$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

3 stars
Carretera A Chankanab KM 4.5, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
100 reviews
Great facilities and location

Though it is opposite where the cruise ships come in, so loads of people visit the island every... See full review

  • MarkN
  • Dec 9, 2014
Fantastic romantic getaway

My husband and I stayed at El Cid from August 5th to 12th and it was wonderful. The hotel was very... See full review

  • Landlocked Mermaid
  • Aug 18, 2014
Eco park with zip line, plus a Mayan spa on Cozumel
The recently renovated El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel is on the south side of Cozumel, just three miles from downtown San Miguel. Though cruise ships pepper the aqua horizon, the hotel is in the center of lush jungle and hosts the Babieca Dive Center on site, which leads supervised excursions to the most beautiful cave and cavern (“cenote”) diving in the world -- coral reefs, too. Fly High Adventures Eco-Park is the hotel’s new eco-park featuring six zip line platforms and six rugged trails, surrounded by jungle. A Mayan-influenced spa has a four-page menu of treatments which also are enjoyed beachside, if one prefers.
Highlights
  • Eco-park featuring six zip line platforms and six rugged trails
  • Babieca Dive Center on site
  • El Cocay Massage & Temezcal Center offers beachside massages
  • Two restaurants and two bars on site
  • Three miles from downtown San Miguel
Rooms
Rich wood and geometric modern art give the 60, recently renovated guest rooms and suites of the El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel an elegant touch. Choose from a studio room with a double bed and space-saving Murphy queen bed (or a king bed and sleeper sofa) and fully equipped kitchenette, or a one-bedroom suite which also has two beds -- one of which being the disappearing Murphy bed.

Regardless of room type, all guests rooms have individual climate control, ceiling fan, coffee maker, in-room safe, private balcony or terrace, satellite TV, an iron and ironing board and radio alarm clock.
Dining
Get romantic at the upscale La Chopa Restaurant, and browse their cultivated wine list or sip a classic pina colada. Trattoria Da Salvatore serves crisp, sizzling brick-oven pizzas. Two plasma TVs provide entertainment at the El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel’s La Chopa Oceanfront Bar, and a swim-up bar is adjacent to the Jacuzzi.
Recreation
Mayan and other presumably ancient massages, steam baths and healing treatments (the menu of services spans four pages) are dispensed at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel’s El Cocay Massage & Temezcal Center. Or, a massage may be enjoyed beachside. A fitness center shares the spa’s space.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (6 mi/8.4km)
Attractions
  • La Bodeguita del Medio (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Museo de Arte Moderno (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Museo Casa Ruth Lechuga (0.6 mi/1 km)
Business
  • Flexible meeting space accommodates 60 to 110 guests
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of their age at check-in.
  • Early check-out or no show will be charged full stay from 4 January 2015 until 3 January 2016.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room Garden View
One Double Bed + One Queen Murphy or King Size Bed + One Sofa Bed. Tile flooring providing a refreshing atmosphere. Bathroom with shower, tub; Kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave. This suite is air conditioned with private balcony or patio, pillow menu, cable TV with premium channels, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, ceiling fan, safe, direct dial telephone with voicemail, coffee maker; daily maid service. Garden View.
Deluxe Room - Ocean View
One Double Bed + One Queen Murphy or King Size Bed + One Sofa Bed. Tile flooring providing a refreshing atmosphere. Bathroom with shower, tub; Kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave. This suite is air conditioned with private balcony or patio, pillow menu, cable TV with premium channels, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, ceiling fan, safe, direct dial telephone with voicemail, coffee maker; daily maid service. Oce an View.
Deluxe Room Ocean Front Prestige - Continental
One Double Bed + One Queen Murphy or King Size Bed + One Sofa Bed. Tile flooring providing a refreshing atmosphere. Bathroom with shower, tub; Kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave. This suite is air conditioned with private balcony or patio, pillow menu, cable TV with premium channels, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, ceiling fan, safe, direct dial telephone with voicemail, coffee maker; daily maid service. Ocean Front.
One Bedroom Suite Ocean View
One king size bed + One Queen Murphy Bed, air conditioning, ceiling fan, refrigerator, two full bathrooms, bathtub, cable TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, and private balcony with ocean front view.
All Inclusive Plan includes:
Hotel accommodations with private balcony. All meals at our 2 onsite Restaurants. Extra charge applies for Lobster, Shrimps, Fine Steak Cut selections and premium bar Alcoholic (house brand) and non-alcoholic beverages Room service (choice from special All Inclusive room service menu). Unlimited use of tennis court. (subject to availability, daylight hours, reservations required). Daily pool and beach activities Snorkel equipment (One free hour per person per day). Gratuities for meals and drinks. Taxes.
Elite All Inclusive Plan includes:
Guaranteed Ocean View accommodations with bathrobes. Alcohol (national and international) and non-alcoholic beverages All meals at the restaurant of the hotel without menu restrictions, including Fine Steak Cuts, Shrimps and Lobster* (* seasonal; 5 minimum night stay required) without having to pay for surcharges. Room Service, without having to pay for surcharges.
Prestige Includes:
- Guaranteed Ocean Front or Ocean View accommodations -Continental Breakfast -Dedicated check-in and checkout areas (VIP Lounge) -Welcome fruit & wine basket -Special turn down service with petit fours -Pillow menu -Bathrobes

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Chopa Bar
Located in a relaxed area inside the ocean front restauran adjacent to the Jacuzzi.
La Chopa Restaurant
La Chopa International cuisine restaurant in an extraordinary mexican caribbean atmosphere, located right on the water. Offering the greatest live Lobster dinner. Open for breakfast, lunch and Dinner from 7:00 AM TO 10:30 PM. CASUAL.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (100)

