$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Casa Mexicana Cozumel

3 stars
View map of Rafael E. Melgar #457 Sur, 40 Ave. Norte # 801-B Colonia 10 DE Abril, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
198 reviews
Annual trip to Cozumel

We decided to stay at a hotel in Cozumel that was closer to downtown. This hotel was in the perfect... See full review

  • B Landess
  • Feb 23, 2015
AMAZING ANNUAL TRIP!

We come and stay here twice a year, every year. They are ALWAYS cleaning, the breakfast is... See full review

  • Paul H.
  • Dec 29, 2014
An elegant spot in downtown Cozumel minutes from everything
The sunny atrium in the lobby and terrace overlooking the clear Caribbean Ocean may encourage lingering, but with a location as good as this, guests would benefit from stepping out and exploring downtown Cozumel. The Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel is just blocks from the market in the center of town, which puts shopping, a movie theater and multiple dining options within walking distance. The central location is just two miles from the airport. A breakfast buffet is ample and complimentary for guests. A swimming pool is on site.
Highlights
  • Prime downtown Cozumel location, two minutes from the airport
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
  • Swimming pool
  • Diving trips may be arranged
  • Wedding and romance packages available
Rooms
There are 70 city view rooms and 20 ocean view rooms, both dubbed “deluxe” by the Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel. Ocean view rooms allow guests to privately enjoy unforgettable sunsets and breathtaking views. Each room style is 409 square feet and offers the guest’s choice of one king or two double beds. Cool tile floors are underfoot and the headboards, desks, and chairs were hand-carved by Mayan hands. Local calls are complimentary. Cable TV, iron and ironing board, and safety deposit boxes are in every room. All bathrooms include a bathtub and shower, marbled vanities, hair dryer, plush towels and all necessary amenities.
Features
A swimming pool and sun terrace are on site. Diving trips are arranged at the Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel. A versatile meeting room accommodates up to 100 people for a business meeting or event. Fax, computer with Internet connection, e-mail reception, printers and copy machines are on site. Coffee and food service for breakfast or lunch, drinks or banquet-style serving is available for catering of meetings or events.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2 mi/3.2 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cozumel (outside the hotel doors)
  • Diving and fishing outings
Business
  • A versatile meeting room can accommodate up to 100 people for a business meeting or event
  • Fax, computer with Internet connection, e-mail reception, printers and copy machine
  • Coffee and food service, drinks or banquet-style serving catering available
Policies and fees
Rates quoted in currencies other than the Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rates may change throughout stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Mexicana Cozumel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Casa Mexicana Cozumel Rooms

Deluxe City View Room
Guest room includes one king bed or two double bed(409 Ft.Sq.). Headboards, desks, chairs as well as the rest of the furniture in all rooms are masterpieces that were designed, made and carved by Mayan hands. Spacious and luxurious rooms with private balcony are provided with central air conditioning where you can control the temperature at your preference, direct dial telephone, where local calls are complimentary, cable TV, iron and ironing board, safety deposit box and for those who love present-day technology there is also a data port available in each room 24 hours a day so you can be closer to anyone you wish to in spite of distance. Just bring your laptop and make it happen!! All bathrooms include bathtub, shower, marbled vanities, hairdryer, plush towels and all necessary amenities.
Deluxe Ocean Front Room
Guest room includes one king bed or two double bed (409 Ft.Sq.). Headboards, desks, chairs as well as the rest of the furniture in all rooms are masterpieces that were designed, made and carved by Mayan hands. Spacious and luxurious rooms with private balcony are provided with central air conditioning where you can control the temperature at your preference, direct dial telephone, where local calls are complimentary, cable TV, Plasma TV iron and ironing board, safety deposit box and for those who love present-day technology there is also a data port available in each room 24 hours a day so you can be closer to anyone you wish to in spite of distance. Just bring your laptop and make it happen!! All bathrooms include bathtub, shower, marbled vanities, hairdryer, plush towels and all necessary amenities. From our ocean view rooms you can enjoy unforgettable sunsets and breathtaking views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pool-Bar
Open from 9 AM - 11 PM, open-air bar between Swimming Pool and Internet Area.
La Terraza
Buffet breakfast restaurant, open from 7 AM - 11 AM. Open-air restaurant, at the second floor terrace. With capacity up to 60 pax. Surrounded by beautiful gardens and the best our excellent service.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With capacity for up to 100 people, our Meeting room provides you with everything for your business meeting or event: fax, computer with internet connection, email reception, copies, coffee and food service, drinks or banquets.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (198)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.7

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lester T.
Business
Illinois
Feb 2, 2014

Great Staff & Great Value

Arrived before check in time from the airport & they did their best to help us find rooms that were ready. We asked for an upgrade to an ocean view but none were available and the rooms must be in demand because there would have been a substantial charge. We had asked for massage service upon our arrival but we changed our minds and the staff contacted the service & re-scheduled for the next AM. Great location in downtown. Didn't hear any traffic noise. Great breakfast buffet included in our stay. The only negative is the pool is very small & located just off the 2nd floor entry atrium. Very few chairs & no access to a beach. Hard to find but all taxi drivers know the location. I met a couple that spends 3-4 weeks there !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Theresa o Teresa es mismo
Business
Columbus, OH
Feb 1, 2014

