$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

Hotel Cozumel and Resort

3 stars
View map of Costera Sur KM 1.7, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
304 out of 304
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jimiBarr
Louisville,Ky
Jan 8, 2013

Divers Paridise!

Great location for everyone. fantastic operation for divers! Nice place for children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Motor X Dad
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 19, 2014

Depends on you're expectations and what you're there for

If you go to Cozumel to dive it doesn't get easier than staying at Hotel Cozumel. As far as "fancy" this hotel is mid grade. The decor and food probably won't wow you but if you are happy with a clean hotel and great service at a really good price this is where you stay. The all you can eat is an amazing steal if you're planning on having a few beers after you spend the day diving. Overall, there is some repetition to the food but most of it was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
retired jockey
Business
MIssouri
May 7, 2014

Fun in Cozumel

Spent 2 weeks in Cozumel traveling solo. Hotel Cozumel was perfect for my needs. The all-inclusive price was reasonable enough to where I could afford to have dinner/lunch in one of the many great restaurants in town when I wanted, although the meals at Hotel Cozumel were very good. Great amenities including clean room and friendly staff. Enjoyed the pool area very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Garansan
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Apr 29, 2014

Right Place Right Time

My wife and I had a great time at this hotel & resort. Access to snorkeling was really good and, the "beach" was nice for relaxing after with plenty of lounge chairs. Location is really good whether, you walk or, drive. We did both. To see the island, we rented a car and were able to park at the hotel. But, most of our time we spent in or, on the water. Walking to the main pier in town for boat trips was easy and good exercise. We didn't take any from hotel dock but, saw others doing so. We expected more "school break" crowds but, we were lucky not many were on break after Easter. And, it seemed, there was always food available!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Chankanaab park

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
STUNTZER
Business
OKC
Apr 20, 2014

AVERAGE

THIS HOTEL IS GOOD FOR A SIMPLE EXPEREINCE. THE STAFF IS FRIENDLY, PLEASE TIP. THE ROOMS ARE SIMPLE, THE BEDS ARE ROCK HARD. ASK FOR PADDING IMMEDIATELY. EVERYTHING WORKED. THE FOOD IS PLENTIFUL BUT EASY. NOT GOURMET BUFFET. GET AN OMELETTE IN THE AM. THE DRINKS ARE PLENTIFUL. THE DIVE SHOP IS ACROSS THE STREET. THERE IS A SHORT TUNNNEL TO GET TO THE BEACH IF YOU CHOOSE. THE POOL IS NICE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

GO TO ESPECIAS ITALIAN RESTAURANT. GREAT EXPERIENCE THERE. UPSTAIRS TERRACE AND DELICIOUS FOOD.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ledgend
Business
Hancock, MI, USA
Apr 16, 2014

Great Vacation

Staff very nice and helpful. Morning buffet was very good. I have stayed there 6 times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pat and Lizzy
Business
Cape Cod
Apr 5, 2014

Visit March 2014

Great visit. We were happy with this choice. Staff was very attentive and always friendly and happy to help. Our stay was all inclusive and we were happy we chose this option. Food was not over the top fancy but well prepared and served hot with varied menus and themes nightly. Drinks flowed as often as you wanted. Location is an easy 10 min walk to town or a $5 cab ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop down the side streets instead of on the main street of San Miguel. The cruise passengers don't venture there and the shop owners are able to offer better deals and better service than the big stores on the waterfront street.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
toothmaker
Business
ohio
Mar 3, 2014

not what i thought

first of all double check you booked all inclusive.the description says an all inclusive hotel, but i got there and was told i did not book that plan. My bathtub/shower had porcelain broke around drain which clogged the drain. It took 45 minutes to drain. one day no hot water,in fact no water. when it came out it was brown. tiles floors not washed once in the week i was there. The week i was there 4 other couples had the 'all inclusive'' issue. i sent alot of money for a bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Archbishop
Business
Texas
Mar 1, 2014

