Hotel Cozumel and Resort

3 stars
View map of Costera Sur KM 1.7, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
249 reviews
Great place to stay, especially for divers.

We've stayed here a few times and you cannot beat the value, especially for scuba diving. The staff... See full review

  • BUBLZ
  • Apr 6, 2015
Great time at this Tried-and-True Resort

My wife and I have come to Cozumel 30+ times over the last 20 years, and this is the place we stay... See full review

  • TDub
  • Mar 2, 2015
The heart of the colorful Hotel Cozumel and Resort is the swimming pool, which is the largest in Cozumel. However, the private pier from which guests dive right into the ocean is a highlight, too. All diving needs and wants are fully met on site via a PADI full-service center, Dive Paradise, which has been operating in Cozumel continuously since 1984. Families dive together or kids can hang back at the hotel's designated program.
Dining
The only guidelines for meals at the Hotel Cozumel and Resort are that guests wear shoes and dry clothes. Los Girasoles has an airy open seating area facing the ocean. Los Pericos Grill is poolside, serving snacks and beverages between 11 a.m. and 5 p.m.
Rooms
The 181 rooms in this coral-covered seaside majesty were remodeled in 2009; 10 of which are fully accessible. Accessible bathrooms feature a wheel-in shower with an adjustable orthopedic bench, shower, toilet security bars and accessible washbasin. The Hotel Cozumel and Resort also is equipped with ramps. Suites host up to four guests and have marble finished bathrooms with bathtubs, a dining area and a fully-equipped kitchen. Garden or pool view rooms boast private balconies.

 

Highlights
  • Dive Paradise includes a private pier and full-service PADI center
  • Largest swimming pool in Cozumel
  • Three on-site restaurants and lounge
  • Kid's program with supervised activities

 

Nearby attractions
  • Cozumel Photo Tour (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Isla de Pasion (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Alex Scuba (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

 

Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel, including poolside
  • Business center has two PC workstations
  • Meeting rooms available
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2.9 mi/4.5 km)
Recreation
Divers visiting the hotel may use the on-site rinse tanks, hangers for draining diving gear, fresh water showers and the 150 lockers to keep all diving gear safe. The large swimming pool is used by the ChanKaanab underwater park's Dolphinarium as a hurricane shelter for its dolphins during tropical hurricane season.
Policies
Fee to connect to Internet via hotel computers. Guide dogs and pets up to 15 pounds are welcome. Room service available from 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 p.m. for an additional fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Cozumel and Resort Rooms

Garden View or Pool View with Private Balcony, 322 Sq.Ft
Newly remodeled air conditioned rooms overlooking the largest swimming pool in Cozumel. All are decorated in a contemporary style and bright Mexican fabrics. These rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, and touch tone telephone, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries. Non-smoking and adjoining rooms are available.
Ocean View with Private Balcony, 355 Sq.Ft
Beautifully remodeled air conditioned rooms overlooking the dazzling crystal clear Caribbean Sea. All are decorated in a contemporary style and bright Mexican fabrics. These rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, and touch tone telephone, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries. Non-smoking and adjoining rooms are available.
Handdicaped Room
Wheel in shower, adjustable orthopedic bench, security bars in the shower and toilet, washbasin wheel chair accessible, low beds, easy access to balcony. The hotel is equipped with ramps for ease of access to any building. Guide dogs are welcome. All rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including two double beds, Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, touch tone telephones, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Map

20.4991 -86.96
Area served
Cozumel, Quinta Roo. Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel International Airport
Area description
Surrounded by pristine white beaches and the beautiful turquoise-blue water of the Mexican Caribbean, Reefs cape COZUMEL provides the ideal combination of fun and relaxation. A unique doorway to a mystical relationship with Cozumel's ancient Mayan past and modern-day adventure and hospitality.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Convention Center with capacity for 500 people, TV, VCR, projector and podium.

Dining

LOS PERICOS RESTAURANT
It serves snacks and beverages in a relaxing atmosphere by the largest pool of Cozumel. Hours service: 11:00 am – 5:00 pm.
LOS ARCOS RESTAURANT
It is the main restaurant located by the front desk, serving the perfect morning start buffet breakfast and dinner. Breakfast from 6:30 am – 10:30 am Dinner from 6:30 pm – 10:00 pm
LOBBY BAR
Offers a wide variety or domestic liquors and beer. A perfect place to watch a favorite sport or to play some of our table games. Open from 2:00 pm – 2:00 am
LOS GIRASOLES RESTAURANT
Enjoy an extraordinary ocean view during the lunch; this restaurant is open from 12:00 pm -4:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (249)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
249 out of 249
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love One
Business
MA
Oct 14, 2013

In short...

Hotel Cozumel and Resort was great. The pool is massive and perfect for kids. The food provided with the 'all-inclusive' was fine, lots of options. Most of the options were meat or had meat on it, so if you’re a vegetarian you might struggle. The fruit selection was disappointing. Staff was always there to assist and the front desk was confident & quick. Rooms were clean and the AC was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel has drinking water in water coolers in many places near rooms for teeth brushing and will provide bottle water. Do not leave personal things in unlocked cars in town. My cell phone and kids car-seat went missing...

