$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 22, 2014 Check-out: Oct 24, 2014

Hotel Cozumel and Resort

3 stars
Costera Sur KM 1.7, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
261 reviews
Summer vacation

Such a great place! Awesome location, great staff, clean, and very fun. See full review

  • Siffland
  • Jul 17, 2014
Great place to stay

my 5th stay here lets start with the staff , most of the staff has been there for 10 years as i go... See full review

  • mike1966
  • Feb 17, 2014
Cozumel's largest swimming pool and private pier at luxurious resort
The heart of the colorful Hotel Cozumel and Resort is the swimming pool, which is the largest in Cozumel. However, the private pier from which guests dive right into the ocean is a highlight, too. All diving needs and wants are fully met on site via a PADI full-service center, Dive Paradise, which has been operating in Cozumel continuously since 1984. Families dive together or kids can hang back at the hotel's designated program.
Highlights
  • Dive Paradise includes a private pier and full-service PADI center
  • Largest swimming pool in Cozumel
  • Three on-site restaurants and lounge
  • Kid's program with supervised activities

 

Rooms
The 181 rooms in this coral-covered seaside majesty were remodeled in 2009; 10 of which are fully accessible. Accessible bathrooms feature a wheel-in shower with an adjustable orthopedic bench, shower, toilet security bars and accessible washbasin. The Hotel Cozumel and Resort also is equipped with ramps. Suites host up to four guests and have marble finished bathrooms with bathtubs, a dining area and a fully-equipped kitchen. Garden or pool view rooms boast private balconies.

 

Dining
The only guidelines for meals at the Hotel Cozumel and Resort are that guests wear shoes and dry clothes. Los Girasoles has an airy open seating area facing the ocean. Los Pericos Grill is poolside, serving snacks and beverages between 11 a.m. and 5 p.m.
Recreation
Divers visiting the hotel may use the on-site rinse tanks, hangers for draining diving gear, fresh water showers and the 150 lockers to keep all diving gear safe. The large swimming pool is used by the ChanKaanab underwater park's Dolphinarium as a hurricane shelter for its dolphins during tropical hurricane season.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2.9 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • Cozumel Photo Tour (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Isla de Pasion (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Alex Scuba (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

 

Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel, including poolside
  • Business center has two PC workstations
  • Meeting rooms available
Policies and fees
Fee to connect to Internet via hotel computers. Guide dogs and pets up to 15 pounds are welcome. Room service available from 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 p.m. for an additional fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.4991 -86.96
Area served
Cozumel, Quinta Roo. Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel International Airport
Area description
Surrounded by pristine white beaches and the beautiful turquoise-blue water of the Mexican Caribbean, Reefs cape COZUMEL provides the ideal combination of fun and relaxation. A unique doorway to a mystical relationship with Cozumel's ancient Mayan past and modern-day adventure and hospitality.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Cozumel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Cozumel and Resort Rooms

Garden View or Pool View with Private Balcony, 322 Sq.Ft
Newly remodeled air conditioned rooms overlooking the largest swimming pool in Cozumel. All are decorated in a contemporary style and bright Mexican fabrics. These rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, and touch tone telephone, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries. Non-smoking and adjoining rooms are available.
Ocean View with Private Balcony, 355 Sq.Ft
Beautifully remodeled air conditioned rooms overlooking the dazzling crystal clear Caribbean Sea. All are decorated in a contemporary style and bright Mexican fabrics. These rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, and touch tone telephone, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries. Non-smoking and adjoining rooms are available.
Handdicaped Room
Wheel in shower, adjustable orthopedic bench, security bars in the shower and toilet, washbasin wheel chair accessible, low beds, easy access to balcony. The hotel is equipped with ramps for ease of access to any building. Guide dogs are welcome. All rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including two double beds, Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, touch tone telephones, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Convention Center with capacity for 500 people, TV, VCR, projector and podium.

