$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Hotel Cozumel and Resort

3 stars
Costera Sur KM 1.7, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
263 reviews
hotel Cozumel resort 10 the stay

Perfect , just perfect. Great staff, rooms, food. What more could you ask for. I spend about two... See full review

  • wetjed
  • Nov 9, 2014
Best hotel ever for ur money

Many 5 star hotels have equivalent features. A tad simpler than a 5 star but this hotel cannot be... See full review

  • dude2
  • Nov 3, 2014
Cozumel's largest swimming pool and private pier at luxurious resort
The heart of the colorful Hotel Cozumel and Resort is the swimming pool, which is the largest in Cozumel. However, the private pier from which guests dive right into the ocean is a highlight, too. All diving needs and wants are fully met on site via a PADI full-service center, Dive Paradise, which has been operating in Cozumel continuously since 1984. Families dive together or kids can hang back at the hotel's designated program.
Highlights
  • Dive Paradise includes a private pier and full-service PADI center
  • Largest swimming pool in Cozumel
  • Three on-site restaurants and lounge
  • Kid's program with supervised activities

 

Rooms
The 181 rooms in this coral-covered seaside majesty were remodeled in 2009; 10 of which are fully accessible. Accessible bathrooms feature a wheel-in shower with an adjustable orthopedic bench, shower, toilet security bars and accessible washbasin. The Hotel Cozumel and Resort also is equipped with ramps. Suites host up to four guests and have marble finished bathrooms with bathtubs, a dining area and a fully-equipped kitchen. Garden or pool view rooms boast private balconies.

 

Dining
The only guidelines for meals at the Hotel Cozumel and Resort are that guests wear shoes and dry clothes. Los Girasoles has an airy open seating area facing the ocean. Los Pericos Grill is poolside, serving snacks and beverages between 11 a.m. and 5 p.m.
Recreation
Divers visiting the hotel may use the on-site rinse tanks, hangers for draining diving gear, fresh water showers and the 150 lockers to keep all diving gear safe. The large swimming pool is used by the ChanKaanab underwater park's Dolphinarium as a hurricane shelter for its dolphins during tropical hurricane season.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2.9 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • Cozumel Photo Tour (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Isla de Pasion (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Alex Scuba (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

 

Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel, including poolside
  • Business center has two PC workstations
  • Meeting rooms available
Policies and fees
Fee to connect to Internet via hotel computers. Guide dogs and pets up to 15 pounds are welcome. Room service available from 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 p.m. for an additional fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.4991 -86.96
Area served
Cozumel, Quinta Roo. Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel International Airport
Area description
Surrounded by pristine white beaches and the beautiful turquoise-blue water of the Mexican Caribbean, Reefs cape COZUMEL provides the ideal combination of fun and relaxation. A unique doorway to a mystical relationship with Cozumel's ancient Mayan past and modern-day adventure and hospitality.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Cozumel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Cozumel and Resort Rooms

Garden View or Pool View with Private Balcony, 322 Sq.Ft
Newly remodeled air conditioned rooms overlooking the largest swimming pool in Cozumel. All are decorated in a contemporary style and bright Mexican fabrics. These rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, and touch tone telephone, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries. Non-smoking and adjoining rooms are available.
Ocean View with Private Balcony, 355 Sq.Ft
Beautifully remodeled air conditioned rooms overlooking the dazzling crystal clear Caribbean Sea. All are decorated in a contemporary style and bright Mexican fabrics. These rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, and touch tone telephone, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries. Non-smoking and adjoining rooms are available.
Handdicaped Room
Wheel in shower, adjustable orthopedic bench, security bars in the shower and toilet, washbasin wheel chair accessible, low beds, easy access to balcony. The hotel is equipped with ramps for ease of access to any building. Guide dogs are welcome. All rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including two double beds, Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, touch tone telephones, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Convention Center with capacity for 500 people, TV, VCR, projector and podium.