Perfect for what I was looking for

The hotel was clean and was friendly. The hotel included a breakfast buffet including fresh omelets/eggs made to order. The room was clean but had a very slight musty smell. The hotel location is perfect for walking to local shops, restaurants, and town square but will require transportation to area beaches. Overall, I had a good experience with the hotel and the location was exactly what I was looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Talk to some of the local residents to get suggestions on good places to eat outside of the tourist area. You will find great food, low prices, and get to experience more of the local culture.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beachbums from Wa
Business
Lake Stevens Wa
Jan 24, 2014

A good choice

This was our 12 or so trip to Coz but our first time at Casa Mexicana. We were very happy on our choice. We were looking for a place in downtown so that was the primary reason for our choice. While not all inclusive, they have a decent breakfast spread every morning starting at 7am. Eggs, meats, fruits, yogurts, breads, etc. I guess we're both a little picky about beds and pillows. We found both to be very comfy. Hot, strong showers, a safe, and wi-if in the room....at least it worked in ours. The hotel is super clean and everyone friendly. The lobby deck area isn't overly large, but was never crowded and was a fun place to have a beverage, get some sun, or watch a sunset. If you rent a car, free parking is just around the corner. One small words of warning...inside rooms facing the breakfast area, will get noisy at about 6am with the clanging of pans while they gear up for breakfast. After a couple of mornings of that we asked to move to an outside room, which they happily did with no issue. We will return soon to the island and will most definitely book at the Casa Mexicana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Book your rental car with Isis.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandstorm 1953
Business
Northern Michigan
Jan 16, 2014

Starting to go down hill

Third stay now and like always the place is very clean and the staff is awesome. Jimmy in the restaurant is the greatest but with so many eating people breakfast he had very little time to talk. They could use some more help with the table pick up and they also kept running out of food and drinks (scrambled eggs, bacon when they had it, no salmon any more, orange and grapefruit juice, etc. ) Other than not being able to fill my belly (like I need it) the place is just as great as always.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kondesa is on the street (5 ave ) right behind the hotel and we fell in love with it. You must try it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WanderLust68
Business
Wisconsin
Jan 16, 2014

Its everything you need

This vacation was a quick getaway to do some diving and grab some great local food. Our goal was to find a centrally located hotel that offered at least 1 free meal to offset expenses and allow us to find some great local restaurants for the afternoon and evening. CM was a great choice as the free morning buffet breakfast had good food to get you going. CM is located right on the main street which offered easy access to shopping, local dive shops and other facilities plus plenty of dining options and entertainment. Our room was on the back of the hotel facing away from the street so it was quiet, the beds were comfortable, the maid service kept the room well stocked and clean and the hotel staff was great to work with for any questions, concerns or needs. It delivered everything we wanted for a basic stay in town and we will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DiveLogics.com
Business
USA
Jan 7, 2014

Pretty good

Hotel is clean and well maintained. Morning breakfast leaves a little to be desired. Definitely stay on the ocean side as the other side looks out to some pretty unattractive stuff. Internet is spotty at best so don't rely on it and you won't get Internet in your room. Staff is friendly and this place is a block away from a good dive shop "Aqua Safari."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bazjs
Business
Peterborough
Dec 31, 2013

Couldn't have been better....

Great location, only 10 mins from the ferry. Lots of local restaurants near by (head away from the main road for real local places). Extremely clean hotel, always maids cleaning, very stylish lobby/bar area. Bedrooms are really large, with really large beds too. Iron and board/mini safe/fridge/tv/clock radio in room, only thing missing was a hair dryer but one can be loaned to you via housekeeping. Loved the towel arrangements on the bed, every day a different piece of art. Breakfast was bountiful, freshly cooked eggs (all ways you could imagine even divorced!), and freshly cut fruit, the ladies were there cooking the eggs/waffles/pancakes and chopping up the fruit. Small swimming pool but ample sun loungers. Only let down was the computers in the internet area they didn't work too well. Overall a highly recommended hotel and would have had 5 stars if the internet had been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
andycapps
Business
Savannah Ga.
Dec 29, 2013

Great Location

This place has wonderful service, beautiful clean rooms, very reasonable rates and a wonderful breakfast each morning. It is located near the square and is convenient to several very good restaurants and shopping. It was well worth the money and I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La Perlita. You'll never have any better food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karen scuba diver
Business
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Dec 23, 2013

Great Downtown Hotel

Rooms are clean and good sized. Accommodating of divers. Rooms have balconies to hang wet dive gear. Breakfast buffet has a wide variety of hot dishes, omelettes made to order along with Belgian waffles and French toast. Lots of fresh fruits and pastries. Family friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
benny boy traveler
Business
nyc
Dec 13, 2013

good for 3star only problem is small pool

Rooms are average but clean and good, food in heel was surprisingly good! Only problem was the pool being so small and in the lobby basically made it unusable! Great for the price though if you need to stay in downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top