Dining

LOS PERICOS RESTAURANT
It serves snacks and beverages in a relaxing atmosphere by the largest pool of Cozumel. Hours service: 11:00 am – 5:00 pm.
LOS ARCOS RESTAURANT
It is the main restaurant located by the front desk, serving the perfect morning start buffet breakfast and dinner. Breakfast from 6:30 am – 10:30 am Dinner from 6:30 pm – 10:00 pm
LOBBY BAR
Offers a wide variety or domestic liquors and beer. A perfect place to watch a favorite sport or to play some of our table games. Open from 2:00 pm – 2:00 am
LOS GIRASOLES RESTAURANT
Enjoy an extraordinary ocean view during the lunch; this restaurant is open from 12:00 pm -4:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (261)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
261 out of 261
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scuba Diving Mom
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Aug 12, 2009

Perfect Hotel for Scuba Divers

This was our first trip to Cozumel and our first trip as scuba divers, so we had no idea what to expect. We were VERY glad that we chose Hotel Cozumel & Resort as our hotel. (We did not bring our kids with us on this trip, but this hotel would have been great for kids if we had). We were close to the airport so it was an inexpensive taxi ride to and from the airport. We were right across the street from Dive Paradise which is a great dive operator and there is a first rate pier, water entry, and rinsing station there that can be used by anyone staying at Hotel Cozumel for scuba equipment. The pool is huge and amazing. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet that was included in our Orbitz package--very good breakfast. I rated this hotel a 4 star because it is not going to blow you away with perfection, but it is nice. There are some 5 star hotels on the island and if you want perfection and to be pampered 24/7 you should stay at those, but for a considerably less amount of money, you can stay at the Hotel Cozumel and Resort, which is very nice and I think a great deal for what we wanted. We wanted: great location, scuba friendly, good food, easy walking distance to the market, and nice accomodations at an affordable price . . . if this is what you are looking for, too, then the Hotel Cozumel & Resort is right for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Most people stay on the "bay" side of the island that is across from Cancun and the mainland, but for a small fee to rent a car, you can easily drive to the other side of the island and see beautiful beaches and eat at some interesting places with incredible views. There are also some shops on that side of the island as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super LuLu
Business
Conroe, Texas
Aug 10, 2009

Family Summer Fun

We were there for 4 full days. Things we did: snorkeling, diving, relaxed by the pool, and went shoping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

you could walk to town to shop or eat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scubaotter
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Aug 10, 2009

Hotel Cozumel

This was our first time staying on island and Hotel Cozumel provided a great home away from home. The check in process was a bit of a challenge with the front desk staff a little reluctant to change our room to be closer to our friends who were traveling with us. After a little bit of pleading all was set. Off to the pool and what a pool complex it is! Beautiful blue glass tile makes up the entire pool. The pool area was always kept clean by a great group of guys. There were always activities by/in the pool such as pool volleyball, ping pong, etc. The dive shop is right across the street and therefore very easy to access. There is a tunnel that goes below the street (very interesting with underwater pictures and sounds) that connects you to the dive shop and one of the resturants. The food was quite good. Eggs cooked to order every morning. There were always at least two protein choices (fish, turkey, chicken, and beef) at every meal. Given past reviews we were concerned that the food would not be that great and it exceeded our expectations. The only things I would like to see done a bit differently is better/more cleaning of the pool water and limit the number of local children that seemed to frequent the pool on a daily basis. Overall it was a great vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the time to snorkel and/or scuba dive with one of the local operators.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 9, 2009

Fun place to stay

We didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel. We did enjoy that there were scheduled activities by the pool. We played a fun quiz game one evening. The hotel was within walking distance of the market and a lot of restaurants and shops. We booked an all inclusive package. I'm not sure if it was worth it. The food at the snack bar wasn't very good and breakfast and dinner were okay, but not the best. We did enjoy a lot of beer at the hotel. I liked that we could take it in to go cups. Our shower was broken. There was no water pressure because half the water would come out of the faucet while the rest was coming out of the shower head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ellington, CT
Aug 9, 2009

Hotel Cozumel

We used the hotel for breakfast, lunch and diner and to hang out after diving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
diverdj9
Business
Plainfield IN
Jul 29, 2009

