$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2014 Check-out: May 4, 2014

Casa Mexicana Cozumel

3 stars
Rafael E. Melgar #457 Sur, 40 Ave. Norte # 801-B Colonia 10 DE Abril, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
181 reviews
very nice

We were there for a week and had a good time. Breakfast buffet very good and handy. This was... See full review

  • dougvicki
  • Apr 13, 2014
Great Location

This place has wonderful service, beautiful clean rooms, very reasonable rates and a wonderful... See full review

  • andycapps
  • Dec 29, 2013
An elegant spot in downtown Cozumel minutes from everything
The sunny atrium in the lobby and terrace overlooking the clear Caribbean Ocean may encourage lingering, but with a location as good as this, guests would benefit from stepping out and exploring downtown Cozumel. The Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel is just blocks from the market in the center of town, which puts shopping, a movie theater and multiple dining options within walking distance. The central location is just two miles from the airport. A breakfast buffet is ample and complimentary for guests. A swimming pool is on site.
Highlights
  • Prime downtown Cozumel location, two minutes from the airport
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
  • Swimming pool
  • Diving trips may be arranged
  • Wedding and romance packages available
Rooms
There are 70 city view rooms and 20 ocean view rooms, both dubbed “deluxe” by the Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel. Ocean view rooms allow guests to privately enjoy unforgettable sunsets and breathtaking views. Each room style is 409 square feet and offers the guest’s choice of one king or two double beds. Cool tile floors are underfoot and the headboards, desks, and chairs were hand-carved by Mayan hands. Local calls are complimentary. Cable TV, iron and ironing board, and safety deposit boxes are in every room. All bathrooms include a bathtub and shower, marbled vanities, hair dryer, plush towels and all necessary amenities.
Features
A swimming pool and sun terrace are on site. Diving trips are arranged at the Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel. A versatile meeting room accommodates up to 100 people for a business meeting or event. Fax, computer with Internet connection, e-mail reception, printers and copy machines are on site. Coffee and food service for breakfast or lunch, drinks or banquet-style serving is available for catering of meetings or events.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2 mi/3.2 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cozumel (outside the hotel doors)
  • Diving and fishing outings
Business
  • A versatile meeting room can accommodate up to 100 people for a business meeting or event
  • Fax, computer with Internet connection, e-mail reception, printers and copy machine
  • Coffee and food service, drinks or banquet-style serving catering available
Policies and fees
Rates quoted in currencies other than the Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rates may change throughout stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Casa Mexicana Cozumel Rooms

Deluxe City View Room
Guest room includes one king bed or two double bed(409 Ft.Sq.). Headboards, desks, chairs as well as the rest of the furniture in all rooms are masterpieces that were designed, made and carved by Mayan hands. Spacious and luxurious rooms with private balcony are provided with central air conditioning where you can control the temperature at your preference, direct dial telephone, where local calls are complimentary, cable TV, iron and ironing board, safety deposit box and for those who love present-day technology there is also a data port available in each room 24 hours a day so you can be closer to anyone you wish to in spite of distance. Just bring your laptop and make it happen!! All bathrooms include bathtub, shower, marbled vanities, hairdryer, plush towels and all necessary amenities.
Deluxe Ocean Front Room
Guest room includes one king bed or two double bed (409 Ft.Sq.). Headboards, desks, chairs as well as the rest of the furniture in all rooms are masterpieces that were designed, made and carved by Mayan hands. Spacious and luxurious rooms with private balcony are provided with central air conditioning where you can control the temperature at your preference, direct dial telephone, where local calls are complimentary, cable TV, Plasma TV iron and ironing board, safety deposit box and for those who love present-day technology there is also a data port available in each room 24 hours a day so you can be closer to anyone you wish to in spite of distance. Just bring your laptop and make it happen!! All bathrooms include bathtub, shower, marbled vanities, hairdryer, plush towels and all necessary amenities. From our ocean view rooms you can enjoy unforgettable sunsets and breathtaking views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Mexicana Cozumel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.508 -86.9537
Area served
Cozumel, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel International Airport (CZM)(15 min. aprox) and Cancun International Airport (CUN)(1.45 Hrs.)
Area description
Located near shopping with fine jewelery and perfumes.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With capacity for up to 100 people, our Meeting room provides you with everything for your business meeting or event: fax, computer with internet connection, email reception, copies, coffee and food service, drinks or banquets.