Dining

LOS PERICOS RESTAURANT
It serves snacks and beverages in a relaxing atmosphere by the largest pool of Cozumel. Hours service: 11:00 am – 5:00 pm.
LOS ARCOS RESTAURANT
It is the main restaurant located by the front desk, serving the perfect morning start buffet breakfast and dinner. Breakfast from 6:30 am – 10:30 am Dinner from 6:30 pm – 10:00 pm
LOBBY BAR
Offers a wide variety or domestic liquors and beer. A perfect place to watch a favorite sport or to play some of our table games. Open from 2:00 pm – 2:00 am
LOS GIRASOLES RESTAURANT
Enjoy an extraordinary ocean view during the lunch; this restaurant is open from 12:00 pm -4:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (263)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seawolf5
Business
Columbus, GA, USA
Nov 25, 2011

COZ Mission #9

My ninth trip to COZ, my eighth staying at the HCR, and it is what it is, there's no better place to stay. Close to town, nice rooms, food services, hotel activities, the whole package is great, that's why I stay there all the time, oh, the diving is super, too! Trying to coach (heavily) my scuba shop whereas instead of those other guys "up the road" we'll stay at the HCR from now on. Already planning my next mission, diver away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

2 to 5 minutes walking to the CHEDRAUI and MEGA marts for your shopping needs, and they have everything! Another 5 minutes and you are in town, so you can save money on taxis and get some exercise at the same time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BJAC
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Easy vacation - plenty to do and not to do....

Great for divers! Couldnt be more convenient. We enjoyed breakfast daily but didnt go for all inclusive...liked venturing into town for absolutely wonderful food/restaurants. Enjoyed staying by the pool after diving - bar service great! - kept away from big cruise ship days in town...too crazy. Would recommend this resort to friends and family alike.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Prima's-top floor of El Cid resort...great food, good specials, good happy hour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan R.
Business
Troy, MI, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Great for scuba

This hotel has a great location at a great price. It is a short walk downtown and right across the street from the beach. Scuba and snorkeling couldn't be more convenient. The staff was friendly and the activity crew was great. The food was good and had good variety. The rooms were clean and the pool was great. Overall, a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SAT and SHD
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Nov 6, 2011

At least we were in Cozumel.....

Stay dates: 10/30/2011 thru 11/05/2011 Overall the hotel just misses on almost everything. With a little effort on their part, it could be so much more. Upon arrival we had reservations for a pool view room and instead we got the parking lot view. Granted there was a slight ocean view but you were looking through the palm trees. The room appeared clean upon first look but the floors were dirty and the the drawers were musty smelling. The bed was as hard as concrete and the pillows were just as hard and resembled basketballs. I've never slept so bad in a hotel before. The next morning we asked about different pillows and were told that was all they had. Thank goodness for the store in town 'cause I went and bought my own! Another item of discontent was that for 4 of the 7 days we stayed, there was no hot water for showers. The resort is an all inclusive so the food and well drinks are included. The food was buffet style for each meal and was pretty good. The hotel was pretty empty when we first got there and at that time the drinks were good. But as the week went on they became more and more watered down. The pool is beautiful and clean. However it does need maintenance. Stains on the edges, missing some tiles, etc. The hot tub never worked the entire time. We arrived on Sunday and was told it would be running by Tuesday. Didn't happen! The staff was okay... some were very very helpful and others not so much. Several times we ordered drinks and no one ever came back with the drink. The location is in zone three and is fairly close to town. You can walk, should you choose to but its only a $6.00usd taxi ride to the passenger ferry area where the main square is and shopping. We are not divers but Dive Paradise is onsite and across the street. It's our understanding that this is a very well know establishment and a lot of divers stay at the hotel because of it. The hotel is not ocean front but does have an underground tunnel that goes below the street to the beach club side. The bar service is sporadic. Most of the time you have to go to the bar for service. We can't wait to go back to Cozumel but we won't be staying at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dkwixson
Business
Maumelle, AR, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Oct 8-15 dive group vacation

