$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Hotel Cozumel and Resort

3 stars
View map of Costera Sur KM 1.7, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
280 out of 280
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jimiBarr
Louisville,Ky
Jan 8, 2013

Divers Paridise!

Great location for everyone. fantastic operation for divers! Nice place for children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Archbishop
Business
Texas
Mar 1, 2014

Didn't Quite Win Me Over

I went for the "all inclusive" package here. I stayed for five nights. I wasn't very impressed. Starting with the food: Here we were sitting within a few feet of the ocean and almost all they served was chicken and pork at every meal. One lunchtime they grilled some kabobs that had little tiny popcorn shrimp on them. that was it...in five days...that was it! C'mon guys. Where's the seafood? And did I mention cauliflower, in some form, at just about every meal? Must be in season. The drinks: I'd say were decent...not the best I've had. The beds were hard as a rock. no matter which way you tossed anything touching the bed would start to hurt shortly. So, not much rest. The AC in the room was great. Cooled down really quickly. Showers have good water pressure...not those dribbly water saver kind. The in room lock box is a key type. They give you the key on a string at check in. But don't lose it! That key will cost you $150 bucks to replace if you do! The pool is nice. Though many of the lounge chairs in the pool area are in disrepair. The part that controls the amount of recline is broken on maybe half of them. So you risk falling backwards into the flat position at the most inopportune times whenever the back of the chair gives way. Although, that actually proved entertaining to watch when it happened to other people. Not so much fun when it happens to you....and you have a Pina Colada in your hand taking a drink. Nope, not fun. This place is mainly for Divers though. There's a dock across the street at what they call the beach club. The boats come in and pick up the divers there. Pretty convenient. That property is also connected to the main hotel lobby via a walk thru tunnel under the street. I don't know why they call it a beach club though. Their beach is nothing more than a few square feet of sandy patios with some more of those tricky lounging chairs. You can go down the rocky steps into the water but there is no actual beach touching the water. Just a sea wall. The best thing this hotel has going for it are the staff. Very, very nice people! And very patient. They would have to be to put up with the dumb stuff that they have to take from some of the American tourists (I'm embarrassed to say). I can honestly say that the stay here would have been a lot more pleasant if we had been short a few tourists from my own country. It was that bad. Even the activities directors (who are awesome young folks) had their work cut out for them. How do you pull off activities for folks that are so morbidly obese, rude and usually drunk and get these folks to participate and have fun. But they tried their best. But what they maybe couldn't do for some in a group setting they managed to do on an individual basis. I can say that I made friends with some of the staff and we will definitely keep in touch via Facebook. Don't use the bank machine for money in the lobby!!! (Just walk down the street to the HSBC bank.) I wanted to take out $100 and at first it told me that I would be charged $5.95 to do so. So I went ahead and hit yes. Then when the money came out it charged me another $6.95. And then, of course your bank in the US charges you $5 buck service fee. So 17% just to get some cash. The Mexican mafia is in the wrong business. You can make more money with cash machines than selling drugs! So.....bottom line...If you're a diver and want the convenience for diving and can endure a hard bed and mediocre food. this is the place for you. If you're wanting more of a lay out at the beach scene then try another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The little shop keepers in town can be some what aggressive in trying to get your patronage. But please be courteous and kind. They're just trying to make a living and feed their kids. If they won't come down to a price that you can be happy with then just politely leave. Tell the shop keeper next door what the lowest price was that the other guy/girl offered and they'll be happy to sell to you cheaper since they know that you will walk away if they don't. Really...they all sell the same stuff. Try to enjoy the haggling! And honestly, is one dollar worth getting upset over. Just another one of those nasty Americanisms that I witnessed. Don't let that be you!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love sea turtles
Business
Washington DC
Feb 25, 2014

Nice hotel but nothing special

I liked our stay overall but will not return. Our room was clean and spacious and the balcony overlooked the pool. The only problem we had was that we could hear people from the next room. We did not get the all inclusive package and it worked out great. The reception staff was not the most friendly. One day we had booked a tour and had to leave by 6:30 am and asked them for breakfast options. Once they saw that we did not have the all inclusive package they refused to help and just said that they could not help and asked us to look for something in town. The beach area is across the road so it feels more like a pool resort than a beach resort. There were some activities at night but we never hung around for that. Overall, I would say a good deal for the room, but I would not return as there are better options on the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast room service is very affordable. Avoid the buffet ($13) and just order an entrée for $6 in your room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mike1966
Business
omaha ne
Feb 17, 2014

Great place to stay

my 5th stay here lets start with the staff , most of the staff has been there for 10 years as i go every other year and the faces are the same , friendly and all ways helpful !! never had a dirty room. i get food and drink all inclusive nuff said . down town shops are a ez 10 min walk no cabs needed. dive shop across the street , dive paradise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1. don't get a cab walk to main street in front of hotel take a right and walk for 10 mins you are at the main shopping area. 2. most shops you can haggle the prices and save some money . 3. most shops have the same stuff so take notes and come back to the best deals on a later date so address / store name and item / price and come back to best deals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dardo
Business
Argentina
Feb 11, 2014

Horrible

The worst experience I ever had. The room only had the bed and a bathroom in bad conditions. Nothing to make a coffe, and no refrigerator. For that price I am sure you can find a better hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fefe
Business
Norfolk, VA
Jan 18, 2014

Average

Just an average hotel. Nothing special. Room needs updating. Dinner was cold and below average, Pool was good. Staff was nice and polite. Near, and walking distance to center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

avoid eating at the hotel. Go to Pescaderia san carlos restaurant for the best fish dinner in the world.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PilotTraveler
Business
Charlotte NC
Dec 30, 2013

Bad Christmas stay

Room had a noisy remote air conditioner. Maid had taken blankets so we only had a sheet on the bed and woke up cold and had to go to front desk to get one at 4 am and staff was asleep. Shower had almost NO pressure and the sink backed up and water leaked all over the counter from each faucet! Food was very average. Fitness center was below average. Stay somewhere else!!!! We stayed here awaiting our stay at Park Royal Resort which is AWESOME!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seawolf 5
Business
Columbus GA
Nov 24, 2013

Trip # 13

As described, this was my 13th trip to Coz staying @ the HCR, and it was as good as always. The hotel stay was great, the dives were even better. Already planning trip # 14!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best Fish Tacos at La Hach! Best chicken tacos at both El Pique and Taqueria Diaz!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love One
Business
MA
Oct 14, 2013

In short...

Hotel Cozumel and Resort was great. The pool is massive and perfect for kids. The food provided with the 'all-inclusive' was fine, lots of options. Most of the options were meat or had meat on it, so if you’re a vegetarian you might struggle. The fruit selection was disappointing. Staff was always there to assist and the front desk was confident & quick. Rooms were clean and the AC was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel has drinking water in water coolers in many places near rooms for teeth brushing and will provide bottle water. Do not leave personal things in unlocked cars in town. My cell phone and kids car-seat went missing...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cut Man
Business
St. Louis
Sep 2, 2013

great trip

Great dive Hotel .Close to Town!! Food was Good!! Staff Great very helpful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scuba toad
Business
denver, co
Jul 17, 2013

Loved it!!!

This was our first stay at this hotel and I must say I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it. Thought I would hate not having a beach to hang out on all day but the pool was great and very peaceful. The staff was friendly and very pleasant enjoyed talking to many of them. We chose all inclusive which usually means sub par drinks and food but to my surprise both were very good. I will stay here again I'm sure, didn't want to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top