$72 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 3, 2015

Casa Mexicana Cozumel

3 stars
View map of Rafael E. Melgar #457 Sur, 40 Ave. Norte # 801-B Colonia 10 DE Abril, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
201 reviews
Great Stay

Overall my stay was excellent. The hotel is in a good location (close to everything). The dock for... See full review

  • Jason K.
  • Mar 21, 2015
Great Place Downtown

The Casa is a great place to stay if you want to be near downtown and the associated activities.... See full review

  • Dale Super Racer
  • Mar 20, 2015
An elegant spot in downtown Cozumel minutes from everything
The sunny atrium in the lobby and terrace overlooking the clear Caribbean Ocean may encourage lingering, but with a location as good as this, guests would benefit from stepping out and exploring downtown Cozumel. The Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel is just blocks from the market in the center of town, which puts shopping, a movie theater and multiple dining options within walking distance. The central location is just two miles from the airport. A breakfast buffet is ample and complimentary for guests. A swimming pool is on site.
Highlights
  • Prime downtown Cozumel location, two minutes from the airport
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
  • Swimming pool
  • Diving trips may be arranged
  • Wedding and romance packages available
Rooms
There are 70 city view rooms and 20 ocean view rooms, both dubbed “deluxe” by the Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel. Ocean view rooms allow guests to privately enjoy unforgettable sunsets and breathtaking views. Each room style is 409 square feet and offers the guest’s choice of one king or two double beds. Cool tile floors are underfoot and the headboards, desks, and chairs were hand-carved by Mayan hands. Local calls are complimentary. Cable TV, iron and ironing board, and safety deposit boxes are in every room. All bathrooms include a bathtub and shower, marbled vanities, hair dryer, plush towels and all necessary amenities.
Features
A swimming pool and sun terrace are on site. Diving trips are arranged at the Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel. A versatile meeting room accommodates up to 100 people for a business meeting or event. Fax, computer with Internet connection, e-mail reception, printers and copy machines are on site. Coffee and food service for breakfast or lunch, drinks or banquet-style serving is available for catering of meetings or events.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2 mi/3.2 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cozumel (outside the hotel doors)
  • Diving and fishing outings
Business
  • A versatile meeting room can accommodate up to 100 people for a business meeting or event
  • Fax, computer with Internet connection, e-mail reception, printers and copy machine
  • Coffee and food service, drinks or banquet-style serving catering available
Policies and fees
Rates quoted in currencies other than the Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rates may change throughout stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Casa Mexicana Cozumel Rooms

Deluxe City View Room
Guest room includes one king bed or two double bed(409 Ft.Sq.). Headboards, desks, chairs as well as the rest of the furniture in all rooms are masterpieces that were designed, made and carved by Mayan hands. Spacious and luxurious rooms with private balcony are provided with central air conditioning where you can control the temperature at your preference, direct dial telephone, where local calls are complimentary, cable TV, iron and ironing board, safety deposit box and for those who love present-day technology there is also a data port available in each room 24 hours a day so you can be closer to anyone you wish to in spite of distance. Just bring your laptop and make it happen!! All bathrooms include bathtub, shower, marbled vanities, hairdryer, plush towels and all necessary amenities.
Deluxe Ocean Front Room
Guest room includes one king bed or two double bed (409 Ft.Sq.). Headboards, desks, chairs as well as the rest of the furniture in all rooms are masterpieces that were designed, made and carved by Mayan hands. Spacious and luxurious rooms with private balcony are provided with central air conditioning where you can control the temperature at your preference, direct dial telephone, where local calls are complimentary, cable TV, Plasma TV iron and ironing board, safety deposit box and for those who love present-day technology there is also a data port available in each room 24 hours a day so you can be closer to anyone you wish to in spite of distance. Just bring your laptop and make it happen!! All bathrooms include bathtub, shower, marbled vanities, hairdryer, plush towels and all necessary amenities. From our ocean view rooms you can enjoy unforgettable sunsets and breathtaking views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pool-Bar
Open from 9 AM - 11 PM, open-air bar between Swimming Pool and Internet Area.
La Terraza
Buffet breakfast restaurant, open from 7 AM - 11 AM. Open-air restaurant, at the second floor terrace. With capacity up to 60 pax. Surrounded by beautiful gardens and the best our excellent service.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With capacity for up to 100 people, our Meeting room provides you with everything for your business meeting or event: fax, computer with internet connection, email reception, copies, coffee and food service, drinks or banquets.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
201 out of 201
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.7

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Katy
Dec 29, 2008

NO BEACH

This hotel sucks you in with the claims of ocean front views which are ACROSS the street and has NO beach access. It is the LOUSEST hotel I have ever stayed in. The start BANGING dishes around at 5:00 am to get ready for breakfast. I would NEVER stay here again and would tell EVERYONE I know to STAY AWAY!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington State
Jan 4, 2011

Clean Friendly Noisy!

