinse tanks, hangers for draining diving gear, fresh water showers and the 150 lockers to keep all diving gear safe. The large swimming pool is used by the ChanKaanab underwater park's Dolphinarium as a hurricane shelter for its dolphins during tropical hurricane season.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2.9 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • Cozumel Photo Tour (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Isla de Pasion (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Alex Scuba (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

 

Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel, including poolside
  • Business center has two PC workstations
  • Meeting rooms available
Policies and fees
Fee to connect to Internet via hotel computers. Guide dogs and pets up to 15 pounds are welcome. Room service available from 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 p.m. for an additional fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.4991 -86.96
Area served
Cozumel, Quinta Roo. Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel International Airport
Area description
Surrounded by pristine white beaches and the beautiful turquoise-blue water of the Mexican Caribbean, Reefs cape COZUMEL provides the ideal combination of fun and relaxation. A unique doorway to a mystical relationship with Cozumel's ancient Mayan past and modern-day adventure and hospitality.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Cozumel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Cozumel and Resort Rooms

Garden View or Pool View with Private Balcony, 322 Sq.Ft
Newly remodeled air conditioned rooms overlooking the largest swimming pool in Cozumel. All are decorated in a contemporary style and bright Mexican fabrics. These rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, and touch tone telephone, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries. Non-smoking and adjoining rooms are available.
Ocean View with Private Balcony, 355 Sq.Ft
Beautifully remodeled air conditioned rooms overlooking the dazzling crystal clear Caribbean Sea. All are decorated in a contemporary style and bright Mexican fabrics. These rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, and touch tone telephone, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries. Non-smoking and adjoining rooms are available.
Handdicaped Room
Wheel in shower, adjustable orthopedic bench, security bars in the shower and toilet, washbasin wheel chair accessible, low beds, easy access to balcony. The hotel is equipped with ramps for ease of access to any building. Guide dogs are welcome. All rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including two double beds, Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, touch tone telephones, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Convention Center with capacity for 500 people, TV, VCR, projector and podium.

Dining

LOS PERICOS RESTAURANT
It serves snacks and beverages in a relaxing atmosphere by the largest pool of Cozumel. Hours service: 11:00 am – 5:00 pm.
LOS ARCOS RESTAURANT
It is the main restaurant located by the front desk, serving the perfect morning start buffet breakfast and dinner. Breakfast from 6:30 am – 10:30 am Dinner from 6:30 pm – 10:00 pm
LOBBY BAR
Offers a wide variety or domestic liquors and beer. A perfect place to watch a favorite sport or to play some of our table games. Open from 2:00 pm – 2:00 am
LOS GIRASOLES RESTAURANT
Enjoy an extraordinary ocean view during the lunch; this restaurant is open from 12:00 pm -4:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (260)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
260 out of 260
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PilotTraveler
Charlotte NC
Dec 30, 2013

Bad Christmas stay

Room had a noisy remote air conditioner. Maid had taken blankets so we only had a sheet on the bed and woke up cold and had to go to front desk to get one at 4 am and staff was asleep. Shower had almost NO pressure and the sink backed up and water leaked all over the counter from each faucet! Food was very average. Fitness center was below average. Stay somewhere else!!!! We stayed here awaiting our stay at Park Royal Resort which is AWESOME!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dardo
Argentina
Feb 11, 2014

Horrible

The worst experience I ever had. The room only had the bed and a bathroom in bad conditions. Nothing to make a coffe, and no refrigerator. For that price I am sure you can find a better hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
toothmaker
ohio
Mar 3, 2014

not what i thought

first of all double check you booked all inclusive.the description says an all inclusive hotel, but i got there and was told i did not book that plan. My bathtub/shower had porcelain broke around drain which clogged the drain. It took 45 minutes to drain. one day no hot water,in fact no water. when it came out it was brown. tiles floors not washed once in the week i was there. The week i was there 4 other couples had the 'all inclusive'' issue. i sent alot of money for a bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
grants pass oregon
Mar 12, 2011

dont go to hotel cozumel!!!

they over booked and we had no place to sleep for the first two nights there. no towels. the ac. was broken for two nights...and the food and drinks were terrable. the motel could be good but it is run down and most of the people that work there are un friendly and un helpful to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jan 6, 2011

