$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

Casa Mexicana Cozumel

3 stars
Rafael E. Melgar #457 Sur, 40 Ave. Norte # 801-B Colonia 10 DE Abril, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
279 reviews
great experience

Have stayed there many times. Super clean, convenient, staff are very friendly, and the breakfast... See full review

  • cozumel visitor
  • Apr 24, 2014
very nice

We were there for a week and had a good time. Breakfast buffet very good and handy. This was... See full review

  • dougvicki
  • Apr 13, 2014
An elegant spot in downtown Cozumel minutes from everything
The sunny atrium in the lobby and terrace overlooking the clear Caribbean Ocean may encourage lingering, but with a location as good as this, guests would benefit from stepping out and exploring downtown Cozumel. The Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel is just blocks from the market in the center of town, which puts shopping, a movie theater and multiple dining options within walking distance. The central location is just two miles from the airport. A breakfast buffet is ample and complimentary for guests. A swimming pool is on site.
Highlights
  • Prime downtown Cozumel location, two minutes from the airport
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
  • Swimming pool
  • Diving trips may be arranged
  • Wedding and romance packages available
Rooms
There are 70 city view rooms and 20 ocean view rooms, both dubbed “deluxe” by the Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel. Ocean view rooms allow guests to privately enjoy unforgettable sunsets and breathtaking views. Each room style is 409 square feet and offers the guest’s choice of one king or two double beds. Cool tile floors are underfoot and the headboards, desks, and chairs were hand-carved by Mayan hands. Local calls are complimentary. Cable TV, iron and ironing board, and safety deposit boxes are in every room. All bathrooms include a bathtub and shower, marbled vanities, hair dryer, plush towels and all necessary amenities.
Features
A swimming pool and sun terrace are on site. Diving trips are arranged at the Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel. A versatile meeting room accommodates up to 100 people for a business meeting or event. Fax, computer with Internet connection, e-mail reception, printers and copy machines are on site. Coffee and food service for breakfast or lunch, drinks or banquet-style serving is available for catering of meetings or events.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2 mi/3.2 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cozumel (outside the hotel doors)
  • Diving and fishing outings
Business
  • A versatile meeting room can accommodate up to 100 people for a business meeting or event
  • Fax, computer with Internet connection, e-mail reception, printers and copy machine
  • Coffee and food service, drinks or banquet-style serving catering available
Policies and fees
Rates quoted in currencies other than the Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rates may change throughout stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.508 -86.9537
Area served
Cozumel, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel International Airport (CZM)(15 min. aprox) and Cancun International Airport (CUN)(1.45 Hrs.)
Area description
Located near shopping with fine jewelery and perfumes.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Mexicana Cozumel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Casa Mexicana Cozumel Rooms

Deluxe City View Room
Guest room includes one king bed or two double bed(409 Ft.Sq.). Headboards, desks, chairs as well as the rest of the furniture in all rooms are masterpieces that were designed, made and carved by Mayan hands. Spacious and luxurious rooms with private balcony are provided with central air conditioning where you can control the temperature at your preference, direct dial telephone, where local calls are complimentary, cable TV, iron and ironing board, safety deposit box and for those who love present-day technology there is also a data port available in each room 24 hours a day so you can be closer to anyone you wish to in spite of distance. Just bring your laptop and make it happen!! All bathrooms include bathtub, shower, marbled vanities, hairdryer, plush towels and all necessary amenities.
Deluxe Ocean Front Room
Guest room includes one king bed or two double bed (409 Ft.Sq.). Headboards, desks, chairs as well as the rest of the furniture in all rooms are masterpieces that were designed, made and carved by Mayan hands. Spacious and luxurious rooms with private balcony are provided with central air conditioning where you can control the temperature at your preference, direct dial telephone, where local calls are complimentary, cable TV, Plasma TV iron and ironing board, safety deposit box and for those who love present-day technology there is also a data port available in each room 24 hours a day so you can be closer to anyone you wish to in spite of distance. Just bring your laptop and make it happen!! All bathrooms include bathtub, shower, marbled vanities, hairdryer, plush towels and all necessary amenities. From our ocean view rooms you can enjoy unforgettable sunsets and breathtaking views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pool-Bar
Open from 9 AM - 11 PM, open-air bar between Swimming Pool and Internet Area.
La Terraza
Buffet breakfast restaurant, open from 7 AM - 11 AM. Open-air restaurant, at the second floor terrace. With capacity up to 60 pax. Surrounded by beautiful gardens and the best our excellent service.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With capacity for up to 100 people, our Meeting room provides you with everything for your business meeting or event: fax, computer with internet connection, email reception, copies, coffee and food service, drinks or banquets.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (279)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
279 out of 279
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travsr
Sarasota, FL, USA
Feb 12, 2012

Great Hotel--Great Value

We have stayed at Casa Mexicana many times and it is consistently outstanding. We are amazed to see the same staff members every year and they do a terrific job of keeping the facility spotless. Great included breakfast buffet and excellent location for nearby restaurants. Downtown location makes it easy to get everywhere but taxi service is easy too. Drawback is being across the street from the water and a mini pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Two HUGE supermarkets within walking distance. A few minutes to your left past the mall.

