$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

Hotel Cozumel and Resort

3 stars
View map of Costera Sur KM 1.7, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
304 out of 304
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZDiver
Business
Dallas, Texas
May 2, 2013

Diver convenience

I travel the world diving and return to this resort at least twice a year. I live in Texas and find that it is really convenient when I want to get "wet!" The flight is listed at 2.5 hours, however, it's more like 1.45 hours to arrive. The only issue I have is the ground transport is Zone 3. When I purchased my transport voucher from the online agency, it reflects Zone 1. It is a bit annoying when you arrive to be told you need to pay some additional nominal amount. The online agency should spend time reviewing their packages to make sure they are up to date!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't be fooled by the official looking welcome committee when you depart Customs and Immigration...they are looking for someone willing to listen to their pitch and can end up costing you $$$!

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZDiver
Business
Dallas, Texas
Apr 23, 2013

Enjoyable experience

I typically stay at this resort during my visits to Cozumel which are one or two times a year. The facilities are clean, the staff very helpful and accommodating. I have had nothing but positive experiences during my stay. Additionally, I am a diver and with Paradise Divers being directly across the road, it makes getting to dive sites hassle free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Iowa Fans
Business
Des Moines/Cedar Rapids Iowa
Apr 4, 2013

super 8 feel

I was not impressed with the value for our money. We opted not to go with the all inclusive since we rented scooters and toured the island daily, but when we would come back to our resort and wanted a beer they were $3 each. The rooms were ok, but had to walk a mile to get to our room. We did appreciate the water coolers in the hallway with cold water since there were no fridges in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Java Cafe had wonderful food and service. We got some basic groceries at the local grocery store daily and packed a cooler for the beach. Rent scooters and explore the island, felt very safe and the beaches were wonderful. The town lives for the cruise ships, the town rests on Sundays when there are no ships in town.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scuba Diver CZM
Business
Ohio
Mar 15, 2013

Great for value-sensitive, non all-inclusive travelers

Just completed a weeklong trip to Cozumel Hotel and Resort. If you're looking for a place to stay while diving throughout your stay, this is a good one. The pool is huge, the beach access is great for relaxing, and there is good snorkeling directly off the beach. On the downside, the room was clean but always had a foul odor coming from the bathroom. We booked a room for 3 and got one with a twin, double, king, and pull-out. Fantastic accommodations otherwise. I can't comment on the all-inclusive aspect, but there were some loud nights (spring breakers...) enjoying the free libations. Internet coverage is spotty and very slow. Overall: Can't beat the value, although be prepared for a few headaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk into town and get away from the square for food. I recommend La Choza.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fatty Bumba
Business
Massachusetts
Mar 10, 2013

Winter Week Getaway

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Had a great time snorkling and the beach was very clean. Great mixed drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop after 5:00pm. Better deals.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Latch the Door Kid
Business
Rochester, MN, USA
Mar 5, 2013

Subtle But Important Change

This is the second year we stayed the Hotel Cozumel and Resort. The property is a good value for the location and has a great breakfast buffet that we paid for as we did not book All Inclusive. I have one room suggestion that would add to the comfort of your guests. This year each of the double beds had one long pillow rather than two as is typical in a bed that could sleep two people. Makes it difficult to share that space with only one pillow between the two of you for eight plus hours. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cantwait
Business
Maine
Feb 23, 2013

Winter Vacation

Had the pleasure staying at Hotel Cozumel. I found it was average. Staff was pleasent. Easy walking distance to town. Evening entertainment was Bingo and or Black Jack. ; ( . With that said very quiet resort. Disappointed the LosGirasoles beach resturant was not open much in our 10 day stay and most beach chairs are broken. Found that the drining glasses in dining room were not CLEAN.. Overall Vacation was nice and restful..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ellie's mom
Business
Beaufort, SC
Feb 10, 2013

Annual trip

we have stayed here 7 times and there are never any surprises. The rooms are spotless and the staff are responsive and professional. Always a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GryffindorGirl
Business
Utah
Feb 6, 2013

Unfriendly & Stubborn Manager, but others were great

We had a very nice stay here. I would have given 4 stars had the front desk manager (Raul) been reasonable and fulfilled his commitments. A $50 credit at the resort was a part of our 'Special Offer'. When we checked in, they explained it was only $25 if you spent $100, $50 if you spent $200 at the resort. That was fine. The night before our departure, I went to the front desk to see what our total was and asked how much I still needed to spend to get our credit. We had spent about $78. We didn't eat there much, it wasn't that good of food. We had lunch the next day at the hotel - about $24. When checking out, the manager wouldn't issue us the promised $25 credit, he said the local phone calls we made - which didn't even work - didn't count toward the $100. We were never told that detail. I explained we wouldn't have spent that $24 for lunch had we known this. He was rude, stubborn, unprofessional, and even yelled at me. Over $25! I asked him if it was really worth $25 - that he was committed to - to him to have a customer leave unsatisfied and frustrated. He didn't budge. So disappointing! The pool was beautiful. The poolside activities were nice. The staff was nice - other than final mgr. The room was big. I loved that taxis were always available out front. The bed and pillows were comfortable. However, a few days into our stay, our AC went out, so they had to relocate us to another room - THAT bed was super hard, and sheets were unclean. They brought us new sheets to make the bed ourselves. Our upgraded room with a view was mostly blocked by buildings - wasn't worth the extra money. I was really glad we didn't get an all-inclusive pass - the food was just OK - I wouldn't have wanted to eat it all week. However, the pool bar chicken tacos were wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seawolf5
Business
Columbus, GA, USA
Jan 13, 2013

Cozumel Mission # 10

My 10th trip staying at the HCR. Would not go anywhere else. The service overall was exceptional, and the diving w/ the on-site dive operator was great, too. Already planning #11, can't wait!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

From HCR, pretty much everything that you would want/ need is w/ in walking distance, very convenient and highly recommended.

Back to menu Return to top