$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

Casa Mexicana Cozumel

3 stars
Rafael E. Melgar #457 Sur, 40 Ave. Norte # 801-B Colonia 10 DE Abril, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
279 reviews
great experience

Have stayed there many times. Super clean, convenient, staff are very friendly, and the breakfast... See full review

  • cozumel visitor
  • Apr 24, 2014
very nice

We were there for a week and had a good time. Breakfast buffet very good and handy. This was... See full review

  • dougvicki
  • Apr 13, 2014
An elegant spot in downtown Cozumel minutes from everything
The sunny atrium in the lobby and terrace overlooking the clear Caribbean Ocean may encourage lingering, but with a location as good as this, guests would benefit from stepping out and exploring downtown Cozumel. The Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel is just blocks from the market in the center of town, which puts shopping, a movie theater and multiple dining options within walking distance. The central location is just two miles from the airport. A breakfast buffet is ample and complimentary for guests. A swimming pool is on site.
Highlights
  • Prime downtown Cozumel location, two minutes from the airport
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
  • Swimming pool
  • Diving trips may be arranged
  • Wedding and romance packages available
Rooms
There are 70 city view rooms and 20 ocean view rooms, both dubbed “deluxe” by the Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel. Ocean view rooms allow guests to privately enjoy unforgettable sunsets and breathtaking views. Each room style is 409 square feet and offers the guest’s choice of one king or two double beds. Cool tile floors are underfoot and the headboards, desks, and chairs were hand-carved by Mayan hands. Local calls are complimentary. Cable TV, iron and ironing board, and safety deposit boxes are in every room. All bathrooms include a bathtub and shower, marbled vanities, hair dryer, plush towels and all necessary amenities.
Features
A swimming pool and sun terrace are on site. Diving trips are arranged at the Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel. A versatile meeting room accommodates up to 100 people for a business meeting or event. Fax, computer with Internet connection, e-mail reception, printers and copy machines are on site. Coffee and food service for breakfast or lunch, drinks or banquet-style serving is available for catering of meetings or events.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2 mi/3.2 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cozumel (outside the hotel doors)
  • Diving and fishing outings
Business
  • A versatile meeting room can accommodate up to 100 people for a business meeting or event
  • Fax, computer with Internet connection, e-mail reception, printers and copy machine
  • Coffee and food service, drinks or banquet-style serving catering available
Policies and fees
Rates quoted in currencies other than the Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rates may change throughout stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.508 -86.9537
Area served
Cozumel, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel International Airport (CZM)(15 min. aprox) and Cancun International Airport (CUN)(1.45 Hrs.)
Area description
Located near shopping with fine jewelery and perfumes.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Mexicana Cozumel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Casa Mexicana Cozumel Rooms

Deluxe City View Room
Guest room includes one king bed or two double bed(409 Ft.Sq.). Headboards, desks, chairs as well as the rest of the furniture in all rooms are masterpieces that were designed, made and carved by Mayan hands. Spacious and luxurious rooms with private balcony are provided with central air conditioning where you can control the temperature at your preference, direct dial telephone, where local calls are complimentary, cable TV, iron and ironing board, safety deposit box and for those who love present-day technology there is also a data port available in each room 24 hours a day so you can be closer to anyone you wish to in spite of distance. Just bring your laptop and make it happen!! All bathrooms include bathtub, shower, marbled vanities, hairdryer, plush towels and all necessary amenities.
Deluxe Ocean Front Room
Guest room includes one king bed or two double bed (409 Ft.Sq.). Headboards, desks, chairs as well as the rest of the furniture in all rooms are masterpieces that were designed, made and carved by Mayan hands. Spacious and luxurious rooms with private balcony are provided with central air conditioning where you can control the temperature at your preference, direct dial telephone, where local calls are complimentary, cable TV, Plasma TV iron and ironing board, safety deposit box and for those who love present-day technology there is also a data port available in each room 24 hours a day so you can be closer to anyone you wish to in spite of distance. Just bring your laptop and make it happen!! All bathrooms include bathtub, shower, marbled vanities, hairdryer, plush towels and all necessary amenities. From our ocean view rooms you can enjoy unforgettable sunsets and breathtaking views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pool-Bar
Open from 9 AM - 11 PM, open-air bar between Swimming Pool and Internet Area.
La Terraza
Buffet breakfast restaurant, open from 7 AM - 11 AM. Open-air restaurant, at the second floor terrace. With capacity up to 60 pax. Surrounded by beautiful gardens and the best our excellent service.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With capacity for up to 100 people, our Meeting room provides you with everything for your business meeting or event: fax, computer with internet connection, email reception, copies, coffee and food service, drinks or banquets.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (279)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
279 out of 279
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
butterfly jane
denver, colorado
Jan 15, 2013

Great Hotel in Cozumel

This place was great: comfortable, convenient and well priced. The breakfast staff is so friendly and I loved their buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For lunch, you can't beat going to the restaurant "Candela". For after dinner drinks, I liked the Mojito Bar.