Didn't Quite Win Me Over

I went for the "all inclusive" package here. I stayed for five nights. I wasn't very impressed. Starting with the food: Here we were sitting within a few feet of the ocean and almost all they served was chicken and pork at every meal. One lunchtime they grilled some kabobs that had little tiny popcorn shrimp on them. that was it...in five days...that was it! C'mon guys. Where's the seafood? And did I mention cauliflower, in some form, at just about every meal? Must be in season. The drinks: I'd say were decent...not the best I've had. The beds were hard as a rock. no matter which way you tossed anything touching the bed would start to hurt shortly. So, not much rest. The AC in the room was great. Cooled down really quickly. Showers have good water pressure...not those dribbly water saver kind. The in room lock box is a key type. They give you the key on a string at check in. But don't lose it! That key will cost you $150 bucks to replace if you do! The pool is nice. Though many of the lounge chairs in the pool area are in disrepair. The part that controls the amount of recline is broken on maybe half of them. So you risk falling backwards into the flat position at the most inopportune times whenever the back of the chair gives way. Although, that actually proved entertaining to watch when it happened to other people. Not so much fun when it happens to you....and you have a Pina Colada in your hand taking a drink. Nope, not fun. This place is mainly for Divers though. There's a dock across the street at what they call the beach club. The boats come in and pick up the divers there. Pretty convenient. That property is also connected to the main hotel lobby via a walk thru tunnel under the street. I don't know why they call it a beach club though. Their beach is nothing more than a few square feet of sandy patios with some more of those tricky lounging chairs. You can go down the rocky steps into the water but there is no actual beach touching the water. Just a sea wall. The best thing this hotel has going for it are the staff. Very, very nice people! And very patient. They would have to be to put up with the dumb stuff that they have to take from some of the American tourists (I'm embarrassed to say). I can honestly say that the stay here would have been a lot more pleasant if we had been short a few tourists from my own country. It was that bad. Even the activities directors (who are awesome young folks) had their work cut out for them. How do you pull off activities for folks that are so morbidly obese, rude and usually drunk and get these folks to participate and have fun. But they tried their best. But what they maybe couldn't do for some in a group setting they managed to do on an individual basis. I can say that I made friends with some of the staff and we will definitely keep in touch via Facebook. Don't use the bank machine for money in the lobby!!! (Just walk down the street to the HSBC bank.) I wanted to take out $100 and at first it told me that I would be charged $5.95 to do so. So I went ahead and hit yes. Then when the money came out it charged me another $6.95. And then, of course your bank in the US charges you $5 buck service fee. So 17% just to get some cash. The Mexican mafia is in the wrong business. You can make more money with cash machines than selling drugs! So.....bottom line...If you're a diver and want the convenience for diving and can endure a hard bed and mediocre food. this is the place for you. If you're wanting more of a lay out at the beach scene then try another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The little shop keepers in town can be some what aggressive in trying to get your patronage. But please be courteous and kind. They're just trying to make a living and feed their kids. If they won't come down to a price that you can be happy with then just politely leave. Tell the shop keeper next door what the lowest price was that the other guy/girl offered and they'll be happy to sell to you cheaper since they know that you will walk away if they don't. Really...they all sell the same stuff. Try to enjoy the haggling! And honestly, is one dollar worth getting upset over. Just another one of those nasty Americanisms that I witnessed. Don't let that be you!

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love sea turtles
Business
Washington DC
Feb 25, 2014

Nice hotel but nothing special

I liked our stay overall but will not return. Our room was clean and spacious and the balcony overlooked the pool. The only problem we had was that we could hear people from the next room. We did not get the all inclusive package and it worked out great. The reception staff was not the most friendly. One day we had booked a tour and had to leave by 6:30 am and asked them for breakfast options. Once they saw that we did not have the all inclusive package they refused to help and just said that they could not help and asked us to look for something in town. The beach area is across the road so it feels more like a pool resort than a beach resort. There were some activities at night but we never hung around for that. Overall, I would say a good deal for the room, but I would not return as there are better options on the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast room service is very affordable. Avoid the buffet ($13) and just order an entrée for $6 in your room.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mike1966
Business
omaha ne
Feb 17, 2014

Great place to stay

my 5th stay here lets start with the staff , most of the staff has been there for 10 years as i go every other year and the faces are the same , friendly and all ways helpful !! never had a dirty room. i get food and drink all inclusive nuff said . down town shops are a ez 10 min walk no cabs needed. dive shop across the street , dive paradise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1. don't get a cab walk to main street in front of hotel take a right and walk for 10 mins you are at the main shopping area. 2. most shops you can haggle the prices and save some money . 3. most shops have the same stuff so take notes and come back to the best deals on a later date so address / store name and item / price and come back to best deals.

Back to menu Return to top