$192 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 13, 2015 Check-out: May 16, 2015

El Cozumeleno Beach Front Resort-All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Playa Santa Pilar KM. 4.5, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Cozumeleno Beach Front Resort-All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
492 out of 492
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cozumeleno Beach Front Resort-All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kendrafogs
Business
Sheffield lake, oh
Feb 5, 2014

Good value, definitely gets the job done

Me and my husband stayed here for 5 days in January. There were some really great parts about the stay and then some areas that could use some work. It was an excellent value, though. Highlights include that MOST of the staff is very friendly. They also work very hard. The rooms are nice, we had a very large room with a perfect ocean view and were very pleased with it. It was clean. There was a decent variety of food- if you are very easy going about what you eat you won't have an issue. The beach and snorkeling was nice. The beach isn't huge but it gets the job done. Some of the weaknesses were the amount of activities. The bike tour was ridiculous (the bicycles and helmets were unsafe and very beat up) and just went down the street at like 2 mph. They have "beach crazy game" every day which was apparently just trying to get people to dance. One night there was the mexican show which was AMAZING, we would have loved more of that. I don't believe the "disco" existed. Don't expect fun nightlife. The food was not great for us, because we just eat seafood (not meat). Very limited. One morning we watched the girl making omelettes mix the raw eggs with her fingers (repeatedly) and then got ham all over all the omelettes. I was okay with going home after that experience! We had chilly weather and not only was the pool freezing but the hot tubs were freezing. After a couple nights one of them heated up but then it was actually too hot to sit in. That stunk. The drinks are watered down and not great. Some of the staff are not as friendly as you may want- even with the dollars flying! The location is far from much of the island. Expect an 8 cab ride, one way, minimum. Often over 20. Nothing within walking distance. Be very very careful with the hotel activities desk. We had an awful situation in which they tricked us about an activities package. We ended up getting a refund but it messed up an entire day and was a serious hassle. Try to work with your travel agent on site instead. The nice restaurant reservations are sooo limited. Good luck with that! Buy bottled water at the town- it's 25 for a case at the hotel. Reserve a lawn chair early in the day- the good ones get taken fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

They will trick you at the airport into a timeshare pitch. Keep walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cozumeleno Beach Front Resort-All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
y363061
Business
Bellingham, WA, USA
Feb 4, 2014

Average

Nothing here really blew me away except the location. The "fancy" restaurant is close to impossible to get reservations at unless you want to eat at 5 or 9 pm. The beach is nice and there is lots of wildlife around. The buffet was terrible but I expected that. Cozumel itself is an great little island, but if I returned, I would probably stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Coconuts on the wild side of the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cozumeleno Beach Front Resort-All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mbperry
Business
St Paul, MN
Feb 2, 2014

Great location and views.

The location was great. Snorkeling right in front of hotel and amazing ocean views from rooms. The hotel was fine nothing amazing. The food could use a little work but ok. Overall it was a good place to stay and met most of our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cozumeleno Beach Front Resort-All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hooked on Cozumel
Business
Southern Indidan
Jan 31, 2014

Island Pardise

We did not get the transportation package to the resort this trip and getting a shuttle from the airport was not a big deal. It cost $12.50 per person, which is better than travel sites charging $45. Checking in at the resort was simple, although our room was not ready at the time, they made sure our luggage was taken care of while we roamed the property and ate. The food was good and had many choices for any taste, however I thought it was nothing extraordinary. There was food all the time no matter the time of day. Rooms are spacious, and from our room the view was beautiful. The ocean was clear and the sounds of small waves was soothing. We were on the 4th floor, which put us at the top of the palm trees for a perfect view. Room clean, bed comfortable, hot water a little slow sometimes, but overall very nice! While we were there we parasailed, dinner sunset cruise on the pirate ship, shopped, and went deep sea fishing. Suggestion on the shopping, or other activities, most will put deposit on credit card but rest is cash, they do not like credit cards, if you have cash you can get better deals. This was our second trip to Cozumel and it didn't disappoint us. The pirate ship was just as fun this time as the first! Totally do this if you go! Food is really good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Cash gets you better deals because most does not like credit cards.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cozumeleno Beach Front Resort-All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Poust Family
Business
Mexico
Jan 28, 2014

OK getaway

Hotel was great, location was great!!!! Food was nasty!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cozumeleno Beach Front Resort-All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimmygoo
Business
Newark NJ
Jan 25, 2014