Ratings and reviews for El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan C.
Business
Overland Park
Dec 24, 2014

Good not great

Overall the experience was good. One issue is different levels of all inclusive that wasn't clear/disclosed. Room was clean. Staff hit and miss. Food selection and quality okay. Right by pier where cruise ships dock, so if everything that goes with that is an issue for you probably best to look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarkN
Business
Mexico D F
Dec 9, 2014

Great facilities and location

Though it is opposite where the cruise ships come in, so loads of people visit the island every day, it's fun watching the massive ships arrive and depart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hire a jeep and see the island in a day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Diving Tom
Business
Cincinnati
Nov 16, 2014

Dive trip with friends

The dive shop employees were very helpful. The pool area music was horrible. I am open to almost all music but after 2 or 3 hours of "thump thump" music you would think that the Dj would look around and see that most people were not enjoying his selections. Could we mix it up a little bit? The hotel needs a major update, the elevators were small and very slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MandKtrvler
Business
Granite Bay, California
Nov 16, 2014

Nice Hotel Good Location

Had a great week at the El Cid. The only con was the close proximity to the cruise line terminal. Staff was freindly and courteous. Room was clean and comfortable with great ocean views. Around the pool and sand area the servic was excellent. We did not buy the all-inclusive because there are too many inexpensive geat restuarants in town (La Choza, Ernesto's, El Foco). We ate one breakfast at La Chopa and found it typical hotel food. Juan Carlos at the onsite dive shop was aweseone, helping with all dive needs and equipment repair. Overall, the El Cid is a great hotel for the price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Landlocked Mermaid
Business
Boulder, Colorado
Aug 18, 2014

Fantastic romantic getaway

My husband and I stayed at El Cid from August 5th to 12th and it was wonderful. The hotel was very clean and the staff were extremely friendly and nice. We went there to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary and it was a perfect place and atmosphere for couples, though it seemed very kid friendly as well. There were some cruise ships that docked right in front of the hotel but it wasn't really a problem. The beach at the hotel was never crowded, we always got beach lounge chairs with palapas and the beach had ~20 people at the most on it at a time. Also, the snorkeling right off the beach is AWESOME! We saw so many cool fish! The food at the restaurant was really good, particularly the fish. They have a reasonably priced breakfast buffet too, which my husband liked. I have no complaints about El Cid and plan to stay there again in the future. I am glad that we went during slow season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bring your own snorkel gear. It is so much better (and cheaper) to bring your own quality gear.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Always Konphuzed
Business
Carrollton, Tx
Jul 8, 2014

1st Trip to Cozumel

I booked the room with Elite package and the room was just normal. Nothing special. The room was really small. It felt like we were in a motel instead of hotel. There's a window in the bathroom. It freaked me out when I first saw it. We had the ocean view, but the hut was in the way. It's not really an oceanfront. The only difference between Elite and the regular package was the one lobster dinner person and filet mignon. It feels like I had overpaid for my room. I would not book or come back to this hotel. Overpriced and overrated!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teecha
Business
RR, NM
Jul 4, 2014

El Cid relaxation

Upon arrival they give you a gift, but also sit you down to talk about discounts, and going to a sales lunch for a Vacation club. That's the only thing I didn't like. The people were awesome and sweet, but I didn't want to spend my first days that way, as I was on a short trip. However, I did receive amazing discounts on activities and that was worth it. Food is excellent, service is excellent. The room I had was very plain, but was nice enough for my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

The Polaris trip offered by Explora was a great way to see a lot, and I didn't find it expensive. You can set up your trip at the hotel. It included ruins, snorkeling, drinks and a good buffet, shopping, a lighthouse, and a trip to a tequilera. It's really great for someone who has a short time to visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dive Girl
Business
KY
Jun 22, 2014

Great Dive Resort

Stayed here June 10-17, 2014. Our stay was wonderful. Staff very friendly and accomadating. Lover level room so sat on porch each morning while waiting for dive boat pick up. Grounds were immaculant, everything well manicured and just beautiful. This is my 3rd stay here and out of all the places i've stayed at in czm this is my favorite. Located right beside the International Pier where fav dive shop "Dive with Martin" is located so an excellent choice for me. Room accomodations were top of the line CLEAN, nothing fancy but CLEAN with stove, microwave, fridge, blender, coffee maker, sink. Ate at restaurant once and the food was good. Several places to swim and lay in sun, they have an "ocean pool" area with waterfalls , pool area, and beach snorkel area. They also have a dive company on site as well.If you want more BANG for your BUCKS, then El Cid is the place for You. I will be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Best Boot Deals Veari downtown about 3 miles from hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OK STEVE 12
Business
OKLAHOMA
Jun 15, 2014

Cozumel June 2014

We loved El Cid. We have stayed at several resorts in Cozumel over the years and this was great, especially the food was the best. The staff were great and it is a great location for our scuba diving trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Divers R Us
Business
Raleigh, North Carolina
Jun 4, 2014

Fantastic Hotel surrounded by Great Diving

My wife and I stayed for two weeks at La Ceiba. We cannot say enough about the facility. The staff are just the best, Maria, Edgar, Bibiana, and Ester did everything to make us feel just like being home. We did our scuba diving with "Dive with Martin" just next store. The are an incredible dive outfit. If you want to get really spoiled .. stay at El Cid and Dive with Martin.. you will not be disappointed. We will be back again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dive with Martin - Orlando is the best DM you will find

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top