Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

3 stars
Carr. Playa San Juan Km 2.5, Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel, 76600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
89 reviews
A place to relax

Hotel B is a really nice small hotel. The staff is amazing -- they are extremely attentive and seem... See full review

  • California Jack
  • Jul 5, 2014
Great hotel, service and views

Hotel B was fantastic! The hotel is very nice and also very comfortable. The staff is very... See full review

  • Fish50
  • Mar 1, 2013
Caribbean can be seen from every room’s balcony and is 30 steps away
All of the Hotel B Cozumel hotel’s 46 guest rooms offer views the white sands of the Caribbean from a private balcony. Guests walk just 30 steps to view the ocean from between their toes. The hotel has a pier for divers, a saltwater pool and infinity pool for children and adults, a dive shop and offers tours around the island. The in-house restaurant and bar, Acuario, serves a la carte dishes and drinks. Rooms are climate-controlled and Wi-Fi is available. Downtown Cozumel and the airport are both 10 minutes away.
Highlights
  • An ocean view from every room’s private balcony
  • 30 steps to the ocean
  • Dive shop and pier for divers
  • Hotel-led island tours
  • Ocean and infinity pool on site
Rooms
All of the 46 guest rooms in the four-story Hotel B Cozumel have ocean views, and can accommodate guests in singles, pairs or triples. All the accommodations are standard; the rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone, bathroom, closet and bureau. Wi-Fi is available.
Features
The Hotel B Cozumel has a pier for divers, a saltwater pool and infinity pool for children and adults, a dive shop and offers tours around the island. The in-house restaurant and bar, Acuario, serves a la carte dishes and drinks. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cozumel (6 mi/9.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi in rooms
Policies and fees
Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rates may change throughout stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.5435 -86.9327
Area served
Cozumel.
Nearby airports
Cozumel International Airport (CZM) is situated only 10 minutes from the hotel.
Area description
The hotel is located in the northern part of the island, only 10 minutes away from the city center where you will find nightlife, shops and boutiques and a variety of eating establishments.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea Rooms

Junior Suite
Enjoy some magnificent days in a loft-style room with ocean view and a spacious balcony. It has a King size bed, flat screen TV, minibar, electronic safe-deposit, living room, hot-tub and an excellent bar to celebrate with a bottle of champagne an anniversary, a birthday or simply being in paradise with the best company. You can ask for a romantic three-course dinner in your balcony or loft.
Suite
Just nice. This room features a King size bed facing the ocean so that you can enjoy the marvelous views of the Caribbean from the comfort of your bed and down pillows. This is part of the Jr. suite that offers an extra room with a double bed and private bathroom. Is our MASTER SUITE, Excellent for families
Ocean View Deluxe
Just remodeled; with a King size bed facing the ocean so that you can enjoy the marvelous views of the Caribbean from the comfort of your bed and down pillows. 8 of these rooms have two double beds. You can choose to have a flat screen TV or else disconnect from the everyday life and enjoy the nature, nice music and your privacy without a TV. Each room has its own style and a different kind of living room: it can range from a set of modern Mexican armchairs, a small retro living room or a low Japanese-style living room. The rooms have an electronic safe-deposit and fresh fruit basket at arrival. If you are celebrating a special occasion, please let us now so that we can prepare something special for you.
Ocean View
The rooms are extensive with a fantastic view and a private balcony or terrace. They have 2 double beds, a small table or living room, dressing table, spacious bathrooms and the amenities previously mentioned. Each room has its own taste and charm. The rooms accommodate max 2 adults and 2 children. A third adult can be accommodated with an extra charge.
Jungle View
We acknowledge that most of our clients desire ocean view. However, Cozumels jungle is like a widespread green carpet that is worth taking a look. The freshness of the decoration and rooms colors create a pleasant ambience. These rooms have one double bed. Recommended for one or two people.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Costenito Bistro
Our restaurant is a fusion of contemporary cuisine with regional touches. The specialty is seafood but we have for all tastes. The best, more than 10 ways of making ceviche from different Coasts of Mexico, and the "specials of the day". The atmosphere is retro and relaxed with a terrace facing the sea which invites you to enjoy the beautiful scenery and delightful flavors. The dcor is contemporary with elegant dashes of Mexican arts and crafts. At night the candle-lights create a more romantic setting. Open daily from 7am to 11pm
Bar Bacan
A small shack with the best cocktails of the island. It is placed in a strategic spot right by the pool, close to the Jacuzzi and the hammock lounge. It offers service all day long until 12pm. You can enjoy a large range of mojitos and cocktails or a simple ice cold beer with some delicious snacks.
Lounge Punta Beleza
A wooden deck right by the sea that evolves as the day passes by. In the morning we offer yoga lessons and an ideal space for meditation and relaxation with the sound of the sea. In the evening it transforms into a hammock lounge where you can watch the sunset, and good music, and dancing. Some evenings it will turn into an open air cinema; others it will be a relaxed casino or a bohemian bar under the light of the moon. Open every day from 8am to 12pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
steamboat springs, colorado
Jul 27, 2010

Boutique no nonsense

We have been traveling to cozumel for 20 years, and miss the old small hotels that were like staying with family. We finally found that in Hotel Fontan. The staff welcomed us as if they had known us for years, and were helpful with anything we needed assistance with. The view is exquisite, quiet and peaceful. It is clean quiet, and basic with excellent air conditioning. If you can't stand to see a single bug, or expect everything to look brand new, this is not the place for you. Very open and inviting--we were able to have friends over for the day and no one cared. You cannot do that in just any place in Mexico--if you're not a paying guest, you can't hang out. Restaurant only open for breakfast when we were there, but we arranged to have lunch cooked for us and our guests no problem. So close to town, and the commisary/grocery, no need for a restaurant, really-just bring your cooler, load it up and hang by the pool/ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr Falanski
Waterloo, Iowa
Jul 27, 2010

Way nice.

