$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Hotel Cozumel and Resort

3 stars
View map of Costera Sur KM 1.7, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
249 out of 249
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Latch the Door Kid
Business
Rochester, MN, USA
Mar 5, 2013

Subtle But Important Change

This is the second year we stayed the Hotel Cozumel and Resort. The property is a good value for the location and has a great breakfast buffet that we paid for as we did not book All Inclusive. I have one room suggestion that would add to the comfort of your guests. This year each of the double beds had one long pillow rather than two as is typical in a bed that could sleep two people. Makes it difficult to share that space with only one pillow between the two of you for eight plus hours. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ellie's mom
Business
Beaufort, SC
Feb 10, 2013

Annual trip

we have stayed here 7 times and there are never any surprises. The rooms are spotless and the staff are responsive and professional. Always a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GryffindorGirl
Business
Utah
Feb 6, 2013

Unfriendly & Stubborn Manager, but others were great

We had a very nice stay here. I would have given 4 stars had the front desk manager (Raul) been reasonable and fulfilled his commitments. A $50 credit at the resort was a part of our 'Special Offer'. When we checked in, they explained it was only $25 if you spent $100, $50 if you spent $200 at the resort. That was fine. The night before our departure, I went to the front desk to see what our total was and asked how much I still needed to spend to get our credit. We had spent about $78. We didn't eat there much, it wasn't that good of food. We had lunch the next day at the hotel - about $24. When checking out, the manager wouldn't issue us the promised $25 credit, he said the local phone calls we made - which didn't even work - didn't count toward the $100. We were never told that detail. I explained we wouldn't have spent that $24 for lunch had we known this. He was rude, stubborn, unprofessional, and even yelled at me. Over $25! I asked him if it was really worth $25 - that he was committed to - to him to have a customer leave unsatisfied and frustrated. He didn't budge. So disappointing! The pool was beautiful. The poolside activities were nice. The staff was nice - other than final mgr. The room was big. I loved that taxis were always available out front. The bed and pillows were comfortable. However, a few days into our stay, our AC went out, so they had to relocate us to another room - THAT bed was super hard, and sheets were unclean. They brought us new sheets to make the bed ourselves. Our upgraded room with a view was mostly blocked by buildings - wasn't worth the extra money. I was really glad we didn't get an all-inclusive pass - the food was just OK - I wouldn't have wanted to eat it all week. However, the pool bar chicken tacos were wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seawolf5
Business
Columbus, GA, USA
Jan 13, 2013

Cozumel Mission # 10

My 10th trip staying at the HCR. Would not go anywhere else. The service overall was exceptional, and the diving w/ the on-site dive operator was great, too. Already planning #11, can't wait!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

From HCR, pretty much everything that you would want/ need is w/ in walking distance, very convenient and highly recommended.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beachbums from Wa
Business
Lake Stevens Wa
Jan 12, 2013

it's ok

We've usually stayed in all inclusives on our many trips to Cozumel. Decided to stay closer to town this time so we chose the Hotel Cozumel. The facilities are average and cleanliness was not bad but had opportunities. The location was good as we could walk to town easily. The staff friendly when approached but usually didn't acknowledge you unless you said something first. The room was very comfortable with a nice view but allowed for quite a bit of noise from the lobby and hallway. Again, not a deal breaker, but something to note. The pool was nice and large enough to allow for separation from others. As was our plan we ate at other locations so during out 11 days there we did not eat a meal at the hotel, so I can't comment on that. The beach area was nice and I'd say great if it weren't for the annoying lady on the loud speaker nearby with some kind of day activities...bingo or spanish lessons.... I mean we were 100 yards away and it's blaring away. I have no idea why they have to crank up the sound to a small group of people that can be heard at that distance. Overall it's an ok stay. I didn't have overyly high expecctation going in as this was a low cost option, so I guess with that being said, it met our expectations. Much better acccomidations can be had for nearly the same money, but we're glad we checked out someplace new.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get downtown and stay away from the cruise boat tourist traps... anyplace where they serve terrible high priced drinks in yard long glasses and you see people with balloon on they're head. Check out Casita de Indio a couple blocks of the main.... you'll be glad you did.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristine4
Business
Mpls MN
Jan 1, 2013

Christmas fun

Hotel Cozumel is an outstanding value. Excellent location to town & very warm welcoming staff. Free bike rental is a nice touch too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alan louis
Business
Denver,CO
Dec 23, 2012

Cozumel Stay

Hotel Cozumel is ideally located within walking distance to town. Dive operation on property wth dock a short walk from the hotel. Staff is very friendly, and helpful. Food is OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kroto
Business
Boston
Nov 18, 2012

Don't eat the food, and watch your beach towels!

The room was much better than we expected: very clean. Get a poolview room for more quiet. Location is very convenient, particularly if you plan activities on the southern past of the island. Nice pool. That is the end of the good stuff. The food borders on inedible: I've had better from vending machines. Watch your beach towels! They have a tendency to disappear, along with the $50 that they repeatedly tell you. In hindsight, it does smell like a scam...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Palancar Beach Club for a nice cheap beach. No access fee, good food and drink for reasonable price from a very friendly staff. On your way home, stop at the Moneybar for sunset, good food, and light entertainment.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pleasetryagain
Business
USA
Nov 12, 2012

20 + trips and still love it

Love this hotel. Have stayed here over 20 times and always have a great time. The location is great, close enough to walk to town or a cheap taxi ride. The staff is very friendly and helpful. If you have anything wrong with your room tell the desk and they will take care of it. We always do the AI plan. which is cheap enough to still go out and eat if you want, but it is so nice to not have to keep money with you while at the hotel. There is a large variety of food on the buffet....if you can't find something to eat you are just too picky. There is also a menu to order from. I'm fine with the room comfort, but others may find the beds too hard, but they've been the same at all the other hotels we've stayed at in Cozumel, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denver Neal
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 15, 2012

Hotel Cozumel Resort Feedback

As always I think the 3 star rating for this property is understated. The location is great right at the edge of town, their own beach and snorkeling area across the street, good food on the buffet and the largest pool on the island. Their greatest attributes are the friendly and efficient staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. Their only weakness is the overall maintenance on the property could be a bit better, but that does not change my attitude about the property and the staff. I have stayed many times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top