$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

Casa Mexicana Cozumel

3 stars
Rafael E. Melgar #457 Sur, 40 Ave. Norte # 801-B Colonia 10 DE Abril, Cozumel, 77600
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
194 reviews
Fantastic

This is absolutely the finest hotel in the downtown Cozumel area. The rooms are clean,... See full review

  • Skigator
  • Sep 9, 2014
Great Hotel

This hotel is wonderful in so many ways. The rooms are clean, the A/C will freeze you out, the view... See full review

  • Skigator
  • Aug 12, 2014
An elegant spot in downtown Cozumel minutes from everything
The sunny atrium in the lobby and terrace overlooking the clear Caribbean Ocean may encourage lingering, but with a location as good as this, guests would benefit from stepping out and exploring downtown Cozumel. The Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel is just blocks from the market in the center of town, which puts shopping, a movie theater and multiple dining options within walking distance. The central location is just two miles from the airport. A breakfast buffet is ample and complimentary for guests. A swimming pool is on site.
Highlights
  • Prime downtown Cozumel location, two minutes from the airport
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
  • Swimming pool
  • Diving trips may be arranged
  • Wedding and romance packages available
Rooms
There are 70 city view rooms and 20 ocean view rooms, both dubbed “deluxe” by the Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel. Ocean view rooms allow guests to privately enjoy unforgettable sunsets and breathtaking views. Each room style is 409 square feet and offers the guest’s choice of one king or two double beds. Cool tile floors are underfoot and the headboards, desks, and chairs were hand-carved by Mayan hands. Local calls are complimentary. Cable TV, iron and ironing board, and safety deposit boxes are in every room. All bathrooms include a bathtub and shower, marbled vanities, hair dryer, plush towels and all necessary amenities.
Features
A swimming pool and sun terrace are on site. Diving trips are arranged at the Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel. A versatile meeting room accommodates up to 100 people for a business meeting or event. Fax, computer with Internet connection, e-mail reception, printers and copy machines are on site. Coffee and food service for breakfast or lunch, drinks or banquet-style serving is available for catering of meetings or events.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2 mi/3.2 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cozumel (outside the hotel doors)
  • Diving and fishing outings
Business
  • A versatile meeting room can accommodate up to 100 people for a business meeting or event
  • Fax, computer with Internet connection, e-mail reception, printers and copy machine
  • Coffee and food service, drinks or banquet-style serving catering available
Policies and fees
Rates quoted in currencies other than the Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rates may change throughout stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.508 -86.9537
Area served
Cozumel, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel International Airport (CZM)(15 min. aprox) and Cancun International Airport (CUN)(1.45 Hrs.)
Area description
Located near shopping with fine jewelery and perfumes.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Mexicana Cozumel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Casa Mexicana Cozumel Rooms

Deluxe City View Room
Guest room includes one king bed or two double bed(409 Ft.Sq.). Headboards, desks, chairs as well as the rest of the furniture in all rooms are masterpieces that were designed, made and carved by Mayan hands. Spacious and luxurious rooms with private balcony are provided with central air conditioning where you can control the temperature at your preference, direct dial telephone, where local calls are complimentary, cable TV, iron and ironing board, safety deposit box and for those who love present-day technology there is also a data port available in each room 24 hours a day so you can be closer to anyone you wish to in spite of distance. Just bring your laptop and make it happen!! All bathrooms include bathtub, shower, marbled vanities, hairdryer, plush towels and all necessary amenities.
Deluxe Ocean Front Room
Guest room includes one king bed or two double bed (409 Ft.Sq.). Headboards, desks, chairs as well as the rest of the furniture in all rooms are masterpieces that were designed, made and carved by Mayan hands. Spacious and luxurious rooms with private balcony are provided with central air conditioning where you can control the temperature at your preference, direct dial telephone, where local calls are complimentary, cable TV, Plasma TV iron and ironing board, safety deposit box and for those who love present-day technology there is also a data port available in each room 24 hours a day so you can be closer to anyone you wish to in spite of distance. Just bring your laptop and make it happen!! All bathrooms include bathtub, shower, marbled vanities, hairdryer, plush towels and all necessary amenities. From our ocean view rooms you can enjoy unforgettable sunsets and breathtaking views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pool-Bar
Open from 9 AM - 11 PM, open-air bar between Swimming Pool and Internet Area.
La Terraza
Buffet breakfast restaurant, open from 7 AM - 11 AM. Open-air restaurant, at the second floor terrace. With capacity up to 60 pax. Surrounded by beautiful gardens and the best our excellent service.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With capacity for up to 100 people, our Meeting room provides you with everything for your business meeting or event: fax, computer with internet connection, email reception, copies, coffee and food service, drinks or banquets.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (194)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
194 out of 194
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
butterfly jane
denver, colorado
Jan 15, 2013