Many may be very disappointed

A bit of background: this review comes from a very non-picky, very laid-back, somewhat overeducated middle-class individual, usually able to have a good time in almost any situation. I can't say I hated my stay at the Hotel Cozumel and Resort. I managed to enjoy a portion of it. There were some serious problems however. First some good things: the hotel room had a great air conditioner. Plenty to watch on TV at night before going to bed. There were some channels from Miami, CNN, and quite a few Mexican stations that seemed to show mostly American programming in English with Spanish subtitles. I shared a room with a friend who had serious issues with the hardness of the beds. I could sleep ok but agree they were overly firm. My poor friend however was pretty consistently uncomfortable due to the hardness of the mattress. The food was sub par. Recommendation: Find out the names of the local hole-in-the-wall restaurants and take a taxi there to eat at least dinner. We started doing that on the last three days of our stay and realized we could have had a 100% better experience by just having better food. Breakfast was fine. There was a lady who made eggs to order. There was cereal, fruit, and a few other items to choose from that made breakfast enjoyable. One gentleman who must have been the host was very kind to us, and made us feel very welcome. They had an outdoor food area where we usually had fajitas, chicken or beef with nachos. There was a kind of buffet you could have in that same outdoor food area, but it was never appealing: little squares of cold pizza, what looked like chicken nuggets, and always a plate or two of some lunch meats that looked off colored and not fresh. The food there always felt like football stadium fare, complete with a machine that you held your nachos under that dispensed a rather suspicious tasting cheese sauce. The strawberry margarita I ordered was not drinkable, AND I AM NOT PICKY!!! I gave it to a family member who drank it but also felt it had a chemical taste to it. One should be able to get a great margarita in Mexico, one would think! The strawberry mix came out of a very scary plastic milk jug container that looked like it had been around a long time. I stuck to bottled beer from then on and had no problems. The restaurant had an evening buffet that SOMETIMES had some tasty items. One fish dish was nice and I had seconds and thirds. One night, however, all the meat was cooked to order by another woman where the eggs-to-order lady was in the mornings, but when I went back for thirds (because what she would give you on your plate was a somewhat small piece) she seemed over me. I didn't like feeling like I was unwelcome to have as much as I wanted, but tried to appease myself with some of the other low-grade options such as the pasta with what looked like sliced hotdog in it... Truthfully, the food was, with the exception of breakfast, a 2-4 out of 10. One of our days we booked a glass-bottom boat ride for 11 AM. Around 11:20, the man approached us while we were waiting for the boat to tell us that the people currently on board had booked more time and that we'd be picked up at 12:30. Around then, they announced we needed to be driven to another area to catch the boat because apparently the boat captain couldn't come to get us at the hotel's dock after all. We learned that the optimal glass-bottom boat trip is for those who want to get out and snorkel. My parents wanted a viewing experience only, so we wound up plucking several people out of the ocean who had been dropped off and taking them to the next site where we stayed in the boat and watched a virtually non-existant reef. Our captain did decide to take us on an errand in a little port strewn with trash and bottles on the sea floor to do a beer and ice run before returning to get the 5 people snorkeling that had been dropped off earlier. We were beginning to wonder if we'd be prisoners all aftern...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the locals' restaurants. Too many tourist restaurants where food is overpriced and lower quality

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Richland
Dec 31, 2008

My review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

We stayed at Hotel COZ for 9 days over X-Mas. The hotel is a bit beaten down and I have stayed at some real doozies over the years when I was young and back packing around so I'm not high maintenance. The pool was nice and that is about it. The whole 9 days we were there we were never asked if we wanted a drink or to order something....don't waste your $$$ on the all-inclusive....it looked worse than our school food....I'm a teacher. Go into town and eat. The ice-machine was broken so no cold beer, and the front desk girl..non't remember her name. Was rude and acted put out everytime I asked her something, even when we were changing money with them, and they were making a pretty good commission. I had to calm my husband down a few times because he was about to lose his temper. The waiters and cook in the restaurant were super nice, but that is it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cansmom
salt lake
Jun 8, 2009

Horrible Horrible Smelly Place!!!

The hotel was dirty and old! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone! The staff was not willing to work with me and neither was ORBITZ!!!!! When I called Ortibz from Cozumel to explain the problem the gentleman I spoke to said " Its unfortunate but you are out of luck" on changing hotels! The photos of this hotel is deceiving!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fefe
Norfolk, VA
Jan 18, 2014

Average

Just an average hotel. Nothing special. Room needs updating. Dinner was cold and below average, Pool was good. Staff was nice and polite. Near, and walking distance to center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

avoid eating at the hotel. Go to Pescaderia san carlos restaurant for the best fish dinner in the world.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ray Sarreal
San Bernardino,Ca.
Jun 23, 2010

Hotel Cozumel needs updating

we only stayed at this hotel for one night,this place was so grossed, that we booked the rest of our vacation at Fiesta Americana. Fiesta americana that's what a resort should be,clean,friendly staff,smells good,clean pools, and they really cater to their customers.I think that the management of Hotel Cozumel should look into this issues,if they want to satisfy their customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RM travels
Danville, Ca
Jul 17, 2010

Good location

It seems that the hotel was given a fresh coat of paint on the outside and inside. the rooms were outdate the tubs in the bathrooms were painted over and paint was pilling off. Room had some small black bugs after complaint they sent a notice that for the next three to four days they were going to be spraying the room. Restaurant; breakfast was good, dinner was not, also restaurant roof had a significant roof leak when it rain over some tables, accumulating a good amount of water on the floor. Hotel beach area not very good. Hotel over all costumer service was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search