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diver KB
Michigan, USA
Jan 26, 2012

Service is Outstanding

This is our go-to hotel in Cozumel. Close to local eateries, dive shops, grocery store, etc. Exceptionally clean and friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ShoesMom
Pennsylvania, USA
Jan 19, 2012

Service, Hospitality and Cleanliness

The wall at the Service Desk is lined with awards for service. Each request is timely, given with “genuine” thoughtfulness. Entering Casa Mexicana you are met by a friend or soon to be your friend with a big hug. The cleaning at Casa Mexicana never stops. Small pool – Sun porch – GREAT breakfast – Shopping – Restaurants – a Museum – Tours Make Casa Mexicana a Treasured Moment in your life – warm weather – warm hearts Rooms in the front are more expensive with a balcony and a view of the clear, blue Caribbean. Some in the back are similar. Some are family oriented and others are off of the central garden.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pandjam
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Pretty Good experience

The good: Casa Mexicana is a boutique hotel in prime location downtown near all of the shops and cruise ship docks. The room was clean with a terrace and spacious. The service was up to par. Everyone spoke well enough English to communicate with or at least tried their best. The hotel also gives everyone a wristband for 10% discount at specific eateries like Pepe's, which is pretty good. The hotel is also literally across the street from the sea so going snorkeling, diving or boating couldn't be easier. Although they don't have wi-fi, they do have 4 computers available for use. The not so good: We visited during the new year so breakfast was a bit out of control 1/1/12. There was no order, people were grabbing tables without being seated and some were even just standing around with their plates in their hands eating. The pool shots they show is misleading as it's not deep at all. Maybe 3 ft. And it's just a few floors above street level so sunbathing at the hotel can feel a little too public. You're actually looking out onto the street. They do not serve dinner; breakfast only. TV is predominately in Spanish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car at the airport for really cheap by agreeing to a promotional, time share-like meeting.

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms MD
Memphis, TN
Dec 5, 2011

Great Hotel

This was our second stay in Cozumel Mexico and our first time staying at Casa Mexicana. The room was very clean. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast bar was good. Had lots of selections to chose from. As others have written, there is only bacon every few days, but there are other selections to chose from. They have fresh juices. The size of the room was larger than most I have stayed at and the ocean view was great. The only downside I have is that they have an open type atrium foyer that seems to echo noise throughout the hotel, but once everyone settles in for the night it is very quiet. It is an excellent location for the food and highlights and dont need to get a taxi, as everything is within a short walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

1 block behind Casa Mexicana at Ave 5, Calle 7 sur there is a lovely lobster restaurant called the La Lobsteria. Omar is the owner and he treats you like family. The food is excellent. My husband and I went twice during our stay. It is reasonably priced and you get more than what you seem to pay for. We had shrimp fajitas, lobster tails, king crab legs, and fish in special paper...all was excellent and was cooked exceptionally well. Other restaurants in the area did not compare to the quality or quanity of the seafood Omar served. His chef is top notch. The restaurant is in a old style house that at first glance may turn your head the other direction, but its is definitely worth a try. There was no one there any of the times we visited or eat there. It is truly an experience you wont forget.

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travlr2
Illinois, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Great Hotel

We had an ocean view room but I think the street view would have been fine. The view was great--that fact there was a street below/between us and the ocean was not noticable. The location is very convenient--walk to anything you could want--very close to Carlos and Charlies. The large breakfast buffet was fantastic--everything a person could want, except perhaps oatmeal, and it went until 11AM. The hotel had a locked storage room they let us store our bikes in for the Ironman and they had an early breakfast buffet at 4 AM for the athletes--I was surprised and very pleased!! Our room was large and clean, bed comfortable, good pillows and everything in working order. We were very pleased with our stay there and will use them if we visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shodansam
Denver, CO
Nov 29, 2011

Great value and location

I've been to Cozumel many times, and walked past this hotel a hundred times wondering what it was like. So, I booked it on my last trip, and was very pleased. The room was large, clean, well furnished, and well maintained by the maid. The staff seemed happy to please me at every turn. The breakfast is a full buffet with cooked-to-order omelets, on-demand fresh-made pancakes and waffles, and a wide assortment of other Mexican items, fruits, juices, yogurts, and more. It's located across the street from the ocean, three blocks from the central plaza to the north, and three blocks from the Mega mart to the south. I shall return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mega mart three blocks to the south has everything you need from groceries and drinks to sundries and things you forgot at low prices.

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Centerville, TX 75833, USA
Nov 4, 2011

Very, very clean. Great location

This is one of the cleanest hotels I have ever seen. Each day the staff is constantly cleaning everything, even the walls. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is one of the better ones I've experienced, especially for the price. The location is great if you want to experience the town or if you are diving since it is located near the center of the main drag and across the road from the diving docks. It is not the plushest hotel and does not have its own private beach, but it is an exceptional deal for those who want to be very comfortable, stay close to town, and go diving!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like Mexican food, find "La Hoza" resturant. It is in town, away from the main streets, but it is great food and not expensive.

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dive Queen
Houston, TX, USA
Nov 4, 2011

Love this Hotel

We have stayed at Casa Mexicana several times and we love it. It is located within walking distance to restaurants and to the piers we use to meet our dive boats. The staff is very friendly and the hotel is very clean. You can't beat the breakfast served every morning! We will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Can't beat Pepe's for a nice steak and the service is awesome!

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salem, NH, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Great Place

Good place to stay while diving Cozumel. I keep going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top