$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

3 stars
View map of Carr. Playa San Juan Km 2.5, Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel, 76600

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. me26
here
Mar 27, 2012

Reluctant to Rave after 2nd stay

I'd like to keep this place my own little secret so it stays quiet. Just busy enough to stay open. Very friendly and within spitting distance (but please don't) of the water with their own little lagoon in which I just videoed a trumpetfish, small stingray, parrotfishes etc etc.....no...wait a minute...it was a large... veerrry large stingray, probably a maneater. Better you stay at one of the resorts, on the 16th floor and across the street from the water with a nice view of some 20 storey cruise ships for twice the money. Go figure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coz lover
Business
mn
Mar 15, 2011

Best Kept Secret

Quiet location on the ocean. Hotel staff is exceptional making sure your visit is comfortable. If you are looking for the best value this is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sussex, WI
Feb 28, 2011

Hotel Fontan Cozumel

The Fontan was a medium class hotel but what we expected. Rooms were large, bath was standard, service excellent. Needed a refrigerator and microwave to make complete. Pool was shallow for dive school but adaquate for swimming and sunning. Location was 3 miles from downtown, had to make many $6 taxi trips. Little other stores or foods near hotel. Biggest negative was hotel located on side of island with no beaches. Did not like to dive into deep water for swimming in ocean. Was great for divers, we did not swim near hotel. Compared to other hotels we stayed in Mexico it was 3 star or less. But we enjoyed the quite atmosphere and great view. Would stay here again if a refrigerator were available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

For great swimming you must travel to other side of island. Can drive or rent taxi service. Beaches are sand and surf, not crowded.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WESLEY CHAPEL,FL.
Feb 5, 2011

THE NEW MANAGEMENT REALLY CARES!!!!!!!!!

THE FONTAN IS UNDER GOING A RENOVATION AND NAME CHANGE.THE MANAGEMENT REALLY CARES AND EVEN THE SWEET CLEANING LADY SPEAKS GOOD ENGLISH.PERFECT LOCATION AWAY FROM THE CROWDS,ALL BALCONY ROOMS WITH GREAT SUNSETS AND GOOD SNORKELING.ORDER FISH A DAY AHEAD AND YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED. THE PRICE WAS GREAT,BUT I HAVE A FEELING IT MIGHT GET A LITTLE MORE EXPENSIVE AFTER THE RENOVATION.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

STAY OUT OF THE TOURIST ZONE AND DINE LOCALLY.GO TO 30TH AVE.THERE ARE LOTS OF RESTAURANTS WHERE YOU CAN GET FRESH FISH,TACOS,FAJITAS,ETC AT 1/2 OR 1/3 LESS.TRY PARILLO MISSION AS WELL AS THE WELL LIT LITTLE MEXICAN EATERIES AND ENJOY!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oceanside ,ca
Jan 21, 2011

a great place to stay

Scuba diving vacation,in front of hotel was ok,for a shore dive some current but do able. Beautiful view,nice hotel dive store staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

great food, very small protions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
my2angelsof2005
Business
San Antonio,Texas
Aug 9, 2010

Hotel From Hell

[...].My 28 year old in her room with husband had sink fall thru on footMy room had mold galore,bugs in bed,very unhealthy to stay in we did have to find other room on our own in a foreign country without any help but lucky I brought my computer.I did end up sick with a Dr's visit to other hotelfrom germs I probably got from this nasty hotel... With no other choice to spend 1 night here..Now back home planning to have surgery on 12th but have to back for another Dr's visit to make sure I'm well enough to have surgeryDo not book this hotel!!![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr Falanski
Business
Waterloo, Iowa
Jul 27, 2010

Way nice.

This is a hotel, not a resort, so that is what you get... but it is an excellent value with a spectacular view and good snorkeling a few feet away. I go to places like this to telecommute without spending a bunch of money. Fontan was just what I wanted, except wireless access is only available in the pleasant, but unairconditioned lobby. The housekeeper did a superb job and did amazing towel animal sculptures with fresh flowers… very cool! The onsite dive shop is minimal, but they will provide any instruction you may need and will hook you up with some local divers and boats that are a lot more fun than the big dive shop trips. Breakfast was minimal. Fruit coffee and toast, but nonetheless pleasant. Fontan has the usual Mexican plumbing issues… slow drains without traps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
steamboat springs, colorado
Jul 27, 2010

Boutique no nonsense

We have been traveling to cozumel for 20 years, and miss the old small hotels that were like staying with family. We finally found that in Hotel Fontan. The staff welcomed us as if they had known us for years, and were helpful with anything we needed assistance with. The view is exquisite, quiet and peaceful. It is clean quiet, and basic with excellent air conditioning. If you can't stand to see a single bug, or expect everything to look brand new, this is not the place for you. Very open and inviting--we were able to have friends over for the day and no one cared. You cannot do that in just any place in Mexico--if you're not a paying guest, you can't hang out. Restaurant only open for breakfast when we were there, but we arranged to have lunch cooked for us and our guests no problem. So close to town, and the commisary/grocery, no need for a restaurant, really-just bring your cooler, load it up and hang by the pool/ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kingsport, TN
Jun 17, 2010

Fontan

Extremely clean, great free breakfast, would stay again but have heard from local people living there that it is to be a gay/lesbian hotel. Will check into this before next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
austin, tx
May 17, 2010

Great location for the price

The hotel restaurant closed at 2:00pm every day but the food was very good. We preferred to go into town for dinner anyway so that was not a problem. The room was clean but when the housekeeper mopped it was with a filthy mop and that made it impossible to walk barefoot inside without your feet getting dirty. The beds were too soft and they sank in the middle making it hard to sleep with each other. The pool was full of kids for hours and I do not feel that their maintenance was sufficient to keep it clean so we never swam in it - it was full of algae. The entry to the ocean was excellent and the reef provided very good snorkeling. The staff was excellent and very, very friendly and helpful. We rented mopeds for 5 days and they had the lowest rate of any place we checked on the island. Also, [...], the diving/snorkeling staff, were very professional and knowledgeable. The view from the hotel was gorgeous and it was a short 5 minute ride to town on the mopeds with snorkeling out our back door! We were happy especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
supper saver
Business
charlestown in
May 7, 2010

not bad

a few days hot water was hard to find

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top