Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

3 stars
View map of Carr. Playa San Juan Km 2.5, Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel, 76600

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oceanside ,ca
Jan 21, 2011

a great place to stay

Scuba diving vacation,in front of hotel was ok,for a shore dive some current but do able. Beautiful view,nice hotel dive store staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

great food, very small protions

Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
my2angelsof2005
Business
San Antonio,Texas
Aug 9, 2010

Hotel From Hell

[...].My 28 year old in her room with husband had sink fall thru on footMy room had mold galore,bugs in bed,very unhealthy to stay in we did have to find other room on our own in a foreign country without any help but lucky I brought my computer.I did end up sick with a Dr's visit to other hotelfrom germs I probably got from this nasty hotel... With no other choice to spend 1 night here..Now back home planning to have surgery on 12th but have to back for another Dr's visit to make sure I'm well enough to have surgeryDo not book this hotel!!![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr Falanski
Business
Waterloo, Iowa
Jul 27, 2010

Way nice.

This is a hotel, not a resort, so that is what you get... but it is an excellent value with a spectacular view and good snorkeling a few feet away. I go to places like this to telecommute without spending a bunch of money. Fontan was just what I wanted, except wireless access is only available in the pleasant, but unairconditioned lobby. The housekeeper did a superb job and did amazing towel animal sculptures with fresh flowers… very cool! The onsite dive shop is minimal, but they will provide any instruction you may need and will hook you up with some local divers and boats that are a lot more fun than the big dive shop trips. Breakfast was minimal. Fruit coffee and toast, but nonetheless pleasant. Fontan has the usual Mexican plumbing issues… slow drains without traps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
steamboat springs, colorado
Jul 27, 2010

Boutique no nonsense

We have been traveling to cozumel for 20 years, and miss the old small hotels that were like staying with family. We finally found that in Hotel Fontan. The staff welcomed us as if they had known us for years, and were helpful with anything we needed assistance with. The view is exquisite, quiet and peaceful. It is clean quiet, and basic with excellent air conditioning. If you can't stand to see a single bug, or expect everything to look brand new, this is not the place for you. Very open and inviting--we were able to have friends over for the day and no one cared. You cannot do that in just any place in Mexico--if you're not a paying guest, you can't hang out. Restaurant only open for breakfast when we were there, but we arranged to have lunch cooked for us and our guests no problem. So close to town, and the commisary/grocery, no need for a restaurant, really-just bring your cooler, load it up and hang by the pool/ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kingsport, TN
Jun 17, 2010

Fontan

Extremely clean, great free breakfast, would stay again but have heard from local people living there that it is to be a gay/lesbian hotel. Will check into this before next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
austin, tx
May 17, 2010

Great location for the price

The hotel restaurant closed at 2:00pm every day but the food was very good. We preferred to go into town for dinner anyway so that was not a problem. The room was clean but when the housekeeper mopped it was with a filthy mop and that made it impossible to walk barefoot inside without your feet getting dirty. The beds were too soft and they sank in the middle making it hard to sleep with each other. The pool was full of kids for hours and I do not feel that their maintenance was sufficient to keep it clean so we never swam in it - it was full of algae. The entry to the ocean was excellent and the reef provided very good snorkeling. The staff was excellent and very, very friendly and helpful. We rented mopeds for 5 days and they had the lowest rate of any place we checked on the island. Also, [...], the diving/snorkeling staff, were very professional and knowledgeable. The view from the hotel was gorgeous and it was a short 5 minute ride to town on the mopeds with snorkeling out our back door! We were happy especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
supper saver
Business
charlestown in
May 7, 2010

not bad

a few days hot water was hard to find

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New parents that had a break ;o)
Business
Stevens Point, WI
Apr 11, 2010

Every room has a view!

Just as we expected from other reviews, not a posh place, but the views are wonderful, kept very clean, friendly staff, [...] our waiter and [...] our housekeeper were great- don't forget to tip! For the continental breakfast you get toast and fruit plate or juice (not both) or you can order more from menu- decent food. Awesome that you can snorkel right out in front of hotel, there's entry steps and everything. IF you want all inclusive feel, this is not it- but it is quiet and clean and for the price it can't be beat! P.S. Bring own washcloths, as a result of linens probably being stolen, there was only one washcloth and sometimes none, but always towels and hand towel-weird, but only a minor inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get whole chicken dinner from local BBQ's on main streets in town, only like 7 USD for whole chicken and the fixin's. Also, when driving in town, the bigger vehicles have the right of way, not mopeds or pedestrians. ALWAYS HAGGLE WITH VENDORS- you're supposed to- otherwise you'll pay 5-10 times the real price. Don't be afraid to say no. Also, you can make eating cheaper by getting snacks at grocery stores and little convenience stores all over town. With continental breakfast at hotel and snacks, we only bought one meal a day.

Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LLB
Business
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Mar 25, 2010

Paradise in Mexico

We wanted an affordable hotel room off the beaten path, we got that and more. The staff was helpful, friendly and went out of their way to make us happy. The breakfast, although small, was perfect before a day of diving, and found that bread and fruit is a cultural experience in Cozumel. Clean room, honest, hardworking people for staff, loved it loved it loved it, would return for another visit. Safe Safe Safe.... Also, they have a dive shop and an excellent divemaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy a cooler and water by the 5 gallon size at the local Mega Mart and know that all of Cozumel does not drink their running water, not just visitors.

Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dave Schnedler
Business
Minneapolis, Mn
Mar 16, 2010

Great location,price. Fantastic view!

This is the second time we stayed at Fontan. Location,price is our main concern. The employees are friendly and polite. It is a no frills hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top