$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Casa Del Mar Cozumel

3 stars
Carretera A Chankanaab Km 4 Costera, Sur No P.O.Box 7600, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
138 reviews
Fun filled vacation

Since the arrival at the hotel we were treated very friendly. I have no words to describe our... See full review

  • The Sanchez Family
  • Mar 9, 2014
Great first time experience!

I live in cozumel a few months a year with friends and decided to try out a hotel. So glad I chose... See full review

  • Tatii
  • Feb 13, 2014
A diver’s resort, with a fully staffed and equipped on-site diving facility
The Casa Del Mar Cozumel hotel is tailor-made for divers, and has the Del Mar Aquatics dive shop on-site. A fleet of boats takes divers out to their reef of choice -- 17 in all. The hotel has partnered with Nachi Cocom, a beach club that offers outdoor activities including diving, snorkeling, massage and sports. The Coral Reef restaurant offers traditional dishes and a poolside bar serves cocktails. Meal plans are available on a daily basis. The hotel also offers themed romance, family, and diving packages for guests who choose not to be spontaneous.
Highlights
  • PADI dive masters lead private dives
  • Submarine rides
  • Free entrance to Beach club Nachi Cocom offers snorkeling, massage, and water sports (subject to availability)
  • Tennis courts, Jacuzzi and a beach area with palapa, and restaurant and pool bar
  • A 10-minute drive to downtown Cozumel
Rooms
Three room styles are available at the Casa Del Mar Cozumel hotel: a basic standard room facing the hotel parking area, a Superior with a private balcony or a deluxe cabana with terrace. Superior rooms are located in the main building. Split-level deluxe cabanas are detached from the main building and surrounded by lush, exotic gardens of native plants. They rest facing the Caribbean. The cabana's upper floor has separate living and dining areas, and a kitchenette equipped with a microwave, toaster, coffee maker and mini-fridge. The cabana's lower level has a separate sleeping area and there are bathrooms on each level, with one is a full bathroom with tub. A CD player and VCR come with the cabana, along with a cable TV. Wireless Internet also is available.

For either room style, guests choose from one king or two double beds. All rooms provide racks for diving equipment and feature a telephone (fees apply), cable TV, alarm clock, air conditioning, and climate control. Cabanas and Superior room guests use the safe deposit boxes at the front desk, where they also borrow a hair dryer and iron.
Features
A fully equipped and staffed Del Mar Aquatics diving facility is on site. The Casa Del Mar Cozumel hotel's fleet of boats takes divers to their choice of 17 reefs off the coast of Cozumel. The hotel beach club, Nachi Cocom, is just 10 minutes away and offers snorkeling, massages and water sports (subject to availability). The Coral Reef restaurant serves traditional dishes and features a poolside bar. The Coral Reef restaurant is open from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m.; meal plans are available for $39 per guest per day. Room service has limited hours and stops serving at 10:30 p.m. Downtown Cozumel and all its restaurants, bars, shopping and culture are just 10 minutes away.
Transportation
  • TMM International Pier  (0.3 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Puerta Malla Pier (0.7 mi/0.1 km)
  • Punta Langosta Pier (1.3 mi/ 2 km)
  • Ferry Pier (2.5 mi/ 4 km) 
  • Cozumel International Airport (4 mi/6.6 km)
Attractions
  • Del Mar Aquatics (on site)
  • Downtown Cozumel (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Chankanaab National Park ( 2.5  mi/ 4 k.m)
  • Cozumel Country Club ( 7.3 mi/ 11 k.m)
  • "Paraiso" reef (11.6 mi/18.6 km)
  • Nachi Cocom beach club (7 mi/ 10 k.m.)
  • Atlantis Submarine (across the street)
Business
  • FREE Wireless Internet in the lobby
  • A meeting room accommodates up to 25 people (advanced reservation required)
Policies and fees
There are no room charges for children 12 years old and younger occupying the same room as their parents using existing bedding. Capacity 2 adults and two kids under 12 or 3 adults paying extra pax. All guests staying in hotel guestrooms must be registered with the hotel. Rates quoted in currencies other than the Casa Del Mar Cozumel hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rates may change throughout stay.


This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Casa Del Mar Cozumel Rooms