It's a great dive/family resort. Food was good. Wait staff was excellent! Dos xx lager on tap always cold!!! Get a pool view room. Beach area across road was great! Nice swim area. Dive lockers beside pier with fresh water wash tanks. Plenty of room to hang up gear to dry. We always use pepe's scuba for diving. They picked us up every am at 9 on the pier. Best dive shop on island! Abdias is a great dive master! Cozumel digital creations for underwater dive video. Look for ours on YouTube. Cozumel scuba 2011 or Cozumel digital creations. This is a laid back dive resort. Mostly buffets for food and walk up bar service. We had several picky eaters in our group and everyone always found something to eat. The lime soup and tomatoa soup are both great!!! If you want full menu meals and wait staff skip this place.the cozumel palace is 1/4 mile toward town and double the price go there for 5 star service. Everyone is in dive gear or swimtrunks here. Activities were fun but it's not a full production like a cruise ship. Quiet most of the time. Activity staff did a very good job with dance lessons and daily water volleyball. Pool side grill will cook anything u like just ask. Fish tacos fajitas cheese burger etc... Make sure and book all inclusive before you arrive otherwise it's about $70 per room per day extra. We paid $100 a day with orbits for 7 days all inclusive king room. Wifi is great in lobby and around pool. It's pretty good in rooms. We were able to use skype video to call home with no problems. 5 min walk to the mega or jimmy buffets and 10 min walk to shopping area. Or $4-6 cab ride anywhere downtown area. If you have a problem the hotel staff will bend over backwards to resolve it. However they cannot and will not negotiate prices if you make a mistake or orbits makes a mistake in booking. Make sure you book what you want before you leave home!!!!!!! All in all great vacation and we will be back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Pepe's scuba center Great dive operation small boats of 6-8 divers. No cattle boats. Cozumel digital creations for dive video. Look for our video on YouTube. Cozumel scuba 2011. Miguel is a great underwater videographer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
McGeady
Business
Cleveland, OH, USA
Sep 25, 2011

As always!

We have stayed at Hotel Cozumel many times over the years and have always enjoyed this hotel. The staff treats you like family and is very helpful and accommodating. The food is not first class, but is very good and there is usually a variety to choose from. the rooms are in the process of being upgraded and the housekeeping staff does a great job of keeping them clean. The location is perfect for walking downtown. The beach/snorkeling area was great! We went down every morning at 7:30 to snorkel before the dive boats came in. The service at the pool was excellent. They did a great job of anticipating your needs and were quick to fill your drink or clear away dirty dishes and empties.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you make it to the other side of the island. It is not as populated, the views are fantastic and there are several bar/restaurants that are lots of fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
newt
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Very Nice Stay

I really Hotel Cozumel and have stayed there at least 5 times over the years.The staff is what makes it great for me from the front desk to the cleaning staff.The food is not great but adequate and enough choices for most people.The place is super clean and the location is great.I will be back in January.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bobalouie
Business
Dallas, TX.
Aug 23, 2011

Great for Divers

Rooms were clean, cool, and comfortable. The only down side is the food - the breakfast buffet was included, but I didn't like the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Rock'N'Java. Excellent food, good service, nice atmosphere, reasonable prices. Located next to Navy base.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Woody
Business
California
Aug 16, 2011

Unpretentious, friendly place

This was our second stay at this hotel. The staff could not be friendlier, the entertainment team do a perfect job of organizing fun activities throughout the day for all ages, the pool is large enough never to feel overcrowded. We were on the bed and breakfast plan, and breakfast offers excellent fresh fruit in addition to all the staples of continental, Mexican and North American dishes.We love the location because of the excellent beach diving and snorkeling from the hotel's beach. we also love the fact that it is not downtown, so it has a more relaxed atmosphere to it. The dive shop also has the friendliest staff. We definitely recommend it to anybody who does not require a five star resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Do not go to the tourist restaurants around the main square downtown or along the beach if too close to downtown. Take the back streets and find where the locals eat, such as El Foco for excellent tacos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cozumel jim
Business
new york
Aug 14, 2011

great hotel for divers

great location.Food good but could improve on the derserts.Breakfast then to the dock at the hotel for diving .get off the boat lunch ready.Very convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top