$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Hotel Cozumel and Resort

3 stars
View map of Costera Sur KM 1.7, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
249 out of 249
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BJAC
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Easy vacation - plenty to do and not to do....

Great for divers! Couldnt be more convenient. We enjoyed breakfast daily but didnt go for all inclusive...liked venturing into town for absolutely wonderful food/restaurants. Enjoyed staying by the pool after diving - bar service great! - kept away from big cruise ship days in town...too crazy. Would recommend this resort to friends and family alike.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Prima's-top floor of El Cid resort...great food, good specials, good happy hour.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan R.
Business
Troy, MI, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Great for scuba

This hotel has a great location at a great price. It is a short walk downtown and right across the street from the beach. Scuba and snorkeling couldn't be more convenient. The staff was friendly and the activity crew was great. The food was good and had good variety. The rooms were clean and the pool was great. Overall, a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SAT and SHD
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Nov 6, 2011

At least we were in Cozumel.....

Stay dates: 10/30/2011 thru 11/05/2011 Overall the hotel just misses on almost everything. With a little effort on their part, it could be so much more. Upon arrival we had reservations for a pool view room and instead we got the parking lot view. Granted there was a slight ocean view but you were looking through the palm trees. The room appeared clean upon first look but the floors were dirty and the the drawers were musty smelling. The bed was as hard as concrete and the pillows were just as hard and resembled basketballs. I've never slept so bad in a hotel before. The next morning we asked about different pillows and were told that was all they had. Thank goodness for the store in town 'cause I went and bought my own! Another item of discontent was that for 4 of the 7 days we stayed, there was no hot water for showers. The resort is an all inclusive so the food and well drinks are included. The food was buffet style for each meal and was pretty good. The hotel was pretty empty when we first got there and at that time the drinks were good. But as the week went on they became more and more watered down. The pool is beautiful and clean. However it does need maintenance. Stains on the edges, missing some tiles, etc. The hot tub never worked the entire time. We arrived on Sunday and was told it would be running by Tuesday. Didn't happen! The staff was okay... some were very very helpful and others not so much. Several times we ordered drinks and no one ever came back with the drink. The location is in zone three and is fairly close to town. You can walk, should you choose to but its only a $6.00usd taxi ride to the passenger ferry area where the main square is and shopping. We are not divers but Dive Paradise is onsite and across the street. It's our understanding that this is a very well know establishment and a lot of divers stay at the hotel because of it. The hotel is not ocean front but does have an underground tunnel that goes below the street to the beach club side. The bar service is sporadic. Most of the time you have to go to the bar for service. We can't wait to go back to Cozumel but we won't be staying at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dkwixson
Business
Maumelle, AR, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Oct 8-15 dive group vacation

It's a great dive/family resort. Food was good. Wait staff was excellent! Dos xx lager on tap always cold!!! Get a pool view room. Beach area across road was great! Nice swim area. Dive lockers beside pier with fresh water wash tanks. Plenty of room to hang up gear to dry. We always use pepe's scuba for diving. They picked us up every am at 9 on the pier. Best dive shop on island! Abdias is a great dive master! Cozumel digital creations for underwater dive video. Look for ours on YouTube. Cozumel scuba 2011 or Cozumel digital creations. This is a laid back dive resort. Mostly buffets for food and walk up bar service. We had several picky eaters in our group and everyone always found something to eat. The lime soup and tomatoa soup are both great!!! If you want full menu meals and wait staff skip this place.the cozumel palace is 1/4 mile toward town and double the price go there for 5 star service. Everyone is in dive gear or swimtrunks here. Activities were fun but it's not a full production like a cruise ship. Quiet most of the time. Activity staff did a very good job with dance lessons and daily water volleyball. Pool side grill will cook anything u like just ask. Fish tacos fajitas cheese burger etc... Make sure and book all inclusive before you arrive otherwise it's about $70 per room per day extra. We paid $100 a day with orbits for 7 days all inclusive king room. Wifi is great in lobby and around pool. It's pretty good in rooms. We were able to use skype video to call home with no problems. 5 min walk to the mega or jimmy buffets and 10 min walk to shopping area. Or $4-6 cab ride anywhere downtown area. If you have a problem the hotel staff will bend over backwards to resolve it. However they cannot and will not negotiate prices if you make a mistake or orbits makes a mistake in booking. Make sure you book what you want before you leave home!!!!!!! All in all great vacation and we will be back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Pepe's scuba center Great dive operation small boats of 6-8 divers. No cattle boats. Cozumel digital creations for dive video. Look for our video on YouTube. Cozumel scuba 2011. Miguel is a great underwater videographer.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
McGeady
Business
Cleveland, OH, USA
Sep 25, 2011

As always!

We have stayed at Hotel Cozumel many times over the years and have always enjoyed this hotel. The staff treats you like family and is very helpful and accommodating. The food is not first class, but is very good and there is usually a variety to choose from. the rooms are in the process of being upgraded and the housekeeping staff does a great job of keeping them clean. The location is perfect for walking downtown. The beach/snorkeling area was great! We went down every morning at 7:30 to snorkel before the dive boats came in. The service at the pool was excellent. They did a great job of anticipating your needs and were quick to fill your drink or clear away dirty dishes and empties.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you make it to the other side of the island. It is not as populated, the views are fantastic and there are several bar/restaurants that are lots of fun!

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
newt
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Very Nice Stay

I really Hotel Cozumel and have stayed there at least 5 times over the years.The staff is what makes it great for me from the front desk to the cleaning staff.The food is not great but adequate and enough choices for most people.The place is super clean and the location is great.I will be back in January.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
newt
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Very Nice Stay

I really Hotel Cozumel and have stayed there at least 5 times over the years.The staff is what makes it great for me from the front desk to the cleaning staff.The food is not great but adequate and enough choices for most people.The place is super clean and the location is great.I will be back in January.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bobalouie
Business
Dallas, TX.
Aug 23, 2011

Great for Divers

Rooms were clean, cool, and comfortable. The only down side is the food - the breakfast buffet was included, but I didn't like the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Rock'N'Java. Excellent food, good service, nice atmosphere, reasonable prices. Located next to Navy base.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Woody
Business
California
Aug 16, 2011

Unpretentious, friendly place

This was our second stay at this hotel. The staff could not be friendlier, the entertainment team do a perfect job of organizing fun activities throughout the day for all ages, the pool is large enough never to feel overcrowded. We were on the bed and breakfast plan, and breakfast offers excellent fresh fruit in addition to all the staples of continental, Mexican and North American dishes.We love the location because of the excellent beach diving and snorkeling from the hotel's beach. we also love the fact that it is not downtown, so it has a more relaxed atmosphere to it. The dive shop also has the friendliest staff. We definitely recommend it to anybody who does not require a five star resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Do not go to the tourist restaurants around the main square downtown or along the beach if too close to downtown. Take the back streets and find where the locals eat, such as El Foco for excellent tacos.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cozumel jim
Business
new york
Aug 14, 2011

great hotel for divers

great location.Food good but could improve on the derserts.Breakfast then to the dock at the hotel for diving .get off the boat lunch ready.Very convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top