$72 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 3, 2015

Casa Mexicana Cozumel

3 stars
View map of Rafael E. Melgar #457 Sur, 40 Ave. Norte # 801-B Colonia 10 DE Abril, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
201 out of 201
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.7

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diving Betty
Business
Houston, Texas
Nov 3, 2010

Excellent Hotel!

Loved this Hotel! It is located downtown within walking distance to most shopping and restaurants. Our room was clean, the breakfast buffet was excellent, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the beautiful lobby and pool were icing on the cake. We will definitely stay here again and I highly recommend it to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shoes Mom
Business
PA
Sep 20, 2010

Relax w/ Friends

The staff is superior in friendliness & service. The view is a commercial. Peaceful; yet, step outside to a charming Mexican town with restuarants to please every taste and budget. Go diving, snorkeling, CHILL, read your book, shopping, people watch, local celebrations... make friends...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the restuarants are there in a short distance. Walking there and finding them is part of the fun. Peppes best surf & turf & view, Casa Denis best Mexican & price, Casablanca best people watching & friends, Prima best Italian & view, Chi best Chinese & view, Casa Mission backside best food & atmosphere (must).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miyamoto Musashi
Business
Vienna, Virginia
Sep 8, 2010

Beautiful place, great people

Excellent location, very central. staff friendly and efficient, without being overbearing. rooms are kept spotless. included ... breakfast was great, with choices of mexican specialties from the menu, as well as continental options, great juices (papaya) and aguas de frutas (kiwi). We have been in Mexico so many times with different resorts, but this one gave us the most enjoyable and relaxed ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mission restaurant at central town is the best in town, and every other night we dined there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lebanon, TN
Aug 19, 2010

Good Service, Good Location

Wonderful experience. Staff at the front desk are very helpful and efficient. The room is big and clean. Housekeeper did an excellent job of keeping the room clean and if I needed anything, they promply get it for me. Breakfast is good but limited selection. The only thing is, I wish the entrance to the hotel will be more handicapped accessible. At this point, if you are wheelchair bound, you won't be able to get to the hotel. Other than accessibility issue, if you are not in a wheelchair, I will highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is closed to several good resturants. The main ferry is only three blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mgm54wv
Business
Hungtington, WV
Aug 8, 2010

Best on the Island!!!

Every one of my 8 trips to Cozumel have been great, but our stay in Casa Mexicana is by far the best experience yet. Great location, spotless rooms and common areas, excellent internet service, outstanding breakfast buffet and by far, the friendliest and most helpful staff!!!! Everyone goes beyond the call of duty to make sure you enjoy your stay. They all are extremely friendly and always smiling....they feel like family at the end of 7 days. Can't wait to go back. Parking is free and easily accessed off street. Easy walk to main square. Great view from lobby area and ocean view rooms. Can't find one single flaw or negative with the hotel and staff. Only hotel I will ever need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunday night on the main plaza. This is the night the locals come out and enjoy life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scott B
Business
Springfield, IL
Jul 25, 2010

Clean and friendly

A clean and friendly hotel. The staff is constantly cleaning and the rooms are nice. The included breakfast buffet is wonderful. It is located close to shopping areas and you can snorkel in the water located less then 100ft from the front door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Casa Denis and other little restaurants on the market square have great local foods.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 10, 2010

Fantastic Hotel

Great hotel in Cozumel, clean very comfortable rooms, wonderful service. The breakfast buffet is excellent, I had something different each day. The hotel location was perfect, very close to our dive operator's pier, (Aldora) and a short walk to the square. If you like the option to get into town and eat at different places use this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Our favourite restaurant was Kinta (http://www.kintacozumel.com/) just north of the square, great patio and food. We also liked Casa Denis (oldest restaurant on the island). Also San Carlos, a local fish market with small patio restaurant (Ave 50 Bis between calle 3 & Salas. ), open for lunch. For a taste of home try Kelly's bar, great ribs and fish and chips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
divegirl
Business
Colorado
Jun 20, 2010

7th year and will return next Summer

Diving was the primary activity. Close to all amenities. Breakfast buffet and great omletes and homemade tortillas. Friendly staff - they remember you year after year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 20, 2010

Great location in town next to water!

This was my first time in Cozumel. The hotel is located in town next to the waterfront. It's really easy to find. I don't recommend swimming here due to the boat traffic and rocky terrain. My girlfriend and I stayed in the "Deluxe Oceanfront with Terrace" room, which had a great view of the ocean and the sunset. The slanted design of the building meant full sunlight for every room facing the ocean. The interior architecture and spatial design was really cool. The breakfast buffet was hot, fresh, diverse and tasty. Internet was free. Rooms were very clean and bed pretty comfortable. The towel art on the bed was a nice touch. Shower and sink water are filtered. The swimming pool was more like a wading pool in the lobby. For those renting a car, the "free parking" is in fact the parking lot of a shopping mall next door, Punta Langosta. There was always plenty of free space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great Italian restaurant (Rolandi's) a short 5-10 minutes walk south of the hotel along the water. It's next to Margaritaville. The exterior doesn't look like much, but I wish we had found it earlier. Great food, reasonable prices, excellent location on the water and amazing view of the sunset. Very romantic. The dining staff was very attentive. Free live jazz music was a plus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Humble, TX
May 15, 2010

Great place to stay!!

The hotel is in a great location. If I was not brought by a taxi I would never have found it...it is right in the middle of town and easy access to everything!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top