Very Nice, Very Clean

We stayed here because it was close to town and diving. We got a great all-inclusive rate; I was a little worried that it might be too good to be true. I was pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean and pretty. We had plenty of space. The hotel was very slow as all of Cozumel appeared to be. They had plenty of staff to supply the needs of the guests. The food was "all-inclusive food." It does get a bit repetitive, but the taste and quality were good. I was fine eating there 3 meals a day. There was a different meat at the carving station each night, and they also had a pasta bar. If you like gormet meals, you might want to do the European plan. I liked the food we only ate somewhere else twice. The drinks were good too. The margaritas were stronger than expected. We had to ask for a little less liquor. That was a surprise....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

1. There are bikes for guest use which are free. They supply a lock. We went downtown with the bikes to avoid taxis. They are available until about 5:00. 2. There are various bar and grills along the beach going south. YOu can have a drink and snorkel for free. We snorkeled at our hotel, but liked the variety of stopping for a drink then a snorkel. Inexpensive and lots of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BTravlin
Business
Louisville, KY
Jul 28, 2009

Good value option

Stayed here for a full week while diving and enjoyed our stay. Hotel is clean with a nice mix of amenities and a very friendly, helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southamerican Patricia
Business
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Jul 14, 2009

Nice stay

We booked a 6 night stay at this hotel. It included a buffet breakfast which was very good. We were glad not to have the all inclusive since it gave us more flexibility as to where to have lunch and dinner and see more of the island. The hotel was clean enough, the employees were courteous, and it had a diving center just across the street that we used for a couple of days. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice vacation. An advantage was that the hotel was not too full due to low season and some fear of swine flu (completely unfounded).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ray from OKC
Business
OKC, OK
Jul 8, 2009

Hotel Cozumel and Resort - All inclusive

I have stayed at hotel cozumel and resort twice. It is a smaller resort property with only 175 rooms. Most rooms have a courtyard/pool view. Some rooms have a Ocean view. The hotel, like most in Cozumel is located on the main blvd in Cozumel. It is approximately 1.25 miles south of the main town square (downtown). The hotel rooms are located on the landside of the blvd. There is an underground tunnel in the lobby that connects under the blvd to the lunch cafe, bar, 'beach' and dive shop. The beaches in cozumel are almost exclusively manmade. Cozumel has an reef shore which is great for snorkeling, and scuba diving, but not for wading into water. However, many hotels, including this one have brought in sand and manufactured a beach area. However, this is mostly for lounging and sunbathing, and is not for traditional beach swimming. This is true in nearly every hotel in Cozumel. The service is very good. I recommend the All-Inclusive program, unless you are a very picky eater. If you do use the all-inclusive program I recommend tipping wait staff 1 dollar per person, per meal. The meals are buffet style and the waitstaff manage your drinks and any special requests. The waitstaff in Mexico, typically work mostly for tips and will work to earn them. There are 3 bars on the property. The beach area, The pool, and in the lobby. At the pool there is typically 1 waiter working the pool area. Again, a few dollars per person after a couple of hours of drink service will make sure that your glass is never empty. Tipping is not required, nor will ever be spoken of by the staff. However, I have found the staff to be very appreciative of it. The property itself is a little older, I would guess built in the early 90s. It is in good repair, however, it is in a coastal area and there is a constant effort of painting, tiling, or something going on. The salt air takes its toll, and the hotel does not look "new" - if that is important to you. I loved my stay, and will stay again. I recommend the flan, and coconut cake after dinner. I also recommend the chicken fajitas at lunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About 2 blocks from the hotel is a resteraunt called "Primas" it's on the top floor of another property facing the ocean. It's 1st class italian with many seafood options. A must see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cozumel 5 Times
Business
Arizona
Jun 29, 2009

Hotel Cozumel and Resort 3 Star ?

This is a good location for divers. the staff was not as friendly as they could be, halls were dirty and the place is in need of an upgrade. The beach was very nice and not crowded. Parking is a problem. I an used to staying at the Iberostar a 4+ Star resort, the only bad thing there is the beach is not as good for shore diving. All in all Hotel Cozumel was not that bad but if you want to impress your date, stay somewere else. if you want to shore dive and dont mind the 2 star rateing Hotel Cozumel would be a great place to stay. I would stay there again just because of the shore dive, Location and price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont do all inclusive shop at the store two blocks away and eat lunch and dinner in town off the main drag, THE FOOD was not only good the locals are super.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top