Hotel was very clean. Breakfast buffet good. If you like shopping and lots of activity this hotel would be an excellant choice...but...our room was VERY noisy. The doors throughout our section of the hotel slammed continually, noise from the kitchen and buffet started at six am and lasted until nearly noon. I do think some of the other rooms might be better, but do not stay in one facing the courtyard! We were hoping for some peace and quiet and did not find that at Casa Mexicana. The pool is also very small...photos on website make it appear much than it is. Again, if you want to party this may suit you, but not the hotel for those seeking peace on a tropical island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DiveLogics.com
Business
USA
Jan 7, 2014

Pretty good

Hotel is clean and well maintained. Morning breakfast leaves a little to be desired. Definitely stay on the ocean side as the other side looks out to some pretty unattractive stuff. Internet is spotty at best so don't rely on it and you won't get Internet in your room. Staff is friendly and this place is a block away from a good dive shop "Aqua Safari."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pandjam
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Pretty Good experience

The good: Casa Mexicana is a boutique hotel in prime location downtown near all of the shops and cruise ship docks. The room was clean with a terrace and spacious. The service was up to par. Everyone spoke well enough English to communicate with or at least tried their best. The hotel also gives everyone a wristband for 10% discount at specific eateries like Pepe's, which is pretty good. The hotel is also literally across the street from the sea so going snorkeling, diving or boating couldn't be easier. Although they don't have wi-fi, they do have 4 computers available for use. The not so good: We visited during the new year so breakfast was a bit out of control 1/1/12. There was no order, people were grabbing tables without being seated and some were even just standing around with their plates in their hands eating. The pool shots they show is misleading as it's not deep at all. Maybe 3 ft. And it's just a few floors above street level so sunbathing at the hotel can feel a little too public. You're actually looking out onto the street. They do not serve dinner; breakfast only. TV is predominately in Spanish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car at the airport for really cheap by agreeing to a promotional, time share-like meeting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
donga
Business
michigan
Jul 16, 2012

divevtrip

Staff was great. I needed an early breakfast beforemy diving trip every morning, and they accomodated me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DiverBob37
Business
Cary, NC
Feb 5, 2013

Casa Mexicana Cozumel, Jan. 2013

My first impression was discouraging - getting bags up the escalator is daunting. There's no bell captain. Reception is friendly and efficient and bags are taken up to the room. My room was clean and comfortable and fairly well appointed. My view was about the worst the hotel has to offer, but I wasn't there for the view. I found I needed to put out the "clean my room" card to get it done on my schedule. However, the cleaning staff does a very good job. There is no in- room wifi; disappointing and the wifi in the common areas works alright but is cumbersome to stay logged into. Still, the hotel is about the best down town San Miguel has to offer and I always enjoy my stay, especially breakfast! Casa Mexicana remains my hotel of choice on Cozumel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tarrific
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 17, 2013

Good Location

Very clean. Close to numerous shops and restaurants. Ferry is just a stone's throw away. Decent breakfast. Can't beat the price. Best bang for your buck. Would recommend or stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
annoyed343
Business
austin tx
Jul 16, 2013

Not what i was expecting

forgive the typing as i am on a foriegn keyboard. i booked this place because of the reviews and because of the price. it is mainly my fault for not looking at the amenities i guess. i had assumed (i know i know) that this was a type of resort and i really wouldnt have to leave to do anything. several of the other hotels were all inclusive but a bit more expensive. i figured i would just have to spend a bit more for food. so then. they only had one pool. one pool that was closed so technically no pool. if there was at least that it might have been a tad better. the wifi and the business center leave a lot to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SNORK
Business
Southern New Jersey
Jan 17, 2010

Some Good...Some Not So Good

This place just needs to make a few changes to make it a very good hotel. First, ditch [...] at the front counter...dull and impersonal at best. Why the owners would have someone like her greet anyone is beyond me. The others at the front desk were fine. When we arrived the escalators were not working and apparently this is typical because during our stay of a week sometimes they worked, sometimes not. We arrived with some heavy bags and had to lug them up to the second floor lobby. The hotel is in a very busy part of downtown Cozumel so expect a lot of vehicular traffic and tons and tons of cruise ship tourists visiting the shops around the hotel. The hotel faces one of the cruise ship piers and there can be as many as four ships docked at one time, not to mention the other ship terminals along the waterfront...it all makes for a mass of humans crowding the streets around the hotel. I booked a room with two double beds but when we arrived there were none available so we had to share a king bed for two nights before being moved to the correct room but only after asking. Noise is big problem in this hotel. Many rooms open to the central area and the room doors don't buffer anything. You can expect to hear almost every noise echo into your room including laughing until late at night, tools clanking, phones etc. I couldn't believe it but a few times there was this loud small engine sound which I believe was a insect thermal fogger because once we came down into the lobby and it was full of a choking fog that smelled of pesticide, they probably do this because it is open to the outside. On the good side, the breakfast is very good as are the employees associated with it. The rooms are very clean and the beds very comfortable. I would recommend an ocean view room as high up as possible but be prepared for the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Cafe Dennis and ask for [...], he'll take care of you. It's good basic food for a resonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Jan 2, 2010

Nice Place

this hotel was within our price range. It was across from the water and on the edge of san miguel. It was a mid range place that caters more to the vactioning mexican or others. It was not a resort or a "american" hotel, it was all latin america. I would recommend getting an ocean view/front. The breakfast buffet was great everything is fresh. shopping is right out the door, resturants near by also. everything is within walking dist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top