Dining

Pool-Bar
Open from 9 AM - 11 PM, open-air bar between Swimming Pool and Internet Area.
La Terraza
Buffet breakfast restaurant, open from 7 AM - 11 AM. Open-air restaurant, at the second floor terrace. With capacity up to 60 pax. Surrounded by beautiful gardens and the best our excellent service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
181 out of 181
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
The Happy Honeymooners
Richmond, VA
Sep 21, 2009

Perfect Vacation

Our stay here was so much better than we expected. The hotel is located just on the edge of the downtown area so it is close to several beach clubs that are good for snorkeling and swimming and it is also close to shopping. The hotel itself is beautiful, the hotel staff were very friendly. We had an ocean view room and it had a breathtaking view. You are literally 30 feet from the water. The hotel is small enough that it is very quiet but it has free wireless internet and cable so it had all the modern conveniences we needed. Also the Breakfast there is AMAZING! Every morning you get all the fresh fruit you want. They will make eggs and omelets any way you want and they always have fresh squeezed juice that is some of the best I've ever had. I can't say enough about how enjoyable our stay was at Casa Mexicana. We will definitely be taking a trip back in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you get tired of eating just Mexican food all week there is this nice little Thai restaurant called Rock 'n' Java Thai Noodle Bar about a mile away. It is off of Ave. 11 just on the outside of the plaza. They had really good drinks and it was a nice, refreshing atmosphere.

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
go habs go
montreal
Mar 24, 2013

amazing

this hotel is your best bet in Cozumel. breakfast,location and quietness!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
Karen scuba diver
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Dec 23, 2013

Great Downtown Hotel

Rooms are clean and good sized. Accommodating of divers. Rooms have balconies to hang wet dive gear. Breakfast buffet has a wide variety of hot dishes, omelettes made to order along with Belgian waffles and French toast. Lots of fresh fruits and pastries. Family friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
divegirl
Colorado
Jun 20, 2010

7th year and will return next Summer

Diving was the primary activity. Close to all amenities. Breakfast buffet and great omletes and homemade tortillas. Friendly staff - they remember you year after year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
Diver KB
Michigan, USA
Jun 10, 2013

In town excellence

Stay right in the thick of things so you can experience music on the square and local authentic restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
dougvicki
motley, minnesota
Apr 13, 2014

very nice

We were there for a week and had a good time. Breakfast buffet very good and handy. This was included. Excellent. Rooms very clean and staff very friendly and helpful when needed. Close to downtown square where lots of things are going on. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places to eat and a couple we enjoyed were Costa Bra a, Woody's bar and grill, Del Sur Argentina, Machettes. All had excellent food and service.

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
frog1
Toulouse, France
Mar 9, 2013

Great deal

Comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff, a buffet breakfast that can't be beat and, above all, a great location in town. Highly recommended, especially the ocean-front rooms, the rooms facing the atrium of the hotel probably being a bit noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
Bryant
Sherwood, AR
Sep 4, 2012

LOVED it as always!

This was our 5th time staying at Casa Mexicana. We used to stay at different resorts each time we go to Cozumel but once we found this little gem, we were hooked. The hotel is very clean and the staff go out of their way to take care of all our needs. The buffet breakfast is excellent and we will definately be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Lobesteria is just right around the corner from the hotel and Omar makes the best Lobster and Lobster Bisque. You have to try this place!

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
travlr2
Illinois, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Great Hotel

We had an ocean view room but I think the street view would have been fine. The view was great--that fact there was a street below/between us and the ocean was not noticable. The location is very convenient--walk to anything you could want--very close to Carlos and Charlies. The large breakfast buffet was fantastic--everything a person could want, except perhaps oatmeal, and it went until 11AM. The hotel had a locked storage room they let us store our bikes in for the Ironman and they had an early breakfast buffet at 4 AM for the athletes--I was surprised and very pleased!! Our room was large and clean, bed comfortable, good pillows and everything in working order. We were very pleased with our stay there and will use them if we visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
Trish and David
Sugar Land, TX
Jun 20, 2011

Amazing! for the 8th time

This was our 8th visit to Cozumel, and 7th time at Casa Mexicana. We love this hotel for many reasons. The first being that they keep the facility impeccably spotless. The beds are comfortable, and the free breakfast is better than any other on the island, including the more expensive resorts. If I had to complain, it would be that room service is only available until 10pm and sometimes this just isn't late enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely check out Prima on the top of El Cantil condos down by the Barracuda!

Back to menu Return to top