$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Hotel Cozumel and Resort

3 stars
View map of Costera Sur KM 1.7, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
249 out of 249
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denver Neal
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Great place with great service and great location

As usual this property has VERY friendly staff, from the front desk, Raoul/Hector, fantastic waiters, great bartenders and excellent housekeeping. They all seem to go out of their way to make sure that the guests are happy. Largest pool on the Island, very good buffet every meal. Convenient scuba and snorkel service right across the street. Always taxis right outside the front door. Nightly entertainment. Not sure what you would do to make it a 5 star place, spend a lot of money on things you can't taste our use, I suppose. Absolutely the best value on the Island, especially the AI package. Enjoy, Neal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

For almost any shopping get at least 3 blocks off of the main drag, which is Melgar. Don't be bashful or hesitant, in many places off the main street, there is not much English spoken, but if you are patient they are too. enjoy your browsing. Go to the main Mercado (Market) for an interesting stroll.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pritten
Business
Madison, WI, USA
Jan 22, 2012

Love this little resort

This was our second trip to Cozumel and we stayed here both times. A vacation is what you make it and it you are expecting 4 or 5 star, this place is not for you. Love the location. Super close to town, 10-15 minute walk. We did not experience the discolored water that many have mentioned nor did we find the beds or pillows uncomfortable. As this is a divers hotel, which we are not, we never had to worry about fighting for a lounge chair on the beach or by the pool. The staff is just great!! The bartenders remembered us after just a couple of trips up for drinks and the wait staff at both buffets we always helpful and courteous. The food may get a little boring, but I always found something that I was satisfied with. I really enjoyed the fish tacos at the snack bar. The rooms are always nicely cleaned and they often leave you towel animals and/or flowers. We had an ocean view room and would go down stairs every morning to get a cup of coffee and then go out on our patio to watch the cruise ships come in. If I had any complaint it would be that the free wi-fi was not reliable, but you are vacation, who needs to be on the internet. We will definitely be staying here on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cozumel jim
Business
new york
Jan 10, 2012

good location for divers

average food.great pool .dock on beach for dive boats.Great drying stations for gear.lockers available for gear. 10 minute walk to town. town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Colorado Diver
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Nice Pool, Great Staff

This is the second time my family and I have stayed at the Hotel Cozumel and Resort. It is had to beat the price.. just do not expect any thrills. The breakfast is ok.. however the dinners are pretty bad.. The staff is wonderful and the convenience of the dive shop with lockers just across the road is great.. Careful of the weights in the "workout" room.. They fall over easily!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Colorado Diver
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Not Bad.. but.....

This is definitely a get what you pay for hotel. It is relatively clean and the staff is all wonderful. The beds are really hard and the food is awful... and I am not a picky eater. The location is close enough to walk to town and has a great in house dive operator.. Dive Paradise. My advice is to stay at a nicer all inclusive if that is your thing or better yet stay at one of the smaller places like Casa Mexicana or Blue Angel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C. K.
Business
Fort Myers, FL, USA
Dec 21, 2011

Some good--Some bad

The hotel staff and location are great. They need to improve their food selection. lunch consists of some salads, pasta and what is left over from the night before. the pool snack bar is a better choice for lunch. there idea of evening entertainment is playing bingo, or movie night, no shows, no music. The diving is really great, 200ft. visabilty, really wonderful dive boat crews.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast is good, dine out in the evening

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJCJ
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 18, 2011

comfortable hotel in a great location

the staff were incredibly friendly, caring and professional. It was hard to say goodbye to many of them! All inclusive package was a great deal. Hotel is not really fancy but it is comfortable, clean and in a perfect location. Dive Paradise shop across the street - took my full certification course with them and it was a fantastic experience. Can't wait to go back to Cozumel and will stay at Hotel Cozumel and Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cnorris1
Business
Kansas City, MO, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Good Hotel for divers

Nice hotel in a good location, its a 20 minute walk to town where all the restaurants are. Huge pool and gorgeous patio area. Great staff. Free WIFI. Dive shop on site. The food was good but we only bought the breakfast package and ate in town the rest of the time. Yes the hotel could use a little renovation but we thought it was a good value. The only negative is that we could hear everything going on the the halls and next door despite the obvious thick room walls. Not a big deal since everybody was diving and on the same sleep schedule.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We got the transportation package, for $50. The transport company told us we only bought transport to zone 1 and needed another $14 to go to our hotel. Turns out the taxi cabs have a set rate of $10 US for up to 4 people one way. Don't waste money on the transport package. ---------- Time Share salesman are poised to pounce on you as soon as you exit customs at the airport. --------- Best place to buy Tequila is Chedraui kind of like WalMart about 4 blocks from the hotel. ------------- 99% of the Cuban cigars sold on the island are fakes.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gonzodiver
Business
East Bay, Ca.
Dec 13, 2011

First Stay Hotel Cozumel

Great place for divers. Nice daily buffet and also fresh fajita/taco bar at pool. Cocktail selection was excellent. Dive Paradise across the way has special deals, etc. and nice staff with variety of boats. The staff all the around were friendly and professional. Some fun PG activities at night. Here are THREE things they can improve. Cut the price of Spa treatment in half. At $80hr for massage, no one was buying. Beware the rental scooters, mine had a busted signal light. They should also let diners bring food into the adjacent bar so single travelers can eat while watching sports, etc. on TV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free mountain bikes from 9am to 5pm.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seawolf5
Business
Columbus, GA, USA
Nov 25, 2011

COZ Mission #9

My ninth trip to COZ, my eighth staying at the HCR, and it is what it is, there's no better place to stay. Close to town, nice rooms, food services, hotel activities, the whole package is great, that's why I stay there all the time, oh, the diving is super, too! Trying to coach (heavily) my scuba shop whereas instead of those other guys "up the road" we'll stay at the HCR from now on. Already planning my next mission, diver away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

2 to 5 minutes walking to the CHEDRAUI and MEGA marts for your shopping needs, and they have everything! Another 5 minutes and you are in town, so you can save money on taxis and get some exercise at the same time!

Back to menu Return to top