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cut Man
Business
St. Louis
Sep 2, 2013

great trip

Great dive Hotel .Close to Town!! Food was Good!! Staff Great very helpful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scuba toad
Business
denver, co
Jul 17, 2013

Loved it!!!

This was our first stay at this hotel and I must say I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it. Thought I would hate not having a beach to hang out on all day but the pool was great and very peaceful. The staff was friendly and very pleasant enjoyed talking to many of them. We chose all inclusive which usually means sub par drinks and food but to my surprise both were very good. I will stay here again I'm sure, didn't want to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blmontg
Business
Baytown,Tx
Jul 15, 2013

Cozumel dive trip

I've stayed at Hotel Cozumel several times in the past. This is the first time we have done the all inclusive package. The food was a lot better than we expected and the drinks are good too. What makes this hotel stand out is the staff. They all treated us great and if you want it then they will make it happen! Can't say enough about the hotel staff. Very clean facility also. Very simple, but nice. My only complaint about the trip was the additional transfer package that we bought. DO NOT BUY THE TRANSFER PACKAGE. This package is a complete rip off. I paid $56 then they shook me down for another $14 when I arrived in Cozumel. We felt like we were being robbed. Our friends that rode on the same van paid less than half of what we paid! Transfer package is a complete rip off. Please don't make the mistake of buying this package, it is easier and cheaper to pay $10 for a ride to the hotel. The system will not allow me to mention the transfer company name. Anyway, other than that it was a great trip. We are going back in November and bringing the kids, however, staying at Hotel Cozumeleno.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

DON"T BUY TRANSFER PACKAGE ........RIPOFF

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SLFINS123
Business
CLARKSVILLE TN
Jun 4, 2013

R & R GETAWAY

THIS WAS THIS FIRST TIME WE STAYED @ HOTEL COZUMEL & RESORT & FIRST TIME FOR ALL INCLUSIVE. WE HAD AN AWESOME EXPERIENCE. COULDNT ASK FOR A BETTER VACATION

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

WE PURCHASED THE ALL INCLUSIVE PACKAGE & IT WAS WELL WORTH IT. THE FOOD WAS GOOD.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZDiver
Business
Dallas, Texas
May 2, 2013

Diver convenience

I travel the world diving and return to this resort at least twice a year. I live in Texas and find that it is really convenient when I want to get "wet!" The flight is listed at 2.5 hours, however, it's more like 1.45 hours to arrive. The only issue I have is the ground transport is Zone 3. When I purchased my transport voucher from the online agency, it reflects Zone 1. It is a bit annoying when you arrive to be told you need to pay some additional nominal amount. The online agency should spend time reviewing their packages to make sure they are up to date!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't be fooled by the official looking welcome committee when you depart Customs and Immigration...they are looking for someone willing to listen to their pitch and can end up costing you $$$!

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZDiver
Business
Dallas, Texas
Apr 23, 2013

Enjoyable experience

I typically stay at this resort during my visits to Cozumel which are one or two times a year. The facilities are clean, the staff very helpful and accommodating. I have had nothing but positive experiences during my stay. Additionally, I am a diver and with Paradise Divers being directly across the road, it makes getting to dive sites hassle free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Iowa Fans
Business
Des Moines/Cedar Rapids Iowa
Apr 4, 2013

super 8 feel

I was not impressed with the value for our money. We opted not to go with the all inclusive since we rented scooters and toured the island daily, but when we would come back to our resort and wanted a beer they were $3 each. The rooms were ok, but had to walk a mile to get to our room. We did appreciate the water coolers in the hallway with cold water since there were no fridges in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Java Cafe had wonderful food and service. We got some basic groceries at the local grocery store daily and packed a cooler for the beach. Rent scooters and explore the island, felt very safe and the beaches were wonderful. The town lives for the cruise ships, the town rests on Sundays when there are no ships in town.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scuba Diver CZM
Business
Ohio
Mar 15, 2013

Great for value-sensitive, non all-inclusive travelers

Just completed a weeklong trip to Cozumel Hotel and Resort. If you're looking for a place to stay while diving throughout your stay, this is a good one. The pool is huge, the beach access is great for relaxing, and there is good snorkeling directly off the beach. On the downside, the room was clean but always had a foul odor coming from the bathroom. We booked a room for 3 and got one with a twin, double, king, and pull-out. Fantastic accommodations otherwise. I can't comment on the all-inclusive aspect, but there were some loud nights (spring breakers...) enjoying the free libations. Internet coverage is spotty and very slow. Overall: Can't beat the value, although be prepared for a few headaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk into town and get away from the square for food. I recommend La Choza.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fatty Bumba
Business
Massachusetts
Mar 10, 2013

Winter Week Getaway

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Had a great time snorkling and the beach was very clean. Great mixed drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop after 5:00pm. Better deals.

Back to menu Return to top