Good hotel on the waterfront

This hotel is hard to find because it's behind a souvenir shop, but once you get inside, you'll discover that it offers more than you expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Diving is great here on the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mcgeary Family
Business
holden, ma
Jul 26, 2013

fantastic hotel best deal

this is such a cute hotel. It is sparkling clean and the staff are the most friendly and accommodating. The room was fantastic and the breakfast buffet was great!!! We only stayed here for one night but are definitely going back and we will stay longer to see more of the downtown. My husband hurt his foot and everyone was so kind from the front desk to the waiters and the staff preparing food. This hotel know how to take care of their guests!!!!so happy we stayed! We were staying in playa car for the length of our vaca and the hotel was horrible. The Mexicana should give lessons!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to book a snorkeling trip in cozumel. I think they are $25 right at the ferry pier. A small boat takes you to 2 or 3 reefs and then returns you to the pier.We had a blast and saw a shark, a huge ray, turtles and amazing fish and coral!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David Honeymooner
Business
Layton, Utah
Jul 23, 2013

Honeymoon

Breakfast was great. The room was cleaned well. An overall great value for the money. I will definetely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LynetteE
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 18, 2013

Excellent diving vacation

This is a great hotel for our diving vacations. Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Excellent free breakfast every day. Close to shopping for the non-divers and for evening dinner dining. We've been here several times and love it for its value and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rolandi's restaurant is excellent ! (Next door to Margaritaville)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
annoyed343
Business
austin tx
Jul 16, 2013

Not what i was expecting

forgive the typing as i am on a foriegn keyboard. i booked this place because of the reviews and because of the price. it is mainly my fault for not looking at the amenities i guess. i had assumed (i know i know) that this was a type of resort and i really wouldnt have to leave to do anything. several of the other hotels were all inclusive but a bit more expensive. i figured i would just have to spend a bit more for food. so then. they only had one pool. one pool that was closed so technically no pool. if there was at least that it might have been a tad better. the wifi and the business center leave a lot to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Why ask for a nickname
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 26, 2013

Casa Mexicana

Clean room, close to Plaza, dock and Mega. Breakfast Buffet was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Why ask for a nickname
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 26, 2013

Casa Mexicana

Breakfast Buffet was great. Fresh fruit, omelets made to order, juicer, other assorted american dishes, different cereals. Very close to the dock where we were picked up for diving. Close to the Plaza and Mega. Centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tarrific
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 17, 2013

Good Location

Very clean. Close to numerous shops and restaurants. Ferry is just a stone's throw away. Decent breakfast. Can't beat the price. Best bang for your buck. Would recommend or stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diver KB
Business
Michigan, USA
Jun 10, 2013

In town excellence

Stay right in the thick of things so you can experience music on the square and local authentic restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Why ask for a nickname
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 5, 2013

Centrally Located

Nice hotel. Close to the plaza and the dock where our dive boat picked us up so we didn't have to take a cab. Breakfast buffet was great! Fresh fruit, omelets to order, several cereals, pastries, different juices, assortment of meats, waffles, all the coffee you want and the service was great! Free Wi-Fi and a business center with three computers with free internet access so you can stay in touch if you want to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nana Maribel
Business
Illinois
Apr 10, 2013

Fabulous Time!

My husband and I loved this place and it will be the one to go every time we are in Cozumel. Excellent location, excellent food and corteous personnel, very clean rooms. We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Mexicana and recommend it to everyone! J & M Leos

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pepe's has an excellent menu. If you'd go to the beaches on the other side of the island, i.e. El Mirador, the food there is soooo goood and very reasonable priced.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top