Great Vacay in Mexico

The hotel was very good and a great deal for the cost!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We liked to dine in the fancy restaurant - reservations required each day!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cozumeleno Beach Front Resort-All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Casey454
Business
Woodland Park, CO
Jan 21, 2014

Great vacation

1. Perfect amazing beach with amazing snorkeling right off the beach. 2. Very friendly staff. They are everywhere and there when you need anything. I accidentally left my credit card in a bank ATM in town. I discovered this when I returned to the hotel and the bank had closed. I checked with my bank online and no charges had been made. The front desk clerk, named Sergio offered to go to the bank the next day on his way to work to ask if anyone had returned it. He did, and my card was there!! I was so grateful to him. We went to town and picked up the card. Thanks again, Sergio. 3. Room service was prompt and professional. I would suggest ordering only breakfast for room service. It was very good. The dinner can use some improvement. If you order room service dinner, get the skirt steak. Stay away from everything else, especially the hamburgers which I would describe as " mystery meat". 4. Stay away from the buffets if you can. Break fast was good, but lunch and dinner were just edible. Try to order off the menu as much as you can, because at least you know with some certainty that the food is cooked fresh. I really enjoyed the salmon and pasta dish on the back of the menu. If you must go to the buffet, there is always a guy grilling fresh chicken. It was very good. 5. Go into town for lunch or dinner a couple of times. The cab ride is $7.00 one way. Visit "Havana Bob's", buy a few cigars (he has the best) and Bob will set you up with some great places to eat in town. 6. Get someone down to the pool to get a lounge chair by 8:30am or you will have nowhere to lay in the sun for most of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cozumeleno Beach Front Resort-All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
COZ LUV vacationers
Business
Albany, NY
Jan 19, 2014

value vacation

This resort had beautiful views from both the old and new sections (large beach, full ocean front, great snorkeling, and peaceful- if your looking for a relaxing resort). We stayed in the old section, which the rooms were large, clean but dated and had a private balcony. The beds were firm, but we were able to get a full nights rest on them (our bed at home is memory foam). Buffett food quality was typical of an all-inclusive, but the food quality significantly improved if you order from the menus (la veranda restaurant had the best quality). This was our 2nd stay in cozumel (previously stayed at Park Royal) and I can say that while the park royal resort was more aesthetically pleasing (due to that resort harassing its guests to buy timeshares so it had more cash flow to it) and had a better desert selection, El Coz has a far better beach, top notch service and more activities on site- tennis, mini golf, etc (the food quality was the same for both). We would go back to El Coz and stay in the new section (request a room with the first two numbers of 15 or higher).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to shop and experience night life, a taxi can get you there and back for $16. Visit the local shops for a "real" margarita!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cozumeleno Beach Front Resort-All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cozoholic
Business
United States
Jan 19, 2014

Relief!

El Cozumeleno is a beautifully laid out resort. Colorful grounds, clean and relaxing. The staff were very friendly, humorous and helpful though they were very understaffed compared to last year. Lots of activities: snorkeling off the beach, kayaking (no charge), waverunners ($60 us), parasailing (pick you up at their pier for $55 @ 4minutes in air). Very kid friendly with active activity staff. Food: decent tasting, generally good variety in the buffet restaurant. Better at the LaVeranda restaurant but have to have reservations for dinner. Rooms were clean all with an ocean view. Recommend getting a 4th floor or higher for best view over the palmtrees and restaurant roof. Beds are kind of hard but we always seemed to get a goodnights rest. Lots of chairs and lounges but most are taken by early birds that save them then come back to them hours later. We always found some for our spot a long the wall overlooking the surf. No real party/nightlife. If you need that you have to go in to town ($8 us cab ride). Drinks are all included but they tend to skimp on the alcohol. We don't go to El Coz for the food, drink or excitement. We go to relax and recover from NY state winter and we never want to go home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A ten minute walk south to The Lobster House across the street. Tasty rock lobster tail (good size) and delicious steak in a cozy atmoshere. Worth to try.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cozumeleno Beach Front Resort-All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lololemus
Business
Los angeles
Jan 12, 2014

Family vacation

I thought I reserved two beds got one n uncomfortable sofa bed. We were do over charger for the Shuttle. It was 34 per person when It would of been 24 for every 8 person

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top