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nana Maribel
Illinois
Apr 10, 2013

Fabulous Time!

My husband and I loved this place and it will be the one to go every time we are in Cozumel. Excellent location, excellent food and corteous personnel, very clean rooms. We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Mexicana and recommend it to everyone! J & M Leos

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pepe's has an excellent menu. If you'd go to the beaches on the other side of the island, i.e. El Mirador, the food there is soooo goood and very reasonable priced.....

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MME BT super steph
Trois-Rivières, Québec
Apr 9, 2013

Great hotel

Thanks everyone for the good service. Nice hotel, with nice view on the super blue ocean. Good breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moonwatcher2
St Paul. MN
Mar 26, 2013

Fantastic location where the staff makes you feel like family

We have stayed here on several trips to Cozumel over the last 25 years and enjoyed every time. Very clean, the most comfortable beds on the island, ideal in town location, fantastic buffet breakfast and a lovely staff make Casa Mexicana the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Various other restaurant discounts available just by staying here.

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melsie
Suttons Bay, MI 49682, USA
Mar 25, 2013

Cozumel dive trip

We have stayed at Casa Mexicana Cozumel before so we knew what to expect. I have never seen a cleaner place to stay. The staff at the hotel is very friendly & willing to help. We had an issue with our room & they moved us & took care of it. We liked staying downtown. We would walk around town every night & find authentic Mexican restaurants with awesome food. On Sundays the town square has music & vendors selling Mexican desserts. Also felt very safe walking the back streets. In the evening you can sit in the open lobby or balcony and rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you get off the main st. & find the authentic mom & pop restaurants. Some of the best food came from the those places.

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
go habs go
montreal
Mar 24, 2013

amazing

this hotel is your best bet in Cozumel. breakfast,location and quietness!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
frog1
Toulouse, France
Mar 9, 2013

Great deal

Comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff, a buffet breakfast that can't be beat and, above all, a great location in town. Highly recommended, especially the ocean-front rooms, the rooms facing the atrium of the hotel probably being a bit noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
theJayCan
Seattle, WA
Mar 4, 2013

Right on the Water

This is a quaint little hotel, nice sweeping views of the water and Playa Del Carmen (if you get the water side). Rooms on the other side are nice as well as you can see the rest of Cozumel and the island. We asked for a single King, but got double beds instead. This was remedied with a quick call down to the front desk. One of the really nice things about this hotel is that all the tap water is purified so you can drink from the tap without worry. The breakfast bar in the morning was nice--buffet style. The fresh juices tasted like they were fresh squeezed (although they were in one of those machines you can typically find Horchata in, so don't let those scare you away). The buffet offerings were a good variety although I recommend asking the on-the-line chef to prepare you a fresh omlette or chilaquiles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DLM1406
Canada
Feb 18, 2013

Cozumel, on the waterfront

This hotel is great for anyone who wants to have great access to the town. Easy walking distance to both town squares, two major grocery stores, shops and excellent family run restaurants. Safe streets. Staff are friendly and helpful, many front line staff speak good English. Repair issue in our room was dealt with immediately (before we returned from breakfast). Owner of the hotel and one of his managers are both frequently visiting and enjoy talking to the guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tom and Jerry
Houston, TX
Feb 12, 2013

Excellent place to be in the center of Cozumel

The service makes the hotel and dedicated staff. Everyone was there to make our stay delightful and resolve any concern. The staff went out of their way and earned my business we will see you hopefully soon but definitely for carnival again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant Kondesa is right around the block from the hotel has excellent food and service - this restaurant is definitely worth every penny and a trip to Cozumel is not complete without a dinner here.

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MME BT super steph
Trois-Rivières, Québec
Feb 11, 2013

Great place

We were with our kids (11 et 13) and all the famely enjoyed. Great breakfast, really clean hotel. Staff really nice, they care for your confort. We speak french, and a little english, they make everything to understand you. I would go back anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from the ferry to playa Del Carmen (5 min.) To go to different sanded beaches, you need a car. 3-4 minutes to walk to the MEGA store, groceries, etc. Nice view of the ocean.

Back to menu Return to top