This is a hotel, not a resort, so that is what you get... but it is an excellent value with a spectacular view and good snorkeling a few feet away. I go to places like this to telecommute without spending a bunch of money. Fontan was just what I wanted, except wireless access is only available in the pleasant, but unairconditioned lobby. The housekeeper did a superb job and did amazing towel animal sculptures with fresh flowers… very cool! The onsite dive shop is minimal, but they will provide any instruction you may need and will hook you up with some local divers and boats that are a lot more fun than the big dive shop trips. Breakfast was minimal. Fruit coffee and toast, but nonetheless pleasant. Fontan has the usual Mexican plumbing issues… slow drains without traps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
steamboat springs, colorado
Jul 27, 2010

Boutique no nonsense

We have been traveling to cozumel for 20 years, and miss the old small hotels that were like staying with family. We finally found that in Hotel Fontan. The staff welcomed us as if they had known us for years, and were helpful with anything we needed assistance with. The view is exquisite, quiet and peaceful. It is clean quiet, and basic with excellent air conditioning. If you can't stand to see a single bug, or expect everything to look brand new, this is not the place for you. Very open and inviting--we were able to have friends over for the day and no one cared. You cannot do that in just any place in Mexico--if you're not a paying guest, you can't hang out. Restaurant only open for breakfast when we were there, but we arranged to have lunch cooked for us and our guests no problem. So close to town, and the commisary/grocery, no need for a restaurant, really-just bring your cooler, load it up and hang by the pool/ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kingsport, TN
Jun 17, 2010

Fontan

Extremely clean, great free breakfast, would stay again but have heard from local people living there that it is to be a gay/lesbian hotel. Will check into this before next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kingsport, TN
Jun 17, 2010

Fontan

Extremely clean, great free breakfast, would stay again but have heard from local people living there that it is to be a gay/lesbian hotel. Will check into this before next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
austin, tx
May 17, 2010

Great location for the price

The hotel restaurant closed at 2:00pm every day but the food was very good. We preferred to go into town for dinner anyway so that was not a problem. The room was clean but when the housekeeper mopped it was with a filthy mop and that made it impossible to walk barefoot inside without your feet getting dirty. The beds were too soft and they sank in the middle making it hard to sleep with each other. The pool was full of kids for hours and I do not feel that their maintenance was sufficient to keep it clean so we never swam in it - it was full of algae. The entry to the ocean was excellent and the reef provided very good snorkeling. The staff was excellent and very, very friendly and helpful. We rented mopeds for 5 days and they had the lowest rate of any place we checked on the island. Also, [...], the diving/snorkeling staff, were very professional and knowledgeable. The view from the hotel was gorgeous and it was a short 5 minute ride to town on the mopeds with snorkeling out our back door! We were happy especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
austin, tx
May 17, 2010

Great location for the price

The hotel restaurant closed at 2:00pm every day but the food was very good. We preferred to go into town for dinner anyway so that was not a problem. The room was clean but when the housekeeper mopped it was with a filthy mop and that made it impossible to walk barefoot inside without your feet getting dirty. The beds were too soft and they sank in the middle making it hard to sleep with each other. The pool was full of kids for hours and I do not feel that their maintenance was sufficient to keep it clean so we never swam in it - it was full of algae. The entry to the ocean was excellent and the reef provided very good snorkeling. The staff was excellent and very, very friendly and helpful. We rented mopeds for 5 days and they had the lowest rate of any place we checked on the island. Also, [...], the diving/snorkeling staff, were very professional and knowledgeable. The view from the hotel was gorgeous and it was a short 5 minute ride to town on the mopeds with snorkeling out our back door! We were happy especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
supper saver
charlestown in
May 7, 2010

not bad

a few days hot water was hard to find

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
supper saver
charlestown in
May 7, 2010

not bad

a few days hot water was hard to find

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel B Cozumel Boutique by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New parents that had a break ;o)
Stevens Point, WI
Apr 11, 2010

Every room has a view!

Just as we expected from other reviews, not a posh place, but the views are wonderful, kept very clean, friendly staff, [...] our waiter and [...] our housekeeper were great- don't forget to tip! For the continental breakfast you get toast and fruit plate or juice (not both) or you can order more from menu- decent food. Awesome that you can snorkel right out in front of hotel, there's entry steps and everything. IF you want all inclusive feel, this is not it- but it is quiet and clean and for the price it can't be beat! P.S. Bring own washcloths, as a result of linens probably being stolen, there was only one washcloth and sometimes none, but always towels and hand towel-weird, but only a minor inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get whole chicken dinner from local BBQ's on main streets in town, only like 7 USD for whole chicken and the fixin's. Also, when driving in town, the bigger vehicles have the right of way, not mopeds or pedestrians. ALWAYS HAGGLE WITH VENDORS- you're supposed to- otherwise you'll pay 5-10 times the real price. Don't be afraid to say no. Also, you can make eating cheaper by getting snacks at grocery stores and little convenience stores all over town. With continental breakfast at hotel and snacks, we only bought one meal a day.

Back to menu Return to top