Basic Standard Guest Room
These Rooms are facing the parking area and tennis court . Located in main building on floors 1-3. Cable TV with remote control, Direct-dial phone (surcharge), Air conditioning. One king bed or two double beds. Hanger for wetsuit inside the shower area, in the bathroom. Complementary Safety deposit boxes at front desk. Hairdryer available at front desk. Capacity 2 adults and two kids under 12 or 3 adults paying extra pax.Wireless internet service (extra charge)
Superior with Private Balcony or Terrace
Superior with Private Balcony or Terrace The bedding option for the room is one king bed or 2 double beds. Superior rooms have pool view or garden view. Theses rooms are located in main building. The room features all the necessary amenities that you will need for a comfortable stay. Balcony or terrace, Air conditioning, Cable TV, Telephone ($),Alarm Clock, Irion/Ironing board, Hair dryer, Cribs available, safe deposit boxes, shower only, Racks for diving equipment are the amenities provided in all rooms. Capacity 2 adults and two kids under 12 or 3 adults paying extra pax. Wireless internet service (extra charge)
Deluxe Cabana with Terrace
The bedding option for the room is one king bed or 2 double beds. Deluxe Cabanas are located in beautiful garden area. A spacious split level Cabana that is decorated with a modern style keeping the Mexican atmosphere. The upstairs is a living and dining area which you can enjoy relaxing with your family or loved ones. The downstairs is a separate sleeping area, with your privacy in mind. Private Terrace with natural umbrellas, Living area, Kitchenette, Microwave, Toaster, Coffee maker, Mini refrigerator, Air conditioning, Cable TV, Telephone($), Alarm Clock, CD Player, VCR, Irion, Ironing board, Hair dryer, safe deposit boxes, Room service ($), Cribs available, Wireless internet (surcharge) and Two Bathrooms (one with bathtub and shower) & makeup/shaving mirror are the amenities of the room. Capacity 2 adults and two kids under 12 or 3 adults paying extra pax.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Del Mar Cozumel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.4824 -86.9711
Area served
Carretera A Chankanaab Km 4, Cozumel, Quintana Roo, Mxico 77600
Nearby airports
Cozumel International Airport: Exit airport and turn right into Airport Blvd. Turn left onto Rafael Melgar Ave and continue for approximately 10 minutes. Right towards the Zona Hotelera Sur and continue south until you see the resort.
Area description
Casa del Mar Cozumel is located across the street from the ocean, only 5 minutes south from downtown and 10 minutes from the international Airport, less than five minutes away from the famous "Paraiso" reef.

Dining

CORAL REEF
The Coral Reef restaurant offers guest a variety of traditional and international dishes, located next to swimming pool, and with a pool-bar where you will also be able to enjoy domestic and international drinks. Restaurant is open from 7:00 AM to 11:00 PM: Open for breakfast buffet and a la carte from 7:00 to 11:00 a.m. Open for Snacks, Lunch & a la carte from 11:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Open for dinner with Mexican & International cuisine a la carte from 6:00 to11:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (138)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 138
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boulder, CO
Feb 21, 2010

A Decent Option...

The hotel is a ways out of town. That's OK, the walk isn't bad, but it's not an ideal location. It's a long way from the beach club associated with the hotel and the small ocean-front area across the street from the hotel isn't that great because the main road is 20 feet behind you and you've got boats coming and going in front of you. Most of the "ocean view" rooms have limited views (you can see it through the trees and buildings and across the street from you). The "hot" tub was cold, the "free" rental car is not free since you have to buy their insurance and pay the taxes which run up to about what you would pay if you just went and rented a car. The submarine tour was fun and very nearly free. The restaurant is decent and we found the staff to be hit and miss. Some were very nice and helpful and a few were rude with most just doing their jobs. A couple of the lights in our room didn't work, the maid forgot to give us soap and toilet paper one day, and the shower was luke warm most of the time. Most notably, the place is really noisy. The tile floors and concrete walls just seem to carry every little sound--people talking, using the restroom, etc. You hear it all. We did a variety of things on this trip--diving, shopping, beach-bumming, etc. I think if all you did was dive and you just needed a place to sleep, this would be an OK place. I would not recommend it if you planned to lounge in your room or on the hotel property. I've taken many trips to Mexico and Central America and this place is just mediocre. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't good either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boulder, CO
Feb 21, 2010

A Decent Option...

The hotel is a ways out of town. That's OK, the walk isn't bad, but it's not an ideal location. It's a long way from the beach club associated with the hotel and the small ocean-front area across the street from the hotel isn't that great because the main road is 20 feet behind you and you've got boats coming and going in front of you. Most of the "ocean view" rooms have limited views (you can see it through the trees and buildings and across the street from you). The "hot" tub was cold, the "free" rental car is not free since you have to buy their insurance and pay the taxes which run up to about what you would pay if you just went and rented a car. The submarine tour was fun and very nearly free. The restaurant is decent and we found the staff to be hit and miss. Some were very nice and helpful and a few were rude with most just doing their jobs. A couple of the lights in our room didn't work, the maid forgot to give us soap and toilet paper one day, and the shower was luke warm most of the time. Most notably, the place is really noisy. The tile floors and concrete walls just seem to carry every little sound--people talking, using the restroom, etc. You hear it all. We did a variety of things on this trip--diving, shopping, beach-bumming, etc. I think if all you did was dive and you just needed a place to sleep, this would be an OK place. I would not recommend it if you planned to lounge in your room or on the hotel property. I've taken many trips to Mexico and Central America and this place is just mediocre. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't good either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Timman66
Houston Texas.
Mar 16, 2014

Winter Escape March 2014

The hotel and staff is geared towards diving and divers. There is a nice pool and very well groomed grounds for the non divers in your group. The location of the hotel is well suited for diving but not much more, being located basically across the street from the cruise ship terminal. A walk into the downtown area is about 4K and a taxie ride will run you about 10usd. All in all it's a great value for what it is. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy the American Plan the day you arrive. It's 39.99 a person per day and includes all meals plus snacks and includes all drinks. It's worth it just for your beer and cocktails.

Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kylie L.
Long Island, NY
Jun 23, 2010

Will stay somewhere else next time

Hotel staff is very friendly, but it would have made our stay easier if we booked a hotel in the Downtown Cozumel area. The rooms were smaller than we had anticipated. We switched rooms from the first one we were taken to because they were doing some construction on the side of the building and it was very noisy. Though we switched to another room for the same rate and amenities (Superior Room), the second room was twice as large! Too bad this second room had an unexplained insect (ants) problem in the bathroom...disgusting. All in all, the stay was decent, but I will book with a different hotel next time in the Downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kylie L.
Long Island, NY
Jun 23, 2010

Will stay somewhere else next time

Hotel staff is very friendly, but it would have made our stay easier if we booked a hotel in the Downtown Cozumel area. The rooms were smaller than we had anticipated. We switched rooms from the first one we were taken to because they were doing some construction on the side of the building and it was very noisy. Though we switched to another room for the same rate and amenities (Superior Room), the second room was twice as large! Too bad this second room had an unexplained insect (ants) problem in the bathroom...disgusting. All in all, the stay was decent, but I will book with a different hotel next time in the Downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dan & sue
Plymouth, Michigan
Feb 28, 2010

my home in cozumel

Very relaxing time; [...] (couple next to us on plane from DTW got airfare and hotel for $1200 ($300 less than we paid). Hotel also did not honour your statement that free rental car was included on third day of stay; had we booked straight thru their website, they would have had rental car for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La Mission in San Miguel

Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greenville WI
Apr 30, 2010

RELAXING VACATION

We enjoyed our stay. It was over all very quiet and relaxing. Not alot of spring breakers and very few children. The one thing I wish the hotel had was a little fridge. We had to run and get a foam cooler at the store for water/soda/beer. The staff was great & helpful, food was good at resturant, rooms were very clean, and we always had good water pressure. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown was a very short walk - I would say if you can walk-- enjoy the scenic route and walk down to the market- stop along the way for some beers at all the cute tiki out door bars. approx. 2 miles- it saves you $8 cab ride there and $8 cab ride back.

Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greenville WI
Apr 30, 2010

RELAXING VACATION

We enjoyed our stay. It was over all very quiet and relaxing. Not alot of spring breakers and very few children. The one thing I wish the hotel had was a little fridge. We had to run and get a foam cooler at the store for water/soda/beer. The staff was great & helpful, food was good at resturant, rooms were very clean, and we always had good water pressure. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown was a very short walk - I would say if you can walk-- enjoy the scenic route and walk down to the market- stop along the way for some beers at all the cute tiki out door bars. approx. 2 miles- it saves you $8 cab ride there and $8 cab ride back.

Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Diver49
New York
Mar 27, 2011

Second Time Stay

I have been to Cozumel 8 times and have stayed at several of the hotels/resorts. Casa Del Mar is a SCUBA resort targeting budget conscious divers. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are old, which is okay, but the linens are old as well. The bed sheets are in no way soft/comfortable and the bath towels are worn. I would probably not stay again. Hotel Cozumel is of comparable cost but they typically throw in breakfast with your stay and I remember the rooms being more comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't be afraid to explore Cozumel. The island is very safe and the people extremely friendly. The square in san miguel is much like Playa Del Carmen. You won't be able to walk 30 feet without being approached by merchants urging you to purchase. But venture a few short blocks and you will find the real Cozumel. Stop at Parrilla or Casa Mission and you will eat/drink 5* at an almost hard to believe price.

Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, ON, Canada
Mar 23, 2011

Good value

The hotel is just fine. Rooms are clean, staff is friendly. The restaurant is good but their menu is small. Breakfast buffet (at unbeatable price) includes fresh fruit, cereals, eggs and omelets, all great except the almost undrinkable coffee. A car is almost a must as the hotel is a 10 minute drive away from downtown and 20 minutes far from the beach club. Car rentals are available everywhere in the island. The beach club is where we spent most of our time as they have a really enjoyable white sand beach with turquoise blue water, as opposed to the tiny beach in front of the hotel's main building. Some downsides are: -We couldn't stay at the hut tub for more than 1 minute due to a strong smell (chemical) coming from the water. The smell stayed on us for hours. We never came back in. -The internet didn't work for 3 days (so we couldn't read reviews of other places!). -One day we drove the 12km (9 miles) to the beach club only to find that a 'private' event was going on and that we wouldn't have access. The fact that we weren't told until we got there was rude, and the whole situation plain wrong. Overall the hotel is fine, but the service could be more attentive. I guess we got spoiled by other outstanding hotels in the Mayan Riviera, albeit not at this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top